Travel MALACCA !, FOOD, Place of interest & Accomodations

stimix
post Aug 18 2009, 04:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Capitol Satay celup located just 1km North west of Fenix Inn (Lorong Bkt Cina)...here:

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=2.1952102&lon=10...=18&l=0&m=s&v=9

U hv to walk from the narrow road in front of Equatorial & passing by Malacca High School & St Francis Int..Thereafter keep rioght at TNB/ Telekom building & right again after both buildings..That's Lrg Bkt Cina or Bandar Kaba area. U can see the que from far...if u are there ~ 6pm

It's either you go early (B4 6pm or yu go after 9pm). Here's some review of the famus satay celup:
http://www.amazingmelaka.com/2007/07/31/fo...ol-satay-celup/
nike90
post Aug 18 2009, 08:33 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Andrewhajime @ Jul 27 2008, 04:26 PM)
ermmmm
satay celup is in my mind , but ppl recon me for " capitol "
rice ball i knew the place

got more suggestion >?
yes, i love this
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 09:45 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 18 2009, 04:30 PM)
Capitol Satay celup located just 1km North west of Fenix Inn (Lorong Bkt Cina)...here:

http://wikimapia.org/#lat=2.1952102&lon=10...=18&l=0&m=s&v=9

U hv to walk from the narrow road in front of Equatorial & passing by Malacca High School & St Francis Int..Thereafter keep rioght at TNB/ Telekom building & right again after both buildings..That's Lrg Bkt Cina or Bandar Kaba area. U can see the que from far...if u are there ~ 6pm

It's either you go early (B4 6pm or yu go after 9pm). Here's some review of the famus satay celup:
http://www.amazingmelaka.com/2007/07/31/fo...ol-satay-celup/
Thanks Stimix!!!

Whoa, before 6pm not dinner jor wor, after 9pm will consider as supper leh. This is what I hate, sometimes want to eat nice food also difficult sweat.gif

Stimix you have any idea what's the river cruise? unsure.gif
capiche
post Aug 19 2009, 10:10 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(skysherly @ Aug 19 2009, 09:45 AM)
Thanks Stimix!!!

Whoa, before 6pm not dinner jor wor, after 9pm will consider as supper leh. This is what I hate, sometimes want to eat nice food also difficult  sweat.gif

Stimix you have any idea what's the river cruise?  unsure.gif
river cruise is the tour of malacca river starts from pengkalan lama till the river mouth of malacca river.. biggrin.gif... well, the problem with malacca food is that, most of it was being overrated by tourists especially those at town area... there are plenty of better foods outside malacca town which does not falls into the GPS grid of anyone yet.. haha biggrin.gif

after all, food is an individual taste.. each has diff taste.. tongue.gif.. enjoy ur trip here at malacca.. biggrin.gif a warm welcome from malaccan...

This post has been edited by capiche: Aug 19 2009, 10:10 AM
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 10:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually u can find lotsa review & even the Melaka river cruise from the earlier website I've given on the satay celup:

http://www.amazingmelaka.com/2006/02/03/me...-malacca-river/

Otheriwse try here:
http://www.tourism-melaka.com/Melaka%20River%20Cruise.html
http://asmaliana.com/blog/2007/11/22/exper...a-river-cruise/

The asmaliana website hv tonnes of info on ancient malacca & also excavation sites! Especially the newly discovered skulls at the Hendrik Bastion near to the red houses!

Personally, growing up in M'cca & seeing the river been cleaned up from black Longkang quality to the current state of cleaner river is something really an achievement...I personally hv not try the river cruise...well I fine day when I'm bck in M'cca...my mummy miss me liao...

This post has been edited by stimix: Aug 19 2009, 10:17 AM
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 10:17 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Aug 19 2009, 10:10 AM)
river cruise is the tour of malacca river starts from pengkalan lama till the river mouth of malacca river.. biggrin.gif... well, the problem with malacca food is that, most of it was being overrated by tourists especially those at town area... there are plenty of better foods outside malacca town which does not falls into the GPS grid of anyone yet.. haha biggrin.gif

after all, food is an individual taste.. each has diff taste.. tongue.gif.. enjoy ur trip here at malacca.. biggrin.gif a warm welcome from malaccan...
Whoa, that river cruise sounds nice!!! Is that mean I can just get on it and enjoy myself there? Or do I have to prepare anything? Roughly how much per head ar? I think I will be seriously broke for a trip to Malacca this time. sweat.gif

Yea, I heard that there are quite a number of nice foods hide around in the housing area. The chicken rice ball in the town isn't the best yet, but too bad I don't know where to dig and go to get all the nice food!!!

