125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

lightning69
post May 19 2009, 06:54 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ May 19 2009, 05:51 PM)
no offence...I own a 12R but could I buy the T1 with 12R's price?
and I bet the T1 is min 3x what 12R is selling....u pay for what you get
and REL is a famous sub maker and u should only compare the T1 to the SPL or the new optimum series.
The CHT or DLS is only their entry level.
Please don't get me wrong. I am just sharing my experience with the 3 subs that I try out. The reason I want to compare it to the CHT-12R is because I am really interest in getting the CHT-12Q which is the replacement model for the 12R with similar spec. If the 12Q is much better than the 12R, then i would want to try it out before I jump into the REL T1.

But from my experience, the T1 sound so much better(trust me its a huge difference) that I would not even consider the 12R or the 12Q if they are similar. The 12Q is RM2800 and the T1 is RM2950.
ycs
post May 19 2009, 08:02 PM

4,231 posts

lightning, just curious, were the subs calibrated before auditioning?

it seems the T1 is downfiring woofer + passive front and whilst 12R is front-ported design so I guess the bass will be quite different.

lightning69
post May 19 2009, 08:28 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ May 19 2009, 08:02 PM)
lightning, just curious, were the subs calibrated before auditioning?
it seems the T1 is downfiring woofer + passive front and whilst 12R is front-ported design so I guess the bass will be quite different.
Sorry. I am no expert in calibration. However the sub were all place in the same position and tested with the same AV eqiupment. All I did is swap the sub and playback the same material. Maybe with calibration the 12R would sound better but that could be the same for the T1. What I learn from the seller is that the 12R was traded in for the REL T1. So the T1 was not properly run-in because its out from the box while the 12R should be very well run-in already.

I don't really know how to write a proper review, but all I can say is the T1 sounds so solid...it just feel so damn good. But when I swap it with the 12R, it just feel very hollow. You can immediately feel that its the bass its from a sub(which is not a bad thing) but it just doesn't seem to blend in like the T1. I try to increase the volume of the 12R to see if i could get some more impact but all i get is more boominess....its just not the same as the T1.

If you have a chance, go listen to the T1. Its REL good!

This post has been edited by lightning69: May 19 2009, 08:35 PM
mys_terious
post May 19 2009, 08:34 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 19 2009, 05:31 PM)
I just got back from auditioning the REL T1 a while ago.  During the audition I manage to try out the Velodyne CHT-12R (not the Q) and the JBL ES250P so that give me a good opportunity to do a direct comparison between the 3 subs.

The REL T1 is a 10" sub that comes in a really tiny package while the CHT-12R and the JBL ES250P are both 12"sub in a much bigger cabinet.

When I first saw the T1, I am so surprise how small is this sub.  Its really really tiny in a cabinet that is just 1 cubic foot.  I really have doubt that this little cube can even produce good bass as the size is just too small for serious bass!

Then we play some original demo DVD with DTS audio which have some great music and HT stuffs.  I just wanna listen to the sub so I don't really care about the picture DVD is fine for this audition.  The first one we try out is a live band with some really nice drums.  After listen to this track, I am really impress with the bass quality that comes out of this little cube.  I listen to a few more music video including one songs from Eagle and then move on to some movies demo.  The T1 is surely a very capable sub producing really great sounding bass and it can goes loud too!

Then I saw the CHT-12R and the JBL Es250P so i thought i want to try it out just to compare it with the T1.  First is the 12R and i am so shock to find out that the bass is so "shallow" as compare to the T1.  The 12R can produce bass but its just don't feel that "full" as compare to the T1.  I turn up the volume of the 12R but then it sounded loud but boomy and loose.  Then I tried the JBL Es250P and this sound a little better but its no where close to the T1 and terms of quality bass.  I could not believe that botht the 12R and the ES250 which is a bigger sub could not stand up to the T1 so I swap back to the T1 just to listen to it again.  Oh man...it just sound so much better.  Its tight and so full and so musical that it really put the other two 12" sub to shame.  I hope I do not offend those 12R user here, but you really got to listen to the T1.  Its just so complete!

However there is problem with the T1 that I audition as it produce a very strange noise that feels like something is loose.  The funny thing is once we lift the T1 up from the floor, the sound disappear.  It could be from the loose wooden floor so I need to go back and do further audition before I but it.
there u go, u have found the sub u like:) dont wait liao
lightning69
post May 19 2009, 08:54 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ May 19 2009, 08:34 PM)
there u go, u have found the sub u like:)  dont wait liao
I might get the seller to bring it to my home for more auditioning to see how well it suits my living room.

Added on May 19, 2009, 8:58 pmI am not sure if the T1 can produce low frequencies like the 12R but if you are looking for something small that can disappear in your room while able to produce AAA bass, then the REL T1 is a sure bet.

