Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

geforce1999
post Jan 22 2009, 02:17 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Hi, just joined the forum... Need help on sifu. Do you all hear the sound of Sub when you turn on the speaker test on your amp? As I can only hear the sound of my Cerwin-Vega when the volume level of Amp turn almost maximum; whereas the rest of Front, Centrel, Surround, Surrond Centrel can be heard on Amp avg volume on the Speaker test on Amp... doh.gif

I have turned on the Max on Sub volume and set the phase to 80Hz on sub. Did I do anything wrong? rclxub.gif And I have sub cable connect to Amp via LFE...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Jan 22 2009, 02:20 PM
geforce1999
post Jan 22 2009, 02:45 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Yamaha 1900... And yes I only get the sub rumble around -10db whereas I think it is too high for test... Shouldn't sub be rumble when the volume around -30db? That is normally my volume whould be for DVD?
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 10:57 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Just a silly question, anyone of you using the powerful sub having cracks on tiles or walls of your hourse/apt? As I my house has some cracks but I don't know if they were because of the volume turning too high or just the developer's fault.

Been moving in for 8 years and without the crack initially but my wife upstairs would always come down to from master room asking me to turn down the volumne while movie watcing at the living room as she claimed the door of our master room upstair was shaking....
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 02:01 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Feb 19 2009, 11:03 AM)
maybe the wall plaster got too much sand and cracked with regular booming.

btw, what sub you using?
Cerwin-Vega CLSC-12S. Thinks so as I have crack on the plaster ceiling, floor tile and some hair line crack on wall...

Added on February 19, 2009, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(mys_terious @ Feb 19 2009, 11:18 AM)
hairline crack is possible but they r not dangerous.. just ugly...
Yup... ugly is one thing, nagging from wife is another rclxub.gif

Added on February 19, 2009, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Feb 19 2009, 01:27 PM)
...Old ones will get heart attack for sure especially watching horror movies, OMG....

My favarite gendre is action/war/sci-fi so normally my wife claims her heart is about to jump out from the chest doh.gif so have to really enjoy the movie when home alone whistling.gif Just hope that neighbour will not complain (so far they haven't as just moved in 4 months ago)...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Feb 19 2009, 02:11 PM
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 03:13 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Feb 19 2009, 02:26 PM)
Haha,

I ve seen n sat thru a session wif 6 SvS (PC's n PB's) n a M & K totalling 7 humongous subs in a 3m X 4m hdb room and to be fair its totally controlled - not loud outside of de room at all. Of cos room is heavily treated wif acoustic foam n sub connected to elemental design peq..

Overkill, maybe la but 7 subs la n not puny ones at tat..

O ya.. I sumtimes use both my subs( SvS pb12+ n a Nuance 10incher) together n ya its loud.. rattles de doors n glass windows of de house on bass heavy scenes.. but shiok nonetheless.. haha laugh.gif

Cheers
Dirtrun
I have recently experient an bulky MK sub (not sure the model though) and man, it is a great powerful sub indeed shocking.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Feb 19 2009, 03:15 PM
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 04:45 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(edwintey @ Feb 19 2009, 04:16 PM)
Finally someone with me.
Where did you try it, how big of the woofer size?

Yes, that what I said, if you try MK, you will never forget.
But now I also trying Sunfire HRS-10, very impressive too.
Both of the woofers take time to run-in.

Most of the user concern about subwoofer itself, but you listening enviroment also very important, if the room too small, even you use 18" woofer also can't get good bass, it's wasted rather than find a good but smaller subwoofer.
Placing position also have to put into the right location.
At lease 12" or more, I think. Visited a friend's house and his fully setup HT room is bigger than my living room (72' x 22') sweat.gif 130" display running on full HD Optoma HD80 projector.

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Feb 19 2009, 04:51 PM
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 09:10 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Near Saujana resort... Very rich guy indeed...

Sorry the HT room should be about 20' x 30'... 72'x22' is my house dimension lah doh.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Feb 20 2009, 12:45 AM
geforce1999
post Mar 8 2009, 02:29 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

One silly quesiton on the sub: I want to use to use 2 different subs and how to connect to 2 different subs via LFE where amp only have one LFE out? using Y connector?

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Mar 8 2009, 02:31 PM
geforce1999
post May 15 2009, 08:44 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 15 2009, 05:43 PM)
i know callmeevil n dirtrun taukeh got SVS at home sad.gif
Yaloh... Dirtrun been advising me to get 2nd SVS sub if possible since there is no dealer in Malaysia but I really need to test it out to see how good is this famous sub flex.gif Is it really that good as review? hmm.gif

SVS sub users, care to share?

Added on May 15, 2009, 8:48 pmAlso how much is CHT-15Q?

