126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

okhui26
post Jan 6 2009, 09:31 PM

147 posts

I will go for Sharp 46" LCD LC-46A65M, 4ms response time and good PQ.

Hehe..
ronnt88
post Jan 6 2009, 09:50 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:25 PM)
what point is that ar? cos why talk about the LCD panel itself unless you can watch LCD TV without backlight ?..
the Life of the LCD is quoted by it's backlight.. you have to take it as that.
as for the total lifespan of the backlight or plasma panel, agree with you... not much point in either.. by the time it kaputs time to get a TV which costs only 30-40% of the one it's replacing..

(except perhaps.. Ronn88 new LED backlight TV..  biggrin.gif  ops.. can't talk much about that....)
bro ar188.... i call for truce notworthy.gif
after all both of our nicks have 88 ma... biggrin.gif
so peace bro ? icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 6, 2009, 9:53 pmhi sifus... i'll be installing my LCD/plasma on wall... just wanted to check if there's a standard height for installation of bracket or is it based on personal preference? And height of display depends on size of tv? Any info based on experience would be much appreciated... thanks.

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jan 6 2009, 09:53 PM
ar188
post Jan 6 2009, 10:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 09:50 PM)
bro ar188.... i call for truce  notworthy.gif
after all both of our nicks have 88 ma... biggrin.gif
so peace bro ?  icon_rolleyes.gif
wei I just kacau kacau you only la.. (friendly way) we are long over arguements.. if you in KL dun mind meet up also.. biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 6 2009, 10:14 PM

2,353 posts

keke.... i know ler... biggrin.gif

say... do u mind to share some advice on how high to mount the bracket / TV in living room? tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 6 2009, 10:21 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 10:14 PM)
keke.... i know ler... biggrin.gif

say... do u mind to share some advice on how high to mount the bracket / TV  in living room? tongue.gif
use a motorized lift.. biggrin.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 6 2009, 10:27 PM

2,353 posts

apalah u .... i was asking how high to mount ler.. not how to mount. got my motorized lift ready d tongue.gif
htkaki
post Jan 6 2009, 10:32 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

IMHO, the center of the screen at eye level height (when u r seated) would be the best position.
ronnt88
post Jan 6 2009, 10:33 PM

2,353 posts

that's the answer i was looking 4.. thanks bro htkaki rclxms.gif
ic-klass
post Jan 6 2009, 11:02 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 6 2009, 09:27 PM)
Guys
Need your advice. Planning on getting a new LCD TV or Plasma. Budget is around RM5k to Rm6k. Sum up to these two models.

1)SHARP 46" LCD LC-4665M Rm6k++

OR

2) Panasonic TH-50PV80 Plasma TV RM5K++

I know you guys have been debating a lot on either LCD or Plasma. But I would appreciate some reviews and comparision between the two on its pros and cons. 
Im more towards watching astro, maybe later going for Blueray or Playstation 3.
Would really appreciate your views guys.........
Why not the PY800 plasma Panny? The 42 inch is selling <rm6.5k now. Size depand on ur viewing distance..
For Astro - plasma still best (even with ci-put S-video)

LCD with Astro?? - Only you sit far far way!! shakehead.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 6 2009, 11:09 PM

2,353 posts

after experiencing blu, Astro 480 resolution sux! regardless of type of display!
ic-klass
post Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 6 2009, 11:09 PM)
after experiencing blu, Astro 480 resolution sux! regardless of type of display!
Yup, totally agree. BUT, who watched Blu 8 hour a day - wished I live in those "developed countries". In Msia, what to do - just try to get the best of everything, with whatever u got la.. rclxms.gif
TOMEI-R
post Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Thanks to bros who replied..
TH50-PH80H plasma is not full HD whereas the Sharp is. We watch astro most of the time actually. But to think of it same price but 50' screen wor. No point being greedy but... Im still not sure which to get...
arshad
post Jan 7 2009, 01:09 AM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Anyone know about Sony Z Series? biggrin.gif
ic-klass
post Jan 7 2009, 01:20 AM

959 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM)
TH50-PH80H plasma is not full HD whereas the Sharp is. We watch astro most of the time actually. But to think of it same price but 50' screen wor. No point being greedy but... Im still not sure which to get...
Honestly, u are once like me (w/out the extra budget). Watching Astro most of the time. My old CRT in alway on from 8 or 9 am till I got back from work, which is around 6pm. Then, when everyone is at home, u can bet it's ON till past midnite. May be if i have extra hours to spare, i watched DVD-video every alternate nite. So astro is still a factor to consider when choosing between PLASMA or LCD - if its intended to be ur MAIN display at home. Otherwise, it is all come down to "which TOYS u wanna buy"

