126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

jyth_82
post Sep 30 2008, 11:47 PM

Mr.
1,431 posts

anyone tested any availability for on those PS3 accesories (such as the DS3 , PS3 eye and the BD remote) in those SonyStyle store?
GamersFamilia
post Oct 1 2008, 05:23 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,756 posts

QUOTE(jyth_82 @ Sep 30 2008, 11:47 PM)
anyone tested any availability for on those PS3 accesories (such as the DS3 , PS3 eye and the BD remote)  in those SonyStyle store?
no need to wait for sony style , u can get those at any gameshop...
panda-man
post Oct 2 2008, 09:33 AM

2,691 posts

has anyone updated to the new firmware yet. ive checked it on the site and its v. 2.43. just wondering if everything is ok. im kinda paranoid after everyones ps3 kaput. after 2.40 is it safe?
jyth_82
post Oct 2 2008, 09:36 AM

Mr.
1,431 posts

ah ha... not sure but does the any shop provides the similar warranty to Sony Sytle?

Just bought a DS3 controller from them (the Curve)... they mention 1 year warranty with it.. also, there is a nice HT set which offers 3 HDMI in and 1 HDMI out... looks schweet...for those who intend to get the 5.1 out from the PS3 .... am looking for review now...
panda-man
post Oct 2 2008, 04:28 PM

2,691 posts

some HDMI allow input in this is mainly for your convenience in switching channels and what not. but the audio will still play through the TV. or whatever the HDMI out is plugged into. This is how my HT is at least. and I needed to get an optical cable to connect the ps3 to the HT for the Surround sound to work. im using yamaha v363 ... i think. im sure not all HT is like this but i thought i would give you a heads up to check it out.
anggun
post Oct 2 2008, 07:51 PM

122 posts

is it my ps3 and broadband combination or is the p33 browser by design is very very slow? it takes quite a while to load a page. can we download say firefox and use it on the machine?

This post has been edited by anggun: Oct 2 2008, 07:52 PM
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 2 2008, 08:32 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Hi guys I'm planning to buy a PS3 VERY VERY soon. I'm thinking of the Malaysia set..but it's almost impossible to get one OTHER than sony style. My question is - what do the sifus here think of the SG set? Any particular problems or is the MY set just better because of the warranty?

Thanks in advance.
SSJBen
post Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(anggun @ Oct 2 2008, 07:51 PM)
is it my ps3 and broadband combination or is the p33 browser by design is very very slow? it takes quite a while to load a page. can we download say firefox and use it on the machine?
Its how its built. The PS3's browser doesn't work well with XML, Java and even flash(although flash has been vastly improved since 2 years ago). So yea thats how it goes. You cannot download FF to the PS3 however.

We can only hope if there will be a PS3 version of Google Chrome since Sony and Google seems to have a rather nice partnership now.

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 2 2008, 08:32 PM)
Hi guys I'm planning to buy a PS3 VERY VERY soon. I'm thinking of the Malaysia set..but it's almost impossible to get one OTHER than sony style. My question is - what do the sifus here think of the SG set? Any particular problems or is the MY set just better because of the warranty?

Thanks in advance.
PS3 Malaysian Official set available here at PS Zone: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/470450
GamersFamilia
post Oct 3 2008, 09:46 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,756 posts

QUOTE(jyth_82 @ Oct 2 2008, 09:36 AM)
ah ha... not sure but does the any shop provides the similar warranty to Sony Sytle?

Just bought a DS3 controller from them (the Curve)... they mention 1 year warranty with it.. also, there is a nice HT set which offers 3 HDMI in and 1 HDMI out... looks schweet...for those who intend to get the 5.1 out from the PS3 .... am looking for review now...
if u buy sony playstation 3 80gb malaysian edition , u will get 1 year warranty.Doesnt matter where u buy the console.As long as u registered the console via online then it should be no probs.

