Travel MALACCA !, FOOD, Place of interest & Accomodations
Putraskyline
Jul 29 2008, 04:43 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 17 2008, 04:21 AM) Let me tell you : Chicken Rice ball : A famosa chicken rice ball ( Jonker Street ) N2 11.718 E102 14.886 Cendol/Kueh : Jonker Dessert 88 ( Jonker Street ) N2 11.738 E102 14.867 Satay Celup : Capitol Satay celop ( Banda kaba ) N2 11.694 E102 15.122 Ikan bakar : Umbai, Serkam, Anjung Batu Already in V2.27 Map Lunch ( Malay Food) : Lot 85 ( Durian daun) N2 12.489 E102 15.629 , Ikan bakar Malim ( Near Mitc, Cheng) N2 16.396 E102 16.867 What else do you want to know? Do you have GPS? I have all GPS coordinates for the above food attractions
Putraskyline
Jul 30 2008, 11:32 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(Andrewhajime @ Jul 29 2008, 07:42 PM) thx for the info man, i'll check it out when i'm there , my stomache gonna burst ! aiyarr ... for malaccan price i think is a bit expensive KL sure expensive ler >.< got more coordinate ? What places you want? Currently I'm in cyberjaya, so if anything about gps coordinate for places you wanna find, kindly tell me.
Putraskyline
Sep 16 2008, 03:48 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(Waited @ Sep 16 2008, 02:05 AM) Hi to all. My girlfriend is going to Malacca for work at the final weekend of this month. I wanted to plan a suprise dinner for her and would like to propose to her. So i would like to know if there is any place that will be a good romantic restaurant that i can go. What i have in mind is a candle light dinner. All your help will be deeply appriciated as this will be the most special day of our lives..  BTw i m from KL What cuisine do you prefer? Please stated more specific as I have 2-3 good restaurant in my mind.
Putraskyline
Sep 16 2008, 06:06 PM
Non-Regular
I would not suggest any hotel since you can go any hotel anywhere
My suggestion :
Sampan Bistro - Seaside Western Restaurant located at Pantai Klebang. It have good ambient and of course candle light dinner. If you tell the manager, it was special day, musical band will come and play at your table.
If you have GPS, maybe this coordinate will help you a lot
Coordinates: 2°12'13"N 102°13'37"E
This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Sep 16 2008, 06:07 PM
Putraskyline
Sep 17 2008, 12:17 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(Waited @ Sep 17 2008, 11:00 AM) Thank you for all the feedback!! For the hotel, its ok she will be staying in her company assigned hotel. The most important part is the romantic atmosphere.. BTW do they have contact no.? Coz not too familiar wif Malacca. Sampan Bistro Telephone Tel: 06-2867611
Putraskyline
Sep 17 2008, 06:42 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(patrickyeo21 @ Sep 17 2008, 12:33 PM) Sampan Services are bad, I experienced it twice, gosh~ Sorry to hear that. I don't have any bad experience yet with Sampan.
Putraskyline
Sep 26 2008, 02:12 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 26 2008, 11:47 AM) Not all the sate Celup in Melaka are nice. Not sure where is the locationj of the two u mentioned.. There are only 2 famous Satay Celup in Melaka i.e: 1) Capitol (At Banda Kaba) 2) Ban Lee Siang? - (Jln Ong Kim Wee) Others so-so only & the pricing of this unique (Although looks dirty for some) is much cheaper than crazy lok-lok pricing in KL! Added on September 26, 2008, 11:59 amPutraskyline...The chicken rice I have to disagree wth u...the famous one is not A farmosa which is so-so only & I suspect the owner is not Hainanese...They are clean & modern restaurnat but not the famous. They even opened 1 in Mahkota Parade (Closed down) & another one in Cheras KL but failed too! The famous & nice one and voted as one o fthe top 3 Chicken rice in Malaysia by MIX FM long time ago is Chung Wah at the corner lot shop facing Stathuy buiding..  Maybe you are true Stimix because I didnt taste rice ball and stay celup myself because it was non halal. I just gather info from my Chinese friend.
Putraskyline
Oct 5 2008, 02:27 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 26 2008, 04:20 PM) Haha...I thought of that also...u must hv been mislead since u'r muslim...  BTW, u should recommend some nice halal food too..I believe there are lotsa halal nice food such as Ikan Bakar in Umbai/Serkam, Roti John at Tg Keling...Wah dunno still available..I always goto the one near Pantai Kundor when I was young (Secondary schooll..sumore cycling from Melaka town  ) For Ikan Bakar Umbai, just go to old Umbai and straight to the end of the road. Thats the best Ikan Bakar there. For the roti John you have mention, yes they still operating. Barkat Roti John and Ayam Golek. I will updating the GPS position soon. Added on October 5, 2008, 2:28 amQUOTE(MelaniePutra @ Oct 4 2008, 05:55 PM) Hi there! Can I check with you what is the GPS Coordinates for Ikan Bakar Umbai? I have Garmin GPS. You mentioned that it is already in V2.27 Map. Where can I find this map? I am new to this site... Thanks, Mel Free maps are available hereThis post has been edited by Putraskyline: Oct 5 2008, 02:28 AM
Putraskyline
Oct 5 2008, 06:30 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 5 2008, 06:16 PM) Hehe...Not only u but lotsa ppl outside Melaka view the same..thus it's a failure trying to introduce satay celup in KL, I've seen 2 failure so far in KL. One way back in mid 90', 1 shop failed in Taipan USJ & another in early 2000 at Taipan 2, USJ ...also failed..  ...The one really successful in KL is the Fatty steamboat...now becoming franchise business oledi...Every Luk-luk van, sure there is a Soya Bean van ..just like Indian rojak...Rojak Van+ Cendol..  Fatty Steamboat was halal or not ar?
