This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Jul 31 2008, 08:33 PM
Ask Pizzaboy Anything., While He Chases A SEA Games Placement.
Mar 11 2008, 06:37 PM, updated 17y ago
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Mar 11 2008, 11:28 PM
ERh...not true. There are two six feet, 71KG lifters that CNJ 125KG and front squat 140KG's for a double. There's NOTHING insane my results really. Especially considering how the rest of them are performing.
My coach is saying that at my weight, a good squat is 190KG's or 2.5x bw. My squat is just a typical "Sai lou" squat. (Small boy squat) A very good squat, is 230KG (3x bw) And a elite level squat is about 260KG squat and above. Wanna see a vid?? 280 for a double. THere's a vid of him doin 310 as well. Any normal man, SHOULD be able to squat 2.5x bodyweight with proper training. 2x bodyweight was pretty easy to achieve actually. Compared to breaking this stupid plateau ceiling of 2x bw and above, it's a walk in the park. Honestly. Enough bullshit, tomorrow I need to get back to work. For those interested in a squat routine to increase your squats, ask. I'll upload one. It's a six week program. One is a Russian squat routine program. One is a program that I have no idea came from where. Also six weeks. For those that cannot handle the volume, spread it along 9 weeks, but add more accessory lifts during that period of breaks. Added on March 12, 2008, 1:06 amhttp://www.fortified-iron.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=18656&st=25 And here's somethin for you jokers who think "I'm strong enough for any routine" Read the comments. Personal opinion from me? Get some heat rubs and prepare for yourselves for the intensity. Always when u prepare yourself and overestimate the difficulty of the routine, it mentally becomes easier to finish. This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 12 2008, 01:06 AM |
Mar 12 2008, 02:09 PM
http://www.exrx.net/WeightTraining/Weightl...mGenerator.html <--Russian Squat, mind you very difficult six week training cycle. Probably easier at the lower levels but it gets difficult when you're under a plateau.
http://www.joeskopec.com/smolov.html <---Smolov. The holy grail of squatting. 3 weeks cycle and you're guaranteed to raise your squats by at least 10KG's. However, that's ONLY AND ONLY IF you can finish it. I did till the third week, Monday cycle when I decided I couldn't do it anymore. I tore my "tensor fasciae latae",(I'm not trying to sound smart, I can't think of any way to describe it. The front of your ....hip? bah!) so badly, I couldn't walk properly. That hasn't included the insane amount of pain I had everyday for even 2 weeks after the failed Smolov cycle. And my squat, went DOWN cuz of injuries. SO be smart, train smart. For many people, that wanna focus mainly on increasing their squat numbers and getting thicker (bb'ing lah), actually....the stupid 20 rep squats and tonnes of calories may be the way to go. I can't do that because I need to train my oly lifts as well as for my martial arts, but for those of you who do nothing more than....sit, watch tv, study, online, chat and gym (and eat), this may actually be a good routine to use. U get thicker, lose bodyfat, get stronger and ....well yeah, it sounds like a great routine. TO breakdown the 20 rep squat; 3 days a week training. (1-3-5 or 2-4-6) Warm-up with squats Do your 20 rep squat training Rest Every workout, add 5LBS. So Monday, you'll do; 2x10x135LBS 1x20x225LBS Wednesday; 2x10x135LBS 1x20x230LBS Simple right? Yeah, somebody please try this for me and tell me the results. =D I intend to use it one day, after October 2008 because I'll have my internship from June to October. PS: Ppl don't usually recommend cookie cutter programs......but I suppose for a specific purpose such as increase squats, it can be acceptable. |
Mar 12 2008, 03:07 PM
I'm trying to increase my squats at the moment. I'm a squat fanatic you see. Squats increase the strength of your entire body. So yes I love squatting.
At the moment, my routine is based on the squat. Everything revolves around increasing my squats. When I'm done with this routine, I'll be paying more attention into increasing my clean and jerks, with my training revolving around increasing my CNJ. I've noticed that if I focus on increasing all my lifts, I end up with nothing. However when I concentrate on increasing one COMPOUND lift, my other lifts will go up together. So now, that's how I train. That's actually what my coach noticed, not me. As he saw my snatches increase, he pointed out that my speed also went up, my upper body strengthened and I can handstand, handwalk and do handstand push-ups better. He also noticed that when my deadlifts hit 400LBS, everything else fell. I didn't get stronger, so we discussed and came to the conclusion that I avoid deadlifting except to check my PR's, and do deadlifts in higher repetitions and use deadlifts as my "assistance" exercise for all other compound lifts. He points that my torso length, makes deadlifting, extremely difficult but makes me excellent for CNJ's because of my shorter legs that can produce much more force if I can explode my speed more. So right now, point 1, increase squats. Point 2, increase CNJ and while doing that, blow my speed too. =D |
Mar 12 2008, 11:27 PM
Okay, here's the thing about the 20 rep squat.
