D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...
shiinkuro31
Sep 2 2008, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Sep 1 2008, 07:07 PM) I see, thanks. I guess after getting the D60, first toy would be that Di622. Want to get good potrait tho. if u r not rushing. better save some more for sb600.. QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 1 2008, 08:41 PM) Not really. I used CPL yesterday and it really make the sky look even more blue. Well, kit lens of D40 is very good if you know how to utilize it  d40/x kt lens almost produce a good image as 17-55 f2.8. i read in kenrockwell.. btw, how to take reading? i readi sumwhr, n sound sumthng like this " spotted the sky n take reading, n spotted the model n take reading. n i choose the reading btw 2 reading to bla bla bla bla.." i dun really get that..  one more, whr to get rubber grip service? my dad's d70 tear n wear.. This post has been edited by shiinkuro31: Sep 2 2008, 09:56 AM
TSorenzai
Sep 2 2008, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Sep 2 2008, 09:42 AM) if u r not rushing. better save some more for sb600.. d40/x kt lens almost produce a good image as 17-55 f2.8. i read in kenrockwell.. btw, how to take reading? i readi sumwhr, n sound sumthng like this " spotted the sky n take reading, n spotted the model n take reading. n i choose the reading btw 2 reading to bla bla bla bla.." i dun really get that..  one more, whr to get rubber grip service? my dad's d70 tear n wear..  if you think logically.. a lens that is about 12 times the price of the other...will the results be the same? not to bad mouth about the kit lens i mean its really good for the price you pay for but once you see the really good lenses like the 17-55 that you mentioned, the results are different...maybe you wont see it under small resolution but once you go 8R you can already see quite an obvious difference..
shiinkuro31
Sep 2 2008, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 2 2008, 01:55 PM) if you think logically.. a lens that is about 12 times the price of the other...will the results be the same? not to bad mouth about the kit lens i mean its really good for the price you pay for but once you see the really good lenses like the 17-55 that you mentioned, the results are different...maybe you wont see it under small resolution but once you go 8R you can already see quite an obvious difference.. my reply, a quote from kenrockwell.. QUOTE(kenrockwell) In some ways the cheaper 18-70 mm and 18-55 mm lenses do the same or more and cost a lot less. This professional 17-55 just feels more solid and inspires more confidence and is a stop faster. The images aren't any different.
It works great, which it had better do for $1,250. It feels right: it's solid metal with engraved markings. Don't pay extra for it if you're hoping distortion would be gone: the $150 plastic 18-55 mm has similar distortion at the wide end and much less distortion at the long end!
Buy one if you need to look tough and have a lens you can use for self defense. Personally I prefer my lighter 18-55mm kit lens, which gives about the same results optically for digital, even the D2X. Digital isn't very tough on lenses compared to what we did with 35mm film. I'm not particular to needing f/2.8 for low light; I use slower lenses and crank up the ISO. this lense used to be in my wishlist. I made my opinion from people's review since I dun have chance to try this lense..
mizivincible
Sep 2 2008, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Sep 2 2008, 09:42 AM) if u r not rushing. better save some more for sb600.. I thought so too, but the price differ RM300 is a point there, and orenzai did a good review about it. Still not sure tho.
TSorenzai
Sep 2 2008, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Sep 2 2008, 02:53 PM) my reply, a quote from kenrockwell.. QUOTE(kenrockwell) In some ways the cheaper 18-70 mm and 18-55 mm lenses do the same or more and cost a lot less. This professional 17-55 just feels more solid and inspires more confidence and is a stop faster. The images aren't any different.
It works great, which it had better do for $1,250. It feels right: it's solid metal with engraved markings. Don't pay extra for it if you're hoping distortion would be gone: the $150 plastic 18-55 mm has similar distortion at the wide end and much less distortion at the long end!
