Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
seantang
May 1 2009, 12:12 PM
tommy79, what will the company be doing for these part timers, medical benefits wise?
Being frontliners, they will be at the very highest risk of exposure to the disease if it's incoming through the checkpoints/ Only caregivers are more at risk. At the very least, are they getting the proper vaccinations, safety equipment (masks, goggles etc) and what kind of medical care or insurance will they be entitled to if they unfortunately contract any diseases?
locust
May 1 2009, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(hkhk @ Apr 28 2009, 10:32 AM) I think.. Lasttime they use to allow ppl from Malaysia to arrive in Singapore as a Visitor for 14days. Now they had increases the number of days for social visit to 30days, for all the ASEAN country except Myammar.. So your case it during the time they change the system.. Mine had been always 14days before i work in Sg. oh so now we M'sian can enter Sg for 30 days on social visit? i didnt know that, i thought 14 days only. Good la, now i can go Sg look for work for 1 month
wu ming
May 2 2009, 12:04 AM
You guys must be back for the holidays. Hey I will be coming to Singapor ke for an interview. Ada siapa boleh tumpangkan me for a night?
yrh0413
May 2 2009, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(wu ming @ May 2 2009, 12:04 AM) You guys must be back for the holidays. Hey I will be coming to Singapor ke for an interview. Ada siapa boleh tumpangkan me for a night?  Last time I stayed in Hotel 81 for my interview. SGD130+ per day
limshenghong
May 2 2009, 06:52 AM

Singapore Economy Is Strinking And Many Sectors Are Affected Jz Wonder Whether It's Difficult To Join SG Big4 At Da Moment? Pls Provide Me Some Useful Info, Thx... This post has been edited by limshenghong: May 2 2009, 06:52 AM
washabushi
May 2 2009, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(wu ming @ May 2 2009, 12:04 AM) You guys must be back for the holidays. Hey I will be coming to Singapor ke for an interview. Ada siapa boleh tumpangkan me for a night?  bro... i help u ask my boss 1st by the way ada apply jadi nurse kah? since its part time
SUSkockroach
May 3 2009, 06:27 PM
I'm back hehe, took 9a.m Aeroline. Btw, any 1 know is it better for us to convert SGD to MYR in Singapore or Malaysia. Thanks
yrh0413
May 3 2009, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 3 2009, 06:27 PM) I'm back hehe, took 9a.m Aeroline. Btw, any 1 know is it better for us to convert SGD to MYR in Singapore or Malaysia. Thanks based on my experience, Singapore gives a better rate if you want to get Ringgit.
SUSkockroach
May 3 2009, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ May 3 2009, 08:03 PM) based on my experience, Singapore gives a better rate if you want to get Ringgit.  The other day I went back and changed, 2.392, then I come back saw 2.38x at Harbour Front.
Mackiddo
May 3 2009, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 3 2009, 09:54 PM) The other day I went back and changed, 2.392, then I come back saw 2.38x at Harbour Front. last week hit 2.40 in JB
yrh0413
May 3 2009, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 3 2009, 09:54 PM) The other day I went back and changed, 2.392, then I come back saw 2.38x at Harbour Front. I go 2.39 at Parkway Parade last week. Normally I don't get Ringgit at big shopping malls... I frequent Parkway, Tanjong Pagar (opposite Amara), or Chinatown
shee
May 4 2009, 12:22 AM

ya, wonder know that this moment still manage to get job in Singapore ?
SUSkockroach
May 4 2009, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ May 3 2009, 11:38 PM) I go 2.39 at Parkway Parade last week. Normally I don't get Ringgit at big shopping malls... I frequent Parkway, Tanjong Pagar (opposite Amara), or Chinatown  Too bad the last I check, there ain't any money changer in Ang Mo Kio, guess I will change in Malaysia next time. Lazy to go other place.
Chrisky
May 4 2009, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(shee @ May 4 2009, 12:22 AM) ya, wonder know that this moment still manage to get job in Singapore ? of coz u still can, juz that chances may not be as much as previously. i still frequently getting calls from various agency to ask me go for interviews. QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 08:59 AM) Too bad the last I check, there ain't any money changer in Ang Mo Kio, guess I will change in Malaysia next time. Lazy to go other place. there's 1 in AMK Hub, and another at Central there.
SUSkockroach
May 4 2009, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 4 2009, 09:38 AM) there's 1 in AMK Hub, and another at Central there. Can give me more detail about the location, hehe. Thanks
Chrisky
May 4 2009, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 11:14 AM) Can give me more detail about the location, hehe. Thanks 1. basement of AMK Hub, same level with the Fairprice. 2. blk 710, near the S11 foodcourt and Jubilee.
washabushi
May 4 2009, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(tommy79 @ May 1 2009, 11:24 AM) You can try to work during weekends if weekday is too tired for you. Added on May 1, 2009, 11:29 amNo worries, our staffs is working 24 hours processing the application. They will call you soon. Dear all, We do need more nurses. Please spread the word around...Paid per hour is abt $18-23. for non nursing not so much... weekend they mention $12 12 hrs shift
smartalec
May 4 2009, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(limshenghong @ May 2 2009, 06:52 AM) Singapore Economy Is Strinking And Many Sectors Are Affected Jz Wonder Whether It's Difficult To Join SG Big4 At Da Moment? Pls Provide Me Some Useful Info, Thx... Yes and No. Fresh Grad pay are cut from 2.4k to 2.2k. They are still hiring but lesser this year. Added on May 4, 2009, 7:56 pmBtw, this is chessgal, using smartalec's account cause lazy wanna log off and log in again. Usually i change money at The Arcade, best deal so far, highest it went was 2.4040 This post has been edited by smartalec: May 4 2009, 07:56 PM
SUSkockroach
May 4 2009, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 4 2009, 02:24 PM) 1. basement of AMK Hub, same level with the Fairprice. 2. blk 710, near the S11 foodcourt and Jubilee. Thank you thank you QUOTE(smartalec @ May 4 2009, 07:53 PM) Yes and No. Fresh Grad pay are cut from 2.4k to 2.2k. They are still hiring but lesser this year. Added on May 4, 2009, 7:56 pmBtw, this is chessgal, using smartalec's account cause lazy wanna log off and log in again. Usually i change money at The Arcade, best deal so far, highest it went was 2.4040 They pay the same for ACCA and Degree?
chess_gal
May 4 2009, 10:01 PM
Singapore firm dun give a d*mn whether or not you are a degree holder or ACCA unless you are local graduate (first class and masters gets more obviously). (Local grad as in Singapore Local Uni)
Basically Singapore firm doesnt really emphasise on your professional qualification as long as you have ICPAS (1 week course) you are promotable. Most of my Manager only have ICPAS.
This post has been edited by chess_gal: May 4 2009, 10:02 PM