Travel MALACCA !, FOOD, Place of interest & Accomodations
stimix
Jul 19 2009, 08:10 PM
Dunno
For sure when I balik to Melaka..I will not be going to the ancient town & old town area..super duper congested...yeah Merdeka day too..Anyway, for tourist, no choice, have to enter that area...Jonker street is closed for traffic..during weekend pasar Malam..so u hv to park at Jln Tun Tan Cheng lock,,or locally ppl called Holan koi..(Holland street), At the back of Holand street (Tmn Tun Laksamana) there is a public parking at RM0.60/hr & ppl confirmed that that parking cover weekend as well .so be prepared..I think there is limited hotels available near Jonker are & mostly botique style..& for sure with all the house built close to each others..parking definetly a problem..u need to walk from the public parking in front of Donal & Lily laksa.
sailou
Jul 20 2009, 04:57 PM
I more or less have decided on Aldy Hotel but when i looked at the reviews in Tripadvisor, almost 8 out of 10 complained of noise. That is quite serious.
What is the walking distance from Fenix to Aldy? Fenix do look good but the crampy-look room is a turnoff. So if i stay in either Fenix or Aldy, i guess i won't have a parking problem.
aLittleMisfit
Jul 20 2009, 05:32 PM
there are plenty of new budget hotel around dataran mahkota square.. opposite the rotating tower
Putraskyline
Jul 21 2009, 11:11 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(sailou @ Jul 20 2009, 04:57 PM) I more or less have decided on Aldy Hotel but when i looked at the reviews in Tripadvisor, almost 8 out of 10 complained of noise. That is quite serious. What is the walking distance from Fenix to Aldy? Fenix do look good but the crampy-look room is a turnoff. So if i stay in either Fenix or Aldy, i guess i won't have a parking problem. About 500-700m from Fenix to Aldy.
danielwan
Jul 24 2009, 12:11 AM
I booked a Guest House already! Gonna spend the whole day jalan2 within the Jonker area.. summore that Ringo Classics and Antiques look fun to hangout at nite..
This post has been edited by danielwan: Jul 24 2009, 12:30 AM
sailou
Jul 24 2009, 02:39 AM
I booked Aldy Hotel already. RM370 for 2 nights in a 3 star is not really cheap so i hope the hotel is really up to mark.
stimix
Jul 24 2009, 09:59 AM
Dunno
Enjoy urself...Aldy is very strategic. Fronting the Museum & super near to everywhere..u can walk to Jonker & also the historic belt. + one new attraction located beside Aldy...Fedrik Hendrik bastion ruin...They now re-created the long lost wall & watch tower but without any info except abit of photos of the ecavation on the site & also few skeletons found while digging.... The Aldy buiding is ex- Bank Bumi & nxt to the ex-HSBC now under renovation for sumthing.. Do give review after your stay.. QUOTE(sailou @ Jul 24 2009, 02:39 AM) I booked Aldy Hotel already. RM370 for 2 nights in a 3 star is not really cheap so i hope the hotel is really up to mark.
erxier
Jul 31 2009, 02:52 AM
any review for those low budget backpacker guest house? anyone here stayed any of them before? I've been browsing thru pages and pages, and most of all discussing those standard hotel range of accommodation. =p
danielwan
Aug 4 2009, 12:58 AM
QUOTE(erxier @ Jul 31 2009, 02:52 AM) any review for those low budget backpacker guest house? anyone here stayed any of them before? I've been browsing thru pages and pages, and most of all discussing those standard hotel range of accommodation. =p Just came back from Malacca trip! We all stayed at 'Tang House' a very-very-very nice budget family run business fronting the big mamee stages! But what faktup is that I kena 'pickpocket' at Jonker Street! Lost my small new Sony cybershot.. Blarrdy hell!! But the chinatown is nice, lotsa place to visit expecially if u like site seeing, try different food (nyonya stuff, sate celup, cendol, chicken rice ball etc).
allenultra
Aug 5 2009, 09:18 PM
May need to go Honda Malaysia (Alor Gajah) for 5 days training soon.
Anyone know any affordable accommodation nearby that area?
