Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

koh_424
post Apr 27 2010, 05:30 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Apr 25 2010, 02:15 PM)
RM55. installed about 1.5 years ago.
bro..did the bonnet lifter make ur bonnet abit pop up at the lifter installed position??

This post has been edited by koh_424: Apr 27 2010, 05:31 PM
NeuroOne
post Apr 27 2010, 05:33 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Apr 27 2010, 05:30 PM)
bro..did the bonnet lifter make ur bonnet abit pop up at the lifter installed position??
nope. looks normal je..
koh_424
post Apr 27 2010, 06:40 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Apr 27 2010, 09:33 AM)
nope. looks normal je..
curious..mine pop up lil.. rclxub.gif any touch need to do??

This post has been edited by koh_424: Apr 27 2010, 07:40 PM
lowboonyong
post Apr 28 2010, 11:05 AM

Dear Bros,

I was thinking of getting an PV6, still not sure which year to get? should i get a slight new perdana 05 or should i get an older car 2000 with spare cash for maintenance? the interior changed to beige colour starting from 04? is anyone could confirm this?

tuo850
post Apr 28 2010, 11:38 AM

756 posts

Hi there, just got a 2001 V6, not quite satisfied with the lights, its too low and dim. I'm doing lots of weekend night travel. Any sugeestion to improve this? And also wanna change the absorber. What brand is the best for long distance travel on lots of holes road ( kl to kelantan)
Omnipotent
post Apr 28 2010, 02:44 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Apr 28 2010, 11:38 AM)
Hi there, just got a 2001 V6, not quite satisfied with the lights, its too low and dim. I'm doing lots of weekend night travel. Any sugeestion to improve this? And also wanna change the absorber. What brand is the best for long distance travel on lots of holes road ( kl to kelantan)
depends on your budget.

for lights, check if your headlamp cover is already dull/yellow. not sure about any products out there to remove the dullness but best solution is to buy a new set. if your cover is ok, you might wanna look at the bulbs. if you wanna stick to OEM bulb, you can try Osram nightbreaker (RM90/pair). slight improvement but lifespan is half of the normal bulb. i do not want to comment about HID because some members here are concerned about JPJ issues. if you are considering HID, please do a proper retrofit and not just plug in a cheapo HID kit and cause glare. Proper HID retrofit will set you back at least RM700 to RM1500 depending on quality and parts used.

for absorbers, you'll prefer a stiffer set for better high speed ride. I've been using Sachs Advantage and it has served me quite well in this area. I will try Monroe Reflex next, probably in 2 or 3 months time.

NeuroOne
post Apr 28 2010, 03:00 PM

495 posts

i agree with omnipotent's comments.
and wanna add a bit..

if u don't mind on doing illegal mods, HID is the way to go, but u will surely get surat saman from JPJ.
also, during heavy rain or fog, HID is useless.
i have heard that changing the headlmap wiring (more like upgrading it) will make it brighter.
or u can try adding headlamp booster. this will brighten your headlamp but your bulb's lifespan will be reduced to half.

as for absorber, are u maintaining the comfort setup or would like to change to a sportier setup?

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Apr 28 2010, 03:01 PM
Omnipotent
post Apr 28 2010, 04:00 PM

145 posts

frankly i prefer comfort setup...the car is not powerful enough for sporty setup anyway (mine is stock 6A12).

I'll be upsizing my tires to 60 series as well in my next change.

My only issue with the car now is the vibrating brakes and squeaky noise on my driver's seat. I've changed to Boash discs but the problem comes back after 10,000 kms. Any other suggestions? Will changing to Waja OEM brake discs solve the problem? My previous Waja brakes had no such problem at all.

This post has been edited by Omnipotent: Apr 28 2010, 04:01 PM
Fusa(JP)
post Apr 28 2010, 06:16 PM

Hi i'm also perdana v6 owner..i'm new here... i see most of guys here encounter the white smoke problem.. i've encountered before too.. based on experience..it's due to the valve seals already hardened.. so need to change 24 pcs of valve seals.. after changing that, no more white smoke and makan minyak hitam already... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Fusa(JP): Apr 28 2010, 06:19 PM
koh_424
post Apr 30 2010, 03:22 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

just wan to ask sum stupid question here.

if the D2s socket from HID set change to H7 socket need to buy a new socket for H7? wiring how to change it back?
NeuroOne
post Apr 30 2010, 03:33 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Apr 28 2010, 04:00 PM)
frankly i prefer comfort setup...the car is not powerful enough for sporty setup anyway (mine is stock 6A12).

I'll be upsizing my tires to 60 series as well in my next change.

My only issue with the car now is the vibrating brakes and squeaky noise on my driver's seat. I've changed to Boash discs but the problem comes back after 10,000 kms. Any other suggestions? Will changing to Waja OEM brake discs solve the problem? My previous Waja brakes had no such problem at all.
what i mean by sportier setup is changing to adjustable suspension which has harder spring and absorber.
and u can lower ur car as u please.
and with sportier setup, u may take corners with more speed and confidence.
my car is stock also, on straights, i can't catch my frens but on the corners i can close the gap.. icon_idea.gif (haha.. wishful thinking only..)

vibrating brakes indicate that the disc is bengkok.
try skimming or maybe change to twinpot brakes from galant for more braking power.
Omnipotent
post Apr 30 2010, 05:07 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Apr 30 2010, 03:22 PM)
just wan to ask sum stupid question here.

