Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

neugenics
post Sep 23 2008, 11:03 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(fernfern @ Sep 23 2008, 12:19 AM)
hellow, i'm a graphic design student that wants to buy a laptop.

my applications would be photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver, in-design and maybe some games.

what would be a recommended laptop. maybe u can give me the specs of the video card and processor that i should get.

my boyfriend says i should get about 2-4gb of ram.

what do u guys think?
Well if your not restricted budget wise, an apple macbook pro would be best for graphic design material. Ya ram is relatively important for your graphical work n so forth, so get at least 2gb esp if your running on vista. A high end graphic card shd only b invested for serious gaming, thrfore a normal non-integrated g.card would b sufficient.

neugenics
post Sep 23 2008, 09:27 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(vcheewei @ Sep 23 2008, 11:27 AM)
Hi guys, no sure if any of you are able to recommend me something.

I am looking for something light like around 2kg. But at least 13.3" and nothing lesser.

Budget could be around 4.5k.

I would prefer to have at least 3gb RAM and 250gb HDD (preferably 320gb).

Also, any non built-in graphic card would do just fine.

Is there anything that you guys could recommend?

Thanks in advance.
Sounds like a Dell XPS to me....only thing it comes in 15,4'..but other than that, it meets pretty muc meets your requirements.

Actually oso considering the xps for my own usage since its affordable, yet highly featured. Anyone out thr who knows or experienced any prob's with xps or dell laptops in particular? Thx
neugenics
post Sep 26 2008, 09:21 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(fernfern @ Sep 24 2008, 02:26 AM)
Will it lag when I run photoshop on vista? Do I need a dedicated video card?

My budget is RM2k plus. Preferably not Mac laptops. I don't like using them.
It won't lag, but it may take some time to start-up and load the program on vista. Thrfore i recommend XP for u. For that budget, i think you might have to settle for Acer's or Dell's inspiron notebooks.

jon720 Posted Sep 24 2008, 09:58 AM
Budget: 7k
Brand: a few options will be good. exclude Apple and Sony from the list btw.
Specs: light weight, stable, good connectivity ability (preferably with firewire, HDMI, built-in card reader, etc), decent battery life, good looking

thank you!

Err with that budget, you can opt for Fujitsu or just max out one of HP's pavillion notebooks..they look gr8 as well. If you're looking for smtg durable in terms of bat life, try the new dell latitude notebooks with 19hrs bat life. Check em out n Hope this helps.
neugenics
post Jan 20 2009, 05:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ Jan 19 2009, 11:28 PM)
brand : any
budget : 4 - 5k
spec : able to do 2D autoCAD work, watch HD movies, play some light game, solid chasis (no cheap thin plastic that cause hinge cracks)
size : 13", as light as possible.

will use as a portable desktop, when at home will be plugged into a 19" (for now) lcd monitor.

basically looking for something that is better than macbook @ ~macbook price (or cheaper, since macbooks are stereotyped to be freaking overpriced)
Solid chasis, powerful performance and lightweight and at that budget = Dell XPS 13' around 3.6k for std unit. Otherwise, fujitsu is probably ur nxt pick but comes at a higher price.
neugenics
post Jan 21 2009, 10:23 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(nabil123 @ Jan 21 2009, 12:05 AM)
hi!

i wanna ask, for RM 2k-2.5k wat kinda specs can i expect to get on a new laptop? can i have decent, mid range laptop for playing games like crysis, cod 4, etc2 with medium or high setting?
Absolutely NO big time.

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 21 2009, 09:18 AM)
U again? How many time have 2 tell you. No such laptop at 2k can play crysis or COD at med. Aduh, even powerful desktop got problems playing crysis you want laptop somemore.

For 2k you can forget playing any of those games, play dota and maple no problem. Dont even think of trying 2008 games since 2k laptop sure tak boleh.

You want 2 play crysis at med to high, you need at least 5k for good gaming laptop.
Lol, liked how u phrased that.
You're right, coz even some 4k laptops are not able to runCOD n crysis smoothly. However for those who are lil tight on budget n game really hard, thrs this acer notebook that i saw in pc fair last month around RM2999.00. It comes with 4gb ram, & a 512 mb dedicated memory gforce smtg graphic card so on n so forth. That shd allow you to play crysis at full spec. Frm what i rmb, the full range XPS only came with a 256 dedicated memory gforce 9300 or smtg, which will enable u to play crysis but prob only on mid settings.
neugenics
post Jan 21 2009, 02:57 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jacksonyong @ Jan 21 2009, 10:53 AM)
I heard that Acer has alot of problems ?

Like quality problems and so on so for
ya thats the kind of perception we all got from customer complaints. However, i had a fair share of positive comments and many ppl that i know off who use acer computers said they themselves surprisingly had no problems whatsoever after 2-3 years of usage. Long story short, i think acer is definitely not reputable for its quality compared to Fujitsu n so on, but they seem to be improving and many have got away fine with an acer laptop.
ps: [acer, u shd pay me] doh.gif

0.0547sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:30 AM