DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

ongbs
post Aug 12 2008, 10:28 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

Walau bro xtorm, u senyap-senyap then open a thread in Audiophile tongue.gif
Me still playing around with the T-amp, sound just great especially for its affordable price drool.gif

bro xtorm, i think the volume control can't works on this amp as it only got single pot, you need double for stereo right?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 12 2008, 10:46 PM
ongbs
post Aug 12 2008, 10:48 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

for those don't have casing, try find some kaput car amp casing, it will fit in nicely and look pro!

Some more shielding should give better SQ tongue.gif
Just an Idea....
ongbs
post Aug 12 2008, 11:02 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Aug 12 2008, 10:55 PM)
Noob Question : Does T-Amp sound like intergrate stereo amplifier?Like those marantz onkyo denon NAD cambridge?
to me it sound better (playing music, not AV) than my Kenwood DTS AV AMP, damn expensive about 8 years back. (the DVD from the same family cost me RM2700 that time, this AMP even more) doh.gif tongue.gif shakehead.gif

I am stuck to SQ that I like, not an audiophile thought....
but for sure the SQ for this AMP will fulfill most ppl, don't know about audiophile lah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 12 2008, 11:06 PM

Attached image(s)
ongbs
post Aug 13 2008, 01:30 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 13 2008, 12:08 AM)
yea, pretty much, mayb just comparable to thier low end products, anywa gona go my friend house for a comparison when im free, gona cook them 1st smile.gif
don forget ampzilla tongue.gif
hehe, the soundstage i feel better then the ampzilla lor...
maybe the ampzilla really too old liau tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 13 2008, 03:16 AM
ongbs
post Aug 13 2008, 07:29 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 13 2008, 05:49 PM)
Guys,
This just came to my mind. rolleyes.gif
The computer switching power supply typically have a +12V DC rated anything from 12A to 16A! I think this would be a great power supply to the T-Amp, no? I have read somewhere switching power supply works well with the T-Amp.
I think the casing is big enough to house the T-Amp entirely! Of course, a separate housing for the amp is another option.
Possible?  whistling.gif
Should be able to use the PC PSU, just worry if the board put inside, will it affect the SQ due to high switching frequency?
I am using external 12V 4A switching PS to drive my floor standing speakers, no noise/humming sound tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 14 2008, 07:31 AM
ongbs
post Aug 14 2008, 07:34 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

xtorm,
bring the T-amp back to your house mah can test lor rolleyes.gif
Another option is send me your T-amp so I can test kaw-kaw for you...
I will blast it with FS speakers together with bookshelf (ya, will connect all together) tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 14 2008, 10:17 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 14 2008, 09:55 AM)
then i didnt go wat for i send youlah mad.gif  send my ears also ah

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

im loving the sound in my car, it is much more compare to my old setup which cost quite abit for the amp, but tht was in an old iswara which the whole acousitc is very different compare to this car.

the soundstage is good, there is depth, and it is wide, position is kinda good and the source is my handphone, hahaha, so no time aligment.

im happy, but it really is garbage in garbage out, some mp3 file sounded nice while others not really good

the highs is abit eggy now, changing the input cap should solve tht easily.

my unit is less then few hours run, still far away from the recomended 100hours burn in, it will take me a month or 2 to get tht figure if its in my car biggrin.gif
No need send me your ears lah bro ....
Drive your car "into" your house will give your better listening experience doh.gif tongue.gif

I got a few higher uF caps now and gonna mod it soon, Nippon 16V 3300uF, ELNA 56V Audio cap 8200uF brows.gif
Wanna try out Panasonic audio NP cap but it is 4.7uF...

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 14 2008, 10:21 AM
ongbs
post Aug 15 2008, 01:40 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 14 2008, 10:30 AM)
wah how much u got those!!! drool.gif

must be damn big cos mine  50v 1000uf edi damn big
huhu...wanna know ah? pay lah! laugh.gif

sad, no time to mod the amp lately...just listening sad.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 15 2008, 01:41 AM
ongbs
post Aug 15 2008, 03:47 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 15 2008, 11:24 AM)
oh ya, four per board! tongue.gif price wise, no big deal!  nod.gif
ok, 10 uH. Will do that next.. hmm so much thing to ler !  rclxub.gif

If thats the case, will give smps a shot. i have a few computer's psu laying around.. wink.gif 12V at 16A may do wonders!
BTW, I was running the PSU at 12.6VDC last nite. The TA2024 chip is just warm to the touch. I am impressed!  rclxms.gif
bro jazzy,

Damn...you really wrote a good and detail review of the TA2024 thumbup.gif
I dunno how to write such review but really like the SQ of T-Amp tongue.gif
Some more I dun have as many "ka chang" as you doh.gif

What is your speaker configuration? (size of driver)
My T-amp pairing my Yamaha bookshelf (BS) 1xtweeter plus 1x6.5" woofer /ch, but the Yamaha 6.5" drivers been replaced with Mission M3 driver, refer here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=766126&hl=

The soundstage, mid and vocal is outstanding biggrin.gif Just the bass not that "kick ass" type, maybe due to the smaller speaker enclosure box.
I am another bass head like you doh.gif

I tested this amp with Yamaha floor standing speaker (FS), 2x8" woofer, 1x8" Mid + 1 tweeter per channel (just afraid T-Amp not powerful enough to drive FS) unsure.gif
Surprisingly it drives my FS speakers well, if I turn up volume till 80% at night sure will get complaint from my neighbour tongue.gif
Bass is much more improved compare to BS speakers, but the bass is kinda "soft", maybe due to the low power (15W?) output of this amp.
Even driving FS for 30min the TA2024 still can be touched with hand...around 45C I guess....damn nice.
AVG current draw at 50% volume with FS still less than 200mA!

