QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 09:48 PM)
They pay the same for ACCA and Degree?
Singaporeans do not hold ACCA in as high regard as many Malaysians mistakenly do.Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
May 4 2009, 10:32 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 09:48 PM) They pay the same for ACCA and Degree? Singaporeans do not hold ACCA in as high regard as many Malaysians mistakenly do. |
May 4 2009, 10:35 PM
135 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(chess_gal @ May 4 2009, 10:01 PM) Singapore firm dun give a d*mn whether or not you are a degree holder or ACCA unless you are local graduate (first class and masters gets more obviously). (Local grad as in Singapore Local Uni) What Does ICPAS Stands For?Basically Singapore firm doesnt really emphasise on your professional qualification as long as you have ICPAS (1 week course) you are promotable. Most of my Manager only have ICPAS. |
May 5 2009, 09:36 AM
31 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Hi guys, for those working in Sg, mind sharing your experience in job-hunting in Sg? For the benefits of those thinking to work in Sg.
You guys just travelled down for interviews or quit your job in M'sia first then hunt in Sg? Any tips on job-hunting and interview in Sg, besides the usual oft-repeated advice (be confident lah, dress up lah. etc)? This post has been edited by topmankl: May 5 2009, 10:18 AM |
May 5 2009, 09:39 AM
8,912 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(topmankl @ May 5 2009, 09:36 AM) Hi guys, for those working in Sg, mind sharing your experience in job-hunting in Sg? A quick one, put a SG contact number instead of MY contact number in your CV You guys just travelled down for interviews or quit your job in M'sia first then hunt in Sg? Any tips on job-hunting and interview in Sg, besides the usual oft-repeated advice (be confident lah, dress up lah. etc)? |
May 5 2009, 09:58 AM
19 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(seantang @ May 4 2009, 11:32 PM) FYI, when in UK or New Zealand, my friend who hold a degree in Accountancy from the Uni of Singapore could not still get a job anywhere! He was told to pass the local exams in the respective countries first before qualifying as an accountant. Ok enuf said, I worked in Sinjapore for 3 years. Very good pay compared to Malaysia. But I missed the chinchainess of Malaysians and relaxness. My rent was high and the living expenses is higher although not when it come to computers or electronics which is about the same surprisingly. Food is dearer. Cleanliness is better so any Malaysians who simply like to throw things out from the car or litter better watch out! The people there don't tolerate kindly. Summons or fines will have no discounts and really enforced. Career wise, it depends a lot on the employer. Dress up properly for the interview. Act confident but not stupidly fast. Be polite and show good manners. When I was there, there was plenty of jobs but now I am not too sure. A Sinjaporean friend told me he knows of a man with a Business Administration graduate working as a MacDonalds manager as he could not find a job after being retrenched over 13 months. |
May 5 2009, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(jona88tha @ May 5 2009, 09:58 AM) FYI, when in UK or New Zealand, my friend who hold a degree in Accountancy from the Uni of Singapore could not still get a job anywhere! He was told to pass the local exams in the respective countries first before qualifying as an accountant. You know how much is a Macdonalds manager pay a not? Ok enuf said, I worked in Sinjapore for 3 years. Very good pay compared to Malaysia. But I missed the chinchainess of Malaysians and relaxness. My rent was high and the living expenses is higher although not when it come to computers or electronics which is about the same surprisingly. Food is dearer. Cleanliness is better so any Malaysians who simply like to throw things out from the car or litter better watch out! The people there don't tolerate kindly. Summons or fines will have no discounts and really enforced. Career wise, it depends a lot on the employer. Dress up properly for the interview. Act confident but not stupidly fast. Be polite and show good manners. When I was there, there was plenty of jobs but now I am not too sure. A Sinjaporean friend told me he knows of a man with a Business Administration graduate working as a MacDonalds manager as he could not find a job after being retrenched over 13 months. |
May 5 2009, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(jona88tha @ May 5 2009, 09:58 AM) FYI, when in UK or New Zealand, my friend who hold a degree in Accountancy from the Uni of Singapore could not still get a job anywhere! He was told to pass the local exams in the respective countries first before qualifying as an accountant. And what is this statement supposed to point out? |
May 5 2009, 10:51 AM
May 5 2009, 11:10 AM
