Hi Everyone,
I'm in Penang area, and am looking for the following:

2.5HP Ceiling Cassette x 1: York
2.0HP Ceiling Cassette x 1: York
1.0HP Wall Mount (with ionizer, non-inverter) x 2: Panasonic / York
1.5HP Wall Mount (with ionizer, non-inverter) x 4: Panasonic / York
Please pm best price and itemize for labour charges

Would appreciate some clarification on the sound levels too:
based on the brochure it appears to me that York is quieter for the same HP based on the SPL (especially for ceiling cassette). This appears to contradict what some people are telling me. (i.e., Panasonic being the quietest)

thx
oe_kintaro
post Mar 11 2013, 04:32 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 03:15 PM)
I won't buy Samsung air cond for sure. Best bet with air cond is probably York/Daikin. These brands are specialize in this area, not like Samsung which make everything under the sun.

Now i have a dilemma, should i go for R22 or R410 gas type air cond?? Been reading pros and cons until dizzy...rclxub.gif

Anyone wants to share some info on this?
R22 Daikins inverters offer the best compromise in my opinion. It's really expensive to service R410 at the moment, and the phase out of R22 gas in my opinion, is a non-issue for the foreseeable service life of the typical modern air-conditioner. Furthermore, the environmental friendliness of R410A is debatable to me, as eventhough it does not contribute to ozone depletion, it DOES contribute to global warming as it is nearly 2000 times more effective in trapping heat as CO2. AFAIK, currently R410A servicing involves release of the gas directly to the atmosphere compared to R22 which is reclaimed during servicing.
oe_kintaro
post Mar 11 2013, 05:19 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 11 2013, 05:11 PM)
Thanks for your insight bro. thumbup.gif. I will get a Daikin aircond after my reno is done. smile.gif
Keep in mind that Daikin compressors are HUGE relative to York and Panasonic. Your air con guy will sure b**** about installing it.

IMHO, the reason why York and Panasonic are more popular (at least in Penang) is the name recognition and it is easier for them to install and make money maintaining them. To me those are not valid reasons to recommend them to a customer as you are the one to have to live with the airconditioning day in and day out.
Furthermore, York build quality is not as good as Daikin from what I heard, as Daikins are manufactured in Thailand and therefore considered export quality, whereas Yorks are locally assembled. Panasonics are pretty quiet, but rather underpowered

BTW, don't wait until your reno is done. Get the piping installed around the same time you are doing the wiring, and before you do the cabinet work. Otherwise there's additional hacking to do, plus Daikin wiring is different from York's so you need to tell the wireman/aircon guy upfront....

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Mar 11 2013, 05:23 PM
oe_kintaro
post Mar 28 2013, 01:39 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(cheryl99 @ Mar 28 2013, 01:28 PM)
mad.gif

I NEED TO GET NEW AIRCOND FER TWO ROOMS.
1 Room is 15ft by 20 ft.
Another room is 30 by 30 ft.
THE AIRCONS I LIKE SHUD HAVE STRONGEST FAN BLOWS!    TOO SICK OF AIRCON FAN WHICH HAVE SLOW PROBLEMS. 
THE AIRCON I WANT SHUD BE EFFECTIVELY COLD.    NOT INTERESTED IN OTHER FANCY FEATURES WITHOUT GETTING THE COLDNESS RIGHT IN THE FIRST PLACE.
WHICH ONE TO RECOMMEND?
sweat.gif
Now we have lg art cool with internal wall piping. got water leak problem and not cold even at 18 degree. service so many times already by dream service.  So must throw away these one and get new aircons.
Looks to me like you need a 1HP and a 2HP unit. Right-sizing your air cond HP is the first step otherwise you will never get cold. A baseline model York should be good enough for you since you don't need any fancy features. Setting at 18oC is also a bad idea as it prevents your compressor from cutting of most of the time. Seriously 24-25oC is good enough if your air cond HP is correct for your room size.
oe_kintaro
post Mar 29 2013, 09:18 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(Gfreak @ Mar 29 2013, 12:10 AM)
Guys

Am planning to purchase two 2hp aircond for my house. Can recommend good reliable seller and installer in pj? Planning to checkout ss2 area but not sure which shop. Would harvey norman b a good choice but they dont carry york. See that york recommended bY forumners here.

