Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Mackiddo
post Mar 19 2009, 01:34 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Mar 7 2009, 02:54 PM)
Hi, I hav a question here.

Do anyone here commute from Johor to Singapore and vice versa by motorcycle? Generally, I bet it should be cheaper than driving and relatively faster (in Msia motorcycle always faster than car during traffic crawl, if u know wad i mean..lolz)

But is it safe and a good method to commute everyday by motorcycle?
I commuted between Johor-Sg daily by car and believe me, the motorcycle jammed is much worst than the car during the morning and evening rush hour.
Mackiddo
post Mar 19 2009, 02:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(HappyA_Q @ Mar 19 2009, 01:37 PM)
Yeah... why don't chess_gal organize it?
Here is pretty bored over weekend.
yeah I 2nd that. maybe meet at StarBucks or Coffee Bean. rclxms.gif
Mackiddo
post Mar 19 2009, 09:36 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Mar 19 2009, 09:25 PM)
Im looking for reliability of service and stable speed.

So im actually quite interested in the 4MB line but only M1 has that facility, the other telcos have just 2 or 7.2. Theres nothing in between those speeds.
i've been using M1 2mbps plan for a few months. Got it when they offer 50% discount on the subscription rate which they don't offer anymore now. End up only paying SGD$19.95 per month. Actually there's not much different on speed when compare with Singtel. The main different is M1 offer unlimited package while Singtel come with a 50GB cap.
Mackiddo
post Mar 20 2009, 05:39 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 20 2009, 12:46 AM)
1. Chessgal
2. smartalec
3. ctwai
4. chrisky

anyone else???
i would luv to join but working on Sunday cry.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 2 2009, 01:08 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(airasia @ Apr 1 2009, 12:42 PM)
Anyone stay in Johor but work in Singapore?

How much the toll and fee for Malaysian vehicle go in and out of Singapore everyday?
Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) for foreign vehicles is SGD$20 per day for weekdays 2am-5pm . After 5pm is free up to 2am the following day. Weekends + public holidays is free. Not too sure about toll charges

Added on April 2, 2009, 1:38 am
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 1 2009, 09:51 PM)
wuming,

sorry to hear that but, look at it as an opportunity to seek for greener pasture.

wanna join our gathering this weekend?
I'm interested in joining u guys ... can drop by before going for the F1 live telecast

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 2 2009, 01:38 AM
Mackiddo
post Apr 3 2009, 12:45 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 2 2009, 11:08 AM)
Mine's being auto-submitted ie. exempted from manual submission (in Sg, this means clicking "submit" on the tax website) because my return's quite simple.

Added on April 2, 2009, 11:10 amThat's right, Sepang F1 GP this weekend.

How are you getting your live telecast? Starhub/Mio or try use external aerial to get NTV7 from JB?
There's always Live race telecast for F1 Singapore Race Officials at Singapore Pools Selegie Road. thumbup.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 3 2009, 11:26 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

so confirmed sunday ?
Mackiddo
post Apr 5 2009, 03:47 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 5 2009, 02:51 PM)
The gathering was a success!!

Attendees:

1. chessgal
2. smartalec
3. chrisky
4. eggboy
5. nicvoo (he prefers saturday though)
6. ctkwai (ffk)
7. ctkwai's gf (ffk)
8. wuming
9. mackindo
10. ferdinand
11. irene something, sorry babe, din get ur name!

Great meeting u guys! next time around, perhaps we can do some sports!
haha..u still get my nick wrong shakehead.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 5 2009, 08:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

RM or SGD ? smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 6 2009, 10:35 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 5 2009, 11:41 PM)
aiya...movie no need la...
go for bowling la...

