DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

Najmods
post Nov 4 2008, 02:30 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Nov 2 2008, 01:15 AM)
Good comments, Najmods or Jazzy Junior.  tongue.gif

The TA2024 chips are designed primarily by the now defunct Tripath as a multimedia amplifier, its main characteristics - ultra clean sounding and prominence to the highs and mids. Bass is slightly lacking. Use of suitable 470uF 25V electrolytic caps would restore the balance slightly (I found success with Panasonic FM ones). Replacing SMDs with discrete components and/or using a full resistor attenuator will further 'cure' the ultra clean sound and render the T-amp slightly more 'dirty', colourful and musical. All of us heard Jazzy's discrete compo board, its sound as what I have ascribed. We also heard how the Vishay/ERO MKT1813 metalised axial caps made the T-amp even more musical, especially in the midrange. All harshness and hardness from the stocked input caps were totally eliminated.

It is the next t/t session(s) that we could come up with further findings and conclusion.  biggrin.gif
Thanks wink.gif Yeah I been reading a lot in this thread so I have some plans what to do on this amp, like the aforementioned 470uF tank caps and replacing SMD. But I think I skip the SMD part, as I have shaky hands and I tend to be notorious of destroying things tongue.gif

I done some more mods on the amp. Three stages of mods, but I can't post it earlier due to unreliable internet connection (thanks Screamyx) but I wrote it to WordPad biggrin.gif

Initial mod, Senior replaced the stock input caps with his famous 2.2uF F.ELNA and his big 10,000uF caps on the power input. Initial testing reveals smoother vocal and treble, and a bit more bass without the uses of subwoofer, but too much 's' distortion (sibilance) on some female vocal at high volume, but it seems to have more weight on female vocal too. Sound are well balanced throughout the spectrum, a bit flat, but I liked it. But I think it can improve with time, as it burn in.

2nd mod, I paralled 180uF Sanyo OS-CON with stock 220uF on tank caps, it sound very harsh, I ditch it quickly, so don't use Sanyo OS-CON on this amp.

3rd mod, I paralled 220uF 16V Rubycon caps I take from my dead Prodigy HD2 and paralled them to stock 220uF, plus I take another 1,000uF and paralled it with 10,000uF on power input for tighter bass, and my final mod is I take the stock input caps, removed the harsh 1uF electrolytic and paralled the whatever-film-it-uses caps to F.ELNA 2.2uF (for a total of 3.2uF), now the vocal has been smoothed nicely and the sibilance ('s' distortion) is minimized, sound much sweeter. I now use subwoofer at this stage. The bass is too much for my liking at high volume, but its beneficial for gaming biggrin.gif

Another mod I plan, is to use proper volume pots, the volume pot I use now is unbalanced, on certain volume its more to right, and to the left on others (its JP volume pots I think), and at the lowest volume, there is still sound leaking out of it.

What I particularly like about how T-Amp sound is it give the sense of 'space' all around, and the precision it 'displays' on instruments is amazing. I'll post some picture later. Currently, the amp has only run for about 17 hours, still in burn in stage smile.gif
dobias
post Nov 4 2008, 05:23 AM

On ebay,
Am I missing something? Why are the naked 20 watt T-Amp boards going for less than the naked 10 watt T-Amp boards? Am I wrong in assuming they are the same quality?
Frank
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 09:51 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

Najmods,
I am truly impressed by the way you described sound of the T-amp given your young age. Way to go, buddy.

I fully agree that T-Amp does give a sense of 'space' all around with an amazing precision it 'displays' on instruments. The PRaT element in its sound is extremely high and listening to it would bring joy and a high level of enjoyment.

Frank,
Would you be more specific with those 20W and 10W naked T-amps you mentioned? Are you referring to TA2020 and TA2024 boards without their respective casings?

If you a true diyer and wish to tweak your T-amp to the fullest, a good board to go for is TA2024 board from Sure Electronics. There is even a dedicated thread in diy Forum on the mods which could be performed onto this board. Priced at US$25, it is more expensive than the board Xtorm is selling at RM55. You need not tweak much with Xtorm board and could sit back to ENJOY THE MUSIC sooner than later.

