Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

samliang
post Mar 7 2009, 01:55 AM

❤❤❤❤❤
649 posts

hey guyz can u all suggest me a laptop that around RM2k ~ RM 3k ? thx in advance ...

if can list down the price and the brand for the laptop around RM 2k ~ RM 3k thx.

This post has been edited by samliang: Mar 7 2009, 01:56 AM
N2H5
post Mar 7 2009, 01:58 AM

83 posts

Acer Aspire 4935 and Dell Studio 15 is around that price..for acer its 2999, not sure bout the dell
ahhann
post Mar 7 2009, 01:00 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

Hi Guys, i need to buy 2 lappy here for office use:

2 LAPPY for a total of RM5000 (Max)

First:
- Free OS
- 2G RAM
- no need GC
- Processor enough for normal data typing and DVD viewing (Smooth for HD video)
- Light (2KG ++)
- Prefer 15" and below size (NO for EE pc size tongue.gif )
- 2 year warranty at least

Second:
- Window XP OS (Still available? If not, i have to purchase and install by myself?) *If can, don't want Vista .... as it is HELL slow for a lappy with 2k spec.
- 2G RAM
- No need GC
- Light (2KG ++) for female user.
- Processor enough to run XP smoothly for daily office work(data typing)
- At least 2 year warranty.

* As for the brand, NO Dell and Acer plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz .....
* I have limited experience for laptop usage, need advise from all the notebook user tongue.gif
* Please help as there are hell alot notebook selection out there ><"

This post has been edited by ahhann: Mar 7 2009, 01:02 PM
waruna
post Mar 7 2009, 01:16 PM

543 posts

Need help..

Budget - Around 2K
Payment Method - Installment
Purpose - Work, Surfing, Chatting, Lite Gaming.

Please suggest me a good one... A very thanks in advance wink.gif

already post here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/957074

This post has been edited by waruna: Mar 7 2009, 02:13 PM
ahhann
post Mar 7 2009, 07:46 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

Someone help pls ?

First:
- Free OS
- 2G RAM
- no need GC
- Processor enough for normal data typing and DVD viewing (Smooth for HD video)
- Light (2KG ++)
- Prefer 15" and below size (NO for EE pc size tongue.gif )
- 2 year warranty at least

Second:
- Window XP OS (Still available? If not, i have to purchase and install by myself?) *If can, don't want Vista .... as it is HELL slow for a lappy with 2k spec.
- 2G RAM
- No need GC
- Light (2KG ++) for female user.
- Processor enough to run XP smoothly for daily office work(data typing)
- At least 2 year warranty.

* As for the brand, NO Dell and Acer plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz .....
* I have limited experience for laptop usage, need advise from all the notebook user tongue.gif
* Please help as there are hell alot notebook selection out there ><"
samliang
post Mar 7 2009, 11:04 PM

❤❤❤❤❤
649 posts

hey anyone of u know where to check all the laptop and laptop specs for COMPAQ AND HP brand ? their website doesnt show anything there ...
bmd
post Mar 8 2009, 12:05 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(waruna @ Mar 7 2009, 01:16 PM)
Need help..

Budget - Around 2K
Payment Method - Installment
Purpose - Work, Surfing, Chatting, Lite Gaming.

Please suggest me a good one... A very thanks in advance wink.gif

already post here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/957074
just want to share that Dell got Inspiron 14 which has really great specs for a great price. Only Rm1999 and can get Core2Duo T6400 (2.0GHZ).
If u do not play games that need intense graphics (especially college girls) then go for it. Its Core2Duo and 2GB ram. Weight is 2.11kg.

About the design I am not sure if it is nice as I have not seen the real thing.

Added on March 8, 2009, 12:21 am
QUOTE(ahhann @ Mar 7 2009, 07:46 PM)
Someone help pls ?

Try Asus laptop. They give 2 years international warranty. Try look at AsusF80....2.4kg
Or Compaq try Compaq CQ40-140TU
Lenovo got cheap models also but I cannot remember the model.
Then there is the one that u dont want which is Dell Inspiron or vostro.. Try take a look . might like it

This post has been edited by bmd: Mar 8 2009, 12:21 AM
linkinwayne
post Mar 8 2009, 01:25 PM

247 posts

Hello all. I need some help with choosing a laptop. Details are as below.

1) What is your budget?

Up to RM3000 (preferably less).

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

15" or so.

3) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?

I don't want a Mac. That's about it. Would prefer if it was a bigger brand that has international support since I'll be bringing it to Canada in a couple of months. And I'll be studying there for 4 years.

4) What tasks will you be performing with the notebook?

Microsoft Office stuff. Standard web browsing. Torrents. A bit of audio recording, editing and mixing. Video converting. Hardly any gaming, though.

5) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places or leaving it on your desk?

It'll mostly be left on my desk/in my cupboard. But I'll probably carry it around too if I have an important project/assignment to complete.

6) Will you be playing games on it; if so, which games?

Other than CS, probably not.

7) How many hours of battery life do you need?

At least 2 to 3 hours. Longer battery life would be best, of course.

8) Do you mind buying online without seeing the notebook in person?

No, but only if it's a big brand. Dell etc.

9) What OS do you prefer?

I want to use Vista.

10) Do you want a glossy/reflective screen or a matte/non-glossy screen?

Either one. I prefer matte though.

11) Are the notebook's looks and stylishness important to you?

Not really, but I don't want one that looks like it's an ancient artifact.

12) When are you buying this laptop and how long do you want this laptop to last?

Next week. It has to last at least 4 years.

13) How much hard drive space do you want?

250GB would be the minimum. Would prefer 320GB. Also, I would prefer 7,200rpm.

14) Do you need an optical drive? If yes, a DVD, Blu-Ray or HD-DVD drive?

A DVD burner.

15) Other specifications?
3GB RAM or more would be good.
watever-u-like
post Mar 8 2009, 06:40 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(linkinwayne @ Mar 8 2009, 01:25 PM)
mayb can consider compaq cq40...don know bout the warranty but i heard it is international warranty..
asus also ok...hmmm asus f8 i think..around ur price range...

Avangelice
post Mar 10 2009, 02:52 AM

5,270 posts

There's one laptop I would not recommend are the V3000 laptops from Hp. My laptop's display went black with all LED lights on. Replaced the mother boards 3 times in this two years since buying this lappie and HP blames the video card for over heating the MB. I googled the problem and found out its a global event. Thats the problem you get if you dont research your target lappies and ended wasting my time and my dad's money to send this lappie for repairs. mad.gif
cannavaro
post Mar 11 2009, 01:35 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I actually bought the first batch v3000 (AMD version, 1.6ghz) for my gf way before the problem was detected. sweat.gif
I thought it was the best looking notebook around in that price range, with the best specs-to-price ratio.
Just in case you didn't know, the culprit is NVIDIA.
one of the many sources on the net

Oh and the v3000 series has been phased out AFAIK.

btw ts, have you decided on which notebook to buy?
TSfiredauz
post Mar 11 2009, 03:34 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

V3 had gone waaay over 2500 posts.

New V4 thread is here --> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=961220

0.0243sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:59 AM