Household [Home-Applicances] Ceiling Fan, KDK, Panasonic, Euro Uno, Mistral

andrekua2
post Mar 7 2023, 09:24 PM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 7 2023, 04:59 PM)
I removed the cover of my KDK ceiling fan (K14y9) and the humming at speed 2 and 3 is gone. So it must be this fan cover that is making the buzzing noise. What can I do to dampen the sound ?i tried to put in some sponge tape but I can't put back the cover...
There's basically 2 types of sound.

One is humming... Like mmmm, mmmm, mmmm which usually is a sign of failing capacitor and fan also spin slower.

Another is like scratching sound when the blades aren't screwed in tightly or properly. When turned on, one or more blades are rubbing against the bottom cover.
pigduck
post Mar 7 2023, 09:42 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 7 2023, 09:24 PM)
There's basically 2 types of sound.

One is humming... Like mmmm, mmmm, mmmm which usually is a sign of failing capacitor and fan also spin slower.

Another is like scratching sound when the blades aren't screwed in tightly or properly. When turned on, one or more blades are rubbing against the bottom cover.
It's a buzzing sound like. "hummmmmmmmmmmm" - I think it's the cover against the spinning fan blades.

I untightened the screws from the cover that is hiding the capacitor. So it doesn't touch the capacitor itself. Then I put the cover back and so far no sound at speed 2 and speed 3 has a very slight hum.

This post has been edited by pigduck: Mar 7 2023, 09:47 PM
andrekua2
post Mar 8 2023, 01:08 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 7 2023, 09:42 PM)
It's a buzzing sound like. "hummmmmmmmmmmm" - I think it's the cover against the spinning fan blades.

I untightened the screws from the cover that is hiding the capacitor. So it doesn't touch the capacitor itself. Then I put the cover back and so far no sound at speed 2 and speed 3 has a very slight hum.
Most likely capacitor liao... is the biggest capacitor (1.8J) brown or black?
mushigen
post Mar 8 2023, 01:11 AM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Mar 6 2023, 10:49 AM)
BTW I'm looking for Bayu 4 ceiling fan, and noticed that currently the colours available are only black or white.

I'm used to the previous grey/silver colour. So now looks likely I need to go with the black colour one. Just wondering, will it look weird like something is moving above your head if it's put in the bedroom and you are about to sleep? Coz the ceiling is white and a black fan is moving around it.

Just wondering, maybe existing users of black colour ceiling fan in bedrooms can share your experience  biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=11434096]
I'm using a black ceiling fan in mbr. It doesn't affect me aesthetically, but I find it easier to spot dust build-up along the long edge of the blades.

Max
post Mar 8 2023, 09:09 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 7 2023, 09:15 PM)
If you're using the old bayu, then you should change to the newer bayu. I got fed up replacing the capacitor and changed to the newer design with round cover. Haven't need to change the capacitor even after 4 years.

This is how the old bayu looks like.
got this model (grey color), move slow and humming.. replaced all caps, running speed ok.. but still got the humming... knock it few times still hum.. i guess its the motor itself.. sad.gif
andrekua2
post Mar 8 2023, 10:57 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Mar 8 2023, 09:09 AM)
got this model (grey color), move slow and humming.. replaced all caps, running speed ok.. but still got the humming... knock it few times still hum.. i guess its the motor itself..  sad.gif
Yeah, this is most problematic model. I got tired of replacing the capacitors and moved it out to the balcony to dry my laundry. Also wont be bothered with the sound. I replaced it with a Sharp PJC176W which has been working like a charm for 3 or 4 years. A bit regret didnt bought extra when it was on sale for RM299 back then. The wind is definitely stronger than Bayu as well.

Right now the only few fans that I kept replacing capacitors are mostly at my parents house. Those old design Yuragi 5 blades, couples of old Bayu 4. Since I kept repairing them, they didnt see the need to replace them. Like you mentioned, sometimes I still get humming after replacing capacitors. I attributes them to the poor quality or even fake caps in the market. If the humming is very subtle, I would leave it. I would replaced another capacitor if its too loud even though I just soldered it.
pigduck
post Mar 9 2023, 09:45 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 8 2023, 01:08 AM)
Most likely capacitor liao... is the biggest capacitor (1.8J) brown or black?
so when the cover touches the pcb it makes noise?
andrekua2
post Mar 10 2023, 12:40 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Mar 9 2023, 09:45 PM)
so when the cover touches the pcb it makes noise?
I dont think so. I think the bad or failing capacitor make the motor hum. If you had a same type fan, you can take out the good board and try on this fan.

