Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

speedy3210
post Sep 7 2008, 11:26 AM

518 posts

hello all,

Those who wants to buy Pioneer Kuros, be it 428XG or 508XG, can head to MFF TODAY!! Big offer they are giving over there with 428XG being offered below RM7k. Depending on nego skill, it can still go down!

Those looking for LG 42PG60UR also got discount, now selling at RM3700 and still can nego and cheaper still if cash n carry. Samsung LA-46A650 is also damn attractively priced as one forummer has mentioned.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Sep 8 2008, 02:25 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Sep 8 2008, 11:56 AM)
PG20 = 2 years
PV8 = suppost to be 5 years, but from the forum ..seems they are not the authorize seller..so the 5 years kinda skeptical
Not sure if PG20 got this thing or not, but if you buy PG60 from Desa HT, you will get 4 years total. 2years from LG and extra 2 years from Desa's insurance (with 1st year being All-risk warranty). meaning

1st year --> LG (plus Desa All-risk warranty)
2nd year -->LG
3rd year --->Desa
4th year --->Desa

Just got 42PG60UR from them and both my wifey and I are very happy with the PQ eventhough its only through components. Will try HDMI input next.

aiz1j,

Will be posting some pics soon once I got time to take them. Just watched Corpse Bride last night, PQ and blackness was very good although can't match Kuros. At half the price of a Kuros, I ain't complaining.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Sep 16 2008, 10:24 AM

518 posts

Did you turn on the anti-IR setting in your set? My LG set has this and I believe all plasmas have it too. Maybe other Pana users can help more. I am using orbiter mode to prevent IR. Before turning this mode on, I use to have some very mild IR with those logo and graphics during news time in OTA channels.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Sep 22 2008, 02:58 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Sep 21 2008, 10:51 PM)
My Panasonic plasma TV suddenly has no picture at all. I put it into standby and then went out to shop with missus. When I came back and press the On button the remote, nothing happen. It doesn't seems to be due to power supply since I can switch the TV on/off. When I push the on button, the power indicator turn green and then it just flashes red a few times and nothing come on. Pressing the On button on the remote many time also has no effect. Looks like my unit has gone kaput.

Called the seller and he is kind enough to help to report this on my behalf to the service center. Now has to go back to my old faithful 21-inch TV.

Wonder if anyone Panasonic plasma TV owner has encountered the same symptom before?
Pana plasmas can display fault codes through the power LED. You have to watch carefully how it blinks. It has long and short blink and in sequence.

As per my experience with gen4 and gen5 Pana panels, two long blinks means faulty power supply section. Video processor board error gives 5 short blinks or something, but can't remember that well.

But since your unit is under warranty, no need to sweat over that. Let the Pana tech people handle it.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Sep 22 2008, 06:17 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(AskDS @ Sep 22 2008, 04:27 PM)
Thanx speedy3210, I searched through the manual and couldn't find anything on the troubleshooting page on the fault code. I can see it blinks a few time but don't know what it mean so I call the supplier instead. Do you know if there is a link that give the describe the fault code?
That was throught my experience dealing with the panels. But upon searching through Google, got the link below and jump to page 38.

Panasonic Plasma TV Troubleshooting Manual
speedy3210
post Sep 23 2008, 05:46 PM

518 posts

AskDS,

Pana's support is quite responsive. Don't be too happy to see how many fans in your plasma. As being a electro-mechanical thing, they have a lifespan, and in my situation they lasted about 3.5years in dusty outdoor with periodic maintenance. Guess/hopefully they should last longer in your less dusty indoor environment. And pls don't try to lubricate them with WD40.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 3 2008, 11:58 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 3 2008, 01:47 AM)
full hd for 40' is also beyond your budget of 4K wink.gif
Do remember you're not getting a full-fledged PG6000 that was sold overseas with the local PG60UR. I have one and its famous isf-cc menu is MISSING in our local PG60UR. I have asked local LG support/customer service and their reply was they want to make it easier for their local customers by not having so many things to set. Yeah right. When asked further, they ignored me. Way to go LG customer service. You know who you are, LG cust service, Ms.Lam.

