Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

crapp0
post Jun 27 2008, 08:49 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Jun 27 2008, 08:15 AM)
Hi now I have one Asus F5VL - this is gaming laptop. this is hot model!. no stock in the market somehow my supplier manage to give me one thumbup.gif .
Original Price RM3399.. Now Im selling RM2950!. Tonite can COD. Anyone intrested can msg me at 0176029075 - Haniff. Only have one rclxm9.gif
U can't get this offer in market icon_idea.gif  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
The 3d graphics card supplied in the asus F5VL is a ATI Radeon X2300 and thats a gaming card? Yeah getting last years normal graphics card is a good investment, no wonder its so cheap.
crapp0
post Jun 27 2008, 04:22 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jun 27 2008, 12:06 PM)
I don't get why people keep saying gaming laptops, it's either a high end or low end, heck, you can play Crysis with 8400M GS and so it's a gaming laptop.

Anyways, the X2300 is a revision of the X1XX radeon models, which is about 2 years old. If you want to game at acceptable settings and framerate, the x2300 is not recommended. That said, it still depends on the type of the games you are playing, if Crysis, the x2300 is a big no no.
Seriously can play crysis on a 8400m gs? What resolution was the game set and what quality settings was it on, plus what was the average frame rate?

I plan to get an asus with a 9500m or ati equivalent card but i'm not 2 sure if it will support Fallout 3 since there arent any game requirements for fallout 3.
crapp0
post Sep 1 2008, 07:20 PM

4,414 posts

What laptop would u guys recommend for business user who travels quite frequently but still has to have windows xp pre-installed?

So far my choice are are dell and lenovo thinkpad series but their quite expensive, especially the lenovo and my colleague need to use autocad on the go but they usually use autocad lt for 2d functions and no 3d functions at all.

The budget im looking for is around rm4000-5000.
crapp0
post Sep 7 2008, 01:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 7 2008, 01:03 AM)
BenQ S42, comes with 9600M GT and C2D P8400...

sells in SG for SG$1999... u may wan to wait for that if u re budget conscious...
Actually it was selling for SGD1699 so but it was a very good deal but one time i see the machine put me off from buying. Looks damn cheap. I hope they will showcase the dell mini since i'm quite interested in getting it.
crapp0
post Oct 11 2008, 09:24 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Oct 8 2008, 07:47 PM)
Are you working for Dell? You seem very keen in promoting it.
Well I used Dell Inspiron 6000, 1420, Latitude D610, D620, 630, 430 and now E6400.
The current Inspiron looks and feel super cheap and flimsy.
Used V3000 and few cCmpaq and HP. They never failed me, even Acer.

Well my Latitude D630 failed me 6 time after 1 year.
D610 failed 2 times. My D430 failed 2 times after 3 months.
The engineer that came to repair my perfect condition D430 scratch the cover so badly while changing the LCD.

For me their only good at giving onsite services.
Other than that, I will change the Brand anytime.
Even rather go for cheaper Lenovo Think Pad SL rather than Latitude.

Hope my E6400 wont disappointment. The only reason I use Dell is because of the
company policy and agreement contract with them.
Otherwise, call me Anti-Dell in notebook. The server is great, love em'.
Well its true their inspiron series feels cheap like hell. But their Latitude series are quite good since i have used and owned a few and there were great for the most part. I know a guy who had a latitude for 4 years and it broke down only once in the 2nd year, after that it was still functioning.

If i were to buy a business laptop, it would either be the dell latitude but if i had a bigger budget then i would for the thinkpad series. So far i havent tried the lenovo thinkpad series for an extended time but when the thinkpads were still under ibm, they were rock solid and the best in terms of quality since it never broke down, even after the 3 warranty period expired.

But you have to admit that any brand of laptop will fail on you after some time and depending on how you abuse it. You cant have 0% defect but the thinkpads and latitude are pretty close at eliminating most of the QC problems.