I think the cover somehow just echo the hum and make it more noticeable.
KuroWanko
post Mar 11 2023, 12:16 AM

185 posts

Hi Sifus. Need help for my ceiling fan.

My ceiling fan not working when I switch on the button, it moves few inches then stopped.

Tried to change its speed but still not working, turn off and turn on again wont work.

Lucky thing is it does not trip my whole house.

I may sound stupid by asking this, but what shall I check whether it is the ceiling fan problem or wiring problem?

Shall I get a wireman or chargeman to help me check if the checking procedures are too complex for me to handle?
andrekua2
post Mar 11 2023, 01:38 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Mar 11 2023, 12:16 AM)
Hi Sifus. Need help for my ceiling fan.

My ceiling fan not working when I switch on the button, it moves few inches then stopped.

Tried to change its speed but still not working, turn off and turn on again wont work.

Lucky thing is it does not trip my whole house.

I may sound stupid by asking this, but what shall I check whether it is the ceiling fan problem or wiring problem?

Shall I get a wireman or chargeman to help me check if the checking procedures are too complex for me to handle?
Corrected:

Old fan? Most likely capacitor failure. If those old 3 blades with speed dial on the wall., the capacitor is located at the fan's motor cover (not the one near the ceiling). You should be able to find a rectangular shaped capacitor after unscrew the cover and take it apart.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Mar 12 2023, 01:18 AM
KuroWanko
post Mar 11 2023, 08:39 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 11 2023, 01:38 AM)
Old fan? Most likely capacitor failure. If those old 3 blades with speed dial on the wall., the capacitor is located at the fan's  top cover near the ceiling. You should be able to find a rectangular shaped capacitor after unscrew the cover and slide it down.
Yes, exactly with 3 blades and 5-speed dial on wall. So now what I need to do is to dismantle the fan from ceiling and check the capacitor?

andrekua2
post Mar 12 2023, 12:40 AM

13,469 posts

QUOTE(KuroWanko @ Mar 11 2023, 08:39 PM)
Yes, exactly with 3 blades and 5-speed dial on wall. So now what I need to do is to dismantle the fan from ceiling and check the capacitor?
First of all, my memory is failing me thus apologize for sharing the wrong info on the location of the capacitor. My fan is a kdk.

1. No need to dismantle the fan from the ceiling.
2. There should be this cover on top of the fan motor (not the top cover which touch the ceiling to hide the life and neutral cable). Unscrew both screws and you should be able to take it apart. You will find a black capacitor.
3. Unscrew the capacitor or try to take a picture of the capacitor spec. There should be some writing on the sides which specified the capacitance. Then go find a replacement in those electrical repair shop or jalan pasar.
4. Screw it back on like how the original were connected. Certain model may require cutting and reconnecting cable. (Take some pictures before dismantle)

Remember to buy those wire cable connector for easier reconnection later. Some capacitor had an extended part to screw in to the fan but some don't.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Mar 12 2023, 12:55 AM

pigduck
post Mar 16 2023, 12:02 AM

422 posts

my deka fan is so lightweight that once in awhile it jitters when i turn it on and today it made a sort of whirring sound as it jittered. :/
jdachum
post Mar 18 2023, 01:00 AM

308 posts

Hi, currently choosing ceiling fans for my new house. I was given Deka fans in the quotation by my ID. Thinking of swapping that out since there are so many bad reviews on that.

Looking through this topic, I gathered that KDK Sensa 4 and V Touch Jr macam the best, but are there any good fans at 46" or 42"?

Thanks!
SUSceo684
post Mar 18 2023, 01:14 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(jdachum @ Mar 18 2023, 01:00 AM)
Hi, currently choosing ceiling fans for my new house. I was given Deka fans in the quotation by my ID. Thinking of swapping that out since there are so many bad reviews on that.

Looking through this topic, I gathered that KDK Sensa 4 and V Touch Jr macam the best, but are there any good fans at 46" or 42"?

