126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

edwardgsk
post May 29 2008, 11:39 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ May 29 2008, 01:13 AM)
Err i handpaint, bro... i dont airbrush..  biggrin.gif    Still got webs appear... hahaha.

Actually top coat 1 coat enuf d la... you cant make ur kit 100% chip -free.... its bound to chip if u like to play alot... i rarely see ppl double coat. Wont it be too thick ?
Tamiya dont have lacquer, btw... so u cant possibly mix Mr.  Color Thinner with Tamiya's ENAMEL or ACRYLIC paints... the only lacquer tamiya has is spray cans....

Tamiya's acrylic just use water to thin it... same goes to mr hobby's acrylic ( flat cap )... You can use mr Hobby color thinner for both brands... since were talking about ACRYLIC paints here.

Mr. Hobby's Lacquer ( mohawk cap ) must thin with Mr. Color Thinner....

Tamiya's Enamel must thin with TAmiya Enamel Thinner, obviously lol...
dude i would like to ask about your line 2 and 3... in line 2, u say i cant possibly mix mr colour thinner with tamiya's ACRYLIC paints but in line 3, u say mr colour thinner can mix with ACRYLIC paints from both mr colour and tamiya brand.... both saying the opposite facts le...

so, which is true now?
zero1st
post May 30 2008, 02:34 AM

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ May 29 2008, 11:39 PM)
dude i would like to ask about your line 2 and 3... in line 2, u say i cant possibly mix mr colour thinner with tamiya's ACRYLIC paints but in line 3, u say mr colour thinner can mix with ACRYLIC paints from both mr colour and tamiya brand.... both saying the opposite facts le...

so, which is true now?
in line 2 he is referring to mr color lacquer thinner ...... line 3 he is referring to mr color acrylic thinner .......
yamyinhao
post May 30 2008, 09:26 AM

26 posts

can someone help i 'm thinking to build a diorama house

noob4life
post May 30 2008, 01:27 PM

162 posts

Errm to clarify my previous post... im using the ORIGINAL names of the thinner...

MR. COLOR THINNER is used to thin lacquer paints.

EXAMPLE : http://www.xl-shop.com/xlshop/pages/produc...ctId=MRH-545817

MR. HOBBY COLOR THINNER is used to thin acrylics.

EXAMPLE : http://www.xl-shop.com/xlshop/pages/produc...uctId=HC-519495

Clear ? smile.gif Take note of the names.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by noob4life: May 30 2008, 01:32 PM
zefflodo
post May 30 2008, 01:38 PM

101 posts

wana ask is oil based paint = laquer ???
ididnt notice Mr.color paint is oil based last time ,waster few ml of paint after i add tamiya thinner into causing it to cluttered shocking.gif shocking.gif rclxub.gif and wasted a metal painting pan rclxub.gif

hmmm and the mr hobby water based paint not that really can mixed with water sweat.gif sweat.gif after i add some water got some "tindak balas" like boiling hot water brows.gif but wasted the paint doh.gif .....i saw this from a hobby meg ask us to add water.... so i guess malaysian water is different from japanese water hmm.gif hmm.gif

anyway, water based still need thinner.....

This post has been edited by zefflodo: May 30 2008, 01:40 PM
noob4life
post May 30 2008, 01:44 PM

162 posts

After the tindakbalas wat happened to the paint ? Cannot use liao ? Just curious. =P

I mix with tap water before leh... and it works fine for me lol. Maybe ur water contaminated or sumthing ?

zefflodo
post May 30 2008, 01:46 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ May 30 2008, 01:44 PM)
After the tindakbalas wat happened to the paint ? Cannot use liao ?  Just curious. =P

I mix with tap water before leh... and it works fine for me lol.  Maybe ur water contaminated or sumthing ?
lol strange......hmmm hmm.gif after tindak balas.....the colour become darker.....then u wait for around 10 min the colur will become powder and sink under water......suddenly like doin school experiment pula laugh.gif laugh.gif
8tvt
post May 30 2008, 02:57 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

use mineral water la...
tap water sometimes more chlorine..
edan1979
post May 30 2008, 04:34 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,510 posts

ya it hink your place just undergo some maintenance one.. so the level of chlorine in the water is high...
edloh2k
post May 30 2008, 04:39 PM

14 posts

hi i have a few question lerr about the mr.color

for the lacquer or the acrylics better ler...??

cos lacquer u need tinner to thin it right.

then the acrylics use water to thin it right.

which 1 is better lerr ? can enlighten me on this arr ??

cos current i got the lacquer type ( mohawk cap )
8tvt
post May 30 2008, 04:52 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

do some reading..
http://www.naritafamily.com/howto/paint.htm

Jicco
post May 31 2008, 02:02 AM

42 posts

Been looking for paints to start off my repainting projects.

it seems like these paints are not easy to find. XL shop Mid Valley, Toy City HQ and Branches, few other toy shops....basic colors like flat black, and such seems to be hard to find.

Any sifu here know about the best place to go? like a One Stop place to get all the tools i need?

edwardgsk
post May 31 2008, 10:12 PM

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

QUOTE(Jicco @ May 31 2008, 02:02 AM)
Been looking for paints to start off my repainting projects.

it seems like these paints are not easy to find. XL shop Mid Valley, Toy City HQ and Branches, few other toy shops....basic colors like flat black, and such seems to be hard to find.

