92 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Hi-Fi Sonus Faber, The artisan of sound

mugenfoo
post Jul 19 2009, 06:06 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

come to think of it ... the current "Toy" model would be very similar to the Concertino 1st gen.

Added on July 19, 2009, 6:35 pmhttp://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/indexsf.htm

http://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/concertino.htm
http://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/concerto.htm

http://www.sonusfaberclub.com/home.html

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jul 19 2009, 06:35 PM
auronthas
post Jul 19 2009, 08:25 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 19 2009, 04:54 PM)
The first generation of Concertos/Concertinos  are part of the "Concert Series" launched sometime in the early to mid 90s.

Most unique features of these cocert series speakers are then they have frontal tweeters that are offset, and the speakers are sold as symmetrical pairs. Also the leather wraparound and brass studs at the side cabinets.

Those familiar with older SFs would recall that the even older Electa/Elec-Amator speakers have the tweeters placed upper left of the woofer for both left n right units. With the grilles removed, it was visually disturbing (although SF claims there was no audible difference in doing so). But as market forces would dictate, SF eventually create symmetrical offset bookshelf speakers and these were the Concert series. Tweeters positioned inwards as recommended by the manual.

The Concerto is the bigger brother, with a 6" cone whole the Concertino  has a 4 or 5" cone.  Both have front firing ports (also offset from the centre axis), and the cabinet sides have visible brass studs, as part of the cabinet internal bracing frame.

I have a pair of the 1st Gen Concerto. A very good friend of mine has the smaller Concertino. And he's thinking of  selling them.
(Mkt price going for RM3K someone said ? ... pls PM me ! )

Then came the "Concerto Grand piano" which is a floorstander with glossy piano finish for the side cabinets.
Thanks for the detail explanation.

Added on July 19, 2009, 8:28 pm
QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Jul 19 2009, 05:22 PM)
I would like to suggest to list out the models according to the different generation in the first page of this Sonus faber thread.  rclxms.gif
It will be even better to include some photos of the models..  drool.gif

Hopefully, some of us here can help to gather the info...
I remember seeing Sonus Faber history which shows various speakers in different timeline in Sonus Faber website last year, but now it's gone.

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 19 2009, 08:29 PM
car_o_scope
post Jul 20 2009, 10:44 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 19 2009, 06:06 PM)
come to think of it ... the current "Toy" model would be very similar to the  Concertino 1st gen.

Added on July 19, 2009, 6:35 pmhttp://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/indexsf.htm

http://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/concertino.htm
http://www.hifi-notes.com/sonusf2/concerto.htm

http://www.sonusfaberclub.com/home.html
Yah.. The box shape is quite similar.
The Toy doesn't have off-center tweeter.
Who here has bought a pair of Toy?

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 19 2009, 08:25 PM)
I remember seeing Sonus Faber history which shows various speakers in different timeline in Sonus Faber website last year, but now it's gone.
Too bad that they dont keep it in their website.
Really wish that they can archive all the products in a webpage.

This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Jul 20 2009, 10:47 AM
dlyz
post Jul 20 2009, 01:08 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

I saw concetino home trade in unit going for 1.9k at a hifi shop.

I was too late to grab it for my friend doh.gif
nicholas_1213
post Jul 20 2009, 03:33 PM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Jul 20 2009, 01:08 PM)
I saw concetino home trade in unit going for 1.9k at a hifi shop.

I was too late to grab it for my friend doh.gif
Rm1.9k.. that's seriously a good deal...
car_o_scope
post Jul 24 2009, 09:46 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Once a while, there will be good deals in the market.
sonyman
post Jul 25 2009, 12:53 AM

1,043 posts

toy open price at 6000, so damn expensive
auronthas
post Jul 25 2009, 06:01 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

moved to Cambridge Audio DacMagic thread...

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 26 2009, 10:38 AM
Enigmatic
post Jul 26 2009, 08:45 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Yesterday at PcWork's place I brought my own recording to his place..Listened to them.. Dunno wanna cry or smile. The 'non-audiophile' songs I've loved listening to so much had been revealed to be so damn flawed on his system.. *sobs and lives in denial*

On a side note.. Now I am gonna start stalking Koji Tamaki... biggrin.gif
dlyz
post Jul 26 2009, 10:31 AM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

I know how you feel, im still not yet get over the it T.T
car_o_scope
post Jul 26 2009, 05:26 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

