126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

prasys
post Oct 3 2008, 05:31 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Oct 1 2008, 05:20 AM)
Please recommend me a LCD for my living room. Is full HD necessary? What can I do with full HD and blueray out of my current budget? Is 37” good enough, should it be 40” or 42”? Can it input astro, normal aerial line, dvd, cctv, and computer, all 5 together? Budget wise maybe 4k+ ... Thanks.
Well I got a HD Ready Television (Again there is no point of buying Full HD now when ASTRO still sucks. I bet they would use 720p first or 1080i. Maybe 1080p gives you a clearer picture , but for my eyes 720p is clear enough. It has all the extra details. To experience full HD , it would be best to go more then 42" , then you'll get the umph.

I am using Panny TX-37LX80 Series (*cough* HD Ready */cough*) Does a good job when you connect it to PC , however it overscans when you connect it to HDMI (You'll have to get a true HD TV to achieve 1:1 pixel ratio). Speaking of over scans , anyone know whats the rough % that the TV does overscanning. I want to try to bring down the resolution and get it fit to the TV

So for me , honestly asking HD Ready should do the trick. I am using that right now , and I am pretty happy
law1777
post Oct 3 2008, 05:40 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 3 2008, 05:15 PM)
only go for the A650 series...these are the best series recommended by AVSForum, i think because of the 120Hz thing..other series the PQ not as good...i also happen to compare side by side for A610 and A650 ...
then how bout latest philips 47' vs lg 60FR 47' vs samsung 650 46'?? which one winning??
The Apprentice
post Oct 4 2008, 12:11 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 3 2008, 05:31 PM)
Well I got a HD Ready Television (Again there is no point of buying Full HD now when ASTRO still sucks. I bet they would use 720p first or 1080i. Maybe 1080p gives you a clearer picture , but for my eyes 720p is clear enough. It has all the extra details. To experience full HD , it would be best to go more then 42" , then you'll get the umph.

I am using Panny TX-37LX80 Series (*cough* HD Ready */cough*) Does a good job when you connect it to PC , however it overscans when you connect it to HDMI (You'll have to get a true HD TV to achieve 1:1 pixel ratio). Speaking of over scans , anyone know whats the rough % that the TV does overscanning. I want to try to bring down the resolution and get it fit to the TV

So for me , honestly asking HD Ready should do the trick. I am using that right now , and I am pretty happy
Thanks, I think I would go for Sony 40" HD Ready...
slk5538
post Oct 4 2008, 08:11 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Oct 3 2008, 01:04 PM)
ahem BD dvd cost the same as normal ahem dvd here in kuching laugh.gif
Bro,

The AHEM BD DVD that cost u RM6 in Kuching are indeed regular D5 / D9, some captain Jack Sparrow just simply printed the BD logo on the cover. The better AHEM BD DVD still cost you around RM15 to RM21, comparing to good quality AHEM D9 that cost you RM12 to RM 15

Added on October 4, 2008, 8:27 am
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Oct 3 2008, 01:55 PM)
Yes, almost full suite of colour management system (CMS) one could ask for (at  least in the PG6000 lah). Our castrated PG60UR only got WB, black level, gamma and RGB gain/cut. The rest of the controls are out.  A proper comparison to what they have for PG6000 in UK is here and look at the OPERATION chapter.

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/LG-42PG6000/
Actually got. But you gotto hack into their service menu kua.
Regards.
The PG60UR that we got here is the downscale version of the PG60. PG60D in North America, and the PG6000 in Europe do have the ISF. ISF in the PG6000 are pre-set settings that approved by the ISF. They have the ISF day and ISF night for different viewing environment, much like the cinema, sports and etc. mode, only that the ISF settings were tuned by the much accredited ISF lab.

The ISF settings are not in the service menu either because i know how to access their on screen service menu, and I couldn't find the settings there.

BYW, have you notice also the on screen menu also look different that the PG6000, also different from the one published in the malaysia LG website? When i asked the LG customer service, they told me the version of the menu (which is actually the outdated 2007 version) we have in the PG60UR is easier to read than the newer menu. I salute you, malaysia LG customer service, cause you are the biggest sxxker cum liar in AV world.

This post has been edited by slk5538: Oct 4 2008, 08:27 AM
Mooneyes
post Oct 4 2008, 10:19 AM

Time heals
2,731 posts

my fren bought the AHEM ratatouile BD DVD for rm6 IIANM..very nice PQ

This post has been edited by Mooneyes: Oct 4 2008, 10:20 AM
speedy3210
post Oct 4 2008, 10:42 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Oct 4 2008, 08:11 AM)
The PG60UR that we got here is the downscale version of the PG60. PG60D in North America, and the PG6000 in Europe do have the ISF. ISF in the PG6000 are pre-set settings that approved by the ISF. They have the ISF day and ISF night for different viewing environment, much like the cinema, sports and etc. mode, only that the ISF settings were tuned by the much accredited ISF lab.

The ISF settings are not in the service menu either because i know how to access their on screen service menu, and I couldn't find the settings there.

