Where can I audition MS 309i ? Desa doesn't have it, only Carnival 9 (quite good with the lows, but at 100W too lacking power).
Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!
Jun 28 2008, 09:18 AM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Where can I audition MS 309i ? Desa doesn't have it, only Carnival 9 (quite good with the lows, but at 100W too lacking power).
Jun 28 2008, 08:33 PM
Jun 29 2008, 07:31 AM
I think I'm 75% poisoned for the Velodyne. But we'll see lah, everything under one roof, got chance to audition all.
Jul 4 2008, 02:53 PM
Very low, deep tight bass while at the same time good pacing/accuracy.
At that price range, I think it's hard to get them all. You need to spend more. That's why I think Velodyne CHT series is good enough for entry level setup. |
Jul 4 2008, 02:56 PM
I thin he means the CHT series, at 25Hz could be 12R.
BTW, went to the HIFI Shop at New Wing 1U, got MS 309i for RM1.4k and a Paradigm (don't remember which model, I think PDR-10) at 1.9k. Is the Paradigm good? I mean is it in the same league as the CHT-10R? Didn't have time to audition, was in hurry. This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 4 2008, 02:59 PM |
Jul 5 2008, 07:18 PM
I think I've read somewhere about Velodyne VX-10 MK3, it's not as good as the CHT series.
Thanks Htkaki for the info, I'm also into musical, I might checkout the Paradigm. |
Jul 7 2008, 07:13 AM
From what I've heard, Rogers subs are not recommended at all. Maybe that explains the cheap price, but certainly not good bass.
Jul 8 2008, 07:17 AM
I like long-throw subs too.
This nice! ![]() This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 8 2008, 07:54 AM |
Jul 10 2008, 07:17 AM
I have decided for a Paradigm DSP-3100. Sorry I can't join the Velodyne club.
After weeks of research, now I can sit back and relax, and see if I can get any cheaper at the AV Fest. |
Jul 11 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jul 10 2008, 08:52 AM) good ah paradigm3100? .. i know velodyne very keng.. but paradigm dsp3100 havent tried b4.. hopefully during av fair can try QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 10 2008, 09:06 AM) QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 10 2008, 09:30 AM) ![]() very compact wor....and claim can go down to 24Hz my wife always stares at my big black box and how much u get the quote? I was quoted for RM2.4k. Let's see how much it cost at the KLIAV. |
Jul 13 2008, 08:17 AM
Yes Htkaki, the quote was from Asia Sound Equipment. You just gave me more options to consider, a good one that is. And I appreciate it bro.
But worry not. Apparently the HM has other plans, I no longer had RM2.5k budget. I have to settle for what I can afford only. Look what came home with me yesterday: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Got it at A&L Audio. The new stock only arrived 2 days ago, and the manufacture dat at the back is May 16 2008, that only 2 months ago. Now it has 3 years warranty for electronics, and 5 years for the driver. They said they won't bring it to the KLIAV. And even if they bring it, if they sell cheaper than what I paid, they will refund the difference. So I thought, if I can get it now, why wait for another 2 weeks? This sub is really good, though for music the Paradigm is a little bit better to be honest. At this size it already stands out in my living room, I just can't imagine if I brought home the 12". PS: Htkaki, they're out of stock for RX-V1800, but their selling price is RM3650. I really like this place, this is the second time I did some demo there. The guy, Rick was so friendly and more importantly, honest. |
Jul 14 2008, 08:27 AM
CHT-12R:
Mpyw CHT-10R: Sunauto Aiman04 Coming soon: Arj Please add if I miss someone. |
Jul 14 2008, 09:25 AM
Jul 20 2008, 06:43 PM
Finally tested the sub, after a week of running in. Watch Die Hard BD, boy, this disc has got a lot of LFE.
I've decided to use the reference mode (classical/Jazz) for all sources (movies, music, games). Firstly, the movie mode got too much delay to it, the bass seems to drag too much. Some people might like that, so it's not a downside to the sub. But the reference mode makes up to it, and gets low as I hoped for. Secondly, the reference mode sounds, to my surprise, very good with music. Every beat is on target, and solid. Didn't think this sub can be this musical. Lastly, I want to avoid using the remote. I was looking for the correct settings and wants to keep it like that as along as possible. I've got too many remote already, let's hope Logitech releases the RF version of their Harmony One soon, and my wallet is filled by that time. PS: NHK? Isn't that the Japanese national TV station? |
Jul 21 2008, 03:42 PM
Went to bathroom just now at the kitchen, suddenly the door vibrated. LOL, My kid was watching Mr Bean's Holiday, it was the shot of a train passing by. This Velodyne really rocks, literally!
Jul 23 2008, 07:44 AM
Go and audition lah, then you'll know it's good or not.
Jul 23 2008, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 23 2008, 11:33 AM) No need to audition lah. Thanks to you guys your poison is more than enuf already. Velodyne CHT-10R will be delivered to me this afternoon. Manage to get a bargain at less than RM2k. Now go AV Fair to find cheap CD or DVD only. Wah, pulled the trigger already ar? I thought you didn't like the look? I also got it with same price from A&L. Others hurry up, I have a feeling this price will not stay for long. |
Jul 24 2008, 09:35 AM
Jul 24 2008, 10:38 AM
Jul 24 2008, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 24 2008, 11:08 AM) Velodyne members getting more by the day. Maybe by this weekend, we might be seeing more members. Yup, I really respect him. Really honest and never look down on you. And he he really knows what he's saying too. This A&L service very good. Rick called me up yesterday to check on the 1800. Will have a lengthy chat with him tis Sat abt the setting. Good job. So, the current standing: CHT-12R: Mpyw splee8868 CHT-10R: Sunauto Aiman04 Arremie Coming soon: Arj |
| Change to: | 0.0345sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:32 PM |