Buy one if you need to look tough and have a lens you can use for self defense. Personally I prefer my lighter 18-55mm kit lens, which gives about the same results optically for digital, even the D2X. Digital isn't very tough on lenses compared to what we did with 35mm film. I'm not particular to needing f/2.8 for low light; I use slower lenses and crank up the ISO. this lense used to be in my wishlist. I made my opinion from people's review since I dun have chance to try this lense..  yes i saw tat...thats why i asked you to take a moment to think  i luv his articles also..
kenlimfornication
Sep 2 2008, 05:20 PM
Hello guys, I've been looking at a D60 for quite sometime now. I've been reading up a lot too. As I've never used a DSLR, but I'm really interested to take up and learn photography as a hobby. And I've made up my mind to get a D60 as a start.
Any recommendation for a place to get a brand new 1, anyone knows a shop with a knowledgeable and friendly enough to let me know every pros and cons hands on? I know, I've also compared and read reviews at dpreview.
Please do let me know the place that gives the best offer, sharing knowledge, etc via pm or this thread.
Thanks!
' or 1=1 --
Sep 2 2008, 05:42 PM
ken rockwell? i lol! used to read his stuff. but back then i didn't know anything about cameras or photography. now that i do, most of what he writes about are crap. i only read for the specs for gears. his comments on them? you can throw it down the drain.
darthbaboon
Sep 2 2008, 05:44 PM
QUOTE(kenlimfornication @ Sep 2 2008, 05:20 PM) Hello guys, I've been looking at a D60 for quite sometime now. I've been reading up a lot too. As I've never used a DSLR, but I'm really interested to take up and learn photography as a hobby. And I've made up my mind to get a D60 as a start. Any recommendation for a place to get a brand new 1, anyone knows a shop with a knowledgeable and friendly enough to let me know every pros and cons hands on? I know, I've also compared and read reviews at dpreview. Please do let me know the place that gives the best offer, sharing knowledge, etc via pm or this thread. Thanks! Where are you located? If you're in the Klang Valley, I heard that YL Camera and J-One gets good votes from all the peeps. For their addresses, just check out Page 1 in the D300 thread, or do a random search... they have been mentioned everywhere. For sharing knowledge, anyone in this thread or forums should be able to help you out... or at least, we pretend to be knowledgable.
KTCY
Sep 2 2008, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Sep 2 2008, 02:53 PM) my reply, a quote from kenrockwell.. QUOTE(kenrockwell) In some ways the cheaper 18-70 mm and 18-55 mm lenses do the same or more and cost a lot less. This professional 17-55 just feels more solid and inspires more confidence and is a stop faster. The images aren't any different.
Buy one if you need to look tough and have a lens you can use for self defense. Personally I prefer my lighter 18-55mm kit lens, which gives about the same results optically for digital, even the D2X. Digital isn't very tough on lenses compared to what we did with 35mm film. I'm not particular to needing f/2.8 for low light; I use slower lenses and crank up the ISO. this lense used to be in my wishlist. I made my opinion from people's review since I dun have chance to try this lense..  I won't get a DX lens. Reason pretty simple 1. Hard to sell off especially those f2.8 lens  2. Who knows 1 day I might try FF This post has been edited by KTCY: Sep 2 2008, 06:04 PM
TSorenzai
Sep 2 2008, 08:43 PM
aduh now D700 so cheap...better get a FF f2.8...
ifer
Sep 2 2008, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(shiinkuro31 @ Sep 2 2008, 02:53 PM) this lense used to be in my wishlist. I made my opinion from people's review since I dun have chance to try this lense..  i would suggest you to try the 2.8 lens before you actually believe what kenrockwell said. i am not saying that that person is full of crap, but i am saying that you should have your own opinion on these 2 lenses after you have tried it. but then again...