I just ordered a new latitude E series and from what i know, they say its built like a thinkpad with chunky metal screen hinges. I was abit dissapointed with the latitude d630 in the build deparment since it felt like the old inspiron model.
crapp0
post Oct 13 2008, 08:21 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE([W�)
ee[D�],Oct 13 2008, 08:11 AM]
Thx for the aid, really appreciate it.
i dont have any experience on Toshiba's brand though, but from the specs from 11w and 11s,
comparing from M1730 spec that me and shawn just discuss, shouldn't it be abit cheaper?
True that i dont need blu-ray since all my movie are download-able (dun call ISA plz)
ok question, how is the Pyramid Graph of mobile processors ? is the T series on top of all?
The T is now 2nd best, its being replaced by the P series.
crapp0
post Oct 23 2008, 09:24 AM

4,414 posts

All the brands are quite good if you looking for 5k price. Only issue is specs and that you have to check it out yourself.

If you more business oreinted, then the dell and HP are good buy but their business laptops dont have very good graphics card.
crapp0
post Jan 18 2009, 10:56 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(FishnChipx @ Jan 18 2009, 08:08 AM)
any idea dell m1730 is better or Qosmio® X305 ?
since both of them also around that price but dell m1730 ruiing 8800gtx sli and Qosmio® X305 running 9800 gts sli
Both dell and toshiba notebooks are pricy.

I would rather get a sager or the new MSI notebook. Much cheaper but you dont have customer support for sager but i believe MSI warranty is global so even if you bought from another country, you could technically still claim warranty.

Plus the new ATI 4850 mobile is just as good if not abit better then the 9800GTS plus the MSI would be way cheaper at around rm 5k. Hard to beat that at price point, even gateways new FX series cant match for price.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 09:18 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(nabil123 @ Jan 21 2009, 12:05 AM)
hi!

i wanna ask, for RM 2k-2.5k wat kinda specs can i expect to get on a new laptop? can i have decent, mid range laptop for playing games like crysis, cod 4, etc2 with medium or high setting?
U again? How many time have 2 tell you. No such laptop at 2k can play crysis or COD at med. Aduh, even powerful desktop got problems playing crysis you want laptop somemore.

For 2k you can forget playing any of those games, play dota and maple no problem. Dont even think of trying 2008 games since 2k laptop sure tak boleh.

You want 2 play crysis at med to high, you need at least 5k for good gaming laptop.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 09:36 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 21 2009, 09:27 AM)
benqs42 can crysis or not? no need hgih setting..can r?
impossible to play at high setting on benq42, it will lag so much u will be looking at picture rather then moving object. Benq42 low, maybe med but will still lag. Plus screen resolution have to put very low as well.
crapp0
post Jan 21 2009, 06:49 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Jan 21 2009, 04:37 PM)
dont mind low or med settings but is it playable with ben42? sometimes play with low or med means click one time and wait 1 minute for something to happen and when walk until places with enemy will just stand there then next thing u see is game over.. thats what happen with neverwinter nights 2 last time... so i mean is it playable on ben42 with low or med settings?
On a 9600gt the game is playable at low graphic setting with low resolution. Goto medium then become quite laggy.

But at low it looks terrible. You have 2 play at least med or high to appreciate the game, if not better you play cs source.
crapp0
post Jan 25 2009, 09:55 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Rezuan78 @ Jan 25 2009, 02:11 AM)
hi guys, need some recommendation here. pls recommend me a laptop with graphic card coz i wanna play games on it  smile.gif
budget around rm2.5k
You know it would be simpler to tell us what games you want 2 play. Since rm2.5k cant relly buy u a "true" gaming laptop. Nowadays most laptops can play simple games.
crapp0
post Jan 29 2009, 02:51 PM

4,414 posts

I notice you guys budget for laptops a low, very low. Some at 2k or 3k for gaming laptop. And your only recourse is the benq 42. Personally i wouldnt go for it since build and the looks arent that good.
crapp0
post Jan 31 2009, 05:07 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jan 31 2009, 04:54 PM)
ya...better go for studio.. the xps nvidia 8 series gpu sucks big time...
Not suck in performance, have some quality issue with it.

0.0469sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:13 AM