128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

zohan
post Sep 8 2008, 05:27 PM

36 posts

After getting a CLP, and a good UOL external result (2.1), what would u suggest if one goes out and practice?

1) mid size firm or large firms?

2) which field?
Corp/conveyancing? or litigation?

3) what do u think bout real estate? taxation? insurance? IP?

4) how does one noes where his interest lies,

5) and how does one noes what field he is/will be best in?

6) other options? are they good? Criminal, AG's office? prosecutor, and some people practice/work under a judge? what's w dat?

This post has been edited by zohan: Sep 8 2008, 05:32 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Sep 8 2008, 06:26 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(zohan @ Sep 8 2008, 05:27 PM)
After getting a CLP, and a good UOL external result (2.1), what would u suggest if one goes out and practice?

2) which field?

6) other options? are they good? Criminal, AG's office? prosecutor, and some people practice/work under a judge? what's w dat?
Like I stated in the first paragraph of this thread, I am a law student and I shall make no attempt to make an unqualified statement or opinion. Thus, the answers for the question above are best answered by someone with vast experience in practice.

It would be helpful if we have someone with such an experience here to share his opinion.

zohan
post Sep 8 2008, 07:18 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Sep 8 2008, 06:26 PM)
Like I stated in the first paragraph of this thread, I am a law student and I shall make no attempt to make an unqualified statement or opinion. Thus, the answers for the question above are best answered by someone with vast experience in practice.

It would be helpful if we have someone with such an experience here to share his opinion.
thanks for the speedy reply.

without my careful reading on each and every word posted, u appeared to me like a practising lawyer. but the above made mentioned questions are still open to anyone capable of answering.

Added on September 8, 2008, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(Xziled @ Aug 24 2008, 02:37 AM)
Ooo..okay thx (:

Added on September 2, 2008, 9:20 pmMay i ask..during the final year in LLB Part 2
which subjects that i should take? i know i should take the one i have interest in but the lecturers told me that most of the time, the subjects offered also no relevance in the real world eg.conflicts

But anyway, my uni also not offering that many subjects so i'm deciding to take up Juris,conflicts,company. The last subject i'm undecided abt it which is between Family or succession. Plz advise as to which 1 is easier to pass xD
relevant or not u wouldnt noe. it may not be relevant to ur work, ie Jurisprudence, but it will be relevant to your life or other subjects.

Conflict of Laws, as opposed to the common typo of ConflictS of Law, is one good subject to complement your knowledge on other subjects like COmpany Law. Some same cases emerge in both COmpany and COL.

what about Evidence? EU? IP?

This post has been edited by zohan: Sep 8 2008, 07:27 PM
TSschizophrenic
post Sep 9 2008, 01:06 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(zohan @ Sep 8 2008, 07:18 PM)

without my careful reading on each and every word posted, u appeared to me like a practising lawyer. but the above made mentioned questions are still open to anyone capable of answering.

I respect your opinion with regard to the capability of anyone answering the questions posed by you.

However, I must beg to differ.

2) which field?

The answer to your question is clearly a post-CLP issue and it requires someone with sufficient experience so as to give an opinion or suggestion for :

1) a firm to choose from for chambering or practice
2)to go for advocacy or perhaps to continue on as a solicitor
3)the recommended practice area
4 & 5)an experience on how to determine which area of practise one should go for
6)whether other options are good and a general idea on the judicial service.

I highly doubt that it will be open to anyone capable of answering them.

I may believe that I am capable of answering the questions posed but I do not believe that I may give an accurate representation that may be at the very least helpful to others in this forum. If it is an objective matter and I am able to find an authority for that then I would gladly give an opinion on it. However, that is not the case with the questions posed.

Therefore, it is best to seek the opinion or suggestion of someone with vast experience in practice and not merely anyone who believes that they are capable of answering for the simple reason that it is too subjective. A young lawyer with perhaps minimal years of practice may give his opinion and it may differ from another young lawyer. However, a lawyer with experience may back his opinion with the experience he gained. That would be something worth considering even though other lawyers with more experience may disagree.

