Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

SUSkockroach
post Feb 12 2009, 12:45 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Hi can I know the starting salary for mechanical engineer in Singapore? And also the junior auditor too. Thanks
SUSkockroach
post Feb 12 2009, 09:49 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 12 2009, 09:00 PM)
One of my fren working in Tuas as mechanical engineer is fetching a salary of $2,450 (5.5 days week). What do u mean by junior auditor?
junior auditor is fresh external auditor, those working with audit firm. Thanks anyway
SUSkockroach
post Feb 17 2009, 04:00 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Been offered a post and currently waiting for the company to settle the S PASS. Hopefully nothing goes wrong as I need to compensate my current company RM20k in order to break the bond.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 17 2009, 09:18 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 17 2009, 07:35 PM)
Who's paying? You personally or your new employer?

Anyway, RM20K is only S$8K. Only 1 month salary or so. Sap sap sui lah  cool2.gif
I paying, personally. Where got $8k salary so high, me getting fresh graduate pay with 9 month bullshit experience.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 17 2009, 09:56 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Feb 17 2009, 09:53 PM)
I pay by myself too!! wtf!! vmad.gif  vmad.gif
when u start your new job?
not sure yet. havent tender resignation yet waiting for setter the pass thingy.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 17 2009, 10:09 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 17 2009, 09:26 PM)
Ohh... that's got to hurt. G'luck, mate.
Need to sacrifice the short-term profit in order for a long-term gain!!! haha. thanks
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 09:35 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Feb 18 2009, 08:46 AM)
u r in which industry?
Going there for energy management industry. You?

Btw, I need to open a bank account in Singapore. Any recommendation? Prefer one with good internet banking facilities, is it all Singapore bank need at least $500 to open an account? Thanks

This post has been edited by kockroach: Feb 18 2009, 09:57 AM
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 10:05 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Feb 18 2009, 10:01 AM)
energy management as in greenmark? or a consultant??

anyway posb and dbs (local banks) is 500
uob, citibank, hsbc etc (non-local) is 1k

dbs n posb abang adik so u open dbs or posb u can withdraw from either atm

others sum places may not hav atm machines hsbc for example very few
Erm, no. In one of the energy service company, ESCO. Then I think I will open dbs/posb la. Thanks.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 11:16 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 18 2009, 10:54 AM)
If you're the sort to withdraw $10-$20 each time only and you withdraw like everyday, anywhere, whenever you need to pay for lunch etc.. then DBS/POSB will be the best. They have the most ATMs in town, but also the most extensive network of ATMs in the HDB estates.

However if you withdraw like $1000 one time, once a month, then any bank will be okay as long as it's convenient to your routine or route. I like using Maybank and Std Chartered as they have internet banking savings accounts (ie. no passbook and you have to pay for counter service) which pay higher than POSB FD rates. I get ATM & cheque book from SCB (eSaver a/c) and debit card from Maybank (iSavvy a/c). But I still use POSB as my salary account as I like the convenience of the ATM network. I just transfer whatever I want to save to SCB and Maybank after my salary is credited.
What are the charges for interbank transfer? I thought DBS/POSB also has their own internet banking?
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 11:31 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 18 2009, 11:23 AM)
Internet banking is free for all banks.

What I mean by internet banking account is that you can only perform transactions on these accounts using the internet portal or using the ATM/Debit card. There are no passbooks or statements and any transactions over the counter or at branches will be charged fees.
I meant the charges for Interbank Transfer le, say transfer my money from POSB to UOB. Thanks alot though. I rather prefer those without passbook. hehe. Thanks
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 12:01 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 18 2009, 11:54 AM)
OK, ok, I get what you mean. Let me clarify.

Internet banking in Singapore (regardless of bank) ie. conducting banking transactions over the internet: FREE. So, any intrabank & interbank transfers are free. Bill payment is free. Online share payments are free (separate from stockbroking fee). Deposit placements & uplifts are free.

Using the bank's internet portal ie. are you charged to log on and use the bank's i-banking website; FREE... for the banks that I use (ie. DBS/POSB, SCB & Maybank). Some may charge 'administrative fees' for portal use and individual transactions, but not for the banks I listed.
Oh, thanks alot for your clarification. This is a lot better than Malaysia 1. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
SUSkockroach
post Feb 18 2009, 12:15 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(kreyleaf @ Feb 18 2009, 12:07 PM)
im going to quit soon..already tired working here
(7months)
Back to Malaysia or change company?

Added on February 18, 2009, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(zenwell @ Feb 18 2009, 11:36 AM)
wat do you guys mena by compensation? compensate company for?
Because me under a 2 yrs contract with my current company, if i leave during the bond then I need to pay back. Sigh. My current problem is to bug my gf to work in Singapore.

