not satisfied with some ps3 titles

TSsubimpact
post Jun 2 2008, 04:10 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Jun 2 2008, 03:11 PM)
I'm neither Dark Side nor the whatever Side.... lol

I'm a lone ranger... thinking for myself....

I really feel and understand Subimpact. We are paying more for essentially the same product...
even right now all i can say some BLU-RAY Movies are equalent to a HD-DVD movie also... sigh what shame...

zio
post Jun 2 2008, 04:19 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Well, its always the same debate. And until the time when DVD is not enough for all developers, then you will Sony gaining ground. Even then, it is very simple for Microsfot to either make an add-on or release a new XBOX with bluray support.

At the moment, PS3 gamers are made to pay more, heck even on exclusive titles, we are paying more. Its an average of RM195 per game compared to RM160 for an XBOX 360 game. Then again, Sony has been known for sucking money out of people because of its brand. Why should it be any different with the PS3?

acougan
post Jun 2 2008, 04:23 PM

590 posts

actually asian region ps2 game also cost more than asian region xbox1 game. so, xbox pricing in asian region has always been very competitive. with the region-lock in place, xbox pricing can even be more aggresive in emerging markets (e.g china)

dvd is not a problem, most games if need be, can be published on multi-disc. only certain type of games need to compressed to fit into 1 disc - e.g open-world-sandbox games like GTA.
TSsubimpact
post Jun 2 2008, 04:28 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jun 2 2008, 04:23 PM)
actually asian region ps2 game also cost more than asian region xbox1 game.  so, xbox pricing in asian region has always been very competitive. with the region-lock in place, xbox pricing can even be more aggresive in emerging markets (e.g china)

dvd is not a problem, most games if need be, can be published on multi-disc. only certain type of games need to compressed to fit into 1 disc - e.g open-world-sandbox games like GTA.
its sad to know that even when GTAIV comes in blu-ray disc we still neeed to pre-install into ps3 hdd ... WtF? (so i assume the DVD gamesize gets uncompressed to the ps3 hdd) wasting my ps3 hdd space only

how about GTA IV on x360 ? no need to install right ? can play it right off the box
SUStlts
post Jun 2 2008, 04:53 PM

pee poo pee poo
1,891 posts

rclxms.gif hey this forum really change my thought on ps3 console.cheers wink.gif
zio
post Jun 2 2008, 04:55 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(subimpact @ Jun 2 2008, 04:28 PM)
its sad to know that even when GTAIV comes in blu-ray disc we still neeed to pre-install into ps3 hdd ... WtF? (so i assume the DVD gamesize gets uncompressed to the ps3 hdd) wasting my ps3 hdd space only

how about GTA IV on x360 ? no need to install right ? can play it right off the box
Err yep GTAIV is playable right off the bat with the 360. Not to mention DLC comes over to the 360 first.

Well, the pre-installation is a weird situation. Some people dont mind, some people think its stupid that we need to do such thing. If we wanted instlallation, we will get a PC instead. My PS3 is right now serving me as a bluray player more than anything else.

But it is not all that bad, the 360 is damn noisy. tongue.gif So yes, behold the power of silent PS3s!
TSsubimpact
post Jun 2 2008, 05:01 PM

402 posts

yea maybe sony intention was to mix breed gaming wif home entertainment... but epic failed as a gaming console but uber win on home entertainment.. sigh... u cant have best of two worlds.. so most prolly i'll use my ps3 for blu-ray movies since its the cheapest blu-ray player in todays market tongue.gif

snipersnake
post Jun 2 2008, 05:57 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

blu ray, even with the bigger capacity, reads data slowly. go figure.

its like a big canvas, and a waaaay bigger canvas.

1. Which canvas will need extra work?

2. Which canvas will be time consuming to be finished?

But in the end, which canvas can hold more images?

Personally, I bought the PS3 not because of its a PS3, but because it has MGS4, GT5, FF13.

So MGS4 is just around the corner, I am already satisfied. Other games are just bonus for me. I would rather seriously do online gaming for free, supporting original stuffs are hardcore expensive. Sure, LiVE has it perks, expands the title etc etc but honestly, I am much more a single player guy. I enjoy MGS4, single player title, stories driven RPG, hence FF13, occasionally racing GT5P online with American monkeys (no gentlemen at all). Pay to play has its advantages, but not for me. I bought an LCD, a next gen machine, original games and those are enough. Like GTA 4 Online, am already bored of the same thing, over and over again. MGS3 online, yes I was playing heavily, but I played more Monster Hunter Online. Reason? People in Monster Hunter Online are much tolerant to our sucky streamyx connectio, so no kicks for me tongue.gif Sure ,people said if you wanna hone your skilss, try online. Pftt.I have no FPS, no sports titles. (planning on getting the multiplatform FIFA09 later on) Other that that..pftt.

