a1098113
post Mar 23 2008, 12:45 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Mar 23 2008, 12:42 AM)
hmmm......would be interested to see sum1 put that to the test  thumbup.gif
i have done it myself, and the results are

P4 640 @ 3.2Ghz (200*16) = 40+ seconds..

Dual Core e2140 @ 3.2Ghz (400*8) = 18+ seconds....

ill get some screenies tomorrow morning and post it here..
heizad
post Mar 23 2008, 12:45 AM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

dun hv the 945 chipset mobo..if i wanna try the lowest chipset i'll try will be the 965p...
xk2
post Mar 23 2008, 12:46 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 23 2008, 12:41 AM)
older generation only suffices on the heat dissipation and the architecture of the processor. But when it comes to dead basic Pi calculations, this things dont matter IMHO. The Fsb speed rules.

Added on March 23, 2008, 12:42 amand i am trying to put the point to you that FSB does play a significant role in benchmarking rather than overall speed.
maybe intel scare if all e2xxx series can overclock very well,then no ppl buy their high end proc ma,so now they 'decrease' the overclockability of new e2xxx series lo tongue.gif
-pWs-
post Mar 23 2008, 12:48 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 23 2008, 12:45 AM)
i have done it myself, and the results are

P4 640 @ 3.2Ghz (200*16) = 40+ seconds..

Dual Core e2140 @ 3.2Ghz (400*8) = 18+ seconds....

ill get some screenies tomorrow morning and post it here..
That comparison not very approriate as two different achictetures IMO.

-pWs-
xk2
post Mar 23 2008, 12:48 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Mar 23 2008, 12:45 AM)
dun hv the 945 chipset mobo..if i wanna try the lowest chipset i'll try will be the 965p...
no money ma brother,i sell out my socket 478 system and top up some money to change to 775 de leh biggrin.gif
a1098113
post Mar 23 2008, 12:55 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Mar 23 2008, 12:48 AM)
That comparison not very approriate as two different achictetures IMO.

-pWs-
i am not trying to compare on architectures doink... i am only comparing on FSB speeds... too bad there aint any one here who would wanna compare 333*9 to a 375*8 on same rams, same processors and same dividers... if there is, please do post up.

older generation only suffices on the heat dissipation and the architecture of the processor. But when it comes to dead basic Pi calculations, this things dont matter IMHO. The Fsb speed rules

read this first liao... then comment.

heizad

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

nvm bro...slowly upgrade biggrin.gif
hengmy

1,991 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Mar 23 2008, 12:48 AM)
That comparison not very approriate as two different architectures IMO.

-pWs-
yaya.. i think so, as the new architectures can calculate more faster then older...
-pWs-
post Mar 23 2008, 12:57 AM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 23 2008, 12:55 AM)
i am not trying to compare on architectures doink... i am only comparing on FSB speeds... too bad there aint any one here who would wanna compare 333*9 to a 375*8 on same rams, same processors and same dividers... if there is, please do post up.
Oh..i see wink.gif
Normally how much max Vcore safe for 24/7 usage?? Or depend on temp??

-pWs-
xk2
post Mar 23 2008, 12:57 AM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Mar 23 2008, 12:55 AM)
nvm bro...slowly upgrade biggrin.gif
i now plan to do tis :

e2160
asus 945gc mobo
2 x 1 gb kingston ddr2 667 hynix chip

tats all,i only top up about rm 100 from socket 478 to tis biggrin.gif
a1098113
post Mar 23 2008, 12:58 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

ok then we will put to test, 400*8 and 355*9 then... anyone.. ill post up a screenie on 400*8 soon and make a comparison to 355*9, we will see a massive difference in times.
hengmy
post Mar 23 2008, 12:58 AM

1,991 posts

i am also want to know what is the safe vcore for an intel processor..
a1098113
post Mar 23 2008, 12:59 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

anything below 1.46V should be safe IMHO.
bryanyeo87
post Mar 23 2008, 01:04 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 23 2008, 12:58 AM)
i am also want to know what is the safe vcore for an intel processor..
safe means the lower the better laugh.gif

anyway, intel warranties their processor up to 1.50v for e2xxx series
a1098113
post Mar 23 2008, 01:08 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 23 2008, 01:04 AM)

eh i thought it was 1.7V... or is it another series... that they allow it.. coz u sent me an attached mail remember...

Added on March 23, 2008, 1:09 amhmm then i am sorry fellas, its 1.5V then smile.gif

This post has been edited by a1098113: Mar 23 2008, 01:09 AM
hengmy
post Mar 23 2008, 01:15 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 23 2008, 01:04 AM)

wow.. i never know that.. thank for this info bro.. then 1.5v should be safe play for e2xxx series processor then..
heizad
post Mar 23 2008, 01:22 AM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

haha...i oso just knew bout the warranty laugh.gif
SUSjoe_star
post Mar 23 2008, 01:24 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Ok....so its not an FSB wall of the proc. Just tried with my 9X multi and i raised it to FSB425(x9=3.825ghz) and the comp would boot and enter bios. But the moment i set it to 8X, the comp always hangs after rebooting. Any sifus plz advice. Tq Tq Tq
Without
post Mar 23 2008, 01:36 AM

673 posts

hard to achieved 3.7ghz with 667 ram =.="
will keep try on it.. now running 3.2ghz on stock smile.gif 28c idle with no thermal paste.
hengmy
post Mar 23 2008, 01:37 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Mar 23 2008, 01:24 AM)
Ok....so its not an FSB wall of the proc. Just tried with my 9X multi and i raised it to FSB425(x9=3.825ghz) and the comp would boot and enter bios. But the moment i set it to 8X, the comp always hangs after rebooting. Any sifus plz advice. Tq Tq Tq
wow.. so dare boot up at speed up to 3.8xx on air cooling.. what is vcore for that?

120 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:22 PM