Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

neugenics
post Jan 20 2009, 05:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Jan 19 2009, 11:28 PM)
brand : any
budget : 4 - 5k
spec : able to do 2D autoCAD work, watch HD movies, play some light game, solid chasis (no cheap thin plastic that cause hinge cracks)
size : 13", as light as possible.

will use as a portable desktop, when at home will be plugged into a 19" (for now) lcd monitor.

basically looking for something that is better than macbook @ ~macbook price (or cheaper, since macbooks are stereotyped to be freaking overpriced)
Solid chasis, powerful performance and lightweight and at that budget = Dell XPS 13' around 3.6k for std unit. Otherwise, fujitsu is probably ur nxt pick but comes at a higher price.
lin00b
post Jan 20 2009, 11:04 PM

nobody
3,592 posts

QUOTE(neugenics @ Jan 20 2009, 05:58 PM)
Solid chasis, powerful performance and lightweight and at that budget = Dell XPS 13' around 3.6k for std unit. Otherwise, fujitsu is probably ur nxt pick but comes at a higher price.
any idea what fujitsu model i should be looking for? their website is not very search/compare friendly
alya84
post Jan 20 2009, 11:43 PM

37 posts

Hello to all..

Im having trouble to find suitable laptop for my 3D animation and visualization work..Im looking at quadro graphic and not gaming one..so anyone here could help me with my problem?

1. Brand - Any as long it can last long and dont give me minor or major problem..
2. Budget - RM5000 - RM6500
3. Specs - Good processor, Quadro graphic and 17 inch screen with high resolution
4. Size - I dont mind since I want to replace my desktop.
teck_dq
post Jan 20 2009, 11:45 PM

~`HorriBLe Ador@bLe'~
1,148 posts

for that budget go for XPS bro...
alya84
post Jan 21 2009, 12:05 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(teck_dq @ Jan 20 2009, 11:45 PM)
for that budget go for XPS bro...
I dont think so XPS come with quadro graphic card..XPS is for gaming user..im not looking for gaming but for 3D application such as 3Ds Max..
nabil123
post Jan 21 2009, 12:05 AM

47 posts

hi!

i wanna ask, for RM 2k-2.5k wat kinda specs can i expect to get on a new laptop? can i have decent, mid range laptop for playing games like crysis, cod 4, etc2 with medium or high setting?
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 09:18 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(nabil123 @ Jan 21 2009, 12:05 AM)
hi!

i wanna ask, for RM 2k-2.5k wat kinda specs can i expect to get on a new laptop? can i have decent, mid range laptop for playing games like crysis, cod 4, etc2 with medium or high setting?
U again? How many time have 2 tell you. No such laptop at 2k can play crysis or COD at med. Aduh, even powerful desktop got problems playing crysis you want laptop somemore.

For 2k you can forget playing any of those games, play dota and maple no problem. Dont even think of trying 2008 games since 2k laptop sure tak boleh.

You want 2 play crysis at med to high, you need at least 5k for good gaming laptop.
SUSf4tE
post Jan 21 2009, 09:27 AM

1,605 posts

benqs42 can crysis or not? no need hgih setting..can r?
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 09:36 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 21 2009, 09:27 AM)
benqs42 can crysis or not? no need hgih setting..can r?
impossible to play at high setting on benq42, it will lag so much u will be looking at picture rather then moving object. Benq42 low, maybe med but will still lag. Plus screen resolution have to put very low as well.
neugenics
post Jan 21 2009, 10:23 AM

34 posts

hi!

Absolutely NO big time.

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 21 2009, 09:18 AM)
U again? How many time have 2 tell you. No such laptop at 2k can play crysis or COD at med. Aduh, even powerful desktop got problems playing crysis you want laptop somemore.

For 2k you can forget playing any of those games, play dota and maple no problem. Dont even think of trying 2008 games since 2k laptop sure tak boleh.

You want 2 play crysis at med to high, you need at least 5k for good gaming laptop.
Lol, liked how u phrased that.
You're right, coz even some 4k laptops are not able to runCOD n crysis smoothly. However for those who are lil tight on budget n game really hard, thrs this acer notebook that i saw in pc fair last month around RM2999.00. It comes with 4gb ram, & a 512 mb dedicated memory gforce smtg graphic card so on n so forth. That shd allow you to play crysis at full spec. Frm what i rmb, the full range XPS only came with a 256 dedicated memory gforce 9300 or smtg, which will enable u to play crysis but prob only on mid settings.
jacksonyong
post Jan 21 2009, 10:53 AM

108 posts

I heard that Acer has alot of problems ?