Thanks!
KDK K11Z1-ES (110cm/44”) rclxm9.gif
Jason
post Mar 18 2023, 01:35 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 6 2023, 10:56 AM)
I bought one, didn't manage to use it due to lacklustre wind, sold "Lightly used with box" for half price because this particular model is lemon model.
Or in summary = "Regret"

If I had to pay myself for installation and uninstallation [from living room - MBR - storeroom] I already rugi more than the fan price itself
Why is it a lemon? And I thought KDK same. How are they different?

I got this Bayu 4
3 speed. Fastest speed the fan got humming sound. Mid speed got humming I open and put some hot glue and reassemble now ok. Fastest speed still humming.

And yes I chose this because it was cheaper than the equivalent kdk.

But compared to Aeratron the wind noise is significant. If the humming noise comes back or the fan fries I’m getting an Aeratron or KDK DC model.
SUSceo684
post Mar 18 2023, 01:42 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Mar 18 2023, 01:35 AM)
Why is it a lemon? And I thought KDK same. How are they different?

I got this Bayu 4
3 speed. Fastest speed the fan got humming sound. Mid speed got humming I open and put some hot glue and reassemble now ok. Fastest speed still humming.

And yes I chose this because it was cheaper than the equivalent kdk.

But compared to Aeratron the wind noise is significant. If the humming noise comes back or the fan fries I’m getting an Aeratron or KDK DC model.
Same factory, different licensing and CR process, diff production line. Proton Saga vs Mitsu Lancer.
Krek krek noise, max speed does nothing, no wind, tissue cannot blow off the table at max speed even if left to run for 30 mins.
Already uninstall and reinstall all over my apartment.
The RM15 savings not worth it. Replaced with a Z series KDK when it was newly launched and tissues can't stay on the table rclxm9.gif TCO, after minus off the losses from that Bayu 4 sale and new KDK Z series can already buy a Sensa 4 from the beginning.. even a V touch jr would have been cheaper. Haven't count my own "installation fees" if I had to pay RM80 per trip imagine how much alr.
Jason
post Mar 18 2023, 11:26 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 18 2023, 01:42 AM)
Same factory, different licensing and CR process, diff production line. Proton Saga vs Mitsu Lancer.
Krek krek noise, max speed does nothing, no wind, tissue cannot blow off the table at max speed even if left to run for 30 mins.
Already uninstall and reinstall all over my apartment.
The RM15 savings not worth it. Replaced with a Z series KDK when it was newly launched and tissues can't stay on the table  rclxm9.gif TCO, after minus off the losses from that Bayu 4 sale and new KDK Z series can already buy a Sensa 4 from the beginning.. even a V touch jr would have been cheaper. Haven't count my own "installation fees" if I had to pay RM80 per trip imagine how much alr.
Thanks for sharing. Now I know better. Not worth the savings over KDK. Lucky still better than Deka. Noisy from brand new.
jdachum
post Mar 19 2023, 10:27 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 18 2023, 01:14 AM)
KDK K11Z1-ES (110cm/44”)  rclxm9.gif
Thanks! I saw that as well. You reckoned this is good?
Sad thing is it’s only in silver colour. At least Sensa 4 looks nice.

hinfinitie
post Mar 27 2023, 10:02 AM

27 posts

Dear sifus, this is my house office (high ceiling but long and narrow partition), I am sitting right below it every working day.

The ceiling fan is Alpha Cosa Xpress 40" bought exactly 2 years ago (March 2021).

8x of the Alpha Cosa fans in my house now required to change the PCB board (only speed 1 & 4 working, either super slow speed or fast noisy headache inducing speed, super annoying).

I have been turning on the air cond more often, but the air cond can be too cold at times (and waste of electricity), hence I am planning to change the whole fan instead.

Based on recommendations from previous threads, which fan would be more suitable for such room?

1. KDK K11Z1-ES (110cm/44”) can fit? or perhaps Aeratron 43”?
2. install KDK KC-4GR wall fan at the wall light point
3. standing fan??

Personally would prefer ceiling fan but it seems like ceiling fan might not suitable for this layout, not many good <40" ceiling fans also.

Any inputs are greatly appreciated!!

This post has been edited by hinfinitie: Mar 27 2023, 10:06 AM

232 Pages « < 214 215 216 217 218 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:03 AM