This post has been edited by kockroach: Feb 18 2009, 12:18 PM
SUSkockroach
post Feb 19 2009, 09:58 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Feb 19 2009, 09:50 AM)
any tips to successfully get called for an interview in sing?  icon_question.gif I've jobstreet and monster accounts.........Altought i do not have jobDB and reqruit it account but I do take contact mails and mail directly to companies.......but I hardly get any answers  sad.gif  Ive even thinked of sending the same company updates but I think that would be too pushy  sweat.gif

and how much does a 4year experience in IT expected salary should be?3.2k? takkan nak letak "willing to work for free"  doh.gif
Get a Singapore phone number and put in your resume as your contact number. Cause when I was shortlisted, they email me and ask me to call back. I think some HR junior exec do not have authority to make international call.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 19 2009, 05:34 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

I need to do S Pass and they need a copy of my education certificate, is the scroll i receive during my convocation sufficient or I need to have the letter from my uni that stating I complete my degree program? Cause the letter is in Malay Language and I need to go to embassy to certified the translated version.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 19 2009, 07:44 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Hmm luckily my university gave us 2 different version, 1 English 1 Malay.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 25 2009, 02:45 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

@seantang, you're working in the financial services industry right, do you have any idea of the job market for an ACCA holder right now? Thanks
SUSkockroach
post Feb 27 2009, 05:36 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Feb 25 2009, 06:55 PM)
For ACCA holders, one may apply for:-
1) Auditor - $2,400 (Big 4 but you may like work 7 days a week) $2,000 (chinaman audit firm - more balance between work and leisure)
2) Accounts Exec - $2,800
3) Junior Tax Officer - $2,500
4) Business and IT - $2,800

The above is just a rough firgure which varies on the company you join and its salary structure.
QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 25 2009, 11:25 PM)
Hmmm... looks like yesterday's postings in this thread were lost. Way to go, LYN.

Anyway kockroach,.. I am in finance but not in finance services (ie. banking, audit etc). I'm working in the finance dept of a chem mfg MNC.

As for your question about the current job mkt for accountants... one word - BAD. Even the perennial hirers ie audit firms have frozen non-critical hiring and a couple are even talking about salary cuts.

Banks are not hiring at all, not even for replacements for leavers and retirees. A possible exception is in the product control dept. But they don't want newbies. All the ads I've seen are looking for experienced financial controllers to fill AVP level roles to implement new operational controls.

As for large corporates... I don't think anybody is hiring. My company is retrenching 11% of our staff. Salary freeze and no promotions. It's the same every where. Nobody's hiring unless it's critical. And fresh accountants are simply not critical. Most choose to outsource low level accounting work.

IMHO, the only finance skills in high demand right now are product or operations control (for banks), or cost reduction / profit recovery analysis (for corporates).

The other option is civil service. They have ramped up hiring. Last Saturday's Straits Times had a big pullout for civil service job classifieds.
Erm, thank you both of you. I actually ask this on behalf of my gf, been influencing her to join me in Singapore.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 27 2009, 09:50 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 27 2009, 09:22 PM)
Unless you are willing to support her AND her commitments (whatever they are), if she cannot find a job in Singapore, then let her stay where she is. The focus now is to stay employed, unless of course love can fill the tummy.
Yup, that is what I've been thinking. Thanks alot though.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 28 2009, 07:27 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

I am wondering is getting a new phone in Malaysia or Singapore, which is cheaper. Am talking about contractless 1, as I figured out it is not really worth it to take the contract 1 if compare to the Sim-only plan.
SUSkockroach
post Feb 28 2009, 10:02 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Feb 28 2009, 07:54 PM)
Coincidentally, I just bought a Nokia E63 from KL. It's not yet launched in Sg, but going by other models, Malaysian phones are cheaper by at least the 7% GST. With the exception of Sony Ericsson, where 6range Mobile in Carrefour offers some very competitive deals.

The only issue is the warranty. Phones never have international warranties.

Added on February 28, 2009, 7:59 pmNo... AP sets are also original manufacturer units. Just that they are parallel imports, ie. imported by someone else other than the official distributor. So, the manufacturer warranty (usually provided by the official distributor) is not extended to parallel imports. In Malaysia, these phones are called AP units. In Singapore, they are called export units. You can find a lot of export units sold in Chinatown, Sim Lim, Lucky Plaza and HDB estates.
Why E63 instead of E71, and Singtel is having promotion right now for E63. I think BiBima referring to those unscrupulous AP dealer who change the genuine accessories to the non-genuine 1.

This post has been edited by kockroach: Feb 28 2009, 10:04 PM

0.0505sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:02 AM