- Find something you can squat for 20 repetitions for a set - Add 5LBS to that 20 repetitions every workout - Warm up accordingly BEFORE the 20 reps - After you're done huffing puffing through the 20 reps, execute a few sets of bench presses or behind the neck jerks or pull-ups. Up to you - Repeat every Monday, Wednesday, Friday - Be sure NOT to skimp on calories. Eat aplenty. Take about 2 or 3 exercises from what is classify as "Money" exercises What's a Money Exercise? (I took this from somewhere, T-nation I think) A money exercise has the following characteristics: 1) It's a multi-joint exercise: The more articulations in the movement the better. 2) It's a multi-muscle exercise: The more muscle mass is involved in an exercise the better. 3) It's an accelerative exercise: The greater the possibility to accelerate during an exercise the better it is. 4) It's a "target" exercise: The more an exercise uses muscles needed in sports the better. Note that these characteristics are in order of importance. These include; take a pick -Power clean -Power snatch -Cleans from blocks -Variation jerks -Bench presses -Variations of deadlifts -Squats (duh) -Pull-ups -Dips (Not so much, but okay) -Snatch and CNJ 250LBS x 3, Final Set of Six sets. Poosah! I has found my weak spot. |
Mar 13 2008, 01:55 AM
Wednesday (12 March 2008)
Squat Warm-Ups 45LBS x 10 (Overhead Squats) 140LBS x 5 170LBS x 2 220LBS x 1 250LBS x 1 265LBS x 1 310LBS x 1 330LBS x 1 (WALKOUT ONLY) Russian Squat Routine: 250LBS x 6 x 3 Bench Program 8 x 1-3 Singles Benches 30 rep bench close grip @ 100LBS Dumbbell Bench Press @ 20KG x 15 reps x 3 sets This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 13 2008, 01:55 AM |
Mar 13 2008, 08:35 PM
I've loads of pics of my gym today, just went to snap snap.
Also three videos. One of a 95KG squatting 140KG for five One of 52KG squatting 140KG double One of a 69kg squatting 150KG for a single...I think fail... and a few other bomb outs. Hehehe wait up for it later |
Mar 13 2008, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(shanecross @ Mar 13 2008, 10:27 PM) Dude, forgot to ask, the Russian Squats, you insert in poundage or kilos erk? Something tells me your maths isn't the best If you look at the last column of the russian squats on week 6 day 3. what do they mean by 105% increment on squats? does it mean for example if its 95kilos. I should prob hit ard 200 kilos on max rep?? If 100% of 100KG=100KG la IF 105% of 100KG= +5KG. So 105KG. QUOTE(T+1 @ Mar 13 2008, 10:35 PM) He's pretty good. Got 2 gold and 1 silver in Danga Bay last february. Gold for CNJ and total. Snatch=silver.Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 13 2008, 11:11 PM
Mar 14 2008, 09:12 AM
Thursday's Training
Overhead Press 1x8x60KG Push-Press 1x3x70KG 1x3x72KG 1x2x75KG 1x2x80KG - PR! Clean Pulls 40KG x 3 60KG x 3 80KG x 2 100KG x 1 110KG x 0 (Fail) 110KG x 1 (PR) 115KG x 1 (PR) 120KG x 1 (PR) 122KG x 1 (PR) Verli Nice, two pr's in a day. Clean pull PR's are because I don't usually do clean pulls, so I guess something sparked my form improvement. This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 14 2008, 09:13 AM |
Mar 14 2008, 02:08 PM
Mar 14 2008, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 14 2008, 04:49 PM) A high pull (actually wat I did was a squat clean from box) is with your arms closer together. Then apart from dat it's the same la. But what I did was actually, a clean, from a box position. Dat's the differencei'll upload today's workout later Added on March 17, 2008, 10:38 amSunday, 16 March 08 (Trained at Menara Axis FF, blek!) Warmups 40KG x 10 60KG x 5 90KG x 3 100KG x 1 110KG x 1 130KG x 1 140KG x 1 150KG x (walkout only hehehe) Fast Clean N Jerks 60KG x 2 x 2 Russian Squat Routine 115KG x 6 x 4 reps Overhead Press 60KG x 2 x 5 Dumbbell Bench Presses 85LBS/hand x 3 x 5 Incline Bench 60KG x 7 80KG x 2 x 5 Bleh....my review of FF? - If wanna buy bumper plates, buy la standard oly size bumper plaaaaatesss!! - I seriously DON'T like seeing naked men walking cock naked. - Why the hell are all the posters in the men's locker room, pictures of MEN? Something is very wrong here. - Whats wrong with the dumbbell grip? It's so difficult to hold it properly cuz of it's fat middle part. Not like! This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 17 2008, 10:38 AM |
Mar 17 2008, 10:38 AM
bah....bump
Mar 17 2008, 11:06 AM
i has a friend =D
with those platinium passes and all dat...so he just brought me in I'm still here ya know, in damansara though....stuckkkkkkkkkkk carless! |
Mar 19 2008, 10:15 PM
Warm ups
