Household [Home Appliances] Air-con

weikee
post Mar 10 2013, 01:36 PM

12,019 posts

If only given this two brand. York will definitely be my choice.
kadajawi
post Mar 10 2013, 02:37 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(miQbals @ Mar 10 2013, 11:54 AM)
I plan to to install a 2.5HP air-cond in my living hall.

Any recommendation for which brand vs performance price is okay ?

Currently thinking for York/Samsung...
I find that at least in Malaysia Daikin is reasonably priced. Good reputation, good experiences (so far have one, another one will come soon). York... had some in showhouses that I had to work in. Not that, but I guess OK la.

As for inverter I think it depends on the dimension of the unit. Mostly inverter gives great comfort, the temperature stays constant, not jumping up and down, and there is a steady almost unnoticeable cool airflow. Won't get sick so easily. And if the room is easily cooled by the thing savings are good, the main benefit is when the aircon is not running full power. So room is isolated good enough etc. When the new air con arrives I'll use my power meter to measure consumption...
miQbals
post Mar 10 2013, 05:20 PM

186 posts

Thanks weikiee & kadajawi.

I also can ask the dealer for any other brand like Panasonic & Daikin.

Plan to install next week. Still gathering more & more information before finalizing my decision.
weikee
post Mar 10 2013, 06:23 PM

12,019 posts

York good in fast cooling, but bit noisy. Living room is ok, as the noise not noticeable in living room.
kyoshooo
post Mar 10 2013, 10:36 PM

382 posts

Hi may I know where can I buy cassette type air con..? Most of the shop I went not selling cassette type air con....
jovial
post Mar 11 2013, 09:10 AM

carpe diem
2,129 posts

QUOTE(kyoshooo @ Mar 10 2013, 10:36 PM)
Hi may I know where can I buy cassette type air con..? Most of the shop I went not selling cassette type air con....
which town/city?
kyoshooo
post Mar 11 2013, 01:08 PM

382 posts

i am stay in PJ. selangor
Silpheed
post Mar 11 2013, 02:24 PM

419 posts

Anyone knows where's the dealer for Daikin in Kuching?
SUSMatrix
post Mar 11 2013, 03:15 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(miQbals @ Mar 10 2013, 11:54 AM)
I plan to to install a 2.5HP air-cond in my living hall.

Any recommendation for which brand vs performance price is okay ?

Currently thinking for York/Samsung...
I won't buy Samsung air cond for sure. Best bet with air cond is probably York/Daikin. These brands are specialize in this area, not like Samsung which make everything under the sun.

Now i have a dilemma, should i go for R22 or R410 gas type air cond?? Been reading pros and cons until dizzy...rclxub.gif

Anyone wants to share some info on this?
oe_kintaro
post Mar 11 2013, 04:32 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 03:15 PM)
I won't buy Samsung air cond for sure. Best bet with air cond is probably York/Daikin. These brands are specialize in this area, not like Samsung which make everything under the sun.

Now i have a dilemma, should i go for R22 or R410 gas type air cond?? Been reading pros and cons until dizzy...rclxub.gif

Anyone wants to share some info on this?
R22 Daikins inverters offer the best compromise in my opinion. It's really expensive to service R410 at the moment, and the phase out of R22 gas in my opinion, is a non-issue for the foreseeable service life of the typical modern air-conditioner. Furthermore, the environmental friendliness of R410A is debatable to me, as eventhough it does not contribute to ozone depletion, it DOES contribute to global warming as it is nearly 2000 times more effective in trapping heat as CO2. AFAIK, currently R410A servicing involves release of the gas directly to the atmosphere compared to R22 which is reclaimed during servicing.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 11 2013, 05:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Mar 11 2013, 04:32 PM)
R22 Daikins inverters offer the best compromise in my opinion. It's really expensive to service R410 at the moment, and the phase out of R22 gas in my opinion, is a non-issue for the foreseeable service life of the typical modern air-conditioner. Furthermore, the environmental friendliness of R410A is debatable to me, as eventhough it does not contribute to ozone depletion, it DOES contribute to global warming as it is nearly 2000 times more effective in trapping heat as CO2. AFAIK, currently R410A servicing involves release of the gas directly to the atmosphere compared to R22 which is reclaimed during servicing.
Thanks for your insight bro. thumbup.gif. I will get a Daikin aircond after my reno is done. smile.gif
oe_kintaro
post Mar 11 2013, 05:19 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 05:11 PM)
Thanks for your insight bro. thumbup.gif. I will get a Daikin aircond after my reno is done. smile.gif
Keep in mind that Daikin compressors are HUGE relative to York and Panasonic. Your air con guy will sure b**** about installing it.