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 15 2009, 08:48 PM
geforce1999
post May 16 2009, 08:11 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ May 15 2009, 10:58 PM)
Last week end I have a look at the CHT-15Q..........look only Ok! I appear too peasant   sad.gif  looking that the towkey don't even bother to let me try it out. He! He! He say already sold off. So I look see look see especially the 15" driver which look 'normal' with sponge surround. Hence it is 'fast' & 'accurate' suitable for music & movies. As for the price he quote Rm4.8K can less a bit if I really want to buy. So my first 'encounter' with a CHT-15Q is only look no heard or feel. blush.gif
Thanks for the info, bud. The CHT-15Q was loaned to my friend to test at his home when I visitied A&L AmCorp Mall couple nights ago.... but a forumer from another site that I never met who owns SVS PB12, SVS PB13 ULTRA, and M&K MX150 is kind enough for me to visit his setup next week. Indeed a sifu in sub... Just want to find out if the SVS sub is really that good... If ok, might join the MO for SVS sub later...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 16 2009, 08:21 AM
geforce1999
post May 16 2009, 04:51 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(craven dusk @ May 16 2009, 11:40 AM)
MO.. who doin that??!!

On another note.... anyone compared or has information on older HSU vtf2-mk2 performances?
How is that stacking up against velodyne's 1000 spl ultra??
It is from a Singapore forum xtremeplace. the MO just closed but the person, koma, who organised it claims the new MO will be out soon and he is the one that I'm gonna pay him a visit next week... Really looking for to experience the power of SVS sub.
geforce1999
post May 16 2009, 05:26 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

If custom tax is not an issue then it is feasible...
geforce1999
post May 16 2009, 11:11 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 16 2009, 05:16 PM)
If can get enough kaki here we could organize our own MO.

Glad to see you're aiming at the PB-13 Ultra. From the reviews that's one hell of a sub!!
Yup.. that's why I'm trying to check it out before placing the order brows.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 16 2009, 11:12 PM
geforce1999
post May 16 2009, 11:23 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 16 2009, 10:19 PM)
Can try to get the quote for PC-13 Ultra door to door shipment. Might be getting 2 units if price is 'affordable'
I was thinking that too but the price is quite expensive getting them into Malaysia... Est cost will be $1599+$300 (est. s/h)+$480(30% tax?)=US$2,370 * 3.5=RM8,326 for PB13 Ultra doh.gif If I can get it in Singapore and I mght get someone helpping me "transport" into Malaysia, I might not need to spend ~US$480 for tax and cost me around $1599+$300+$150 (est transport fee from SG to MY)=US$2049 *3.5=RM7,171 only flex.gif Best still if I'm lucky I might not even pay transport fee at all brows.gif

Dunno, what is the custom tax for HT equipment to be shpped in Malaysia huh?

But think about it, it will not be difficult to find buyer for SVS since it has no dealer in Malaysia/Singapore...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 17 2009, 08:01 AM
geforce1999
post May 17 2009, 10:03 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

believe so as it fall under AV category, right? If no tax then will be much easier...
geforce1999
post May 17 2009, 10:46 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

for such a size that might be bigger than the PC and cost more than a PC? I doubt they will believe it...

Added on May 17, 2009, 10:58 amAnyone has friend working in the custom that can check it out for us before the MO starts?

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 17 2009, 10:58 AM
geforce1999
post May 17 2009, 12:12 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

I hear you... but personally I think it is one thing that I'm willing to bet on...
geforce1999
post May 17 2009, 04:08 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

I might be able to get "transporter" to assist but need to pay certain $$ lah, but will be cheaper than 30% tax for sure...

Added on May 17, 2009, 4:09 pmI extimate RM500 should be more than enough for that...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 17 2009, 04:09 PM
geforce1999
post May 17 2009, 10:19 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ May 17 2009, 06:25 PM)
bro if u choose door to door i thought the shipping co will pay the full tax for u n collect from u at your door step...  then how r u going to have a heart to heart talk with our 'bersih cekap amanah' pakcik...
Don't think so the door to door shipping will cover the tax leh.... As they will not know how much will need to be taxed, it is different from coutry to contry...

Added on May 17, 2009, 10:28 pmjust like Amazon suppose to ship the BD door to door but sometime blocked by custom for tax mah, right?

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 17 2009, 10:28 PM
geforce1999
post May 18 2009, 01:42 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ May 18 2009, 09:21 AM)
Service depends on the company. If I'm not wrong, some company might ask you to diagnose yourself which part is having problem. They will send the parts down for you to replace yourself so you save in transportation. For eg. recently I bought a pair of Axiom QS-8 surround speaker. Best part is free shipping for 3 biz day using Fedex. After 2 months, one of the driver is having problems (you can hear static sound for certain freq). The tech support just ask me to do some simple test and send a replacement within 7 days without asking me to return the defective driver. So this type of internet purchase is OK, much better than dealer support which sometimes take 1 month to return the unit.

If you got jalan, get a group buy and use shipping in container (which you can either buy half or full container load). Sometimes they have ways with custom to "ignore" tax.
Did you by any chance kena tax on your purchase of Axiom QS-8 surround speaker? How about the replacement speaker, also no tax?

0.0395sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:02 AM