And blu ray, oh blu ray. Is the machine capable of playing movies? I have only 2 titles so far. 2. TWO. I love movies, make no mistake, but I rather concentrate my 'effort' to the games only. I have around 20+ movies on my hdd, and they serve the purpose. Quality? check. Sound check. Nothing extra normal human eyes like me can see. Personally, I dont give a rats ass about the format war. I still am happy with my divx and avis.

And for those of you that thinks this is Sony's fault, think again. Its the developers' that develop the games. So far, games from Sony like Uncharted, Heavenly Sword, Ratchet and Clank Future and awesome 3rd party like Kojima Studios have impressed a lot of people. Some of the people were even courting some studios to snatch some games. Its that serious. Sony gave the devs a Lambo, but if they drive it like a Satria, do we blame the car or the driver? And personally, DMC4 looks too pathetic to be compared with Uncharted. And if memory serves me correctly, Uncharted came out last year.

As a conclusion, just enjoy the games. At least we have the assurance that Sony's R&D crew didnt fell asleep during PS3's stress test. That is one huge factor to consider. The ball is in the developers' court now, its up to them on how they will play it.

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Jun 2 2008, 06:16 PM
tripleB
post Jun 2 2008, 06:08 PM

201 posts

The PS3 is a very odd console in my opinion. I'm still on the fence whether I should get one. Back during the early days of the PS2, it was obvious that the PS2 is a more powerful console than the Dreamcast. While I'm still a big Dreamcast fan, I must admit that the PS2 ran rings around the Dreamcast. Part of it is because of the raw power of the PS2, but mostly it has to do with the DVD format.

DVD allowed the PS2 to have MPEG2 quality video and audio; some games even have DVD-style extra features to fill the disc. It really showed off what you can achieve with the extra space. As for PS3? I'm still not seeing any absolute use for all that extra space, besides high res textures. Some gamers might insist that the extra texture size does make games look prettier, but let's not kid ourselves; was it REALLY necessary? The PS3's initial promise was that ALL games will run on 1080p. What happened to that promise? It's having a hard time even trying to look like Xbox 360 games, let alone run 1080p (despite 360 games running "only" in 720p).

So, what am I trying to say? Optimisation of the system is what's required for games to perform best, not disk space. Even back during the PS2/Xbox/Gamecube era, multiplatform games do not come in similar sizes. For example, Soul Calibur II might look similar across all three systems, but their sizes were not: the PS2 version was around 4+ gigabyte, Xbox version was 900+ megabyte (really), and the Gamecube version was around 1.5 gigabyte. This shows that with proper optimisation, you don't require much space to fill a disc.

Let's go back to the PS3. If Sony insisted that Blu-ray was a necessity for PS3 to happen, why are Xbox 360 games able to pull off similar graphics, and worse, even performs better on Xbox 360? Giving the excuse that the Cell processor is difficult to program for is no excuse. Gamers who want to play games with the best performance will wonder why they paid extra for less performance. In the end, Blu-ray had nothing to do with the quality of the games themselves, rather just a trojan horse to introduce Blu-ray into user's homes. You know it's true.

I may sound overly critical of the PS3, but it's only because I care. I own a PS1 and PS2 after all. But where PS1 and PS2 really trumped their competition with superior hardware and quality games, PS3 do not offer that. Yet. Perhaps MGS4 and FFXIII will change all that. Until then, I will stick to the Xbox 360 for my gaming fix.
adix4
post Jun 2 2008, 06:31 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

you tak suka you keluar

snipersnake
post Jun 2 2008, 06:37 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

^ ftw......
TSsubimpact
post Jun 2 2008, 06:44 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(tripleB @ Jun 2 2008, 06:08 PM)
The PS3 is a very odd console in my opinion. I'm still on the fence whether I should get one. Back during the early days of the PS2, it was obvious that the PS2 is a more powerful console than the Dreamcast. While I'm still a big Dreamcast fan, I must admit that the PS2 ran rings around the Dreamcast. Part of it is because of the raw power of the PS2, but mostly it has to do with the DVD format.

DVD allowed the PS2 to have MPEG2 quality video and audio; some games even have DVD-style extra features to fill the disc. It really showed off what you can achieve with the extra space. As for PS3? I'm still not seeing any absolute use for all that extra space, besides high res textures. Some gamers might insist that the extra texture size does make games look prettier, but let's not kid ourselves; was it REALLY necessary? The PS3's initial promise was that ALL games will run on 1080p. What happened to that promise? It's having a hard time even trying to look like Xbox 360 games, let alone run 1080p (despite 360 games running "only" in 720p).

So, what am I trying to say? Optimisation of the system is what's required for games to perform best, not disk space. Even back during the PS2/Xbox/Gamecube era, multiplatform games do not come in similar sizes. For example, Soul Calibur II might look similar across all three systems, but their sizes were not: the PS2 version was around 4+ gigabyte, Xbox version was 900+ megabyte (really), and the Gamecube version was around 1.5 gigabyte. This shows that with proper optimisation, you don't require much space to fill a disc.