SUSfookeatmin89
post Sep 9 2008, 02:10 AM

207 posts

i just wanna ask whether i can practice in Australia after i completed my UOL external programme and CLP...is it possible?
RBR
post Sep 9 2008, 04:52 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(fookeatmin89 @ Sep 9 2008, 02:10 AM)
i just wanna ask whether i can practice in Australia after i completed my UOL external programme and CLP...is it possible?
You will need to do several extra compulsory units there and a 1 year practical legal training course to qualify.

And you will find it extremely difficult to get a job being a Malaysian graduate with no experience but don't hold me back on that.
zohan
post Sep 9 2008, 08:02 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Sep 9 2008, 01:06 AM)
I respect your opinion with regard to the capability of anyone answering the questions posed by you.

However, I must beg to differ.
The answer to your question is clearly a post-CLP issue and it requires someone with sufficient experience so as to give an opinion or suggestion for :

1) a firm to choose from for chambering or practice
2)to go for advocacy or perhaps to continue on as a solicitor
3)the recommended practice area
4 & 5)an experience on how to determine which area of practise one should go for
6)whether other options are good and a general idea on the judicial service.

I highly doubt that it will be open to anyone capable of answering them.

I may believe that I am capable of answering the questions posed but I do not believe that I may give an accurate representation that may be at the very least helpful to others in this forum. If it is an objective matter and I am able to find an authority for that then I would gladly give an opinion on it. However, that is not the case with the questions posed.

Therefore, it is best to seek the opinion or suggestion of someone with vast experience in practice and not merely anyone who believes that they are capable of answering for the simple reason that it is too subjective. A young lawyer with perhaps minimal years of practice may give his opinion and it may differ from another young lawyer. However, a lawyer with experience may back his opinion with the experience he gained. That would be something worth considering even though other lawyers with more experience may disagree.
this is not a courtroom. it is a forum. i just want answers. not necessarily the best answers. and i am not asking for authority. Its ok if u dun wanna answer.

That's what we do in the forum. we get information. not neccessarily believe fully in them.

Xziled
post Sep 9 2008, 05:15 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(zohan @ Sep 8 2008, 07:18 PM)

Added on September 8, 2008, 7:27 pm
relevant or not u wouldnt noe. it may not be relevant to ur work, ie Jurisprudence, but it will be relevant to your life or other subjects.

Conflict of Laws, as opposed to the common typo of ConflictS of Law, is one good subject to complement your knowledge on other subjects like COmpany Law. Some same cases emerge in both COmpany and COL.

what about Evidence? EU? IP?
Evidence i've already done it in my 2nd year. I dun think i want to choose EU as a subject since i dun think i'll be heading to the UK to do the BAR and for IP, the college i'm going to does not offer that subject though i'm interested in it but anyhow i'm just asking for opinions.

Btw, schizophrenic..thx for the links. I'll look into it and would also be attending all the lectures for now before deciding.
-Nos-
post Sep 11 2008, 08:46 AM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

i am considering whether to choose evidence or criminology..

pls advice
Xziled
post Sep 11 2008, 01:54 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

evidence imo tongue.gif
-Nos-
post Sep 11 2008, 11:33 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Sep 11 2008, 01:54 PM)
evidence imo tongue.gif
my friends who did evidence told me its pretty bulky and hard...
whereas criminology is easier as its mostly theories

alsree786
post Sep 12 2008, 02:29 AM

937 posts

im reconsidering taking EU for part II, coz it looks more technical and well, dull than i had initially expected....anyone here taken it? would appreciate your personal opinions on the subject...thx
TSschizophrenic
post Sep 12 2008, 04:23 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Sep 12 2008, 02:29 AM)
im reconsidering taking EU for part II, coz it looks more technical and well, dull than i had initially expected....anyone here taken it? would appreciate your personal opinions on the subject...thx
The first few chapters normally appear dull but it becomes more and more interesting once you start reading Art 81 and Art 82 onwards.
zohan
post Sep 12 2008, 07:33 PM

36 posts

An unanswered question from other thread,

"I heard some info from my friend in which people who didnt sit for A-level in Law cannot practise in the future.
So, it would be a bad news for those STPM student who already sign up for their LLB, isnt it ?