bro, please wind another 4 coils for me can? Like for xstorm bro one, he really recom me to replace the coils...pm me the cost, thx! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 15 2008, 03:48 PM
ongbs
post Aug 15 2008, 05:37 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Aug 15 2008, 04:48 PM)

yea probably bcos of the wattage, but it got kickmah...no meh, no deep basslah...
Bass got lah..actually bass too loud with my FS, need to reduce a bit my bass setting.
I mean those "kick heart" bass feeling lah! tongue.gif
Normally with only get this "kick heart" feeling with higher output power amp.
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 04:11 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 02:15 PM)

Here's the moded second T-Amp:
walau bro, what is the brand/type of your little "cute" 10uF NP caps? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 04:12 PM
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 06:17 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Aug 16 2008, 06:14 PM)
hi jazzy939 the EX5 battery got Red and black which one to connect to +12v and which one to connect to ground?
Red to 12V+ and black to GND, make sure your battery is fully charged tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 07:24 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

with 7A/hr battery I believe under normal listening condition this amp can last >15 hours. smile.gif
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 08:29 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 07:26 PM)
And if you connect it in parallel, you should get an operational time of: >30 hours!  whistling.gif

WOW! We just exceeded 100 postings!  rclxms.gif
Your charging circuit will be enough, no need 2 batteries, quite heavy sweat.gif
In my setup, current draw just around 200mA AVG, so 7A/HR battery should last me >30hrs!
15hrs just a very conservative estimation. tongue.gif

Unless my Fluke meter tipu me doh.gif

Added on August 16, 2008, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 08:28 PM)
Not to worry bro March,
There's always more than one way to 'kill' a cat... tongue.gif
(NB:I am NOT a cat hater.. )

Attached, is the offending caps that came with the T-Amp...

Have removed the polarized 1uF from the assembly, will try connecting the two 1uF NP yellow caps in parallel which should give a total of 2uF for the input caps, dunno how the sound would be.. planning for late night operations... wink.gif
huhu...then let us two "uncle" working OT tonight tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 08:31 PM
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 08:49 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 08:40 PM)
ongbs,
am just wondering. how did you measure the current drain?
sure ah, not a 'fluke' reading? wink.gif (pun intended! ) tongue.gif

late night is the best time to do critical audio listening.. biggrin.gif

This also just came to my mind. Since the amp can be driven into clipping quite easily.. why not incorporate a 'clipping indicator'? This will help the user not to 'overdrive' the little fella... :

additional notes:
I found one circuit that uses 12VDC working voltage.. will update if found to be suitable for our purposes... need to scrutinized the circuit. tongue.gif
Just connect a Amp meter in series with the +12V supply, before going into the 12+ of the amp board.
My Fluke meter got "AVG" function as it will give out AVG current draw reading nod.gif

Without AVG function it is hard to get accurate reading as the current draw keep on changing reflecting the input/output condition.
Max A I got so far when blasting FS around 2A+, but just for a short duration, like heavy bass.
Higher value of power caps will reduce this current draw from power supply.

Pls check the TA2024 pdf, there is a "fault" pin #19, it will indicate thermal overload or output short to graound, but not sure will it indicate "clipping" status.
It can't drive LED directly, you need a transistor of buffer to "light-up" the LED smile.gif

For input signal overload there is another pin, #7.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 08:55 PM
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 08:57 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 08:52 PM)
That is good. I'll accept your current drain figures without doubt! Good work bro! thumbup.gif

The item highlighted is easily done! tongue.gif I'll try that out first! Remember KISS & KIC? biggrin.gif
ya, just a transistor, a LED and 2 resistors will do the trick tongue.gif

Just a simple add-on, the idle current (no input signal) of this board around 65mA (x12V = 0.78W)
7A/hr battery will last around 100 hrs in standby mode.

That's what I mean:
"Pls check the TA2024 pdf, there is a "fault" pin #19, it will indicate thermal overload or output short to ground, but not sure will it indicate "clipping" status."

Unless the Amp IC itself built-in "output clipping detection", it is beyond my knowledge to add on a detection circuit, or it is no more KISS tongue.gif
This function is in-built in some National power amp IC, if memory serve me right they call it "SPIKE" function, The SPIKE will try to realign the output to a proper level to reduce clipping.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 09:07 PM
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 09:19 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 09:15 PM)
xtorm,
I noticed the same too in my set ups.. on both boards! tongue.gif

Have downloaded the eval. board pdf.. will have a look soon! wink.gif

The soft clipping indicator will be just an optional add-ons.. KIC, remember? wink.gif
huh...apa itu KIC? sweat.gif
KICK I know lah laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Aug 16 2008, 09:20 PM
ongbs
post Aug 16 2008, 09:29 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 16 2008, 09:25 PM)
hello friend,
we haven't fully recovered(rather not fully consumed the full dose) with this poison, now got better poison? tongue.gif
shall we ditched this poison? heck, NO! laugh.gif
hehe...no more KIC...upgraded to KIS liau ==> Keep It Syiok!!! tongue.gif
ongbs
post Aug 17 2008, 05:36 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 17 2008, 05:07 AM)
Whoa xtorm! Thats a 'major' surgery! ohmy.gif
Whats the outcome?
BTW, do you know it's 4am when you posted that?  tongue.gif
The doctor took 7 hrs break before continue the operation tongue.gif
His "operation tools" left somewhere else! doh.gif