Hope can advice me

Yorks are cheap and cheerful smile.gif
To me they are the baseline for comparison and the preferred brand of installers because they can make money on the spares biggrin.gif
Until the cost of maintenance for R410A comes down, Daikins are preferable for me, especially the R22 inverters.
oe_kintaro
post Jul 20 2013, 06:54 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jul 20 2013, 12:22 AM)
Initially i plan to get daikin but after receive feedback from people who repair air con. According to them, daikin non-inteverter is ok but inverter unit is frequently spoilt and need to repair. Dunno true or not. But some people say it is good.
Haven't had my Daikins breakdown on me yet... these days Daikins are all export quality as they are sourced from Thailand so I seriously doubt their build quality can be worse than locally assembled Yorks or Panasonics. I know some aircond installers grumble because the compressors are freaking huge. Also the wiring is different from other air conds and in theory should be less prone to the PCB frying compared to York. Another reason some air cond installers may not like Daikin is that usually these are serviced directly by their own technicians so less chance for outsiders to cari makan from them....
So far in use I find they are extremely quiet so no complaints so far. However if you are the super impatient type who wants the aircond to blast cold air at you the moment you switch it on, please don't get Daikins: Daikins take their own sweet time to power up.
oe_kintaro
post Jul 21 2013, 10:25 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jul 21 2013, 09:44 AM)
Mitsubishi , york & Panansonic, which 1 better in terms of reliability and long lasting for basic non-inverter models? beside Mitsubishi comes with 2+7 warranty and the rest with 1+5 warranty.Longer warranty period is better? Thanks.
I've heard so many conflicting comments especially on York and Panasonic. Don't know much about Mitsubishi.
Going by stereotypes, York is cold but noisy and Panasonic is quiet but underpowered tongue.gif
In terms of cost of ownership, it should be fairly easy to get spares for Panasonic and York if they ever break down. Seriously though, if you are really planning to use air-conditioning for a long time, an inverter will better bang for buck in terms of electricity bills rather than worrying about warranty periods
oe_kintaro
post Jul 21 2013, 02:32 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Jul 21 2013, 02:13 PM)
I can also attest to Daikin's reliability. I have 4 inverter units in my house. It's true that they take longer to cool down the room, but they are very quiet(both indoor unit and the compressor). It also has a night mode that turns the blower down so low that you virtually do not feel the cold air blowing at you. The only problem I have with Daikin is if the blower gets dirty, it tends to make a slight sound.
The start up is a bit slow because there's a built in logic to move the louvres up and down to drain out any potential condensation before powering up the blower. Noticed this on both their inverter and non-inverter models. As you say, even their compressors are really quiet..
oe_kintaro
post Jul 21 2013, 05:39 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jul 21 2013, 09:44 AM)
Mitsubishi , york & Panansonic, which 1 better in terms of reliability and long lasting for basic non-inverter models? beside Mitsubishi comes with 2+7 warranty and the rest with 1+5 warranty.Longer warranty period is better? Thanks.
Since Penfurnex was happening nearby, I popped over and grilled the Mitsubishi guy for you and had a look at their brochures tongue.gif
As you say they have a 7+2 warranty which must be their biggest selling point at the moment. At very least they claim to be quieter than York. Build quality wise could be similar to Daikin since they are also made in Thailand. Another interesting feature is the easy to clean design.
oe_kintaro
post Jul 21 2013, 06:34 PM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(fuhrer_69 @ Jul 21 2013, 06:16 PM)
is Daikin spares part hard to get if it broken down?? rarely heard about daikin, and probably i can say only a few shops sell this Daikin model.
Daikin is the 2nd largest air con manufacturer in the world. They've been in Malaysia for decades, but their first local distributor screwed up I think. Only in recent years have they reestablished their presence here. Daikins are popular in Singapore, and I think they bought up OYL here in Malaysia. OYL makes Acsons and Yorks btw.
Yes, likely they may not be displayed as often, but that does not mean spares are much more difficult to find
oe_kintaro
post Jul 22 2013, 09:08 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(fuhrer_69 @ Jul 22 2013, 01:34 AM)
carrier is the number 1 if im not mistake.. but never heard of it in Malaysia. btw thanks for the info
Carrier concentrates on the industrial market here in Malaysia. You can find them in factories. Reliable workhorses but not really suited for homes as they are quite loud
oe_kintaro
post Jul 22 2013, 11:30 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(IiBbMm @ Jul 22 2013, 10:39 AM)
But the BTU/H for Mitsubishi aircon is lower compare to Pana and York. The SA claimed this is new aircon measurement and all new aircon in future will follow new measurement and have lower BTU figure. Dun know can trust this SA in MF3? By the way, I am looking for basic non-inverter aircon only nia. Any good suggestion whether stick to Pana, york or Mitsubishi>? Thanks.
Less BTU/H means less cooling effect. It is the output you get but it should be relative to your input kW. The less the input kW relative to the BTU, the more efficient your air cond and the more you save on electricity bills. Of course this is also dependent on you buying the right aircon HP for your room size. If your aircond is underpowered relative to your room size, the compressor will struggle to cut off and you have high electricity bills. If your aircond is too overpowered relative to your room size, it will cut off too often before achieving the optimum efficiency, and so you have high electricity bills too....
A simple analogy would be comparing to a car: If you want to drive all the time at 130km/h you shouldn't get a kancil. If you are always stuck in traffic, no point getting a ferrari either.

So it is not just about raw BTU/H but about what you really need. Did you do a proper calculation on your required HP based on your room size yet?
As long as any air cond you buy is operating within its optimum efficiency range it should be fine whether it is +/- a few BTU/H

oe_kintaro
post Aug 1 2013, 07:58 AM

2,222 posts

QUOTE(chinteck79 @ Aug 1 2013, 12:03 AM)
i am planning to get daikin. my wireman is doing the wiring now. so i need them to pull the wiring to the compressor unit outdoor rather than indoor unit for aircon imstallation later?
You should inform the wireman that you are using daikins. They should know what to do.
If they tell you the wiring is the same as other airconds, better get another wireman..

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: Aug 1 2013, 08:08 AM

0.0488sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:00 PM