I was surprised to see the price of the Toy speakers as well.
PcWork
post Jul 30 2009, 07:37 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

those who are very interested with TOY.. and very serious buyer. pls do drop me a PM.
i might organizing a bulk buy of the TOY in order to get cheaper price.
in fact. much cheaper than the price listed in hifi show. yet can get full warranty from perfect hifi and sonus faber. with official receipt.
car_o_scope
post Jul 30 2009, 09:33 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jul 30 2009, 07:37 PM)
those who are very interested with TOY.. and very serious buyer. pls do drop me a PM.
i might organizing a bulk buy of the TOY in order to get cheaper price.
in fact. much cheaper than the price listed in hifi show. yet can get full warranty from perfect hifi and sonus faber. with official receipt.
Yes. Better help those potential TOY speakers buyers to get a good price.
We need to welcome more new Sf owners... rclxms.gif
mugenfoo
post Jul 30 2009, 09:44 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

wow .... u guys planning a group purchase of Toy speakers ?

Thats alot of money man ....

car_o_scope
post Jul 30 2009, 10:13 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jul 30 2009, 09:44 PM)
wow .... u guys planning a group purchase of Toy speakers ?

Thats alot of money man ....
Yes indeed..
I am not sure what happened coz the price that I saw at the show for the TOY had a huge difference compared to two months back. rclxub.gif

Now, it seems there will be a good deal for those who are aiming the TOY.
PcWork
post Jul 30 2009, 10:28 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

yeah. seems the price is hike up. i not sure why oso.
so i manage to called alvin today. and have a brief discussion. that i might able to get each TOY slightly under RM 4K which is similar with previous price if not cheaper.

by getting more quantity i can have more "power" to talk with them regarding the price.
i myself have two serious friend who already decided to take it.
so my intention is to keep the price of my friend as low as possible.
i myself won't involve with the deal. i am just gather all order and get a bulk price. while all money will directly transfer from buyer to perfect hifi account. and official receipt will also issued BY PERFECT HIFI for each buyer of the TOY

so it is no different as in each purchase. the only different is we all have to strike at once. and hence get cheaper price.
of course i myself did request alvin to treat me some good meal if it was really happened. lol.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jul 30 2009, 11:10 PM
Enigmatic
post Jul 30 2009, 11:07 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jul 30 2009, 10:28 PM)
yeah. seems the price is hike up. i not sure why oso.
so i manage to called alvin today. and have a brief discussion. that i might able to get each TOY slightly under RM 4K which is similar with previous price if not cheaper.

by getting more quantity i can have more "power" to talk with them regarding the price.
i myself have two serious friend who already decided to take it.
so my intention is to keep the price of my friend as low as possible.
i myself won't involve with the deal. i am just gather all order and get a bulk price. while all money will directly transfer from buyer to perfect hifi account. and official receipt will also issued for each buyer of the TOY.

so it is no different as in each purchase. the only different is we all have to strike at once. and hence get cheaper price.
of course i myself did request alvin to treat me some good meal if it was really happened. lol.

I am one of the decided ones. biggrin.gif Will take abit of time, but I guess I'll meet you guys on the Sonus thread a few months down the road. *haha*

Thanks PcWork kor kor. xD

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jul 30 2009, 11:08 PM
PcWork
post Jul 30 2009, 11:15 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

good things is TOY doesn't have to use specific stand for it.
its built to use with normal stand..
usual stand.. most ex oso about RM 450 can get already...
while dedicated stand for concertino domus. is retailed for RM 2.9K each..
after serious discount oso RM 2200 .. JUST FOR STAND... sigh..

and from what i heard of TOY.
if you have lack of budget on amp. TOY can anytime sound better than concertino on lower budget amp.
i tested it on Denon AV amp and it pawned concertino domus.

concertino domus only start to sound good if have budget to get good amp that cost more than RM 4K and above.
and only will overtake the performance of the TOY after paring concertino with amp that about RM 8K-10K.

on cheap amp. the TOY sounds so energetic.. and so fast. but concertino domus on denon AV amp is seriously CRAP to my ear. and TOY tweeter is imho better than concertino domus. they look alike of the cremona series. while the mid bass look alike to the one on minima vintage.

upper mid and treble is so much superior on TOY..
while concertino seems less refine compare to TOY on that. unless seriously power amp and seriously nice CDP were added into the link. then it is different story agian.

This post has been edited by PcWork: Jul 30 2009, 11:17 PM
kumanosuke
post Jul 30 2009, 11:22 PM

717 posts

wah this might the most exp bulk in LYN

Enigmatic remember to let me try it when u got it. ok ?

kor kor sounded so kiddy, should call Tai Lou

PCwork Tai Lou
nicholas_1213
post Jul 31 2009, 10:38 AM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

Lol, when will there be a bulk for cremona M? tongue.gif

92 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0349sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:32 AM