Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

TSfiredauz
post Feb 4 2008, 12:57 PM, updated 17y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Old V2 link (credits to Shinigami) --> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/450610

CODE

This is a topic for EVERYBODY out there that needs special recommendation on buying a new laptop...

To request recommendation, what u need to post:

1. Brand.
2. Budget.
3. Specs.
4. Size.

Any new topic regarding recommendations shall be closed/deleted without explaination...

Here are a few tips how to purchase such a piece of equipment.

New V3 thread: Continuing the discussion & recommendations on buying new laptops here.

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Feb 4 2008, 01:23 PM
Rithrade
post Feb 4 2008, 02:44 PM

360 posts

I'm actually interested in Alienware Area 51 m15x or the GX600 offering by MSI. Budgets not really a problem. Here's a link to the m15x laptop. It's uber cool.

Size-wise, something around 5kgs or less. That would translate to about 15.4"

Specs ah, well for gaming la I suppose. Kinda lazy to list out... but I also kinda like the custom lightings on Alienware drool.gif

Other products I'm not interested either because of bad reviews, not up to spec or unheard brand, unoptimised drivers (Dell being one of them)...etc

Trouble is, I can't seem to find any Alienware sellers here! cry.gif

Oh, please tell me if u have other recommendations ! ^^ I actually got a lot of time to shop around, but I confirm buying gaming laptop when I finally go overseas. Thanks a buncH! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Rithrade: Feb 4 2008, 02:49 PM
adriel_heresy
post Feb 4 2008, 02:54 PM

219 posts

i've already post this in the previous thread but since it is closed down, i'll just post it again here.

Hello guyz, i'm looking for a laptop.
my sister birthday is coming soon and i wan to give her a laptop as a birthday present.
well, she know nth about computer so i'll be needing a durable one.
she won't be using it for a very high end, mostly for browsing,
downloading (direct or torrent),
chit-chatting (web cam and mic if possible),
burn some photo from camere into cd or dvd (burner and card reader if possible)
and watch movies or songs (big spaces needed/memory).

1. Brand
don really have any specific brand but preferably dell,hp, toshiba, fujitsu or lenovo as long as it come with window cd. that will ease her a lot.

2. Budget.
around RM2000 - RM2500 (i'm very poor liaw after chinese new year)

3. Specs. - i only specify the important one
*duo core technology.
*RAM at least 1GB
*windor XP profesional since vista need a lot of computer knowledge and hardware and software compatibility middleware
*at least 80GB of hardisk
*must have dvd burner (super multi dvd)

4. Size.
don be too big and too heavy.
she is a girl and still very young and she don like bulky thing.

she does like fancy stuff.
she did tell me she would like one with web cam and a nice monitor.
but if it is outside my budget then i will just get her a cheaper one.

feel free to send the spec to my email : omega_adel@yahoo.com
look forward the reply.
thanks.

Suk
post Feb 4 2008, 05:25 PM

2,330 posts

Well, Went to lowyat y'day and saw this spec ~ compaq V3758TU ( c2d t7500 ; 1gb ram ; webcam ; 5in1 card reader ; wireless ABGN ; x3100 ; etc etc ) only for RM3299

I think T7500 procossor now all selling >RM4k. but too bad.. lowyat out of stock now
presario9
post Feb 4 2008, 07:14 PM

210 posts

hi guys,

need a laptop for a student.
range price 2k-2.5k
ringan, ram at least 1gb.

please recommend..

LetoVee
post Feb 5 2008, 02:47 PM

31 posts

Hello, i'm Leto, I am also looking for laptop for my girlfriend, reasonable price plus good spec. here's the details i'm interested in.

4. Size.
prefer 15.4" or less, lesser the better..

3. Specs.
-core 2 duo (5000series also can), 1gb ram, gfcard minimum intel X3100, webcam (prefer 1.3mp), hdd capacity minimum 100gb, dual layer dvdrw..

2. Budget.
rm2750-3500

1. Brand.
(sorting not according to priority)
HP - hp is cheap, agree? compaq is ok, lol i wonder if there is a cheap pavilion with that spec
Acer - big nooooooooooo... hate aspire design, soooo lammeeee, no a womens taste, agree ladies?
dell - inspiron, wonder if its ok? one of my choices
lenovo - duh, ugly design
toshiba - with that spec?? impossible, must be around 5k
Asus - dreaming out loud, lol
BENQ - this one i better ask from EXPERTS... guys, is this ok? surely ok? example W32, is it ok? any cons?
sony - ??? lmao

blackrobin
post Feb 5 2008, 03:02 PM

semi-hardcore mobile enthusiast!!
998 posts

Sony CR RM3.5k

Inspiron 1420 offers great colour selection and highly customizable with low starting price. Also this model gives you the portability.
XPS 1330 is also a choice if you dont mind paying additional RM100

reevephon
post Feb 5 2008, 05:50 PM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

Actually i'm confusing to choose a new laptop, currently i already got 3 choices like below.