So beware if you want to go for PG60UR just for its isf-cc menu. Other than that, its a fine product with very good PQ.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 3 2008, 01:55 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 3 2008, 12:01 PM)
can you enlighten us on the isf-cc menu? is it for the advance setting?
Yes, almost full suite of colour management system (CMS) one could ask for (at least in the PG6000 lah). Our castrated PG60UR only got WB, black level, gamma and RGB gain/cut. The rest of the controls are out. A proper comparison to what they have for PG6000 in UK is here and look at the OPERATION chapter.

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/LG-42PG6000/

No ISF-CC??? That's a real deal killer there... That's about the only advantage LG has over other makers. What, they think Malaysians are too dumb to ISF-tune their machines? vmad.gif

Actually got. But you gotto hack into their service menu kua.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 4 2008, 10:42 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Oct 4 2008, 08:11 AM)
The PG60UR that we got here is the downscale version of the PG60. PG60D in North America, and the PG6000 in Europe do have the ISF. ISF in the PG6000 are pre-set settings that approved by the ISF. They have the ISF day and ISF night for different viewing environment, much like the cinema, sports and etc. mode, only that the ISF settings were tuned by the much accredited ISF lab.

The ISF settings are not in the service menu either because i know how to access their on screen service menu, and I couldn't find the settings there.

BYW, have you notice also the on screen menu also look different that the PG6000, also different from the one published in the malaysia LG website? When i asked the LG customer service, they told me the version of the menu (which is actually the outdated 2007 version) we have in the PG60UR is easier to read than the newer menu. I salute you, malaysia LG customer service, cause you are the biggest sxxker cum liar in AV world.
Hmmmm....that is bad. I thought I would be able to further tweak by going into the service menu. Now no hope already. sad.gif Yes I noticed the ISF thing is not there the moment I got through its menu on 1st power-on. Really castrated version of PG60 that they are selling here.

Fully agree with you on LG customer service experience. They even dared to mention that the firmware the our PG60 has is the latest and there is no newer ones. As though we are idiots and that statement contradicts what was told to you (and I have their email to back up my claim).

Anyway, care to share on how to access LG's service menu? Thanks.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 6 2008, 03:31 PM

518 posts

IR means Image Retention, plasma lingo for some temporarily etched image due to difference in phosphor aging.

BTW, some draw back about the PG60 if you are to get it
a) reflection is more serious than other models
b) IR is quite obvious, but no burn in issue so far .... dunno how bad is it comparing to panny
c) DO NOT EXPECT GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM LG MALAYSIA
a) Not so obvious for my case. Maybe coz my viewing area is quite dimly lit; warm white 25W Philip flourescent for living area. Also, did you remove 1 layer or 2 layers of the plastic film from the screen? You are supposed to only remove one layer.

b) IR was pretty obvious, but after switching on orbiter mode and reduce brightness/contrast, it has almost eliminated IR, save for the menu area.

c) This one I am not sure yet on the service/repair side. But those who handle info side sure KO big time.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 7 2008, 10:10 AM

518 posts

slk5538,

I dunno whether my setting is applicable to your environment or not coz you had said that you have a lot of reflections, meaning your environment is quite bright.

But anyway, my setting is

TV : brightness=30 contrast=50 (this setting will appear dim to most people as I want to protect my baby girl's eyes)
Component1 : brightness=51 contrast=60
HDMI1 : brightness=40 contrast=60

After the 200hours burn-in period is up, I will revise things upward again. icon_rolleyes.gif Now only done abt 100hours.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 7 2008, 06:54 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Oct 7 2008, 02:22 PM)
sifus I got a question here. Whenever i switch on my dvd(connected to hdmi) on my pv80 it starts snowing. when i switch it off the snowing stops. Does anyone have this problem with their pv8/80? dvd player is sony 78h using the pana supplied hdmi cable. I wonder if its got anything to do with the cal-lab lightning isolator i use for all my av eqpmt ?
Maybe caused by HDCP thing kua as mentioned in the FAQ below. But bear in mind it is Pioneer FAW not Pana/Sony ones. biggrin.gif

http://www.pioneerfaq.info/english/dv610.p...V&question=HDMI
speedy3210
post Oct 13 2008, 10:09 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(skyfcmy @ Oct 12 2008, 03:30 AM)
Gents

Just to share,

Pana 42 PV80 / 8 really impressed me before but after compare side by side with LG 42 PG60UR I noticed that Panny somewhere not as dark as LG when
playing DVDs or Astro, this LG provide sharper image I couldnt believe it is LG, I did ask the Sales Person to swap the Video cable just incase different cable perfom
differently. You really need to compare and see which one is more suit your eyes.