Like quality problems and so on so for
astria
post Jan 21 2009, 12:49 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(alya84 @ Jan 20 2009, 11:43 PM)
Hello to all..

Im having trouble to find suitable laptop for my 3D animation and visualization work..Im looking at quadro graphic and not gaming one..so anyone here could help me with my problem?

1. Brand - Any as long it can last long and dont give me minor or major problem..
2. Budget - RM5000 - RM6500
3. Specs - Good processor, Quadro graphic and 17 inch screen with high resolution
4. Size - I dont mind since I want to replace my desktop.
i can only think of Lenovo... think Dell have some workstation laptops as well...

Added on January 21, 2009, 12:50 pm
hi!

as long as there's crysis, it's 1 hell big NO

even desktops can have problem running it in high settings...

This post has been edited by astria: Jan 21 2009, 12:50 PM
neugenics
post Jan 21 2009, 02:57 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 21 2009, 10:53 AM)
I heard that Acer has alot of problems ?

Like quality problems and so on so for
ya thats the kind of perception we all got from customer complaints. However, i had a fair share of positive comments and many ppl that i know off who use acer computers said they themselves surprisingly had no problems whatsoever after 2-3 years of usage. Long story short, i think acer is definitely not reputable for its quality compared to Fujitsu n so on, but they seem to be improving and many have got away fine with an acer laptop.
ps: [acer, u shd pay me] doh.gif
SUSf4tE
post Jan 21 2009, 04:37 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 21 2009, 09:36 AM)
impossible to play at high setting on benq42, it will lag so much u will be looking at picture rather then moving object. Benq42 low, maybe med but will still lag. Plus screen resolution have to put very low as well.
dont mind low or med settings but is it playable with ben42? sometimes play with low or med means click one time and wait 1 minute for something to happen and when walk until places with enemy will just stand there then next thing u see is game over.. thats what happen with neverwinter nights 2 last time... so i mean is it playable on ben42 with low or med settings?
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 06:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
dont mind low or med settings but is it playable with ben42? sometimes play with low or med means click one time and wait 1 minute for something to happen and when walk until places with enemy will just stand there then next thing u see is game over.. thats what happen with neverwinter nights 2 last time... so i mean is it playable on ben42 with low or med settings?
On a 9600gt the game is playable at low graphic setting with low resolution. Goto medium then become quite laggy.

But at low it looks terrible. You have 2 play at least med or high to appreciate the game, if not better you play cs source.
dadarouch
post Jan 21 2009, 08:04 PM

(´;ω;`)
2,920 posts

1. Brand : Any brand.
2. Budget : 2k below, but if can make it 1.8k and below would be alottt better
3. Specs : If it is possible, C2D. Else Atom also would be okay.
4. Size : Any size. Small, Big, Medium, Fat etc

Have my eyes on the HP Mini-Note, but would like all your expert advice first.

Basically, normal usage. Word processing, surfing etc.

Might be running some website editing programs and coding programs ( which I think won't be a biggy ).

Thanks in advance.
cannavaro
post Jan 21 2009, 08:51 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(neugenics @ Jan 21 2009, 10:23 AM)
Absolutely NO big time.
Lol, liked how u phrased that.
You're right, coz even some 4k laptops are not able to runCOD n crysis smoothly. However for those who are lil tight on budget n game really hard, thrs this acer notebook that i saw in pc fair last month around RM2999.00. It comes with 4gb ram, & a 512 mb dedicated memory gforce smtg graphic card so on n so forth. That shd allow you to play crysis at full spec. Frm what i rmb, the full range XPS only came with a 256 dedicated memory gforce 9300 or smtg, which will enable u to play crysis but prob only on mid settings.
Nope, not possible. One look at the price and I can tell.
If you wanna play Crysis at high settings smoothly on a notebook, this will work:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/820915

s7ran9er
post Jan 22 2009, 01:27 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

Hey guys, I read some pages back and still couldn't make any choices. I'm posting this on behalf of my friend here, I'm more on the desktop side, not laptop and would really appreciate if you guys can suggest me some models. So here's some requirements and budget

Budget: RM2.5k or below
Requirement: Decent one, able to handle basic tasks, more on entertainment and no gaming. biggrin.gif

Thanks in advance! *Happy CNY*
astria
post Jan 22 2009, 12:20 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

Compaq CQ40
s7ran9er
post Jan 22 2009, 12:43 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jan 22 2009, 12:20 PM)
Compaq CQ40
thanks.
so I was thinking of this. What do you think?

128 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:30 AM