Read through the thread, found more about food though.
stimix
Aug 5 2009, 09:28 PM
Dunno
The nearest town is Alor Gajah..I dun think any budget hotel at Alor Gajah except A' Farmosa resort QUOTE(allenultra @ Aug 5 2009, 09:18 PM) May need to go Honda Malaysia (Alor Gajah) for 5 days training soon. Anyone know any affordable accommodation nearby that area? Read through the thread, found more about food though.
allenultra
Aug 5 2009, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 5 2009, 09:28 PM) The nearest town is Alor Gajah..I dun think any budget hotel at Alor Gajah except A' Farmosa resort Was there before, for the similiar training few years back. Pretty expensive somehow. Anyway, thanks
anderson1188
Aug 5 2009, 11:13 PM
oh..that's relatively near to my place..actually there's this inn i forgot what's the name around my neighbourhood in alor gajah..when're u coming???need my help to check on the price?? edit:typo This post has been edited by anderson1188: Aug 5 2009, 11:51 PM
mysticaldodo
Aug 11 2009, 09:19 PM
Hey guys, I'm considering going down to Jonkers Street in Melaka to visit the famed antique road. Does anyone have any experiece with buying curiosities from there? I'm looking for big items like statues, medicine cabinets, puppets and other stuff to decorate my office. If so, any idea on what the prices are like? I have visited some antique shops in KL and the prices are exorbitant. Looking for a cheaper option so I am hoping there's some kind of wholesale antique shops in Jonkers street and wherever else in Melaka. Hope to hear your experiences
mugenz
Aug 12 2009, 12:44 PM
lol my experience of jonker street is more like pasar malam selling those retail china made goods.. antiques that worth buying i dun think i spotted any..
The place is super congested!! i went during PC Fair.. its super jam, we decide to walk instead of drive.. i find parking not a problem but traffic jam is a major one. Melaka indeed a nice place.. the thing that will bring me to melaka again will be FOOD!!!!! hahaha
i planning to visit melaka again, prolly sept.. where can i find nice Fried Oyster?? i pass by one b4, quite alot of ppl, its located @ a lorong.. anyone can suggest or recommend?
This post has been edited by mugenz: Aug 12 2009, 12:46 PM
stimix
Aug 12 2009, 01:02 PM
Dunno
That Ocien = mid span of Bunga Raya-lah...Very long que...been there for ages..few generations liao Recently I found another good & new one BUT WITH KL Pricing!....It's located at the Newton Food Court opposite Menara Taming Sari....Expecting KL & JB pricing ho...be warned but good. QUOTE(mugenz @ Aug 12 2009, 12:44 PM) lol my experience of jonker street is more like pasar malam selling those retail china made goods.. antiques that worth buying i dun think i spotted any.. The place is super congested!! i went during PC Fair.. its super jam, we decide to walk instead of drive.. i find parking not a problem but traffic jam is a major one. Melaka indeed a nice place.. the thing that will bring me to melaka again will be FOOD!!!!! hahaha i planning to visit melaka again, prolly sept.. where can i find nice Fried Oyster?? i pass by one b4, quite alot of ppl, its located @ a lorong.. anyone can suggest or recommend?
mugenz
Aug 12 2009, 01:50 PM
lol.. i passby newton b4 lol. it looks like typical KL foodcourt which i know gonna be kl standard lol..
that ocien.. long que~~~~ that i just had my dinner, cannot makan d... we went walk around then come back at around 10.30~11pm, closed d.. wasted~
pisces88
Aug 16 2009, 05:57 PM
anyone has any frens/relative got bungalow to rent for 1 day in Melaka? dont need to be in a famosa though.. planning bbq trip there, is bungalow a appropriate idea? coz we know we'll be very noisy, dont wanna disturb other residents..
skysherly
Aug 16 2009, 07:27 PM
Hey people!!! I'm going to Malacca this end of the month, will be staying at Fenix Inn but I'm not sure where is it. Even though this is not the first time I been Malacca but I wish to know where got nice Pong Teh chicken. I used to go to 1 place with friends but I can't recall how to get there anymore.  Any Malacca map online ar?
stimix
Aug 16 2009, 07:44 PM
Dunno
Online map here..If possible invest in GPS http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?f=d&geocode...9673164d9645a39pieces...Try A Farmosa resort at Alor gajah..Private bungalows...just google QUOTE(skysherly @ Aug 16 2009, 07:27 PM) Hey people!!! I'm going to Malacca this end of the month, will be staying at Fenix Inn but I'm not sure where is it. Even though this is not the first time I been Malacca but I wish to know where got nice Pong Teh chicken. I used to go to 1 place with friends but I can't recall how to get there anymore.  Any Malacca map online ar?