Squatting 4 times a week is sick my man. Jones going on Smolov ? Or is it you pizza?
Btw, where do you get SURGE? T-nation has it though but the shipping price is shiettt.
Ask Pizzaboy Anything., While He Chases A SEA Games Placement.
Apr 22 2008, 08:51 AM
1,885 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Squatting 4 times a week is sick my man. Jones going on Smolov ? Or is it you pizza?
Btw, where do you get SURGE? T-nation has it though but the shipping price is shiettt. |
Apr 22 2008, 11:27 AM
8,878 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Heaven: To: Hell: Status: Me > You |
oh yueah.. boris.. boris is a much more complete full body program.. i might try boris.. let me rest from gym for this week after the max attempt.. time to be lazy lol..
Apr 22 2008, 11:43 AM
Any links on the boris routine?
Apr 23 2008, 12:56 AM
aah.. u gotta ask pizza for htat. i downloaded hte whole PDF shit of boris. so i lost the link.
anyway from wat i can see of smolov's 1st three weeks is actually trying to over train the trainee on purpose.. like what charles poliquin's super compensation program suggested.. train like shit, over train, rest for few weeks and grow from it. lol |
Apr 23 2008, 02:17 AM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
http://www.joeskopec.com/borisp.xls
A lot of poliquin's techniques and things, are actually pretty normal. But he marketed it in a more, marketable manner. |
Apr 25 2008, 02:28 PM
Friday
Squats 20KG x 10 60KG x 5 100KG x 3 120KG x 2 140KG x 2 150KG x 1 (WOoh! Fast. No grinding necessary) Squats Work Set 80KG x 20 (OUChhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! Breathe baby, breathe!!!!!!!!!) Pull-Ups 4 x 8-10 Push-Ups 2 x 50 Cannot tahan, going back....really really hungry here....... |
Apr 25 2008, 02:35 PM
Sick man, 80kg x 20 reps. Burn baby burn. hahah.
Apr 25 2008, 07:04 PM
Funny thing, it's actually EASY to squat. The difficult part is when the hips start to hurt. I think I'll just blow it up to 90KG instead next week.
I found another way to really use my lats, is to rest after each rep of pull-up. Like rest completely, let go and lift again. Pretty nice. I'm going to try 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 pull-ups with this. Got loads of changes to make in this. Powah powah powah!! |
Apr 25 2008, 08:44 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 25 2008, 08:04 PM) Funny thing, it's actually EASY to squat. The difficult part is when the hips start to hurt. I think I'll just blow it up to 90KG instead next week. Lemme tell ya sumthing, I could only do max 3 reps of pullups. Jesus, thats sad man. I found another way to really use my lats, is to rest after each rep of pull-up. Like rest completely, let go and lift again. Pretty nice. I'm going to try 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 pull-ups with this. Got loads of changes to make in this. Powah powah powah!! So, ya gonna stick to 20 reps througout your routine or you have a cycle ? |
Apr 25 2008, 08:49 PM
Learn how to do "kipping pull-ups"
Cycle....with....I have no idea man, I'm doing this cycle because I'll be in KL in june. So I wanna pack on some mass NOW, before I get to KL because I know I won't be eating right there. And I lose weight, very easily. Maybe, after doing this, I'll do those "Crossfit" style training for a few months while I'm there. U wanna try too? |
Apr 25 2008, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Apr 25 2008, 09:49 PM) Learn how to do "kipping pull-ups" I am looking something more into old school training like tyre throwing or something . Oh wait is that cross fit too? hehe. Since you will be in KL we could pick a day; do some conditioning hahaha. I seriously need some conditioning thoughCycle....with....I have no idea man, I'm doing this cycle because I'll be in KL in june. So I wanna pack on some mass NOW, before I get to KL because I know I won't be eating right there. And I lose weight, very easily. Maybe, after doing this, I'll do those "Crossfit" style training for a few months while I'm there. U wanna try too? Oh ya, sumo deadlift and reg deadlift ada beza ke? |
Apr 26 2008, 01:41 AM
My conditioning=ZERO.....
