QUOTE(GeeAc @ May 16 2018, 12:43 PM)
Pls share your experience as mgt trainee in PBB. is the wrkload a lot? good bosses?
Experience differs depending on branches.
I’ll share my experience la. Overall I’d say my 5 months experience working in Public Bank is neutral. The branch that I’m currently working is a bit chaotic. Everyday go back 9-10 pm even on Fridays. My first week I can managed to go back on time la. After my second week there the workload is starting to pile up, and I average go back home around 8.30 to 9pm, daily.
Workflow
I think what is more frustrating about working at my branch is that the workflow is terribly inefficient, and so many red tapes in order for me to do my job.
For instance, I don’t have access to crucial databases up until recently. Thus, I have to beg for my coworker to help me do all the checkings which can be demoralising. They also malas nak layan already. Besides that, my PC doesn’t have the necessary software to do my job effectively which means I have switch to other people’s PC to get my job done.
Other than that, working at Public Bank as an Analyst is more like a one-man job. I was employed as a Trainee Credit Analyst, but have to do a lot of things that are not related to me as the branch is short on staff. I also have to do clerical work because not enough clerks. Have to relieve frontline clerks every Friday too because downstairs short on staff. That’s like a 4 man job already.
Bosses
Bosses at my branch also so-so la. Branch Manager loves to rush me with cases, but have the “I don’t care about your problem. Just get my cases processed”. Since I’m the only processing officer (yes, one GT doing all of the loan processing including commercial), I most of the time have to stay back until system cannot log in and do my work la. Not to mention the fact that they malas nak maintain my ID in PBB database. So most of my work are like half done because No ID= cannot fully process the case. Sometimes have to borrow coworkers ID.
Other things that really bring the morale down is the amount micromanaging.
“Do this first”
“Eh I don’t like this word. Change it to this word”
They will shout at you when you slow slow process their case, but they don’t want to give me access to database that will eventually help me do my work faster. That’s why I say got many red tapes. No access to this and that but expect me to do a lot of work.
Outdated technology/Kiam Siap to the max
PBB has made RM5 billion in profit, yet our branch (A size) only have one printer and scanner. Most of the time the printer breakdown.
The one toilet roll per month rumour is true too. I thought it was a joke at first, but it’s true.
If work OT cannot on all the lights. Can only on the lights at your desk. Aircond also same.
So many papers on my desk until my desk look like a workstation from the 80s.
End
I’m glad to work here in PBB. Good learning experience as it builds ones resilience, but I don’t see myself working here for a long time.
At first I was super excited la of the idea of working at Public Bank but the excitement quickly wears off.
No training yet despite the HR saying got “on-the-job” training. So most of the time, got errors then kena marah, then have to redo the whole thing again. So ma fan.
Edit
If you got the offer, use it as a stepping stone in your career journey. Get your six months experience in PBB and then find other jobs elsewhere. Anyone with a degree isn’t suited for this job tbh. 90% of the job I’m doing now is data entry.
This post has been edited by lolabunny123: May 16 2018, 08:07 PM