Added on April 5, 2009, 11:52 pmkuishin-bo
next gathering...
not much variety...
but da crab is a must try item...
snow crab...
i am ok with bowling ... it have been ages since i played. Normally bowling alley is a bit crowded during the weekend and also the charges are higher. shocking.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 6 2009, 05:22 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(tuckparadise @ Apr 6 2009, 03:43 PM)
it is possible for someone to stay in Johor and work in sin?
i think so, why not ? brows.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 6 2009, 05:59 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 6 2009, 05:33 PM)
u've been dooin it bout 5000 to 6000 days edi
thank god they invented work permit
if not i wonder how many passport needed
yeah icon_rolleyes.gif . actually there's a lot of ppl staying in jb but working in sg. just look at the motorbikes queueing up to come to Sg in the early morning. you'll be shock
Mackiddo
post Apr 6 2009, 07:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 6 2009, 06:20 PM)
by the way...
u driving singapore registered car??? drool.gif
yup ..
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2009, 04:40 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Apr 8 2009, 09:59 AM)
it is much cheaper where u probably save a lot for food and house rental. but in exchange, the 3 hours travel time is pain in the ass. the condition would be better if the job have fix working hours. JB crime rate is much scarier than what u see on newspaper. the cases of bike snatching & robbery are much more than what the statistic shows. till some extent my friend will ask me "do u kena rob before?".

base on my personal experience, i commuted for 1.5 years and able to saved a bit of money, but i also gain a really tired body where i only sleep like 4 hours a day. my job require me to work from 10am to 10pm or later so sometimes i end up reaching home at 1am+ with a pack of cold nasi lemak as supper  cry.gif after the 1.5 years i choose to stay in singapore, although i couldn't save much but at least i have a healthier lifestyle. even i'm 25 but i start to show some health problem d... (thanks to my lazy ass dont want to move  tongue.gif )

just my 2 cent.
did u realize that working 12hours for a long period is bad for your body & health ? The body will take a beating and you will not notice it now but when you get older it will get you. Money is one thing but health is another. Just give it some thought dude.

staying in Jb is definitely a hassle if you are working office hour. Imagine spending 2-3 hours each day just on traveling alone.
Mackiddo
post Apr 9 2009, 07:03 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Apr 9 2009, 12:00 PM)
lol i dont mind if i'm really earning like 4-5k a month. but the  truth is, i'm not even earning half of it. web designer is not being appreciate in singapore especially those who work in design / advertising agency. 12 hours a day is common. if can have 10 hours working life, happiness biggrin.gif (but pay still sux regardless u have diploma or degree or nothing)
i won't even do 12 hours for 4-5k a month. The last time I did 12hours was probably a couple of years back for 1 1/2 months when there's some urgent job to be done. If i'm not mistaken it was something closed to 15k per month.
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2009, 10:52 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 10 2009, 10:36 PM)
Anyone singtel user here? I try to get tickets to the F1 race in singapore at the singtel roadshow, but apparently only for singtel user. any kind soul buying tickets to the F1? We can meet up tomorrow bout 6pm at wisma atria to get the tickets, pls sms yeah...
heard they sold 20% of the tickets on the 1st day. would like to help but working tomorrow cry.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 10 2009, 10:57 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 10 2009, 10:59 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Apr 10 2009, 10:55 PM)
I went there just now, but was turned down.. sob sob...me wanna tickets!!!!!
i'm sure they will release the tickets to the public soon. the walkabout section tickets is quite worth for money.
Mackiddo
post Apr 13 2009, 07:07 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Elvinkun @ Apr 13 2009, 03:59 PM)
I applied for the Auxiliary Police force in singapore.

Their interview was briefed to me..

Req:

Run 2.5km in 12 mins...(that's avg of 12 speed on a track mill).

No partial/full body defects.

No critical life threatening sickness.

No obesse

No underweight.

50 push ups

50 sit ups..

and she stopped...I wasn't scared..I passed all.

so she told me to drop by begining of may.
lol.

Now I'm..thinking...should I? =D
i doubt 50% of their officers could run 2.5km in 12mins now. just look at those big belly officers shocking.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 14 2009, 10:05 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

worst is some parents send their daughter to NS camp and in the end get raped by camp trainer/instructor.
Mackiddo
post Apr 15 2009, 08:15 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Apr 15 2009, 03:04 PM)
or if lucky u can get free internet at ur place~
like those qmax...
or get a powerful wifi extender + receiver smile.gif ... lot's of wifi signal surrounding the hdb block.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 15 2009, 08:16 PM

0.0215sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:28 PM