Capiche wants to meet up? tongue.gif Ho ho ho.... be my tour guide tongue.gif
ryan_hustler
post Aug 19 2009, 10:18 AM

889 posts

The river cruise signboards are everywhere mate, the local municipal recently cleaned up the rivers and its quite a nice sight at night. Capitol too overrated if you ask me, plus the crowd can be a major turn off.The queue will be all along the main road. I usually go to the one where you turn left at the shell atjln hang tuah. Never remembered the name of the shop tho. Also theres awsome pork satay in kota laksamana nearby jonkers area smile.gif
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 10:22 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 10:15 AM)
Actually u can find lotsa review & even the Melaka river cruise from the earlier website I've given on the satay celup:

http://www.amazingmelaka.com/2006/02/03/me...-malacca-river/

Otheriwse try here:
http://www.tourism-melaka.com/Melaka%20River%20Cruise.html
http://asmaliana.com/blog/2007/11/22/exper...a-river-cruise/

The asmaliana website hv tonnes of info on ancient malacca & also excavation sites! Especially the newly discovered skulls at the Hendrik Bastion near to the red houses!

Personally, growing up in M'cca & seeing the river been cleaned up from black Longkang quality to the current state of cleaner river is something really an achievement...I personally hv not try the river cruise...well I fine day when I'm bck in M'cca...my mummy miss me liao...
Thanks Stimix!!!!
Have no time to read the website yet. Seriously it sounds cool to me because I remembered during my last visit, there's no such thing yet. But I do heard about the Hendrik Bastion!!!!! This time I must really go!!!!

Come Stimix, let's go!!! tongue.gif

QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Aug 19 2009, 10:18 AM)
The river cruise signboards are everywhere mate, the local municipal recently cleaned up the rivers and its quite a nice sight at night. Capitol too overrated if you ask me, plus the crowd can be a major turn off.The queue will be all along the main road. I usually go to the one where you turn left at the shell atjln hang tuah. Never remembered the name of the shop tho. Also theres awsome pork satay in kota laksamana nearby jonkers area smile.gif
Thanks ryan for the info! I think it seriously a long time I have not been to Malacca because I seriously couldn't remember any of those signboards at all on my last visit. sweat.gif

Oh yea the pork satay is seriously awesome!!! I plan to eat and enjoy that as much as I can!!! Because it's hard to find it around PJ here tongue.gif
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 10:41 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

That one Ong Kim Wee satay celup-lah (I Think Ban Lee Siang or something) 2nd to the capitol..Spacious than Capitol but yet also crowded at Night...there are 2 more surrounding Ong kim Wee..so beware of the fake Satay celup
Capitol too overrated if you ask me, plus the crowd can be a major turn off.The queue will be all along the main road. I usually go to the one where you turn left at the shell atjln hang tuah. Never remembered the name of the shop tho. Also theres awsome pork satay in kota laksamana nearby jonkers area smile.gif

Added on August 19, 2009, 10:44 amThat one Ong Kim Wee satay celup-lah (I Think Ban Lee Siang or something) 2nd to the capitol..Spacious than Capitol but yet also crowded at Night...there are 2 more surrounding Ong kim Wee..so beware of the fake Satay celup
Capitol too overrated if you ask me, plus the crowd can be a major turn off.The queue will be all along the main road. I usually go to the one where you turn left at the shell atjln hang tuah. Never remembered the name of the shop tho. Also theres awsome pork satay in kota laksamana nearby jonkers area smile.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Aug 19 2009, 10:44 AM
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 11:09 AM

1,764 posts

I personally don't really like Ong Kim Wee that one. Anyhow, seems like nowadays quite a lot of fake satay celup huh? sad.gif
capiche
post Aug 19 2009, 12:39 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 10:41 AM)
That one Ong Kim Wee satay celup-lah (I Think Ban Lee Siang or something) 2nd to the capitol..Spacious than Capitol but yet also crowded at Night...there are 2 more surrounding Ong kim Wee..so beware of the fake Satay celup

Added on August 19, 2009, 10:44 amThat one Ong Kim Wee satay celup-lah (I Think Ban Lee Siang or something) 2nd to the capitol..Spacious than Capitol but yet also crowded at Night...there are 2 more surrounding Ong kim Wee..so beware of the fake Satay celup
hehe.. well.. everyone wanna have a slice of cake ma.. haha... both ong kim wee and capitol are old-timers in satay celup business.. just that capitol is slightly lucky (i would put it) to have such great location in the heart of the town... the 1 in ong kim wee (ban lee heong, the best.. others along the road all come after them 1) oso have lots of celebs went thr before.. haha... tongue.gif

stimix, u malaccan oso? nice to meet u.. smile.gif

skysherly, if u have time.. spend some time on the excavated half of the fort famosa... its a nice architecture though it was being blasted by dunno how many colonies d.. haha... it would be my pleasure to accompany u.. however, i seldom at malacca as i'm studying outstation.. haha biggrin.gif

puspa_wira
post Aug 19 2009, 12:43 PM

seoul garden in mahkota la..nyum3
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 01:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ex-malaccan-lah..migrated to KL 2 decades ago... smile.gif
QUOTE(capiche @ Aug 19 2009, 12:39 PM)

