5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

mys_terious
post Jul 9 2008, 10:44 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM)
People around me tells me the downward firing subs are better than the front firing sub. Reason being is that the downward firing moves more air than the front firing one. The other reason is that the front firing usually moves air right in front of you-thus the name. They explained to me that this is not necessary a good thing. They said that the you can feel the downward firing subs even more than the front firing.

Basically, down-firing and front-firing subs are just different designs. There should not be significant performance difference except that down-firing subs tend to have more flexibility in terms of placement.

The down-firing units seem to be more solid, perhaps it is the lower center of gravity

The down-firing driver does provide some physical protection.

In ported subs, the difference is down-firing ports. Can do a very effective job of suppressing port noise. Eliminates port noise complaint

brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
i agree front firing or downfiring sub with the same spec driver, enclosure size, amp n right placement will have the same performance... i dont have the money to diy two identical front n down firing sub to do an experiment... but i do believe what my subwoofer designer told me.. i will take his word over any ah seng , ah cai or ah huat hifi salesman... i have tried my friend's cylinder svs in sg the impact was great ... thats how i fall in love with svs.. i am sure there r many more down firing subs out there with great impact too

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Jul 9 2008, 10:46 PM
mys_terious
post Jul 10 2008, 08:52 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 10 2008, 07:17 AM)
I have decided for a Paradigm DSP-3100. Sorry I can't join the Velodyne club. icon_rolleyes.gif

After weeks of research, now I can sit back and relax, and see if I can get any cheaper at the AV Fest. biggrin.gif
good ah paradigm3100? .. i know velodyne very keng.. but paradigm dsp3100 havent tried b4.. hopefully during av fair can try
mys_terious
post Jul 10 2008, 05:15 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jul 10 2008, 09:53 AM)
Actually I found out down firing sub is more consistence in the db accross the sub freq response. I try to calibrate my Paradigm PDR-10 using my DD-12 manual tuning with mic. With front firing position, a slight changes of mic direction will see a dip of 3db. I put 3 door stopper and point my PDR-10 downwards and it solve this problem. The freq response is much better across the range from 30hz to 100hz. With an equalizer, I manage to tune my paradigm within 3db from 25hz to 100hz.
wah then bro u permenantly use it as downfiring now with the door stopper ah?
mys_terious
post Jul 13 2008, 10:53 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 13 2008, 10:15 AM)
laugh.gif  Finally settled for Velodyne

Rick is very friendly. I knew few of them there as they were the distributor fro PSB and Velodyne, which I did get from them yrs ago. Tks for getting the quote for me. RM3.6K quote is from A&L  tongue.gif
i called up a hifi store up north also 3.6k without bargain but not sure can go lower or not after bargain
mys_terious
post Jul 20 2008, 03:56 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Jul 20 2008, 03:55 PM)
In JB shop
proper hifi store or ah beng style?
mys_terious
post Jul 31 2008, 01:44 AM

882 posts

Check website....waaa selling promotion price at US...for USD$1599...if reach here....sure more than 6K brows.gif

The sub is new one....and somemore made from demark.....really I feel good deal icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

[/quote]

how come so much cheaper than US price.. did u ask the seller y?.. anyway as long as long it shakes your house then it a great buy
mys_terious
post Aug 2 2008, 11:27 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 2 2008, 08:35 AM)
i just got myself a new sub and wondered if it can be placed on some sort of shelf/raised platform/base to enable easy cleaning of the foor underneath considering the strong vibrations from the sub.

its a CHT-10R.
if there is dust underneath your sub that means u havent cranked up enuf volume of the sub hehhe

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 2 2008, 11:36 AM
mys_terious
post Aug 8 2008, 04:03 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 8 2008, 11:10 AM)
Look at this thread...scotty was from Hiway.... hmm.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/667325/+30
Sometimes, I wonder someone from the shop owner/ppl always will kipas their product.......always said...good good good.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  take the possitive technical info only...try to filter luh....

so, we must be careful.......guys.....don't know who is who....anyways...always trust your own audition......or unless you are really know the guy / forummer.... smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
bro when i click the link i see my post was the 1st on the page.. hope u r not talking abt me being 'their ppl' kipasing their product r u?