1. Dell Vostro 1400

Intel Centrino C2D T7250 (RM3339)
Vista Business
GeForece 8400GS
250GB HDD
2GB DDRII Ram

2. Asus Z53SV20DPM (RM3999),(This seem like out of stock)

Intel Centrino C2D T7300
Vista HomePremium
GeForce 8600GS
200GB HDD
1GB DDRII Ram

3. HP Pavillion dv2703TX Entertainment (RM3999)

Intel Centrino C2D T5550
Vista HomePremium
GeForce 8400GS
160GB HDD
1GB DDRII Ram

These are all my choices, so i want some Pro's comment about this 3 laptops, really confusing to choose. Or any Pro's got any other recommended laptop you could tell me in here, but not more than RM4000, prefer lower than RM4000. Thank

PS: Basically these 3 laptops, i prefer Dell Vostro 1400, this is because the price is lower than another 2 laptops and also with high performance specs, but i think dell is not good right?
aliex87
post Feb 6 2008, 04:58 PM

376 posts

hey, just wanna ask u guys recommendation, i want to buy one m1530 next week, just want to know should i buy from dell.com.my or from LYN? theres 2 or 3 ts selling it, at cheaper price too! should i go for the LYN seller? how bout warranty wise? plssss helppppp....thankss
Oakha
post Feb 6 2008, 11:10 PM

298 posts

Hey, paiseh paiseh
I need recommendation

I need a laptop, which
+- RM2500
Core 2 dual or equivalent AMD (it is AMD X2 Turion??) both also can
ermmm, which one better for laptop
2 g ram
suitable for programming use (im learning java programming)
suitable to play strategy game (like CoH, C&C) just for strategy game

Which laptop suitable to me, if not, tell me the reason (it is budget too low?)

i can wait until april PC fair, it is laptop will sell cheaper during PC fair

SUSM4A1
post Feb 7 2008, 03:07 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

I am so confuse...hope any bro will guide me?
planning to buy laptop next few days...

my budget : around rm4-5k.

currently confuse with :

hp 2616tx price : 4500(maybe can get staff price rm4k)
dell xps m1330 price : 4100
acer Aspire 4920G-301G25 price : 3500 !!!!! blink.gif

those 3 above have what i want
as
2.0 processory
2gb ram
nvida

so my question is :

1.acer using 8600m gs nvida and hp n dell is 8400m gs...much diffrent?
2.if compare those 3 ...it seems acer has the cheapest price of rm3500 ...but acer 1 gb ram.....so choosing acer seems to be a good choice?

usuage : online.....some game(not hardcore game like crysis,football manager will do )

i like xps lightweight,acer cheap and hp? maybecan get staff price so still around 4k

so? conclusion? i dunno...thx for replying in advance

williamngwl
post Feb 7 2008, 04:58 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Feb 7 2008, 03:07 PM)
I am so confuse...hope any bro will guide me?
planning to buy laptop next few days...

my budget : around rm4-5k.

currently confuse with :

hp 2616tx  price : 4500(maybe can get staff price rm4k)
dell xps m1330  price : 4100
acer Aspire 4920G-301G25 price : 3500 !!!!!      blink.gif

those 3 above have what i want
as
2.0 processory
2gb ram
nvida

so my question is :

1.acer using 8600m gs nvida and hp n dell is 8400m gs...much diffrent?
2.if compare those 3 ...it seems acer has the cheapest price of rm3500 ...but acer 1 gb ram.....so choosing acer seems to be a good choice?

usuage : online.....some game(not hardcore game like crysis,football manager will do )

i like xps lightweight,acer cheap and hp? maybecan get staff price so still around 4k
so? conclusion? i dunno...thx for replying in advance
if u have budget around rm4000+ just try Acer 5920G-602G32 that come with Intel T7500,2GB RAM,320 GB HDD,Nvidia Geforce 8600M GT(512MB Ddedicated)
SUSahshuy
post Feb 9 2008, 04:52 PM

232 posts

Brand:Any
Budjet:RM2k n below
Size:12.1inch (as lightweight as possible)
Spec:As long as can support Xp well, no lagging problems + built in wireless card, nothing much i need.(for long distance travel use)

Any comment and recommendation?

Suk
post Feb 9 2008, 06:38 PM

2,330 posts

Ok, I have been using 3 branded Laptop these few month with my newly bought Compaq V3758TU

Toshiba A200- Magnesium Alloy Case, Better Processor Cooling and Bigger Heatsin longer battery life <4hours but heavy.