I have a 42PV80 - only recently. So far really satisfied with the PQ (conn via ci-put s-video cable). Planning to buy a THX-certified S-Videop Monster cable from one of the forumer. Its PQ is much better when view at home, compared to what u see at retails shop. You have to remember at shop, they set diff setting for the displayed and the signal is relayed via several. best to bring ur own source (DVD/Blue Ray) and ask for demo. Try to set both sets at a level playing field - standard picture mode, NR reduced,etc..

Just watched rm8 DVD - Mummy 3 and Stealth, at 4meter distance. Very happy with the PQ shocking.gif , and my dvd doesnt have any upconversion (the pic is totally upconverted via the Plasma) surficed to say I'm amazed - still blue ray with full hd plasma is the BEST.

The only things I missed about my PV80 is that, NONE of the connector ports is gold-plated..
dunno Py800/Py850 is like that...

so, IMHO, go for plasma - you wont regret it.. thumbup.gif
ronnt88
post Jan 7 2009, 08:22 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 7 2009, 01:03 AM)
go 4 50" ... bigger is always better bro icon_rolleyes.gif
lchee
post Jan 7 2009, 09:11 AM

511 posts

Hi guys. Plan to buy a new TV for my parents. Usage in small living room. Viewing distance about 10 ft away. They watch mainly Singapore channels and sometimes DVD HK, korea, china dramas. No astro. Recommend me a good size and type for my parents. Budget about 3k. Main thing would be good picture for normal tv station, cause 80% of the time the TV is turned on to watch singapore channels. Thanks.
tepetlah
post Jan 7 2009, 09:44 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 6 2009, 10:32 PM)
IMHO, the center of the screen at eye level height (when u r seated) would be the best position.
If u place lower side of the tv above ur eye level, u'll suffer eye strain and cause dizziness..I'd do mistake about this last time..

This post has been edited by tepetlah: Jan 7 2009, 09:48 AM
slk5538
post Jan 7 2009, 09:50 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:25 PM)
what point is that ar? cos why talk about the LCD panel itself unless you can watch LCD TV without backlight ?..
the Life of the LCD is quoted by it's backlight.. you have to take it as that.

Agree with you biggrin.gif , not point in having a TV that you can't watch.

The life span of LCD's backlight is considered "kaput" when it emits less that half from its original level, somehow similiar to the criteria for Plasma.

LCD life span itself does not equal to life span of the LCD backlight to certain institutions, after considering certain LCD panel that actually allow the backlight to be replaced eventhough the cost of replacing the backlight after a few years could be more expensive than buying a new TV tongue.gif

Here is some info on the market report on the life span of LCD and Plasma for those who is interested to learn more

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1...span_myths.html

and for those who encountered sales person who tried to sell you LCD or Plasma based on the life span, tell him to get over it, its is no longer the issue, the TV is more likely to be "kaput" by other faulty parts before the LCD's backlight or Plasma gases is wore out

bro ar188, you seems very knowledgeable on these TV thingy, mind if I ask if your profession involve you in this or you are one enthusiat in these things ? I am actually looking for some sifu to help me with some PQ problem that I had with my set, if you can help, then I would be verrrrrrrrry happy to PM you to tell you my problem notworthy.gif
ar188
post Jan 7 2009, 09:53 AM

9,206 posts

PM and see.. I'm not technical just read about HDTV for a long time now.. hehehe!
anfieldude
post Jan 7 2009, 10:52 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(tepetlah @ Jan 7 2009, 09:44 AM)
If u place lower side of the tv above ur eye level, u'll suffer eye strain and cause dizziness..I'd do mistake about this last time..
Actually the recommended practise by the Home Theater Association, (CinemaQuest (reference to SMPTE references)) is below eye level (max 15degrees). But this is difficult to accomplish in a non dedicated HT room. So in essence, if you keep the display at eye level (centre of screen) or +/- 15 degrees from eye level, it should be ok as it would not cause too much eye fatigue.

Another thing to note, is that for all LCD/Plasmas are not designed to be viewed in a bat cave (ie, very dark room). It is better to have a bias light behind the display. This also enhances black levels and reduces eye fatigue. Only projectors are good for bat caves as they are designed as such.

Just my 2cents worth.

126 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:15 AM