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 8 2008, 04:21 PM
mys_terious
post Aug 8 2008, 04:24 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Aug 8 2008, 04:15 PM)
off course will go to the pages 2...go down...a bit...read other forummer comment la.... doh.gif

biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
phew.. thought i gonna get dragged into a forum war of words
mys_terious
post Aug 11 2008, 10:49 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(shich80 @ Aug 11 2008, 09:19 AM)
Ok aiman, will try to squeeze my budget to get this 12R baby... At least I spend more this time then in the future no need to worry so much on upgrading  biggrin.gif

Thanks for your advice aiman.
bro if u have the money then buy the 12r.. if u dont have to the money then go find the money hehe.. 12r better choice.. better have more juice than less juice..
mys_terious
post Aug 28 2008, 12:33 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 27 2008, 07:48 AM)
Congrats on your new vibrating bolster Callmevil! (I hope you're not married tongue.gif ).

Yup, I was quoted for less than $300 too from SVS. biggrin.gif

Guys, at around RM2k, the Velodyne CHT-10R can be considered cheap sub, good bass. Now those monsters like REL, SVS, Paradigm Servo and Velodyne SPL/DD series are in the category expensive sub, excellent bass. nod.gif
bro actually svs entry level is just a tiny bit more than velodyne cht series.. and with longer warranty period.. n definately goes lower.. so i think its worth considering and its also considered an affordable sub... pb10nsd is only usd430+ shipping (assuming)usd220=usd650 x3.25=rm2112.5 then plus some coffee fees rm400 .. nett price is around rm2500 .. i bought pb12nsd nett below rm3k but that time usd was the lowest..
So dont be affraid to consider or try internet direct brands like hsu or svs u get more value...

Added on August 28, 2008, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(arj @ Aug 27 2008, 08:44 PM)
A dude at the AVS forum tested a whole bunch of subwoofers and then rated and ranked them. Check out the rankings below. The PB13 Ultra, the box version of the PC13 Ultra is several rungs above the Velodyne DD-18 which I belive blows the SPL-1200 right out of the water biggrin.gif

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=9164136
the fella's name is craigsub.. he has since joined av123 to build an affordable monster sub i think

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Aug 28 2008, 12:46 PM
mys_terious
post Sep 3 2008, 04:43 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(djdyks @ Sep 3 2008, 12:03 PM)
" Velodyne SPL 1000R, RM3,900 " from http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/classads.asp?s=audiomart

Anybody bought this ?
still i under warranty?.. if no warranty then just ask yourself whether u wanna take a risk to spend rm3900 on something without warranty b4 u audit the performance of it
mys_terious
post Sep 5 2008, 10:50 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 5 2008, 09:26 AM)
Giving the size of that thing....sending back broken item to them for replacement will break you for sure laugh.gif
they will cover the the shipping cost la.. replacement part will be received within 10 days on your door step.. the only drawbacks are u have to diy n replace the parts yourself.. but so far havent heard any1 failing to do it themself.. and u also have to pay for the parts 1st.. then when they receive your faulty parts they will refund... it is still a hassle in a way but u also get much much longer warranty and deeper bass for almost the same money

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Sep 5 2008, 10:54 AM
mys_terious
post Sep 7 2008, 12:26 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 6 2008, 11:37 PM)
Using Y connector will give you up to 3db more. I don't think you even notice but its there so why not use it. Plus even the manual also encourage you to use it. Won't cost you arm and leg tongue.gif
bro i think u dont get 3db more.. its just that u might get the same spl by turning your gain lower when u use a y splitter.. i just feel dat it doesnt make sense dat your amp can become more powerful when u use a y splitter.. chances r the input signal is stronger when y splitter is used n thats y your amp gain doesnt need to be turned up so high.. but the max spl would be the same coz your amp will hit its limit sooner.. squeezing 3db out of the maximum spl of the sub is a big deal if y splitter can do that then i think all the subwoofer manufacturers would have a big print on the box to advice u to buy a y splitter

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Sep 7 2008, 01:01 AM
mys_terious
post Sep 7 2008, 01:11 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 7 2008, 12:57 AM)
Bro the Y splitter is on the sub side and not amp. Your amp will still output whatever it can whether you use Y splitter or not. If you use Y adapter on the amp side (like the one from Audioquest), you'll need 2 cables to utilize the sub stereo input. Either way, the latter surely will cost you more money tongue.gif

Taken from Velo manual...
"If using the LFE output from your receiver, plug the single cable into the "L"- LFE input or for more signal use a Y connector and feed the signal into both R and L input"

I'm not sure what they meant with "for more signal" but I've read somewhere in AV forum that the maximum gain by doing so is not more than 3db. Like I said previously, you may not even notice. Even I myself don't even bother about the increase but my cable already come with built-in Y splitter so I use it.

