Travel MALACCA !, FOOD, Place of interest & Accomodations
sailou
Jul 16 2009, 05:21 AM
All taikos, i'm planning a 3d2n trip to Melaka on 28th-30th Aug. Is this advisable since it is Merdeka Day on 31st Aug which falls on Monday?
Which is the best hotel that is considered clean, comfortable and most convenient? Price is ok for me.
If i opt for budget hotel which is at Jonker's Walk, will i have parking problem? I understand there is a pasar malam there, will it be a problem for my car to move in and out from the hotel?
Or will i just need to park my car for the check in and my activities is enough for 3d2n without using my car?
This post has been edited by sailou: Jul 18 2009, 03:19 AM
sailou
Jul 18 2009, 03:20 AM
Help!
sailou
Jul 19 2009, 01:59 AM
Bro stimix, i have read everything in full before i post my question.
I'm asking if those hotel conveniently around Jonker Walk have sufficient parking space for their guest or non at all.
Who has been staying in those hotel recently can enlighten me on the current situation of those hotel?
Is it ok to go on the same weekend with Merdeka Day? Will there be helluva crowd and massive congestions?
sailou
Jul 20 2009, 04:57 PM
I more or less have decided on Aldy Hotel but when i looked at the reviews in Tripadvisor, almost 8 out of 10 complained of noise. That is quite serious.
What is the walking distance from Fenix to Aldy? Fenix do look good but the crampy-look room is a turnoff. So if i stay in either Fenix or Aldy, i guess i won't have a parking problem.
sailou
Jul 24 2009, 02:39 AM
I booked Aldy Hotel already. RM370 for 2 nights in a 3 star is not really cheap so i hope the hotel is really up to mark.
sailou
Feb 23 2011, 09:26 PM
QUOTE(daze @ Feb 17 2011, 12:46 PM) any nice boutique hotel around jonker rec?? try heeren, puri...all fully booked date : 5th march Have you try Jonker Boutique Hotel and Courtyard@Heeren? Courtyard is great but the price is
sailou
Apr 12 2011, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 10 2011, 10:48 PM) Chk page 1 for attractions & food @lazychildren..check pg 1 too Looks like the page has not been updated for more than a year now. andreaschan, if we book hotel through your agency can get cheaper than published rate?
sailou
Jun 15 2011, 04:56 PM
My oh my. Hotel around Jonker Walk fully booked for 2 consecutive weekend.
sailou
Jul 8 2011, 06:27 PM
QUOTE(MizzLucy @ Jul 7 2011, 04:07 PM) Hi all! Need a quick recommendation here, I'm from Sabah and I'm planning on a trip down to Melaka for 3days 2nights with some friends in October. However, none of us has been to Melaka before so we were kinda blur. We will be touching down in KLIA and spend a night there then to Melaka by bus/taxi. My question is, 1. What is the most affordable/convenient transportation from KL-MELAKA? 2. Where is the best budget hotel in Melaka that is at a walking distance to Melaka attractions such as Jonker street? For where to eat, I get lots of info from the earlier comments in this thread so THANK YOU GUYS SO MUCH! p/s We actually booked a room in Cosy Hotel in Melaka, the website looks promising and the price is really cheap too! However, we found out that it's kinda far from Jonker Street =( Stay in Jonker Walk. You won't regret. The bask of activities and food is around there. Try Hotel Puri RM160 a night. Right smack in the back of Jonker Walk. As for food and attractions, do refer to 1st post. It's all there.
sailou
Jul 29 2011, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(goliath @ Jul 25 2011, 01:18 PM) Need recommendations for hotel. My budget is around RM200 (or slightly more) per night. Currently, I'm looking at Bayview or Courtyard@Heeren. Equatorial & Holiday Inn seem out of my budget. Courtyard is great but not cheap. You can try Hotel Puri a few steps away from Courtyard for RM140++ or Jonkers Boutique Hotel at the start of Jonkers Walk for RM199++. Con with Jonkers Boutique is it is fronting a stage where uncle and auntie will sing karaoke every weekend til 11pm. Maybe you can try Heeren House. Stay in Jonkers Walk in the best!
sailou
Sep 2 2011, 09:12 AM
Try get a hotel around Jonker. Majority of your activities are by walking. There you save your car renting bill.
sailou
Oct 13 2011, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(blessingyu @ Oct 6 2011, 11:21 AM) hello  im going to melaka this saturday for satay celup & thousand layer cake. will got alot of ppl or not during weekend?  Weekday is ok. Jonker Walk would be like a ghost town. Weekend is horrible. Jam here. Jam there. Lotsa lotsa people. If fall on Singapore school or public holiday then really jialat.
sailou
Oct 16 2011, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(wormyx @ Oct 16 2011, 05:06 PM) any best place to put a nite or 2 ? not so pricey, juz 2 of us..as long a clean place. Added on October 16, 2011, 5:07 pmand yah, nearby jonkers street or middle of the attraction places.. Said this quite many times. Hotel Puri RM140++ for a twin sharing room. It is a boutique hotel right smack in the middle of Jonker Street. It's the cheapest in terms of hotel around Jonkers Walk. For anything cheaper than that can try some hostel around there. Also can try Aldy opposite Stadhuys (most people called it Red House) for RM160++. Location wise is quite good too but heard it's quite noisy at night.