I've only been adding a bit of heavy bag work and rolling a few tires, lots of kipping pull and push-ups and a bit of ghetto ass dumbbell swings. Still don't do any form of jogging. Sumo and conventional, huge difference. Sumo shorter ROM, easier to complete for lifters with extremely long torso and short arms. I'm an extremely long torso/long arm lifter, so it suits me more. Also it stresses ur hip more than ur back. The back is strengthened statically as I'm able to keep my back more vertical. More leg dominant I feel. Conventional, large ROM. Better for short torso lifters with long arms. More back dominant I think. Or it could be because my torso is so extremely long, I can't even breathe right when I deadlift. MY coach taught me a different style of CNJ bcuz of my long torso. I've to use my lower back and snap it up harder and use my traps as stabilizers instead to bring the weight back. This long torso syndrome sure is a headache... Added on April 26, 2008, 1:45 amEDIT: Despite using a sumo stance now, I do intend to do a high rep conventional deadlift once every 4 weeks. I still wanna work that back a bit. Added on April 26, 2008, 11:36 amUpdate: I've been hungry and sleepy the entire night. Just kept eating, when I'm not eating, I'm sleeping and when I'm not sleeping, I'm eating. 20 reps, not something easy. I plan to keep at it though. Having sores in my legs and upper back as well. Need to eat a ton, or I won't have anything left for conditioning work later. Thinking of a W.O.D consisting of pull-ups, push-ups and car pushes. Will post pictures. Slept for about 2+9 hours=11 hours since y'day. Phenomenal....never slept that long, EVER! This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Apr 26 2008, 11:36 AM |
Apr 26 2008, 11:30 PM
GPP Day
Car pushing-pull for about 50 meters. (6 rounds) 50 pull-ups in total 30 push-ups Ahhhhhh.......my legs, they be burning. Finally feeling my quads do some work. Nyce shit. Be uploadin them videos soon Added on April 27, 2008, 11:09 am This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Apr 27 2008, 11:09 AM |
Apr 27 2008, 02:12 PM
you'll never find a place to do that in KL lol
Apr 27 2008, 02:27 PM
8 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
PB I'd like to see how you do that different style c&J for your long arms and torso. It sounds like a hips-high style.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=zbUtJ9yB7BU This post has been edited by olylift: Apr 27 2008, 02:27 PM |
Apr 27 2008, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(jones007 @ Apr 27 2008, 02:12 PM) Got la.......just drive drive around....I did that at a stadium nearby my home. It's got pull-up rings and bars as well. I'm probably gonna go there again later, so I'll upload some videos if I do.QUOTE(olylift @ Apr 27 2008, 02:27 PM) PB I'd like to see how you do that different style c&J for your long arms and torso. It sounds like a hips-high style. YES! Exactly like that. But I can't get it right still. I ingrained the trap-pull clean method so much since the power clean days/squat clean days, that I'm struggling to teach myself to do it correctly. Even my coach can't really teach me this method properly, because although he knows how to do it, he's not very good at spotting technique mistakes for this method of lifting. http://youtube.com/watch?v=zbUtJ9yB7BU He claims this is more to a Greek or Bulgarian style of lifting where the technique isn't so much as to shrug the weight high up, but to get DOWN under the bar as quickly as possible. This of course, scares the crap outta me when I'm closing to my front squat 3RM weights of about 110KG's. However, he says in the long run it should be more suited for me. Jeez. |
Apr 27 2008, 10:29 PM
Learning the kipping pull-ups. I think something went haywire when I go downwards, because at that point I seem to fling around wildly with no direction. Something not right there. The normal weighted push-ups sorta distributed the weights evenly around the body making it quite easy. This time I made my brother stand on my shoulder blades to make sure all the weight is on my arms and chest and shoulder. Pretty.....darned tough. Then agian, it could be bcuz I've never done this, I'll keep practicing and see how I get along with this. And I might change my 20 rep squat routine, to something else again. The 20 reppers are awesome in the pump/blood flow department. But it also makes me EXTREMELY hungry and TIRED after that. I can't have that, finals are coming. Gotta consider other factors as well. So I'm going to go with my oly squat routines back agin. |
Apr 27 2008, 11:26 PM
Kipping pullups are cool man, gotta try that. Its simpler than the reg pullups isnt it?
Apr 27 2008, 11:56 PM
It's twice as difficult as a regular pull-up.
Getting your body attuned to kipping is one task by itself. to maintain the momentum is another headache already. The power production with kipping pull-ups is higher than the regular ones. So you're likely to get tired faster at the beginning. However as you get used to it , it gets a whole lot easier. It STILL builds solid lats. The momentum doesn't make it any easier. If anything, it makes it much harder. The grip also fails quicker. I use the shirt because my grip was failing already and I couldn't really handle the pain. I'll upload a vid of me playin around the bar soon. |
Apr 28 2008, 12:50 AM
1,124 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Malaysia |
I still dont get it after watching the vid above, what is the different between the normal pull-up and the kipping pull-up except it is more like an explosive pull-up or something?
| Change to: | 0.0219sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:43 PM |