My 2nd unit of T-amp is permanently in my office now driving my JVC UX-5000 micro compo per pix below:

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Nov 4 2008, 02:32 PM
ongbs
post Nov 4 2008, 10:03 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dobias @ Nov 4 2008, 05:23 AM)
On ebay,
Am I missing something? Why are the naked 20 watt T-Amp boards going for less than the naked 10 watt T-Amp boards? Am I wrong in assuming they are the same quality?
Frank
yes, some start with low bid price but pls take a look of the delivery/handling charges...it might cost >USD50...
Mind to post us the link?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Nov 4 2008, 10:15 AM
ijan
post Nov 4 2008, 02:33 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,448 posts

problem with volume control can be easily fixed by using GOOD pot, using chapalang rm2 pot would give you RM0.20 of channel balance and RM0.10 of signal quality.

Get alps RK097 for RM12++ from dealers, its the best bang for buck! Im using RK27, 10x more expensive, IMHO its not worth the money, unless u haf too much to spend. RK27 is bigger, better traction n control, n extremely better build. Other than that, a neglible sound difference and channel balance. Oh, im no perfectionist and im a "power cable dont play crap in audio quality" guy.
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 02:42 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Mind to share which dealers in particular? Where to buy Alps RK097?

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
Get alps RK097 for RM12++ from dealers, its the best bang for buck! .................

ongbs
post Nov 4 2008, 03:24 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

problem with volume control can be easily fixed by using GOOD pot, using chapalang rm2 pot would give you RM0.20 of channel balance and RM0.10 of signal quality.

Get alps RK097 for RM12++ from dealers, its the best bang for buck! Im using RK27, 10x more expensive, IMHO its not worth the money, unless u haf too much to spend. RK27 is bigger, better traction n control, n extremely better build. Other than that, a neglible sound difference and channel balance. Oh, im no perfectionist and im a "power cable dont play crap in audio quality" guy.
agreed smile.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Nov 4 2008, 03:24 PM
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 03:58 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

I am fully aware; in fact most electrical engineers are of the same opinion. Two years ago we have already crossed our path in a debate that the use of power cords will affect sound in audio systems. I think otherwise but would not impose my thoughts on this subject matter onto others. If you are of opinion that power cables will not affect the sound, so be it. Or if you are curious to find out, just give them an audition with an open mind. icon_rolleyes.gif

......... im a "power cable dont play crap in audio quality" guy.

ijan
post Nov 4 2008, 04:08 PM

3,448 posts

no offense intended, im just declaring where i stand as in i dun take into matters difference that are negligible such as RK097 and RK27 as to speak.

U can get from farnell or rs or u can get from me, i bought too much before...problem is, the cost of the item is very minor, plus shipping+minyak to pos opis, its really not wrth on my side since then im only getting back rm3, the price of a chapalang pot, might as well i keep them.

Added on November 4, 2008, 4:12 pmProblem with audition, im staying sumwhere far far far away so its not possible..haha! But thanks for the offer. I respect the said comment as ppl who buy retail electronic equipment at a premium still saying their text book ripped design in a nice extruded alu case is better than sumthing DIY at 1% of the cost.

This post has been edited by ijan: Nov 4 2008, 04:12 PM
cyl1000
post Nov 4 2008, 04:21 PM

74 posts

Hi Y.C.

this is the capacitor i was telling you yesterday.

http://my.farnell.com/jsp/search/browse.js...equestid=372921
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 07:00 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

CYL,
Thank you.
Those are the audio grade capacitors from Panasonic, see my comments in Post 2257 on Page 113 in replying Gabanyayaya where I have written: "If I were to use Panasonic caps in the signal area, I would opt for their audio grade caps such as AC, AD, AK and AM series. FC and FM series caps are designed for low ESR use and I would use them for power buffering and filtering. " I have in fact bought 2 pieces of these capacitors with value of 1.0uF 50V to replace the SMDs of my 3rd T-amp board (WIP). smile.gif

QUOTE(cyl1000 @ Nov 4 2008, 04:21 PM)
Hi Y.C., this is the capacitor i was telling you yesterday.

Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 07:11 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Very subjective and touchy issue here. Take for instance our giant-killer T-amp of which it is only 1% of total costs of quite a lot of high-end amplifiers in nicely extruded aluminium casings. Does it beat them all? The answer is both yes and no; and even for those commercial amps that it managed to beat is only in certain areas and not completely in all areas.