This post has been edited by lightning69: May 19 2009, 08:58 PM
megatron007
post May 19 2009, 09:53 PM

4,000 posts

where is the seller?? i wanto go n audition also b4 jump into sea n hug the bolster
htkaki
post May 19 2009, 10:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 19 2009, 09:53 PM)
where is the seller?? i wanto go n audition also b4 jump into sea n hug the bolster
Boss, you go to CMY and audition REL lah.

Lightning is in Miri sweat.gif sweat.gif You flying there? whistling.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post May 19 2009, 10:14 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 19 2009, 10:05 PM)

Lightning is in Miri  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  You flying there?  whistling.gif
Wow! Last time when I am in CMY that Richard try to poison me kaw kaw with this REL T1 only that I am too peasant so he didn't let me try it. sad.gif
Almost buy it but luckily wallet kosong. blush.gif
megatron007
post May 19 2009, 10:30 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 19 2009, 10:05 PM)

Lightning is in Miri  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  You flying there?  whistling.gif
can teman me

i walked in CMY 2-3times

they take me as "hollow man" sad.gif doh.gif
htkaki
post May 19 2009, 11:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Is it? Everytime I go, service quite good wor esp the branch in 1U.
arremie
post May 19 2009, 11:31 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

sama sama taukeh of course la whistling.gif

anyway I got good experience also with Richard in Sunway
megatron007
post May 19 2009, 11:32 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 19 2009, 11:25 PM)
Is it? Everytime I go, service quite good wor esp the branch in 1U.
tat's y i need u to teman me sad.gif

my face look like no $$ ma sad.gif cry.gif
geforce1999
post May 19 2009, 11:46 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Sorry, what is CMY full name? and where are the locations (I supposed it has more than one branches...)
mpyw
post May 20 2009, 08:07 AM

3,603 posts

CMY service quite good wor...
the Balakong branch, even though they know I wont buy from them but still layan me and let me test this & that
car_o_scope
post May 20 2009, 08:23 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 19 2009, 11:32 PM)
tat's y i need u to teman me sad.gif

my face look like no $$ ma sad.gif  cry.gif
All you need is Visa and Master to accompany you... laugh.gif
aiman04
post May 20 2009, 08:25 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Wow, everybody's upgrading! notworthy.gif

Just make sure with all those big boxes and bolsters, they won't overpower your system overall. Those with small receivers (like Yamaha RX-V663, only 90W per channel) will certainly be buried deep in by the LFE of the 1000W subwoofer. No rules of course, the bigger the better, but just make sure it's properly calibrated, tuned and in-phase to your whole system.

Anyway, I've swapped emails with SVS before, they're very friendly and will answer to all your queries. Yes, door-to-door delivery will take care all of the tax/fees, you'll only pay to the delivery guy when it arrives to your doorstep. Good luck everyone. rclxms.gif

megatron007
post May 20 2009, 08:32 AM

4,000 posts

TUN aiman...u just finished ur round1 of upgrade

now is our turn ma tongue.gif

haha....

but i still dun have dough for the JVC projector yet sad.gif
aiman04
post May 20 2009, 08:59 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 20 2009, 08:32 AM)
TUN aiman...u just finished ur round1 of upgrade

now is our turn ma tongue.gif

haha....

but i still dun have dough for the JVC projector yet sad.gif
Very true. Me just finished my Round 1. But you guys are on Round 3 already. tongue.gif
megatron007
post May 20 2009, 09:28 AM

4,000 posts

u mean round 3 for taukeh mpyw n Htkaki? tongue.gif

are u going to get a new sub soon to replace ur 10-R? tongue.gif
pierreye
post May 20 2009, 09:29 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ May 19 2009, 06:54 PM)
Please don't get me wrong.  I am just sharing my experience with the 3 subs that I try out.  The reason I want to compare it to the CHT-12R is because I am really interest in getting the CHT-12Q which is the replacement model for the 12R with similar spec.  If the 12Q is much better than the 12R, then i would want to try it out before I jump into the REL T1. 

But from my experience, the T1 sound so much better(trust me its a huge difference) that I would not even consider the 12R or the 12Q if they are similar.  The 12Q is RM2800 and the T1 is RM2950.
If you seriously want a good sub, you need to spend at least min 5k and above. Those entry level sub normally can't produce clean bass and very deep low freq. If you looking at velodyne sub, I would say start with SPL series. Once you hear/feel how a better sub perform, you wouldn't satisfy with entry-sub.

One scene that my friends always blown away is star wars episode 2 on light saber duel. With a good sub, you can feel the low humming of the light saber.

This post has been edited by pierreye: May 20 2009, 09:32 AM

125 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:39 PM