capiche
post Aug 19 2009, 01:18 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 01:03 PM)
Ex-malaccan-lah..migrated to KL 2 decades ago... smile.gif
once a malaccan.. always a malaccan.. haha.. sounds like football fanatics... tongue.gif
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 04:43 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Aug 19 2009, 12:39 PM)
hehe.. well.. everyone wanna have a slice of cake ma.. haha... both ong kim wee and capitol are old-timers in satay celup business.. just that capitol is slightly lucky (i would put it) to have such great location in the heart of the town... the 1 in ong kim wee (ban lee heong, the best.. others along the road all come after them 1) oso have lots of celebs went thr before.. haha... tongue.gif

skysherly, if u have time.. spend some time on the excavated half of the fort famosa... its a nice architecture though it was being blasted by dunno how many colonies d.. haha... it would be my pleasure to accompany u.. however, i seldom at malacca as i'm studying outstation.. haha biggrin.gif
Thanks Capiche!
I like that fort famosa. I know it's a nice architecture. Hey, I only go during end of month and I'm very sure you won't have class on those days!!! So better go back to Malacca!!!

Er... I have something like this.... I may be arriving late afternoon on that day, I was thinking to have dinner + walk at the jonker street on that night, then after that the next day go to historical places, and I was thinking to go to the Zoo there. I know the zoo area there is just right after the Ayer Keroh toll right? So.... will it be on the way for me to go out from there? Or will be better for me to go after I reach? unsure.gif
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 04:55 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If u decided to use Ayer Keroh toll bck to KL, it will be right choice going to the zoo. Otherwise, nowadays, ppl normally enter/out of M'cca using Alor gajah side cheaper toll & nearer.
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 05:04 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 04:55 PM)
If u decided to use Ayer Keroh toll bck to KL, it will be right choice going to the zoo. Otherwise, nowadays, ppl normally enter/out of M'cca using Alor gajah side cheaper toll & nearer.
I only remember how to enter from Ayer Keroh then got to pass by those zoo thingy, and one way straight can reach the town area. I thought that's the easiest way, but the problem is, I don't know how to go out from Ayer Keroh sweat.gif
stimix
post Aug 19 2009, 05:26 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually from Alor Gajah to Malacca is easier...the old road upgraded to dual lanes freeway liao...but still lotsa traffic lights..Out from Alor gajah Toll at the roundabout turn left & all the way straight to M'cca..~26km from Alor gajah. Otherwise, u wanted to use Ayer keroh, can also but paing xtra & big loop of xtra 14km to melaka compare to alor Gajah..sumore saving on toll

From Ayer keroh it's not really a straight road too...
skysherly
post Aug 19 2009, 05:51 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 05:26 PM)
Actually from Alor Gajah to Malacca is easier...the old road upgraded to dual lanes freeway liao...but still lotsa traffic lights..Out from Alor gajah Toll at the roundabout turn left & all the way straight to M'cca..~26km from Alor gajah. Otherwise, u wanted to use Ayer keroh, can also but paing xtra & big loop of xtra 14km to melaka compare to alor Gajah..sumore saving on toll

hmm... if that's the case then I may consider Alor Gajah jor. Then should I drop the visit to zoo? unsure.gif I'm actually afraid I may not have enough of time. You see, I want to eat the chicken rice ball, satay celup, chocolate fondue at Sweet sensation, then not to forget the pork satay, newton food court, the breakfast at the old coffee shop that serves nice steam bread, then river cruise there. unsure.gif
ryan_hustler
post Aug 19 2009, 06:01 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 19 2009, 05:26 PM)

sorry i have to disagree..if you take the alor gajah way and exit at simpang ampat toll will roughly save you rm3 but a lot of start stop at traffic lights u rather pay the rm3 and take the highway till ayer keroh.Cheapest alternative is Alor gajah-->seremban--> sepang--> exit at klia toll but takes at least 1hour longer.
Travel after midnight theres a 10% discount.

Added on August 19, 2009, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(skysherly @ Aug 19 2009, 05:51 PM)
hmm... if that's the case then I may consider Alor Gajah jor. Then should I drop the visit to zoo?  unsure.gif I'm actually afraid I may not have enough of time. You see, I want to eat the chicken rice ball, satay celup, chocolate fondue at Sweet sensation, then not to forget the pork satay, newton food court, the breakfast at the old coffee shop that serves nice steam bread, then river cruise there.  unsure.gif
Can skip newton..the zoo is nice but..personally i dont like to see caged animals.hehe if ure interested pls go ahead. River cruise at night is quite scenic but if you dont have the time can just take a walk along the paved stretch along the riverside.(Ive parked near the famosa chicken rice balls in town and walked till Mahkota parade along the river). Pork satay if im not mistaken closes by 4pm (the one near kota laksamana)

What coffee shop is that with the steamed bread?

This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Aug 19 2009, 06:06 PM

103 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:44 PM