1,006 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(limshenghong @ May 4 2009, 10:35 PM) Google is your friend,Institute Certified Public Accountant of Singapore. Something like MICPA Added on May 5, 2009, 11:20 am QUOTE(topmankl @ May 5 2009, 09:36 AM) Hi guys, for those working in Sg, mind sharing your experience in job-hunting in Sg? For the benefits of those thinking to work in Sg. QUitting your job in Msia and hunt for one in Singapore is a stupid move. And i seriously advise you not to, a friend of mine quit her job after 2 months, thinking that she can easily secure an employment (Degree in Marketing from Aus). Six months down the road, she is still unemployed. Thankfully her dad is pretty loaded, bought a condo here, so she travels every month from KL to Singapore to look for job.You guys just travelled down for interviews or quit your job in M'sia first then hunt in Sg? Any tips on job-hunting and interview in Sg, besides the usual oft-repeated advice (be confident lah, dress up lah. etc)? JOb hunting in Singapore and Msia is almost the same, online, newspaper, agent same goes to interviewing skill. Good luck This post has been edited by chess_gal: May 5 2009, 11:20 AM |
May 5 2009, 08:14 PM
250 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ May 5 2009, 09:39 AM) Why?? Eventually they will find out that your not located in Singapore rite??Unless ur saying the companies prefer not to call overseas in view of higher phone cost?? dun think so as well. |
May 5 2009, 08:48 PM
370 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: somewhere I belong |
QUOTE(J(o)y @ May 5 2009, 08:14 PM) Why?? Eventually they will find out that your not located in Singapore rite?? IMO better chance if put Singapore's phone number. They won't ask you about your location when they call, only during interview they'll ask where are you staying/planning to stay in Singapore? The key is to secure an appointment for interview, the rest depends on your performance and qualification.Unless ur saying the companies prefer not to call overseas in view of higher phone cost?? dun think so as well. |
May 5 2009, 09:16 PM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
the real problem is most of them prefer S'porean or SPR which totally kills off our dreams to work there
all the applications that i made got rejected the second day This post has been edited by driftmeister: May 5 2009, 09:18 PM |
May 5 2009, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ May 5 2009, 09:16 PM) the real problem is most of them prefer S'porean or SPR which totally kills off our dreams to work there Unless you have skills or experience in an industry that is uncommon to / short on locals - you have to expect that employers will give a foreigner's application last priority if they have locals applying for the same position. They don't have to spend the effort and money to get work permits, pay additional fees or deposits and they don't have to sponsor you (and thereby risk bearing some responsibility for your actions in Singapore).You stand a better chance applying for jobs & companies that routinely recruit Malaysians rather than try your luck applying blindly from Sg classified ads. You can also try placing your resume with specialist cross-causeway recruiters, because companies that want to recruit foreigners typically outsource the recruitment process to external firms. This post has been edited by seantang: May 5 2009, 09:47 PM |
May 5 2009, 10:06 PM
5,859 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: KL in JB/SG : |
May 5 2009, 10:34 PM
135 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
May 6 2009, 09:46 AM
1,143 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Hi everybody, I will be coming to Singapor
Wish me luck that I can succeed. I would also like to kaya-raya earning S$ like the rest of you. Anyways, may I know the salary range of IT field? Previously I was underpaid as I do not know the expected salary. |
May 6 2009, 09:47 AM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
so lucky of u
mind to share which company is hiring malaysians? |
May 6 2009, 09:56 AM
4,567 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Singapore |
QUOTE(wu ming @ May 6 2009, 09:46 AM) Hi everybody, I will be coming to Singapor so u wil be here over the weekend or what ? good luck for the interview. Wish me luck that I can succeed. I would also like to kaya-raya earning S$ like the rest of you. Anyways, may I know the salary range of IT field? Previously I was underpaid as I do not know the expected salary. |
May 6 2009, 10:04 AM
1,678 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
chrisky got new partner for
May 6 2009, 10:06 AM
31 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(wu ming @ May 6 2009, 09:46 AM) Hi everybody, I will be coming to Singapor Good luck at your interview. Wish me luck that I can succeed. I would also like to kaya-raya earning S$ like the rest of you. Anyways, may I know the salary range of IT field? Previously I was underpaid as I do not know the expected salary. By the way how you plan to travel to Sg and back? Just for others to reference. Also mind sharing what position is that, and your experience? Been trying to get info on Sg IT job market but to no avail... |
| Change to: | 0.0173sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:01 AM |