Putraskyline
Oct 5 2008, 07:14 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 5 2008, 07:13 PM) No-lah Non halal..sorry bro...but there are Malay satay celup /Lok-lok stalls as well in Klang Valley Pasar Malam..  Haizz....That steamboat very tempting but all are non halal . Do you know which Pasar Mlm?
Putraskyline
Oct 9 2008, 04:38 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(chuakz @ Oct 9 2008, 04:15 PM) nah...looking for italian food....I know there's one restaurant called coconut house I think at heeren street serving italian....not interested in western.....everytime western western... Added on October 9, 2008, 4:19 pmdid you actually read my post? I said that place opposite the melaka badminton association is now occupied by handsome restaurant.....the ex-ramada he kiau mee is not there anymore......nor is it at newton....they said the rental too expensive...I used to love their fish porridge....diff style...now they are at the place I dunno what its called....pangkal lama or sumthin.....sry if I'm wrong....there's a small food court there.....they are there.....somewhere before the audi showroom.... yup the chicken rice at malim is good...they used to be at mahkota before mp renovated their food court and shifted it....used to eat it when I was young...but I just got a problem with them....they don't remove the bones of the chicken and then chop it....when they chop the bones crack and wil fall into the rice.... Its Pengkalan Rama
Putraskyline
Nov 9 2008, 01:14 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Sep 26 2008, 10:19 PM) Hi, For those who've been to melaka or better still..from melaka...can i ask...which of these 2 hotels are nearer to the town area i.e. jonker street, a famosa.. 1. Semabok Inn http://www.semabokinn.com/location.html2. Yellow Mansion Hotel http://www.yellowmansion.com.my/My fren and i are driving there from KL and these are the hotels that still got room. But we duno which one is nearer to town. Thanks! Semabok Inn too far from Melaka Town. Yellow Mansion is nearer. Added on November 9, 2008, 1:16 amQUOTE(ckseng @ Nov 9 2008, 12:40 AM) I was looking for hotel in melaka. Which one would be better? in term of cleanliness, comfort and services. Yellow Mansion hotel or Fenix Inn Hotel. Cant find any info about this yellow mansion hotel anyway except their website. From outside, clearly Fenix Inn was better because its new budget hotel. Yellow Mansion use old story building for the hotel. Some more, fenix Inn located in town and walking distances to all major shopping complexes and historical site. This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Nov 9 2008, 01:16 AM
Putraskyline
Dec 1 2008, 04:33 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(joeylny @ Dec 1 2008, 04:29 PM) aldy hotel is not bad..n kinda cheap.. or bayview try find online can get RM100 a night.. but must book early lar Added on December 1, 2008, 4:30 pmas for food..of course jonker street.... laksa, cendol~!! chicken rice ball (not sure halal or not) sate celup.. nyonya food .. Chicken rice ball non halal
Putraskyline
Dec 11 2008, 08:43 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(fenixtx @ Dec 11 2008, 02:58 AM) where to find halal food in mlk? lol as i have muslim friends visiting mlk soon.. A lot! - Roti Canai with Kari Kepala Ikan : Opposite Sk Bkt Beruang - Lot85 - Lunch (Durian Daun) - Umbai/Serkam/Anjung Batu : Dinner (Ikan Bakar) - Cendol : Jonker88 - Ikan Bakar Malim : Malim (Lunch) - Roti John/Ayam Golek : Roti John Barkat (Pantai Kundor) - Jiki - Tomyam : D' Nangka
Putraskyline
Dec 12 2008, 11:56 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(fenixtx @ Dec 11 2008, 11:14 AM) wheres is this jonker88? lol is this the one in jonker street or the one behind jonker street which is near to the old pasar borong? and where is this ikan bakar malim? im staying nearby malim.. nvr see before aso  tomyam dnangka? - Jonker88 situated along Jonker Street. - Ikan Bakar Malim - Situated at the junction nearby Cheng Condominium. - Dnangka - Situated at Bukit Katil
Putraskyline
Dec 14 2008, 01:03 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(tennis4life @ Dec 14 2008, 12:29 AM) one question here, Is AMIGO Steak and Grill restaurant nice? Passed by there a few times already but everytime CROWDED one. If you mean to have nice cut and good steak, the answer is No.
Putraskyline
Dec 19 2008, 11:56 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(ahbubu @ Dec 19 2008, 10:20 PM)  is there any car rental or bicycle rental?? if yes how about the prices??? i wonder how to getting around malacca  I have a few friend in MMU Melaka that having business in car rental. PM me if you need. Ranging from 60(Kancil) - 90(Wira).
Putraskyline
Dec 20 2008, 11:22 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(tennis4life @ Dec 20 2008, 12:03 AM) Then may I know which restaurant in malacca serves good steak? or mexican food? thanks! Hmm...Melaka is known for traditional Baba Nyonya food. If you want decent steak, KL is suitable places.
Putraskyline
Dec 20 2008, 02:14 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(FalleN @ Dec 20 2008, 12:26 PM) i'm also looking for places to have nice a decent steak in melaka.. planning to celebrate bday for my gf.. its a 21st bday.. so hopefully can get to dine in a fine restaurant. any recommendation? i read about the italian food located in a hotel which have gud environment and beach view in the earlier pages. i'm quite interested... maybe gonna check the places 1st. besides that any other recommendation? i've been to nadeje many times, i like the environment there.. but there are too little choices for food. Anyone tried dining in Taro before? i heard it has a large variety of steaks rite? how was it? Taro not bad lar but its on expensive side. I rather go to Riviera or Renaissance for steak there.
Putraskyline
Feb 7 2009, 11:43 AM
Non-Regular