126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

overfloe
post Jan 6 2009, 02:32 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 6 2009, 03:16 PM)
try imsobloodysick - you wont be dissapointed rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Added on January 6, 2009, 2:22 pm
true.. but which no to press - or just keep on pressing [2] will later bring [srv-tool] ???
once the menu appears, press 2, then press OK. if i'm not mistaken, to go back to the previous menu press 1.

okhui26
post Jan 6 2009, 02:43 PM

147 posts

Hm... y so many ppl prefer the Plasma TV?

Plasma TV better than LCD TV?

Yesterday go to HN and saw the Penny Plasma Kuro, the screen not bad, but still prefer LCD TV, wahahahha.
slk5538
post Jan 6 2009, 02:44 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2009, 12:22 PM)
LCD panel itself I think cannot die wan if didn't abuse it physically..  notworthy.gif
That's my point. And I actually think that worrying lifespan is too yawn.gif ... aa ... cool2.gif

What is the lifespan of CRT TV? Plasma n LCD with 6 hours of daily usage can last you 10, 20, 30 years? I bet most would have change TV after 10 years ... that is before your Plasma or LCD is dead ..
tien8tien
post Jan 6 2009, 03:00 PM

15 posts

Just got my TH-42PV80HM yesterday. WOW it looks great even with my old DVD player (with out upscaling but with Component output). I found quite a few places now selling it at RM3.3K with 5 year manufacturer's warranty. I think this is a very good deal.

I have also managed to enter the service menu to check the running hours. it is very similar to what have been mentioned by other forumers here:

# Hold down the {VOL -} button ON THE PLASMA.
# At the same time, Press the {Status} button (the button on the left of the 0 (zero) button) on the remote control 3 times. (this must be done within 3 seconds of the {VOL-} button being pressed).
# Release both the {VOL -} button and the {Status} button and wait for about 2 seconds.
# The Service Menu will be displayed.

# Use the RED buttons to move to "SRV-TOOL" screen
and press the {OK} button to access it.

# HIGHLIGHT the box on the right side of the last option: (Navigate by using the arrow buttons on the remote)

# Then press and hold the {MUTE} button on the remote for 3 seconds.

TIME = Hours and Minutes of Operation.
COUNT = Times the Plasma was Powered On.

# To exit, press & hold the {Return} button on the Remote for few seconds. The TV will power reset and goes back to the original program that you are watching.

The manual mentioned the half-life for the Plasma for this model to be 100,000 hours. This is like 30+ years for 8 hours viewing per day!

Anybody can recommend good Component cables other than the expensive Monsters? I'm currently just using some plain AV cables (the RED, WHITE & Yellow RCA) for the connections.... hehehe.
ssyam
post Jan 6 2009, 03:24 PM

110 posts

Tien... time to get new player... at least upscaling player .... ekekek.. can player HDMI woo...
ronniekyan
post Jan 6 2009, 05:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(tien8tien @ Jan 6 2009, 03:00 PM)
Just got my TH-42PV80HM yesterday. WOW it looks great even with my old DVD player (with out upscaling but with Component output). I found quite a few places now selling it at RM3.3K with 5 year manufacturer's warranty. I think this is a very good deal.

I have also managed to enter the service menu to check the running hours. it is very similar to what have been mentioned by other forumers here:

# At the same time, Press the {Status} button (the button on the left of the 0 (zero) button) on the remote control 3 times. (this must be done within 3 seconds of the {VOL-} button being pressed).
# Release both the {VOL -} button and the {Status} button and wait for about 2 seconds.

# HIGHLIGHT the box on the right side of the last option: (Navigate by using the arrow buttons on the remote)

# To exit, press & hold the {Return} button on the Remote for few seconds. The TV will power reset and goes back to the original program that you are watching.

The manual mentioned the half-life for the Plasma for this model to be 100,000 hours. This is like 30+ years for 8 hours viewing per day!

Anybody can recommend good Component cables other than the expensive Monsters? I'm currently just using some plain AV cables (the RED, WHITE & Yellow RCA) for the connections.... hehehe.
May I know where are the few places you recommend having RM3.3k for the plasma?

Thank you

mpyw
post Jan 6 2009, 05:22 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 6 2009, 02:43 PM)

Yesterday go to HN and saw the Penny Plasma Kuro, the screen not bad, but still prefer LCD TV, wahahahha.
eh....Kuro made by Pioneer lar
Panny made Viera range.... sweat.gif rclxub.gif
jeffreyee
post Jan 6 2009, 05:24 PM

33 posts

Hi Tien8tien,

You mentioned that you know a few places in KL selling the PV80HM for 3.3K with 5 years warranty. Mind to share they are. Me and Ronnie Khoo (saw your post) interested to get one. Pls pm us. Thank you
ar188
post Jan 6 2009, 05:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Jan 6 2009, 02:44 PM)
That's my point. And I actually think that worrying lifespan is too  yawn.gif  ... aa ... cool2.gif

What is the lifespan of CRT TV? Plasma n LCD with 6 hours of daily usage can last you 10, 20, 30 years? I bet most would have change TV after 10 years ... that is before your Plasma or LCD is dead ..
what point is that ar? cos why talk about the LCD panel itself unless you can watch LCD TV without backlight ?..
the Life of the LCD is quoted by it's backlight.. you have to take it as that.

as for the total lifespan of the backlight or plasma panel, agree with you... not much point in either.. by the time it kaputs time to get a TV which costs only 30-40% of the one it's replacing..