If the argument is to save money from buying the Y splitter then by all mean please do so. Heck I will also use single cable without the Y splitter if I don't already have my current cable biggrin.gif
i think what it meant 'for more signal' is like what i said.. higher voltage output from from avr to the subwoofer amplifier hence higher output at the same gain level.. but you will hit the max spl sooner.. lets say without y splitter when u turn the gain to knob to 10 oclock it is your max spl.. with y splitter maybe 8 oclock already hits the amp limit.. not here to argue.. just hoping some sifu might help to explain.. coz i also wanna know.. if it really helps the performance then i also wanna buy
mys_terious
post Sep 11 2008, 11:52 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 11 2008, 11:13 AM)

Just glanced thru' n now c got an active SvS forummer contributin on de wonders of tis brand ah.. gud gud..

Enjoy..
Dirtrun
his sub must be shockingly big.. the photos cant tell u how shockingly big it is.. very poisonous too
mys_terious
post Sep 12 2008, 12:41 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 11 2008, 02:21 PM)
39" in height. Massive sub and sure score low on WAF factor. Moreover, need a really huge room to place it.
i think svs got zero point on waf factor with only performance in mind when they design it .. they rather give u a big box that goes lower .. i still think hsu turbo is the ugliest sub i have seen.. looks like some robot from the 50's hehe .. performance must be extremely good for the price.. if not i dont think any1 would buy that ugly thing.. any hsu or other affordable value meal subwoofer users besides velodyne , wharfadele and svs care to share their subwoofer experience with us?

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Sep 12 2008, 12:56 AM
mys_terious
post Sep 12 2008, 09:20 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Sep 12 2008, 08:31 AM)
Eh, the 10R is peasant sub... You'll need at least 12R to be to get the elite-o-meter to work. laugh.gif

I'm seeing people discussing SVS Ultra, REL Strata II, Paradigm Servo 15 here. Now those are Level 8-9 in the elite-o-meter reading. notworthy.gif
bro if u tell ppl u got a PEASANT sub called VELODYNE which should not have equal rights talking here i think i will will get suspended 3 years from the forum lo.. if u r using edifier subby then maybe u can say that smile.gif ... but i do think this svs ultra, rel strata n paradigm servo discussion is getting out of hand hehehe... just curious when i check out the rel website i dont know which is strata... they have Quake, T, R, B, and reference series... which 1 is strata... the B series and reference look very serious

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Sep 12 2008, 09:28 AM
mys_terious
post Sep 12 2008, 02:05 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 12 2008, 12:22 PM)

1. SvS has been ard for a long time now - more than 5yrs.. I tink.. dunno abt velodyne thou'

2. Its only here tat SvS is mentioned wif de likes of REL .. in fact REL is way way more exp then SvS. SvS started as a specialist sub producer tat can deliver for HT fans but wif a lo price - at least lo in de US la , it went online sales only to cut costs in dealership fees n so forth.. n de North Americans lapped it up n if not mistaken sum sgporeans brought one or 2 in n then d craze started.. to be fair if u dont counter shippin cost into d picture, d pb10 is quite affordable n it is a decent entry sub..
Go into AVS or any HT forums to check n u ll see tat SvS is not de premium brand but more like best bang for buck order..

Just my 2 cts
Dirtrun
i also consider velodyne cht n svs entry models in the same league.. svs chose to go performance all the way dats y its so bulky while cht chose to be more compact n throws in a remote for u which is quite usefull too... if can get svs performance, with the remote, with the compact box and with the SAME price then it would be great:)

mys_terious
post Sep 12 2008, 05:02 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 12 2008, 04:19 PM)
Haha,

There are ways ard payin top dollar for shippin... but it encounters a lot of trust, faith and help from ppl - sumtimes thru strangers even.. tats where de faith part cums in.. kekeke tongue.gif
Cant really blame de shippers cos they weigh quite a fair bit.. my pb12+ is 110lbs for sub alone ; plus packagin I tink it was 60kgs, it even came wif a palette base stuck to de box.. I tink d cylinders r lighter but still bulky as hell..

Performance is mainly for HT .. I wouldnt go so far as to say tat SvS is great for music.. passable maybe but not great.. I know a guy who bought 2 pb10s for stereo line in use n listens to classical but I tink he sold them cos he didnt quite like it... like I said previously if wanna musical sub get de sealed units..

Cheers
Dirtrun

Added on September 12, 2008, 4:24 pmCompact box would mean a huge amp is needed n tat in turn would not be cheap.. unfortunately if wan perf.. u nid to go to a certain price point..

I dont quite get de convenience in rc's in subs.. granted its convenient but I hv set up my SvS once n never even off de back switch - power off thru mains only so de rc would be redundant after the first settin up/calinration.. but then again I guess I m less fickle n live wif its performance..
yup small sub box are not so efficient .. and big amps come in a higher price..

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:13 AM