Squats: 40KG x 10 60KG x 5 80KG x 3 100KG x 1 110KG x 1 130KG x 1 140KG x 1 150KG x 1 (This......was super weird, because it was supposed to be 140KG but I miscalculated. Thus I have a PR....in week 2?) Training Begins Russian Squat Routine 6x2x115KG (It's still easy, I wonder how's things gonna happen when I go in week 4) BTN Jerks 60KG x 5 x 3 Barbell Rows 60KG x 6 x 10-12 Bench Press 90KG x 5 x 5 This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 19 2008, 10:18 PM |
Mar 20 2008, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 20 2008, 07:00 AM) Simple.To trick the nervous system. Tells the body it's got some seriously heavy weights to handle, then drop to only 80% of maxes. The body doesn't understand the change, so it still prepares itself for 100% weights. And, 1 rep squatting has always been the weightlifters tool for supreme strength. And, my coach recommends it, and he squats 270KG's @ 69KG's. Dare I dispute him? NO wayyyyy Strange thing is why these guys squat so super high, but they aren't the world champs anymore. Dammit.. Added on March 20, 2008, 9:18 amalso if ur thinking of doing the same, i recommend taking it a lil slow first...That entire warmup set usually lasts about 3 minutes, because I wanna quickly finish my Russian squats. Use singles on your heavier sets, don't go more than a single. It's tempting to, because you'll feel stronger at the beginning. But don't go more than a single. This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 20 2008, 09:20 AM |
Mar 20 2008, 10:44 AM
6x4 took about 15 minutes. Somebody else wanted to use the squat rack at FF that time, so I didn't rest too long for my final 2 sets. (And what did they do with the squat rack? BiCEP CURLS!)
Mar 20 2008, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(shanecross @ Mar 20 2008, 06:38 PM) 3rd including this. The lame part is, the last two times that I finish this Russian Squat, nicely my gf comes back to M'sia. So I hardly spend time in the gym, cuz I'm spending time with her. And then I slide back down again. This is the third time I'm doing it, with the same amount of weights, so it's actually gotten very easy. Lol!I hope it still produces results nevertheless. Added on March 21, 2008, 12:09 amToday's "Training" Wall Climbing 1 hour Kejar-kejar 30 minutes. Yes, we're 21 years old and we still play kejar-kejar in the field. It was tremendously difficult compared to last time when we were kids, we're much faster, but can't stop as well. Lol! Handstand work Handstand push-ups for 3 sets of 10-15 Handwalks around the house while flipping switches off Pushups 500 push-ups in 2 hours. Chatting and push-up. LoL! This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 21 2008, 12:09 AM |
Mar 21 2008, 08:57 PM
Friday (21-3-08)
Warm Up (Squats): 40KG x 10 (Overhead Squats) 100KG x 5 120KG x 3 140KG x 0 (Was feeling weak today, dumped the weights at parallel) Russian Squat Routine 115KG (255LBS) x 6 x 5 Comments: Squats was actually quite easy, after the failed 140KG, it felt very easy, very strong. The first two sets were hardest and the rest were quite light Flat Benches 50KG x 10 80KG x 5 90KG x 5 90KG x 5 Barbell Rows 50KG x 5 x 10-12 reps Comments: I'm slowly relearning how to row. I've been doing it rather wrong, learning to keep back stable with no rocking. Learning to use the lats instead of traps. Rack Deadlifts (Rack Pulls From Knee) 100KG x 5 120KG x 5 140KG x 5 170KG x 5 180KG x 2 (Extremely difficult because of a tired grip.) 190KG x 1 (Conceded defeat and used straps instead) All in all, it's been a very interesting session today. I seem to have learnt how to "f*ck" the bar when I do rack pulls. That's helped the bar jump, faster. It's quite nice when you learn the right way. Then, my body's a little tired after that silly rack pull session. Feeling a little spent, which doesn't happen very often. I definitely like the feeling, but now i'm typing with my eyes half closed and yawning. Post workout meal was a 200GM steak and potatoes, and dinner was some squid, boiled. I'm now sleepy and I'll retire to the bed. Added on March 22, 2008, 12:09 amhttp://it.youtube.com/watch?v=HMY6mxdP0MQ now u owe it to urself to take a f***in look at this vid This post has been edited by pizzaboy: Mar 22 2008, 12:09 AM |
Mar 24 2008, 07:35 PM
Monday (24 March 2008)
Warm Ups 10 overhead squats Squats Warmup 60KG x 5 110KG x 3 120KG x 1 130KG x 1 140KG x 0 (Cudn't even reach depth)\ Russian Squat Routine 6x2x115KG *This twas easy. I'm wondering how I'm going through with Wednesday. Oh lord.... Felt shitty, so decided to play around the gym with nothing significant. Good night. |
| Change to: | 0.0269sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:36 AM |