(except perhaps.. Ronn88 new LED backlight TV.. biggrin.gif ops.. can't talk much about that....)

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 6 2009, 05:27 PM
okhui26
post Jan 6 2009, 05:28 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 6 2009, 05:22 PM)
eh....Kuro made by Pioneer lar
Panny made Viera range.... sweat.gif  rclxub.gif
haha, soli for the wrong info whistling.gif ,

new kid on the block, sometime will do some mistake, tongue.gif

ar188
post Jan 6 2009, 05:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:28 PM)
haha, soli for the wrong info  whistling.gif ,

new kid on the block, sometime will do some mistake,  tongue.gif
no wonder laugh as plasma la.. haven;'t eat enuf rice like old timer MPYW (owner of KURO) notworthy.gif
bryan_x00
post Jan 6 2009, 06:07 PM

1,225 posts

Guys, no one know how to check the run time for Sharp A53M LCD meh? Need some help from sifus here.
ycs
post Jan 6 2009, 07:41 PM

4,232 posts

anyone DIY install wall mount for their plasma/lcd tv?

can give some tips and recommend a good wall mount and price.
stasio
post Jan 6 2009, 08:23 PM

18,504 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Jan 6 2009, 07:41 PM)
anyone DIY install wall mount for their plasma/lcd tv?

can give some tips and recommend a good wall mount and price.
yeah,I am also interested. hmm.gif
btw,S-Video Cable for TH-42PV80HM is front doh.gif

This post has been edited by stasio: Jan 6 2009, 08:26 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 6 2009, 08:56 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jan 6 2009, 08:23 PM)
yeah,I am also interested. hmm.gif
btw,S-Video Cable for TH-42PV80HM is front doh.gif
also at the BACK - NEXT TO PC INPUT

Added on January 6, 2009, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(jeffreyee @ Jan 6 2009, 05:24 PM)
Hi Tien8tien,

You mentioned that you know a few places in KL selling the PV80HM for 3.3K with 5 years warranty. Mind to share they are. Me and Ronnie Khoo (saw your post) interested to get one. Pls pm us. Thank you
look for "imsobloodysick" - he has a shop in Kajang - not that far from kl.
Just got one myself yesterday..

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 6 2009, 09:02 PM
stasio
post Jan 6 2009, 09:06 PM

18,504 posts

Hm....,maybe old manual sad.gif
CODE
look for "imsobloodysick" - he has a shop in Kajang - not that far from kl.
Just got one myself yesterday..

He is going tomorrow to LA,coming back on 14.Jan rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stasio: Jan 6 2009, 09:08 PM
ic-klass
post Jan 6 2009, 09:10 PM

959 posts

QUOTE(okhui26 @ Jan 6 2009, 02:43 PM)
- PQ (contrast, flawless movement, natural colour, viewing angle,etc....) still a miles away from LCD

- Each has a strong point. but in general, Plasma way better than LCD. (entry level Plasma is around rm3.3k now, LCD can get below1.7k ma..)

- Please dont insult the KURO owner..

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 6 2009, 09:12 PM
okhui26
post Jan 6 2009, 09:15 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 6 2009, 09:10 PM)
- Please dont insult the KURO owner..

thumbup.gif
Not insult lah, I just remember the wrong brand that produce KURO, tongue.gif

ic-klass
post Jan 6 2009, 09:19 PM

959 posts

finally, managed to get the TIME/COUNT. Mine is 4:47 and 7 - Got the TV yesterday evening around 7pm and played around untill 11-12pm.

So, anyone that has a set which showed a diff TIME usage from what he/she used better check with Panny.
Mine is also December 08 set - cant get Jan 09 yet..

Good componet - comes with pricer price Depand on ur budget. I always use "What Hi-FI" as a reff.
An online shop in UK, "FutureShop" is doing a 50% off on many items - also do worldwide delivery..

This post has been edited by ic-klass: Jan 6 2009, 09:21 PM
TOMEI-R
post Jan 6 2009, 09:27 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Guys
Need your advice. Planning on getting a new LCD TV or Plasma. Budget is around RM5k to Rm6k. Sum up to these two models.

1)SHARP 46" LCD LC-4665M Rm6k++

OR

2) Panasonic TH-50PV80 Plasma TV RM5K++

I know you guys have been debating a lot on either LCD or Plasma. But I would appreciate some reviews and comparision between the two on its pros and cons.
Im more towards watching astro, maybe later going for Blueray or Playstation 3.
Would really appreciate your views guys.........

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Jan 6 2009, 09:27 PM

126 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:26 AM