IMHO, the reason why York and Panasonic are more popular (at least in Penang) is the name recognition and it is easier for them to install and make money maintaining them. To me those are not valid reasons to recommend them to a customer as you are the one to have to live with the airconditioning day in and day out.
Furthermore, York build quality is not as good as Daikin from what I heard, as Daikins are manufactured in Thailand and therefore considered export quality, whereas Yorks are locally assembled. Panasonics are pretty quiet, but rather underpowered

BTW, don't wait until your reno is done. Get the piping installed around the same time you are doing the wiring, and before you do the cabinet work. Otherwise there's additional hacking to do, plus Daikin wiring is different from York's so you need to tell the wireman/aircon guy upfront....

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 11 2013, 05:23 PM
kadajawi
post Mar 11 2013, 05:57 PM

544 posts

What I heard was that Daikin for Malaysia is made in Thailand, Daikin for Singapore is made in Japan... That's why Daikin is so expensive in SG.
kadajawi
post Mar 11 2013, 08:33 PM

544 posts

Ok, back home, the Daikin (DVM model... yay. May have gotten the last one that anyone has in stock biggrin.gif ) 1 hp unit consumes around 30W... occasionally it rises to 300-400W. (30W is the fan working only... the old National unit used 40W when completely turned OFF). Though I have set the temperature to 28°C, so it doesn't actually have to cool that much, just enough to make me feel comfortable. My regular Sanyo fan uses 40W and is noisier... it also made me sick because it would be blowing onto my neck.

Very happy now, the old National unit was not able to even do 28°C... it would cool down to 24 or so, with a constant uncomfortable air stream. Even when set to 28°C. Temperatures would be going up and down all the time too... Inverter units are already worth their higher price tag just for the comfort they add, I'd get one even if there were no energy savings.
weikee
post Mar 11 2013, 08:40 PM

12,019 posts

28c, is much better use ventilation fan suck air from outside and get fresh air too, it can even go lower, someone 25c, and occasionally is around 27±
kadajawi
post Mar 11 2013, 08:42 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 11 2013, 08:40 PM)
28c, is much better use ventilation fan suck air from outside and get fresh air too,  it can even go lower,  someone 25c, and occasionally is around 27±
Not here... outside also 30°C... and you get all the mosquitoes... But yes, letting in some fresh air once in a while is a good idea.
SUSMatrix
post Mar 11 2013, 09:17 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 11 2013, 08:40 PM)
28c, is much better use ventilation fan suck air from outside and get fresh air too,  it can even go lower,  someone 25c, and occasionally is around 27±
28C very hot leh...i think 26C is just nice. And don't buy Panasonic air-cond...sarks wan...my unit the compressor sounds like car engine. Noisy!!!!
ante5k
post Mar 12 2013, 07:14 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 09:17 PM)
And don't buy Panasonic air-cond...sarks wan...my unit the compressor sounds like  car engine. Noisy!!!!
True statement sad.gif

kadajawi
post Mar 12 2013, 09:30 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 09:17 PM)
28C very hot leh...i think 26C is just nice. And don't buy Panasonic air-cond...sarks wan...my unit the compressor sounds like  car engine. Noisy!!!!
26 I'm freezing laugh.gif Hard to imagine that I lived in Finland for half a year. biggrin.gif

Tested the consumption at full blast, powerful mode (cool as much as possible): About 500W. Off it is 8W. I'm a bit disappointed by the 8W, but 500 is quite good, the previous older 1 HP unit consumed 800+...
SUSMatrix
post Mar 12 2013, 10:12 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Mar 12 2013, 09:30 PM)
26 I'm freezing laugh.gif Hard to imagine that I lived in Finland for half a year. biggrin.gif

Tested the consumption at full blast, powerful mode (cool as much as possible): About 500W. Off it is 8W. I'm a bit disappointed by the 8W, but 500 is quite good, the previous older 1 HP unit consumed 800+...
Which brand of air-cond you are referring to??

176 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 131 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:15 AM