A lot of R&D work have been put into the overall design and sound engineering of commercial amps, hence there would always be a demand for them. And most important of all, we must not forget the ethos of "TO EACH THEIR OWN".

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 4 2008, 04:08 PM)
....as ppl who buy retail electronic equipment at a premium still saying their text book ripped design in a nice extruded alu case is better than sumthing DIY at 1% of the cost.

ijan
post Nov 4 2008, 07:24 PM

3,448 posts

ermm..the more i explain, the worse it gets, so better end that part of the discussion with "TO EACH THEIR OWN". As to sum who prefer fat girl and sum who prefer stick girl biggrin.gif

Neways, the Pana EC is great for the price, but better caps are available at slightly higher price. I haf used sum boutique caps and Im not that impressed..yet! As to say, good Pana FC or Elna FG FM is good enough over Elna Silmic2, Nichi KZ. My rule of thumb to caps, choose the best u can buy in ur budget line, dun go overbound.
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 07:36 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Thanks for comments on caps. thumbup.gif

Oops, my previous comment is based on design of amps being entirely different. If your contention is those commercial amps in nicely extruded aluminium casing share the exact same design as diy amps, your point of arguement is perfectly valid.

BTW, how did you find the sound of your T-amp? Care to share with us?

QUOTE(ijan @ Nov 4 2008, 07:24 PM)
ermm..the more i explain, the worse it gets, .......................

dobias
post Nov 4 2008, 09:43 PM

Apparently I'll need an email address to send copies of the ebay offerings. Can you provide one?
Other than that, the 20 wpc TA2020 boards are usually selling for the same, or less than the 10 wpc TA2024 boards at $9.99 USD plus S&H at $18 USD.
Frank
ijan
post Nov 4 2008, 10:32 PM

3,448 posts

as a matter of fact..i have never tested the t-amp yet..i haf serious problem with priorities in my life and proper task management is quite shitty..sigh..

Got 2 boards, and just now bought another fluke dmm..which i know i wont use for the time being..i seriously haf problem..haha!

What i owe..super regulator pcb design+build+proto, m3 board pending build, my lil portable amp build,and many more..
Y.C.
post Nov 4 2008, 11:09 PM

Casual listener
906 posts

Frank,
You need an e-mail account to show the eBay offerings to us?
Actually, you could post it here like what I am doing now Arjen's Board (just copy the URL of an eBay offering and paste it into space provided for under [http://] button above and then name it as something else) The link I provided which I named it as Arjen's Board is exactly the same board Xtorm is selling at RM55.00. If you buy direct, you would need to pay RM62.00 ((10.99+6.50)x3.55) Why would you want to buy direct instead of from Xtorm? Most of our experience with T-amps are with this particular board, so if you buy another board, we may or may not be able to provide assistance if so required from us.

Ijan,
Take your time, all of us have different priorities in lives and thanks for sharing.

cyl1000
post Nov 5 2008, 10:12 AM

74 posts

Hi Y.C.,

You have recommended to use Vishay caps for the T-Amp. Since I just got mine yesterday and haven't got the time to check the capacitor values, can you let me know the the two capacitor value you have changed?? Thanks.
kww
post Nov 5 2008, 11:08 AM

320 posts

Hi there,
I have a pair of old bookshelf 2 way speaker:
Freq response: 70-20000Hz
Norminal impedence: 6ohm
Power Handling: 80Watts
Sensitivity at 1M/1W

You think t-amp got enough power to make it sing?
Y.C.
post Nov 5 2008, 11:19 AM

Casual listener
906 posts

CYL, check your PM, your question replied.

QUOTE(cyl1000 @ Nov 5 2008, 10:12 AM)
Hi Y.C.,....can you let me know the the two capacitor value you have changed?? Thanks.

Added on November 5, 2008, 11:21 amIMO, not a problem.

QUOTE(kww @ Nov 5 2008, 11:08 AM)
You think t-amp got enough power to make it sing? Thanks.

This post has been edited by Y.C.: Nov 5 2008, 11:21 AM

134 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:09 AM