Correct me if im wrong because this info comes from one of my friend's father (Practised Lawyer)"

Any takers?
TSschizophrenic
post Sep 13 2008, 12:57 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(zohan @ Sep 12 2008, 07:33 PM)
An unanswered question from other thread,

"I heard some info from my friend in which people who didnt sit for A-level in Law cannot practise in the future.
So, it would be a bad news for those STPM student who already sign up for their LLB, isnt it ?

Correct me if im wrong because this info comes from one of my friend's father (Practised Lawyer)"

Any takers?
You will find the answer in the first page of this thread.

and it is STPM or its equivalent as recognised by the Qualifying Board. This include A Levels.
ayie1984
post Sep 15 2008, 01:04 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(zohan @ Sep 8 2008, 05:27 PM)

2) which field?

1) Midsize firm because you will have the opportunity to learn from the senior lawyers or small firm but must make sure that the firm has a lot of cases to handle, if not you'll be "goyang kaki"

2) Some chambering students choose to do all - 3 months for one field, after finishing the chambering period, they will choose the preferred field. Others, they will choose the field which they are interested in. However, many lawyers suggest to do litigation but only you know your strengths and weaknesses.

3) I have no idea

4) The easiest way to identify is by determining your interest ; which subject you like the most or you enjoy it (not necessarily accurate)

5) Same as above

6) AG's office will be a good choice for those who want to become prosecutor (mainly) but AG's Office have many other choices such as international law division, finance division etc. Practice under judge? Never heard before. AFAIK, you can work as a magistrate and your contract will be running for 2 years. Sometimes they will rotate you with the Registrar.

That's All

Added on September 15, 2008, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(-Nos- @ Sep 11 2008, 08:46 AM)
i am considering whether to choose evidence or criminology..

pls advice
Evidence will be better for your future career because you will be able to apply it in the your work as legal practitioner rclxms.gif Unless you have no intention of practicing in the legal field, then you can choose the easiest subject to score nod.gif

This post has been edited by ayie1984: Sep 15 2008, 01:08 PM
wornbook
post Sep 15 2008, 05:03 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(ayie1984 @ Sep 15 2008, 01:04 PM)
Practice under judge? Never heard before. AFAIK, you can work as a magistrate and your contract will be running for 2 years. Sometimes they will rotate you with the Registrar.
In some countries, top law grads go on to work as judge's clerks for a couple of years. There's tough competition for the spots and only the best get it. Not sure if Malaysia has a similar system.
zohan
post Sep 16 2008, 09:35 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 15 2008, 05:03 PM)
In some countries, top law grads go on to work as judge's clerks for a couple of years. There's tough competition for the spots and only the best get it. Not sure if Malaysia has a similar system.
Thanks ayie1984 & wornbook for the info. Still, the more the merrier. anyone is free to give it a try on the questions. make this forum one.

This post has been edited by zohan: Sep 16 2008, 09:38 AM
h0nesty.
post Sep 16 2008, 08:22 PM

17 posts

okie, im sorta in dilemma right now.
and i would like to seek for some advice.

is it a MUST to take sejarah in STPM if im interested in law?

as what i've heard, sejarah is easy to read and understands, when it comes to question they just screwed up, its HARD to get marks. that is why, most of my seniors failed their sejarah paper.

Xziled
post Sep 17 2008, 04:16 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(h0nesty. @ Sep 16 2008, 08:22 PM)
okie, im sorta in dilemma right now.
and i would like to seek for some advice.

is it a MUST to take sejarah in STPM if im interested in law?

as what i've heard, sejarah is easy to read and understands, when it comes to question they just screwed up, its HARD to get marks. that is why, most of my seniors failed their sejarah paper.
not sure abt STPM, but i dun think it's neccesary?

128 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:42 PM