Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

wlcling
post Nov 18 2008, 06:27 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

cool a thread for msians working in SG.. count me in!

Are you guys PRs? Have you thought if you would be staying and working in SG long term, or will you one day return back to Msia?
wlcling
post Dec 20 2008, 03:20 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 20 2008, 01:50 AM)
Where does $3500 come from? Why not $3000 or $4000?

To me, it's worth coming to Sg if you can earn the same absolute amount that you would have in Malaysia (ie. S$1 for RM1). The 2.3 exchange rate will shorten your time to retirement by 2.3X. I reckon I can retire by 40 with the same amount of savings (in RM) if I were to work until 55 in Malaysia.
its 2.4 now i think...hehz...

ya... work in sg good for saving money...i feel expenses are much less than if in malaysia (food, groceries, etc...)... and plus you don't have to get a car... and its also much more fun traveling to places like thailand, bali, etc... cos your spending currency is much greater.

anyway got anyone here PR/married and bought property? i really want to buy one unit next year rather than spending on rent (i'm paying $900 a month now).
wlcling
post Dec 26 2008, 12:05 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 24 2008, 05:56 PM)
Food & overall human behaviour. singaporean kiasi and kiasuness really pissed me off (my singaporean friend admit the kiasi and kiasuness within most singaporean). And i really doubt the food stall's cooking skills, bloody sucks. but if u talk about hotel food and varieties, singapore win.
ppl always say singaporean kiasi & kiasu, but Malaysians not better off i think. I still think singaporeans are more considerate and better-mannered. I'm malaysian btw. but singapore's hawker food.. aih.. very sad.

0.0430sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:36 AM