if the D2s socket from HID set change to H7 socket need to buy a new socket for H7? wiring how to change it back?
hmmm, i don't really get your question... rclxub.gif

Added on April 30, 2010, 5:14 pm
QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Apr 30 2010, 03:33 PM)
what i mean by sportier setup is changing to adjustable suspension which has harder spring and absorber.
and u can lower ur car as u please.
and with sportier setup, u may take corners with more speed and confidence.
my car is stock also, on straights, i can't catch my frens but on the corners i can close the gap..  icon_idea.gif  (haha.. wishful thinking only..)

vibrating brakes indicate that the disc is bengkok.
try skimming or maybe change to twinpot brakes from galant for more braking power.
no la...old already...balls not big enough to take corners fast fast...after all, too many "unforseen" circumstances on public roads...we can never be too confident ohmy.gif

ya, disc is bengkok, my previous stock brake disc also bengkok, so i skimmed it but it came back after 10,000kms also...that's why i changed to Bosch (thinking it will be better quality) but still same problem...

any recommendations where to get twinpot brakes (i got no exp shopping for halfcuts) and is it plug and play (ABS not affected)? furthermore, are they 5 holes (meaning i need to change rims as well)? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Omnipotent: Apr 30 2010, 05:14 PM
koh_424
post Apr 30 2010, 07:40 PM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Apr 30 2010, 09:07 AM)
hmmm, i don't really get your question... rclxub.gif
just trying to ask. currently using D2s socket at headlamp. if wanna change to H7 socket wat should i do on it?
ReXeR
post May 3 2010, 11:45 PM

293 posts

hi, new perdana owner reporting in...

i just converted to RVR turbo auto but havent done piping and exhaust. how much it costs for 2.5" S flow piping and 3" mufler with labour?

got TT event here? hehe...
NeuroOne
post May 4 2010, 12:08 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Apr 30 2010, 05:07 PM)
no la...old already...balls not big enough to take corners fast fast...after all, too many "unforseen" circumstances on public roads...we can never be too confident  ohmy.gif

ya, disc is bengkok, my previous stock brake disc also bengkok, so i skimmed it but it came back after 10,000kms also...that's why i changed to Bosch (thinking it will be better quality) but still same problem...

any recommendations where to get twinpot brakes (i got no exp shopping for halfcuts) and is it plug and play (ABS not affected)? furthermore, are they 5 holes (meaning i need to change rims as well)?  notworthy.gif
disc bengkok is common la, i think. i also skimmed my previous disc many times.
after change to mitsubishi single pot disc also have to skim.
now change to twinpot, no problem for now...

twinpot brake will cost u around rm500 to rm600 for the brake set (front only, caliper + disc) without labour.
look for front set only also ok. i change front and rear.
if install front set from galant or eterna, it's plug and play, ABS not affected cos u put the caliper + disc to your original knuckle.
some disc have 4 holes, but if it's 5 holes, u can ask the workshop to drill 4 holes to your disc.
but find reliable workshop to drill it. have to do exact measurements.

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Apr 30 2010, 07:40 PM)
just trying to ask. currently using D2s socket at headlamp. if wanna change to H7 socket wat should i do on it?
your headlamp is ori or modded? already put HID?

QUOTE(ReXeR @ May 3 2010, 11:45 PM)
i just converted to RVR turbo auto but havent done piping and exhaust. how much it costs for 2.5" S flow piping and 3" mufler with labour?
have u done the intercooler piping?
2.5" exhaust piping may cost : rm300 piping, rm150 centre bullet.
for muffler, better look for japan JASMA approved s-flow muffler.
such as Tanabe Hyper Medallion, Tanabe G-Power Medallion, Fujitsubo Giken, etc..
look for 2nd hand la. price around rm300-450.

Added on May 4, 2010, 12:11 am

anyway. your guys wanna TT?
come to NZ curry house, wangsa maju this wednesday nite @ 10pm above
look opposite KFC, there will be a bunch of proton perdanas parked there.

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: May 4 2010, 12:12 AM
edwin_lcw
post May 4 2010, 02:26 AM

hi all,

I'm new here.
I have a v6 yr 2000.
Does perdana have this FD (Fuel Distribution) problem ?
Mine seems to come in more n more

BTW perdana rocks of all Proton make !!!
NeuroOne
post May 4 2010, 07:19 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(edwin_lcw @ May 4 2010, 02:26 AM)
hi all,

I'm new here.
I have a v6 yr 2000.
Does perdana have this FD (Fuel Distribution) problem ?
Mine seems to come in more n more

BTW perdana rocks of all Proton make !!!
what do u mean come in more and more??
koh_424
post May 4 2010, 07:44 AM

♀ Luv is in the air ♂
1,487 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ May 3 2010, 04:08 PM)
your headlamp is ori or modded? already put HID?
my headlamp modded to PROJECTOR. already running on HID set. now thinking of changing to normal halogen light. so would like to check it out bout the socket problem.
Fusa(JP)
post May 4 2010, 09:14 AM

QUOTE(ReXeR @ May 3 2010, 11:45 PM)

Bro how much you done for your RVR conversion? I'm also looking for rvr halfcut.. icon_question.gif
Omnipotent
post May 4 2010, 10:11 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ May 4 2010, 07:44 AM)
my headlamp modded to PROJECTOR. already running on HID set. now thinking of changing to normal halogen light. so would like to check it out bout the socket problem.
you intend to use halogen on your HID projector?

72 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:29 PM