Let's go back to the PS3. If Sony insisted that Blu-ray was a necessity for PS3 to happen, why are Xbox 360 games able to pull off similar graphics, and worse, even performs better on Xbox 360? Giving the excuse that the Cell processor is difficult to program for is no excuse. Gamers who want to play games with the best performance will wonder why they paid extra for less performance. In the end, Blu-ray had nothing to do with the quality of the games themselves, rather just a trojan horse to introduce Blu-ray into user's homes. You know it's true.

I may sound overly critical of the PS3, but it's only because I care. I own a PS1 and PS2 after all. But where PS1 and PS2 really trumped their competition with superior hardware and quality games, PS3 do not offer that. Yet. Perhaps MGS4 and FFXIII will change all that. Until then, I will stick to the Xbox 360 for my gaming fix.
trying not to be biased... im a ps3 owner and i second your thoughts on this issue.. why has not $ony issue proper dev. tools for dev to work on ps3 ... but im just hoping for the best that ps3 will be not the successor of our well known gamecube/dreamcast ( console to fail)
slickz
post Jun 2 2008, 07:15 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

time will tell.... it's up to the exclusive titles made by those devs now. My hopes are riding on them.

1. Konami
2. Media Molecule (LittleBigPlanet)
3. Guerilla Games (Killzone 2)
4. ReadyATDawn
5. Team Ico
6. Square Enix
7. Insomniac
8. Naughty Dog (Unchartered)
9. Lucasarts

Added on June 2, 2008, 7:20 pmLet's hope the PS3 proves the adage "Good Things Come To Those Who Wait" to be true.

This post has been edited by slickz: Jun 2 2008, 07:20 PM
TSsubimpact
post Jun 2 2008, 09:08 PM

402 posts

yea and lets next year be the GAME for 1080p biggrin.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jun 2 2008, 09:36 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

LETS ALL GET XBOBX 360 COZ PS3 SUCKS!
mois
post Jun 2 2008, 09:50 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

as we know, game always being developed...so if sony has realised their mistakes, i think they would do some improvement on their product....i believe they will make use of the big capacity of the blu ray disc(not for now perhaps)....

but for game like tekken6 and other fighting games, sure not worth the money....
TerryZeroX
post Jun 2 2008, 10:10 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

I bought the ps3 for its exclusives smile.gif and i'm trying to avoid buying multiplatform games as much as I can unless its really good. Else its just like subimpact says, too much space wasted on a 50gb bluray.

edit: typo up there tongue.gif sorry snipersnake laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Jun 2 2008, 10:57 PM
Thunderbolt
post Jun 2 2008, 11:21 PM

Tonight We Dine In Penang!
1,191 posts

I choose PS3 over Xbox360 because of the stupid failure rate. You don't want to play half way through the boss level or any dramatic gaming moment and experience RROD. Plus PS3 are more silent than Xbox360. It is a disgrace to pay for such system and waste your time waiting for RMA because sooner or later you will get RROD for sure. It is like having a busted gum and wait for the time to get your rotten tooth remove. It's damn pathetic!

As for the current PS3 titles, GTA IV, the upcoming MSG 4 alone already worthed every penny to get the system. Not to mentioned the soon-to-be-release FF13 exclusive by SE and those sequels like Resistance 2 and also Kill Zone 2. The game library will grow over time. You look at it in the longer run biggrin.gif
nerd
post Jun 2 2008, 11:34 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

spammers GTFO and don't ruin a healthy discussion please wink.gif

does anyone else realise that the PS3 is lacking the genre that was so famous for the PS2, which is RPG?

man the Sony systems are so known for their RPGs, but we have yet to see a proper JRPG on the system, whereas the Xbox 360 already has two. it shows that developers are supporting the genre that has the most gamers, FPS. very bad trend, because there are just too many of 'em around!

haha this thread IS where we voice out our dissatisfactions for the PS3, be it in optimization or games right? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nerd: Jun 2 2008, 11:35 PM
darkskies
post Jun 2 2008, 11:52 PM

2,336 posts

I smell console wars coming soon. Theres not much diff between this two consoles anyway. Zillions of comment had been compare against this two consoles and in the end no diff at all. Stop being fooled by fanboys criticizms and comparison. They weighed the same on equal sides if u try to compare both sides problems and awesomeness. In the end in terms of stability and convenience, still pc blows this two aside. Let's juz cast FF and other rpgs aside, pc still run the current games pretty well and u can online and play pirated also. No ROD, no blu ray failure. No overheating issues. Can watch porn, watch movie , watch anime , download other stuff and listen to mp3 while playin game too. Tonnes of Online game out there for u to grab instead of waiting for ps3 or xbox360 games to out.

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:28 AM