BYW, have you notice also the on screen menu also look different that the PG6000, also different from the one published in the malaysia LG website? When i asked the LG customer service, they told me the version of the menu (which is actually the outdated 2007 version) we have in the PG60UR is easier to read than the newer menu. I salute you, malaysia LG customer service, cause you are the biggest sxxker cum liar in AV world.
Hmmmm....that is bad. I thought I would be able to further tweak by going into the service menu. Now no hope already. sad.gif Yes I noticed the ISF thing is not there the moment I got through its menu on 1st power-on. Really castrated version of PG60 that they are selling here.

Fully agree with you on LG customer service experience. They even dared to mention that the firmware the our PG60 has is the latest and there is no newer ones. As though we are idiots and that statement contradicts what was told to you (and I have their email to back up my claim).

Anyway, care to share on how to access LG's service menu? Thanks.

Regards.
htkaki
post Oct 4 2008, 12:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Mooneyes @ Oct 4 2008, 10:19 AM)
my fren bought the AHEM ratatouile BD DVD for rm6 IIANM..very nice PQ

It's aint BD as mentioned before. It's a DVD9 only.

arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 01:30 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

I don't get it why many people still confuse over ahem stuff. There's no ahem BD yet on the market. All you see is DVD or else you won't be able to play it with your DVDP. No matter if they copy it from BD or if they have BD cover....it is still DVD! Get your fact straight people vmad.gif

haha...marah pulak laugh.gif
law1777
post Oct 4 2008, 01:56 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

is plasma tv good for playing games? etc ps3.. oppinion??
prasys
post Oct 4 2008, 01:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Hmm I am wondering if its worth it to get the Monster S-video cable. Does it improve the video quality of ASTRO ?
Mooneyes
post Oct 4 2008, 02:08 PM

Time heals
2,731 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 4 2008, 01:30 PM)
I don't get it why many people still confuse over ahem stuff. There's no ahem BD yet on the market. All you see is DVD or else you won't be able to play it with your DVDP. No matter if they copy it from BD or if they have BD cover....it is still DVD! Get your fact straight people vmad.gif

xyah marah2 brader laugh.gif i know the DVD my fren bought ain't BD..maybe it have been copied from a BD then compress to DVD perhaps smile.gif
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 04:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 4 2008, 01:58 PM)
Hmm I am wondering if its worth it to get the Monster S-video cable. Does it improve the video quality of ASTRO ?
I just got mine. It really improve the PQ over my cap ayam s-video. If you are using composite, the improvement will be much more. If you already using some other branded s-video cable then no need la.
dirtrun
post Oct 4 2008, 05:05 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 4 2008, 01:30 PM)

Not tat I m totin bootlegs..

But I hv sources tat say a northern state HAS got BD bootlegs now from our friendly nieghborhood country(well not tat near la..)
N be4 ur say tat its a bd sourced dvd - tis disc cant be played wif a sd player .. they showcase it wif a samsung bdp..

Believe it or not
Dirtrun
arremie
post Oct 4 2008, 08:48 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Yep it's only time before ahem BD comes into our market but for the time being only ahem DVD no matter what is the copied source... smile.gif
bmipp
post Oct 5 2008, 12:24 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 3 2008, 06:40 PM)
then how bout latest philips 47' vs lg 60FR 47' vs samsung 650 46'?? which one winning??
Samsung A650
this one not only full HD, but 50,000 contrast, 120Hz and high brightness...
the price though the most expensive among three though wink.gif
obiwankedah
post Oct 5 2008, 07:15 AM

229 posts

yala.. secara logiknya, kalau BD ahem or ori mesti play with BD player ..
normal dvd player cannot..

those seller suka tipu.. "ini blue ray tau"

kehkeh sebab ada logo BD saja...

soalannya: sudah / akan ada ka BD ahem?? yg betul2 BD
dan kalau ada BD ahem pun, jangan main pakai PS3 . rosak la lens tuh...
hehe

This post has been edited by obiwankedah: Oct 5 2008, 07:34 AM
law1777
post Oct 5 2008, 10:41 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 5 2008, 12:24 AM)
Samsung A650
this one not only full HD, but 50,000 contrast, 120Hz and high brightness...
the price though the most expensive among three though wink.gif
bro.. the philips 47' is more expensive la.. rm10k+++ im waiting for samsung series7,8,9 to arrive malaysia and this series6 will drop hell lot in prices
aiz1j
post Oct 5 2008, 02:06 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Oct 4 2008, 08:11 AM)

Added on October 4, 2008, 8:27 am

Bro,
If you are not satisfied with the specs of your 42PG60UR, you can go through Tribunal for Consumer Claims and try to get a refund. If the specs advertised on the website/advertisement are clearly different from the actual unit, it is something that can be brought to the tribunal.
gsdev
post Oct 5 2008, 04:56 PM

819 posts

deleted tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gsdev: Oct 5 2008, 05:00 PM
luige
post Oct 5 2008, 06:52 PM

1,865 posts

i want to connect my pc audio to the lcd
i've the the minijack to rca, shud i plug into the input or output of the tv???
mine have 2 composite input

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:25 PM