yeah... i just dun like it oni.. coz i think omnia has its own strength even without iphone-killer's title.
Samsung Samsung OMNIA :: SGH-i900, omni u..can make the world seem bright..
Aug 14 2008, 01:43 PM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
yeah... i just dun like it oni.. coz i think omnia has its own strength even without iphone-killer's title.
Aug 14 2008, 01:55 PM
5,725 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Aug 14 2008, 01:43 PM) yeah... i just dun like it oni.. coz i think omnia has its own strength even without iphone-killer's title. yerp...thats i agree...but what to do, with iphone overhype all over the world, all phone manufacturers wanna use the oppurtunity to marketize their products as iphone killer...marketing strategy.. |
Aug 14 2008, 02:32 PM
472 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: JOhor Bahru |
actually i'm interested in iphone but quite troublesome with some features so i consider omnia as the screen is big and stable.. so am i considered using omnia as iphone killer?
Aug 14 2008, 03:01 PM
380 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(lastlion @ Aug 12 2008, 10:36 PM) Thanks maks_pain...will be waiting for your post. Hi Lastlion, feel free to visit my Omnia blog..Yeah, had to agree with that... can't really put a high expectation on it. Hmm...does anyone know if mobile telescope is compatible with omnia? or does it has its own version of mobile telescope? Oh and....which camera surpases the other between omnia (Samsung) and viewty (LG)? just curious.... Already posted some pictures regarding zoom in functions.. http://mysamsungomnia.wordpress.com/2008/0...camera-zoom-in/ This post has been edited by maks_pain: Aug 14 2008, 03:05 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 03:02 PM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Aug 14 2008, 01:55 PM) yerp...thats i agree...but what to do, with iphone overhype all over the world, all phone manufacturers wanna use the oppurtunity to marketize their products as iphone killer...marketing strategy.. well, yeah.. cant do much about it. QUOTE(jingyong @ Aug 14 2008, 02:32 PM) actually i'm interested in iphone but quite troublesome with some features so i consider omnia as the screen is big and stable.. so am i considered using omnia as iphone killer? maybe, its up to you. |
Aug 14 2008, 04:11 PM
49 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
OK - some quirky stuff that has been happening.
1. This morning after charging the phone for the night - my alarm rang (thank god!) - but I could not get the screen to wake up. Had to remove battery and put it back again. 2. Screen hang yesterday - on/off resolved. Not really biggies - but something we should notice. Since the charging problem is a known issue. |
Aug 14 2008, 05:18 PM
420 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
tested the video conference just now with my omnia...having great fun with it....
Aug 14 2008, 05:30 PM
151 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: PJ |
Thanx maks_pain...thats a good zoom in picture review.
Even with the default camera setting, it manage to give a good quality image By the way what is the default setting? Especially the picture size and ISO setting. Oh yess... before i forgot..that an informative and useful blog for an omnia users. |
Aug 14 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(lastlion @ Aug 14 2008, 05:30 PM) Thanx maks_pain...thats a good zoom in picture review. This is default setting when i 1st time use the cameraEven with the default camera setting, it manage to give a good quality image By the way what is the default setting? Especially the picture size and ISO setting. Oh yess... before i forgot..that an informative and useful blog for an omnia users. Shooting mode - Single effect mode - none size - 2560x1920 (max) focus - Auto ISO - Auto Quality - High White Balance - auto Metering - Center (what is this? Contrast-0 Saturation-0 Sharpness-0 |
Aug 14 2008, 05:55 PM
3,196 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(ericchan @ Aug 14 2008, 10:13 AM) yes i bought it in Courts for rm2799 for 16GB omnia free rm99 pouch from samsung + free digital photo frame (donno how big cause not yet receive,maybe the small one) + free Philip blender + free screen protector..the stylus is inside the package ..no need to buy separately..it is in the box.. i tested garmin XT today on omnia..after approximately 2 hours of usage + on and off go internet download gmail now battery left 40% ..not bad..if it is my nokia n73 the battery die long time already.. the lock on time for GPS is slow for the first time..but after lock on..subsequent lock on is faster..and inside my car tinted i dont need to put near window .. quite sensitive.. GPS garmin XT work like a charm ..u dont need the styles to operate it cause it is optimized to use with fingers |
Aug 14 2008, 06:06 PM
77 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
how is the phone under the sun? i mean can u see the message pictures and etc?
Aug 14 2008, 06:43 PM
800 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: No.22, Jalan-jalan Cari Makan, 46150 PJ |
has anyone tried the TV-out function? where can buy the TV cable? any idea how much does it cost?