Acer - Plastic Feeling, Lighter, Shorter Battery life <2-3hours

Compaq V3758TU. - Design consider OK. Heat from the processor is making me headache. Very Hot. Can't even put on top of my leg after 30min.

williamngwl
post Feb 10 2008, 05:14 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(PERKELE!! @ Feb 10 2008, 02:42 AM)
and also, is there any way to buy dell stuff in malaysia besides buying it online? are there any dell authorised dealers in malaysia?
u can go to TechAsia at low yat plaza fourth floor to have a look there.some of the model they have ready stock
kalakatu
post Feb 11 2008, 09:09 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

Greetings smile.gif
I am a math and science computer student. I need a new laptop, mobile enough so I can work anywhere. This is my final year, and I frequently doing my assignments and projects at the outside, so I need a laptop that is light, small (not too big), cheap and can support my assignments.
Furthermore, I will be going to practical training on next semester, so I will use the laptop as my primary rig.
My work covers Matlab, Maple, Java, C++, Star UML, office applications and perhaps some light gaming.

Brand
- Personally I prefer Compaq. They got nice laptops for below than RM2000
- Don't know why, but I was told to stay away from Acer if I aim for cheap laptop.

Budget
- The highest I can go is RM2000. Perhaps will do some upgrading on rams later, depends on budget.

Specs
- Not a fan of AMD, but I think X2 Turion suits me enough, because normally it will come together with graphic card, rather than choosing Intel that only comes with integrated graphic.
- At least 1GB ram, and it must be DDR2 so that I can upgrade later with a lower cost.
- Don't really care about the size of hard disk. 120GB is good enough for me.
- Prefer the glossy screen, as it looks kinda lovely, and widescreen too.
- Don't need those webcam, bluetooth etc etc. As long as it can cover my works, its enough already.

Size
- 15" is ok, but if possible I want to go for 14".

Thats all. Hope can get some recommendation here.
Thanks smile.gif

hitome
post Feb 13 2008, 12:43 PM

32 posts

Can help me?

1. Brand.
- Any. (so far looking at Dell and Acer)

2. Budget.
- around 3-3.5k

3. Specs.
- Intel Core 2 Duo T7xxx processor
- At least 1GB RAM..prefer 2 GB though..and must be upgradeable at a later time
- dedicated graphic card (preferably nvidia)
- not necessary have to come with an OS
-all the other stuff like webcam, bluetooth, card-reader..etc

4. Size.
- light, around 2-2.5 kg max
- about 14" LCD
SpongeBob
post Feb 14 2008, 03:12 AM

141 posts

Hi people, any suggestions?

1. Brand
- All except Dell. Need the laptop urgently, can't wait for 2 weeks.

2. Budget
- Below $2800.

3. Specs
* Must have webcam.
- Intel Core 2 Duo
- Windows Vista
- At least 1GB RAM
- DVD Burner
- Bluetooth
- WiFi

4. Size
- Prefer lighter ones, but size is not critical.

Thanks for your help!

cy_an
post Feb 14 2008, 06:53 PM

*naf* mire mis estrellas
1,098 posts

QUOTE(SpongeBob @ Feb 14 2008, 03:12 AM)

1. Brand
- All except Dell. Need the laptop urgently, can't wait for 2 weeks.

2. Budget
- Below $2800.

3. Specs
* Must have webcam.
- Intel Core 2 Duo
- Windows Vista
- At least 1GB RAM
- DVD Burner
- Bluetooth
- WiFi

4. Size
- Prefer lighter ones, but size is not critical.

Thanks for your help!
Dell can take in within 2 weeks.
DELL VOSTRO 1400.

Added on February 14, 2008, 6:56 pm
QUOTE(hitome @ Feb 13 2008, 12:43 PM)
Can help me?

1. Brand.
- Any. (so far looking at Dell and Acer)

2. Budget.
- around 3-3.5k

3. Specs.
- Intel Core 2 Duo T7xxx processor
- At least 1GB RAM..prefer 2 GB though..and must be upgradeable at a later time
-  dedicated graphic card (preferably nvidia)
- not necessary have to come with an OS
-all the other stuff like webcam, bluetooth, card-reader..etc

4. Size.
- light, around 2-2.5 kg max
- about 14" LCD
DELL VOSTRO 1400.

This post has been edited by cy_an: Feb 14 2008, 06:56 PM
muse
post Feb 14 2008, 11:58 PM

i'm confused to choose between 3 brands.
they are 1. Sony CR SEries 2. Toshiba Satellite 3. Toshiba Portege 4. ASUS F8P

my budget is between RM 3000-6000.
among this four laptops which one worth me to buy it?
i have no ideas at all which one should i choose.
therefore i'm here seeking for help.

128 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:13 AM