tuxxie
Sep 2 2008, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Sep 2 2008, 03:32 PM) I thought so too, but the price differ RM300 is a point there, and orenzai did a good review about it. Still not sure tho. Don't know about you guys, but I wish I have a SB400 instead of the SB600 I'm using now whenever I go hiking. It's no fun carrying a heavy flash when you're panting climbing up hill/mountain, and the fact you don't need that much flash power for fill flash. It's no fun either carrying a heavy flash on holiday (I do backpacking). Your requirements are different than mine, I'm sure. But heck, I think SB400 suits my needs more than my SB600.
mizivincible
Sep 2 2008, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(tuxxie @ Sep 2 2008, 11:01 PM) Don't know about you guys, but I wish I have a SB400 instead of the SB600 I'm using now whenever I go hiking. It's no fun carrying a heavy flash when you're panting climbing up hill/mountain, and the fact you don't need that much flash power for fill flash. It's no fun either carrying a heavy flash on holiday (I do backpacking). Your requirements are different than mine, I'm sure. But heck, I think SB400 suits my needs more than my SB600. Then will you trade your SB600 for SB400 ? I dont mind go buy new SB400 and trade with your SB600. Haha. Joking bro I think you can put it up for sale, and get the SB400 tho.
TSorenzai
Sep 2 2008, 11:59 PM
basically the sb400 isnt really peoples choice because of the not so powerful flash... if you said you wanna use it outdoors, whats the use of having a sb400 when you cant bounce the flash ler? better just use direct flash
szyap
Sep 3 2008, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(orenzai @ Sep 2 2008, 11:59 PM) basically the sb400 isnt really peoples choice because of the not so powerful flash... if you said you wanna use it outdoors, whats the use of having a sb400 when you cant bounce the flash ler? better just use direct flash  orenzai is right tho... wat d use of external flash outdoor?
loon1031
Sep 3 2008, 08:59 AM
If compare the SB800 & SB600, what is the difference?
KTCY
Sep 3 2008, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(loon1031 @ Sep 3 2008, 08:59 AM) If compare the SB800 & SB600, what is the difference? This might give a helping hand http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/sb600vs800.htm
ebernie
Sep 3 2008, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(szyap @ Sep 3 2008, 12:39 AM) orenzai is right tho... wat d use of external flash outdoor?  The SB600 does wonders outdoors. I use it as fill-flash (direct flash if you're wondering) to eliminate harsh shadows especially when I shoot outdoors. Typical scenarios: 1. Person is in the sun. Eye and face are full of ugly shadows if I take using natural light. I'll usually use the SB600, flash exposure compensation at -1 or -0.7 in iTTL-BL. See the pics below for example:   2. Person is in the shade but the environment is still very bright. What will happen is that if I use natural light, I'll either underexpose the person while keeping the environment properly exposed or I'll expose the person correctly while blowing out the environment. I'll mount the SB600, again dial-in -0.7 or -1 compensation in iTTL-BL and meter for the environment then underexpose it slightly (about 1 stop) by increasing the shutter slightly.  Enjoy flashing
KTCY
Sep 3 2008, 12:08 PM
Today I got a confirmation on at least 3 lenses (released at Photokina): * AF-S 50mm 1.4 G - replacement is coming (confirmed) * AF-S 85mm 1.4 G - replacement is coming (confirmed) * AF-S 70-200mm 2,8 VRII - replacement is coming (confirmed) http://nikonrumors.com/ Time to grab 70-200 new version
ebernie
Sep 3 2008, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 3 2008, 12:08 PM) Today I got a confirmation on at least 3 lenses (released at Photokina): * AF-S 50mm 1.4 G - replacement is coming (confirmed) * AF-S 85mm 1.4 G - replacement is coming (confirmed) * AF-S 70-200mm 2,8 VRII - replacement is coming (confirmed) http://nikonrumors.com/ Time to grab 70-200 new version  Oh, wah lau! Dream lenses! Hahahahahah I'm VERY VERY HAPPY. Now I'll wait for a price war between the Sigma 50mm f1.4 and Nikkor 50mm f1.4. And will there be a price drop for the 70-200mm VRI? Hahahahaha But worried about the prices though!