Aug 14 2008, 07:31 PM
103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The review blog is great, thanks for all the info. Btw d you try pimping the Omnia? spb is a great app. Previously i used it at my HTC Touch. It was great but due to it is an old version cant get more out of it. if anyone of you try the screen where there is a little ghost, do tell me..
really cant wait to get my hands on one of the omnia |
Aug 14 2008, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(benzee @ Aug 14 2008, 07:31 PM) The review blog is great, thanks for all the info. Btw d you try pimping the Omnia? spb is a great app. Previously i used it at my HTC Touch. It was great but due to it is an old version cant get more out of it. if anyone of you try the screen where there is a little ghost, do tell me.. i tried SPB Mobile Shell. It works perfect except for the 1st screen.really cant wait to get my hands on one of the omnia When you try to view in landscape, the layout cannot fit to the screen. For the Winteface, I found that software not so very stable. Sometimes, you will feel it use a lot of CPU & memory. A few people using Omnia also had complaint about this issue (http://blog.iwindowsmobile.com). Maybe the new version will solve this prob. Anyway the apps quite nice. Simple and fast. Oh ya, anyone know how to disable 3G settings. I couldn't find any setting to disable it except for HSDPA (already disable). As you can see image above, the network icon is showing 3G. Sometimes E, G. I'm afraid it will drain the battery. Or it's just a normal? This post has been edited by maks_pain: Aug 14 2008, 09:05 PM |
Aug 14 2008, 10:26 PM
1,201 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL |
really not fair. we paid more then singapore user and we get less. singapore package come with AV cable and leather case but not malaysia package
Aug 15 2008, 01:41 AM
111 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Penang , Malaysia |
Got my omnia yesterday night. Impressive. The battery charging looks cool and comes with the icon showing the full battery bar status.
Tested the camera and it comes handy and way better than the HTC Touch Diamond. But zooming in will cause pixelated pictures and not so sharp. I think this has got something to do with the software. May I know how do I check for the phone firmware ? I saw my omnia comes with chinese input, does that mean it's already G4 fimware ? Anywhere for me to get the omnia pouch & original car charger as well as PDA holder ? Paid mine for RM2900 with A-tech complete bluetooth headset kit with USB bluetooth module & software updates. The battery life is amazing after heavy phone calls, playing around and smsing, the battery life can last till midnight without charging. Thanks to the automatic LCD screen off which saves battery consumption. The GPS works great. The detection of satellite is quite fast as well. Impressive Will update when tested with more things. This post has been edited by dennooze: Aug 15 2008, 02:16 AM |
Aug 15 2008, 02:46 AM
103 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(maks_pain @ Aug 14 2008, 09:01 PM) i tried SPB Mobile Shell. It works perfect except for the 1st screen. Bro,When you try to view in landscape, the layout cannot fit to the screen. For the Winteface, I found that software not so very stable. Sometimes, you will feel it use a lot of CPU & memory. A few people using Omnia also had complaint about this issue (http://blog.iwindowsmobile.com). Maybe the new version will solve this prob. Anyway the apps quite nice. Simple and fast. Oh ya, anyone know how to disable 3G settings. I couldn't find any setting to disable it except for HSDPA (already disable). As you can see image above, the network icon is showing 3G. Sometimes E, G. I'm afraid it will drain the battery. Or it's just a normal? A nice homescreen you have there. I sure know that when spb goes landscape sure got some issues. Just wondering are you using spb+? bought it at PDAexpert? Dont worry about 3G icon on the screen. It just let you know that your area has 3G coverage. Lastime my HTC touch also like that. It will show E.. |
Aug 15 2008, 06:54 AM
1,651 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Seaedge @ Aug 14 2008, 01:43 PM) yeah... i just dun like it oni.. coz i think omnia has its own strength even without iphone-killer's title. me too don't like it to be labeled as iPhone-killer. Omnia itself has it's own strength so next time other phones that r competing with it can label theirs as Omnia-killer (seriously in my opinion Omnia is a superb phone as for Windows Mobile). this 'killer' thingy is just as ridiculous as what u can see on Samsung Instinct comparison video on its official website.QUOTE(squall_kay @ Aug 14 2008, 01:55 PM) ...but what to do, with iphone overhype all over the world, all phone manufacturers wanna use the oppurtunity to marketize their products as iphone killer...marketing strategy.. but at this rate, if there's another better WM phone it will be named as iPhone-killer-killer instead of Omnia-killer. and nope, if Apple has already hyped the iPhone doesn't mean others should also hype theirs in the same direction.and the marketing strategy of touting it as iPhone-killer isn't a good idea to boot with. This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Aug 15 2008, 06:55 AM |
Aug 15 2008, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(benzee @ Aug 15 2008, 02:46 AM) Bro, Thanks for clarify this matter.A nice homescreen you have there. I sure know that when spb goes landscape sure got some issues. Just wondering are you using spb+? bought it at PDAexpert? Dont worry about 3G icon on the screen. It just let you know that your area has 3G coverage. Lastime my HTC touch also like that. It will show E.. I'm using SPB Shell only and bought it from PDAexpert. Still haven't recieve the freegift. So, does anybody got TVout cable when u purchased Omnia? I thought it will be included inside the package based from the promotion during PCFair. |
Aug 15 2008, 01:34 PM
373 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ~Peejay~ |
QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Aug 14 2008, 05:55 PM) yes i bought it in Courts for rm2799 for 16GB omnia free rm99 pouch from samsung + free digital photo frame (donno how big cause not yet receive,maybe the small one) + free Philip blender + free screen protector.. Hi there or anyone,the stylus is inside the package ..no need to buy separately..it is in the box.. Every Courts Mammoth outlets also selling RM2799 for 16GB with freebies? Just went to LowYat plaza, the best price (fren price) is RM2850 without any freebies (standard package), meanings no pouch as well! According to them, freebies including pouch only can get during PC Fair, not now anymore. Anyone know where still can get the cheapest price with freebies now? Thanks! |
| Change to: | 0.0292sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:20 AM |