Added on October 3, 2008, 9:48 am
QUOTE(panda-man @ Oct 2 2008, 09:33 AM)
has anyone updated to the new firmware yet. ive checked it on the site and its v. 2.43. just wondering if everything is ok. im kinda paranoid after everyones ps3 kaput. after 2.40 is it safe?
i do believe the lens prob 100% not because of the firmware...and yes v 2.43 totally safe , as long as u downloaded it from playstation official site , it should be okey.

as sony make a statement : the firmware will not harm the console (PS3).

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Oct 3 2008, 09:48 AM
Lord_Ashe
post Oct 3 2008, 11:01 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM)
Its how its built. The PS3's browser doesn't work well with XML, Java and even flash(although flash has been vastly improved since 2 years ago). So yea thats how it goes. You cannot download FF to the PS3 however.

We can only hope if there will be a PS3 version of Google Chrome since Sony and Google seems to have a rather nice partnership now.
PS3 Malaysian Official set available here at PS Zone: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/470450
Thanks ben. Anyone else have any input? Basically if I register my PS3 online it doesn't matter which region it's from?
GamersFamilia
post Oct 3 2008, 03:02 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,756 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 3 2008, 11:01 AM)
Thanks ben. Anyone else have any input? Basically if I register my PS3 online it doesn't matter which region it's from?
Like me myself i do registered my PS3 80GB Malaysian Edition at Playstation.Com ( Malaysia ) : http://asia.playstation.com/eng_my/index.php
kerollowyat
post Oct 3 2008, 03:21 PM

274 posts

Hi

Can PS3 infected with virus.
ie, I plug in usb drive into the PS3, to play movies.

GamersFamilia
post Oct 3 2008, 03:29 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,756 posts

QUOTE(kerollowyat @ Oct 3 2008, 03:21 PM)
Hi

Can PS3 infected with virus.
ie, I plug in usb drive into the PS3, to play movies.
May be,better scan the usb drive first via pc before downloaded something from it to ur ps3
anggun
post Oct 3 2008, 07:41 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM)

i was hoping to surf the net from the living room using the ps3, looks like i have to go back to connecting a vga cable to the tv from my laptop. sigh!
jehutyz
post Oct 3 2008, 08:16 PM

1,215 posts

Wondering do anyone get something to protect their PS3?
Saw this in PA.
Is this useful? Local shop have this?

Dust Guard Filter
slickz
post Oct 3 2008, 09:29 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

as far as I know, the ps3 can't get virus since virus is a type of rogue code. If viruses were possible on the ps3, that means the ps3 has been hacked.

Has the ps3 been hacked? I don't think so, otherwise you'll see bootleg games for ps3 available.

Additionally, most viruses are written for the windows and DOS platform. The PS3 OS definately does not run on windows/DOS. Much like how the mac has far fewer viruses (if any) than windows.

kerollowyat
post Oct 3 2008, 11:05 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 3 2008, 09:29 PM)
as far as I know, the ps3 can't get virus since virus is a type of rogue code. If viruses were possible on the ps3, that means the ps3 has been hacked.

Has the ps3 been hacked? I don't think so, otherwise you'll see bootleg games for ps3 available.
  Additionally, most viruses are written for the windows and DOS platform. The PS3 OS definately does not run on windows/DOS. Much like how the mac has far fewer viruses (if any) than windows.
TQ. So no worry if surf or plug in usb drive. But, better be safe - scan it first.

One more question, is it possible to set a password, so other people cant access the PS3, even he turn it on..

rayz85
post Oct 3 2008, 11:05 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Oct 3 2008, 08:16 PM)
Wondering do anyone get something to protect their PS3?
Saw this in PA.
Is this useful? Local shop have this?

Dust Guard Filter
I've been hunting for this as well, but i don't think they have it here yet sad.gif
slickz
post Oct 3 2008, 11:21 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

cool little tidbit : plugging in a sony mp3 walkman will cause the music tab in XMB to show the walkman logo for your storage device. Their devices work together!
duh2k
post Oct 3 2008, 11:47 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 3 2008, 11:21 PM)
cool little tidbit : plugging in a sony mp3 walkman will cause the music tab in XMB to show the walkman logo for your storage device. Their devices work together!
hehe yup! it'll be really embarrassing for sony if it didn't recognize their own devices tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:01 AM