Any sifu here know about the best place to go? like a One Stop place to get all the tools i need?

toy city mostly sells tamiya acrylic color only... XL shop mid valley sell things damn bloody exp... if u want a great varieties of paint to choose, go to AF HOBBY Shop at Ampang... U can get all the tools + paints there... the boss is familiar with all the paints and tools so if u not sure u can get some recommendation from him...

Added on May 31, 2008, 10:50 pmguys. a fully painted MG freedom kit can sell how much ah? 100% paint original animation colour, no weathering + 0% sticker usage...

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: May 31 2008, 10:51 PM
Lucifer_Light
post Jun 2 2008, 07:51 PM

74 posts

ARGH!!!! I'm having problems with putting on decals.

I think the decals I got with my kit is very old because the paintwork got cracks in it and when I soak the decal... the one straight line become cebis cebis dee... it's that normal? Or am I doing it wrongly.

I've read a lot of sites and I follow bulat bulat what they did.
1. Cut out the decal from the sheet.
2. Soak in lukewarm distill water for 10 secs (until paper curl)
3. Place the decal + paper on tissue paper to let the back dry abit and then put on model.
4. While the decal swimming in the water on the back paper, push the decal onto the model.
5. Once in place, use tissue paper to blot the excess water.

My problem is, once I put the decal in the water, straight away hancur. Is it something wrong I'm doing? All the small small decal can use, but the big ones having problems. I'm currently doing an aircraft carrier (1/720) and the longest decal is about 15cm. I've tried cutting them to shorter lengths and then jigsawpuzzle them back together, but did not work.

What else can I do? When I look at the paint on the decal, I can cracks in them. That's not good right?

On the side note, where can I buy just decals alone? I'm looking for a Revell Nimitz CVN-68 model. I don't mind buying them online, but I google and google and still cannot find any site.
z3r0717
post Jun 2 2008, 08:16 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

r u sure those decals are water slides???
dun mistaken them....
water slides, the paper background is blue...
dry decals are transparent... hmm.gif
Wolf516
post Jun 2 2008, 08:58 PM

589 posts

hey guyz~ biggrin.gif im thinking of building a beach theme artificial landskape

anyone can give me some heads up on how to do it?
Lucifer_Light
post Jun 2 2008, 09:07 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jun 2 2008, 08:16 PM)
r u sure those decals are water slides???
dun mistaken them....
water slides, the paper background is blue...
dry decals are transparent... hmm.gif
eh? but according to the manual, they say [soak and apply decals].

My background is not transparent, it's brownish yellow and the back paper is like cardboard consistency. I don't think it is dry decal.

This is the first time I heard of dry decals. Will google it and see.

edit: Googled it and found out that it is terbalik and you just rub the decal on. Mine is not terbalik (the number 68 is not terbalik, haha). I really think it is just old... (printed on 1988 according to the copyright sign). Anyway to save it?

This post has been edited by Lucifer_Light: Jun 2 2008, 09:08 PM
r28
post Jun 2 2008, 09:27 PM

139 posts

Did anyone ever come across with Pelikan Plaka paints? I know Parkson Grand did sell these products but in Ipoh branch they didn't sell Plaka matt water-based varnish.

If anyone did counter this product please let me know where can I get the Plaka varnish around KL. Thank you.

This post has been edited by r28: Jun 2 2008, 09:27 PM
z3r0717
post Jun 2 2008, 09:57 PM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Jun 2 2008, 08:58 PM)
hey guyz~ biggrin.gif im thinking of building a beach theme artificial landskape

anyone can give me some heads up on how to do it?
wow... i also wan to do one le... hmm.gif

QUOTE(Lucifer_Light @ Jun 2 2008, 09:07 PM)
eh? but according to the manual, they say [soak and apply decals].

My background is not transparent, it's brownish yellow and the back paper is like cardboard consistency. I don't think it is dry decal.

This is the first time I heard of dry decals. Will google it and see.

edit: Googled it and found out that it is terbalik  and you just rub the decal on. Mine is not terbalik (the number 68 is not terbalik, haha). I really think it is just old... (printed on 1988 according to the copyright sign). Anyway to save it?
hmm... maybe like u said lo coz it's very old... 1st time i did water slides tat time, no problem at all...
actually no nid soak so long one... mine less than 10 sec then put on the place.. slide it out.. biggrin.gif
darth.lie
post Jun 4 2008, 12:45 AM

yo guyz...do u use surfacer (mr surfacer) to check for any defect??mean after u mod,cut thisn that,doing seam removing,then use surfacer to check any defect,n if not satisfied,do some correction,n surface again,until satisfied?? or use the surfacer juz b4 painting,for the defects u all can correct it even without using surfacer.....juz asking coz don hav any talent in doing moding or cut this n that,usually after doin that i'll surface it to check for the defect,than repair it, surface again till i'm satisfied...somtime feel that it is not such an efficient way coz use lot of surfacer..huhu

by da way,donno whether this stuff has been discused b4... smile.gif ,if yes sory for repeating it back....

This post has been edited by darth.lie: Jun 4 2008, 12:49 AM

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:59 AM