Anyone notice this please share too. I am wondering is that Panny having problem  hmm.gif
Impressive tv isn't it? I believe PG60 has very good internal video processing/upscaler, at least not inferior to Pana PV80. Color is slightly more natural and I mean in showroom where every tv set are using VIVID/DYNAMIC mode to "impress" prospective customers.

Have to agree OTA (RTM, TV3, NTV7, TV8 bla bla) programmes are very good. I don't have Astro so can't comment much but I would hazard a guess that it would look lovely as well. I remember Pana PV80 OTA performance is very good as well.

By default, PG60 sets its Sharpness setting too high, hence what you have seen in showroom, but with a slightly more noisy picture, due to the sharpening. At home I turned it down to 40-50 compared to 80 (if I remember correctly), and everything still seems same without any perceptible loss of sharpness but with less noise around the edges.

On DVD, it looks fantastic on both component and HDMI input. And I left my Pioneer dv696 in 480i coz PG60's engine is far better in upscaling than Pio's one, especially in de-interlacing.

Regards.

Added on October 13, 2008, 10:15 am
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 13 2008, 09:01 AM)
Of course, when we do audition at the shop, we are standing pretty close to the tvs. HOwever, when you put them into your living room, the variance may not so great anymore..........cheers.
Not really. I went many, many times for audition but one thing I kept constant was the viewing distance. In my hse, viewing distance is abt 9ft and that is how far away I will stand when auditioning. It is easy to calculate by counting on the floor tiles or carpet at the showroom.

Regards.

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Oct 13 2008, 10:15 AM
speedy3210
post Oct 15 2008, 11:36 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(skyfcmy @ Oct 14 2008, 10:53 AM)
So, you bought your LG42PG60UR ? Got 3 years warranty ?

Yes, if not I won't be able to tell abt its settings. Mine got 4yrs. 2yrs from LG and extended 2yrs from Desa HT, including all-risk warranty for LG's 1yr warranty. the extended 2 years is something like HN's warranty whereby it insures against purchased value of the unit, not remaining market value like BestDenki's.

And for the THX mode, forget it. LG msia castrated the local version of PG60. Their so called "user-friendly" menu lacks the extensive colour management system that made it standout.

And you can get it cheaper than RM3700 quoted above. Bargain more especially now economy is not doing so good.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Oct 30 2008, 10:05 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Oct 30 2008, 06:57 AM)
The diffrence between PV8 and PV80 is just the memory slots right? hmm.gif
I think got that auto brightness/contrast thing and 1-2 features more but insignificant. But I guess they (Pana/Desa) may most probably be at this reno/home fair at KL convention centre next 2 weeks. Might as well wait just that little while coz most probably they may have promo by then.

The money saved can get you a few more BDs, hopefully. rclxms.gif

Regards.

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Oct 30 2008, 10:06 AM
speedy3210
post Oct 31 2008, 02:35 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Oct 31 2008, 10:11 AM)
Any comments on LG 4260UR? Quite nice to my eyes.
You mean 42PG60UR? or 42LG60FR? The 1st one is a PDP and latter is LCD.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Nov 13 2008, 01:04 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Nov 13 2008, 09:23 AM)
nope, the 3699 is gotten in penang
HN is already listing it at 4499 and if you enquire more, they would happily drop it down to 4299
KL price is already below that 3699 since 2 mths ago. Will be even lower if you decide to cash-n-carry. Don't worry, even Wira A/B can carry the entire box with its rear seats down. Ngam ngam fit.

Regards.
speedy3210
post Nov 17 2008, 06:50 PM

518 posts

So far no issue whatsoever with those telecine judder in animated mvies like Initial D, movies in Studio Gibli collection etc etc. Mine is LG 42PG60UR.

Regards.

0.0387sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:31 AM