haha. you just pass your stpm am i right? congratulation.
okok. back to the topic.
Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
Apr 22 2008, 12:03 AM
1,624 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Between Ground And Sky |
haha. you just pass your stpm am i right? congratulation.
okok. back to the topic. |
Apr 22 2008, 12:05 AM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 21 2008, 11:52 AM) owh2. sorry. i'd forgot about the last sentences in your previous post. well, i cant promise u anything about entering 3rd year. at the moment there's no provision for poly students to skip to 3rd year. and it has not happened in the past.so, UTM diploma student will be entering straight 3rd year degree. while poli and other diploma will be entering the 2nd year. matric, stpm will be entering 1st year. i see... so. i finally get it. UTM diploma student take 6 years to complete degree. Poli and other diploma take min 7 years. matric take 6 years. stpm take 7 years. i see. my father was ok with me going into poli. although he always wanted me to be engineer. just that, my mom don't like it. because to her, poli have no class. die ckp saya buat malu keluarga je kalo pegi poli. many of my teacher and friends saying that it'll be stupid for me to reject matric and go to poli. kawan2 mak pun sama. sumer duk suruh mak jgn bg saya pegi poli. biasak r org pompuan. potpetpotpet. ni x baik, tu x baik. nnt bile dh loaded suruh gak minang anak die. haha. pdulikkan ape yg sy melalut. because, my brother is doing his medic in egypt under MARA. she also think that architecture is even lower ranked than engineering. hard to convince her. If possible, i want to enter architecture from matric because it'll save me 1 year. but, even if i get into architecture from matriculation, with no basic in art, i afraid that i might have a very hard time in degree. but, right now, until i can convince my mother. i'll be pursuing architecture using matriculation route. right now, i afraid that i'll not able to catch-up matriculation syllabus. sbenarnye takut gak nk tolak prmintaan mak. bukan pe. takut nnt kalo bwat perkara x diredhai mak nnt x dpt keberkatan. tu r. mne tau, sbb mak x suke saya bwat architecture, nnt tetiba saya xdpt bawak pelajaran. @azarimy. is there any possibilities for poli student who perform very well in their diploma to skip into 3rd year instead of entering it in 2nd year? and good luck in ur decision making QUOTE(yuexia @ Apr 21 2008, 03:56 PM) OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD congratulations, and above all, good luck! I just checked the mohe web and I GOT THE INTERVIEW on this Sun!! *beams* XD ...sorry. couldn't control myself. i simply Have to tell someone >___< cos' i honestly thought i wasn't going to get the interview after all >____< (um. sorry to interrupt your conversations...ignore me ignore me XD) which university did u get? |
Apr 22 2008, 12:10 AM
2,080 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Current: PJ, Hometown: PG |
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 20 2008, 09:46 AM) I've been reading around for architecture. there are a lot people complaining about assignment to be done. But i don't mind to do many assignment as long I can make it right. hey, that link is frank lyod wright!! the creator of falling water...Normally, for diploma students, what assignment do they usually have in the first year or first sem? those who already have experience studying architecture or right now studying architecture are encouraged to reply. thanks in advance. I studied "lukisan kejuruteraan" subject during my spm years. will it be applied in architecture? @azarimy. Is it true that sometime lecturer from university come to politeknik to give lectures? sorry for asking to much question. who earn more? naval architect or building architect? from what i know, if normal architect pursue naval architecture field, he'll have some problem for his part 3. edited: do construction like SMART tunnel & projects Dam requires architect or it just the engineer to design it? added: hey. i found this link. haha. it's like the sims do try their design studio. Architect Studio 3D dude, thanks for the searching results.. btw, i need to do some intro here, architecture student from equator academy of art... nice to meet u guys! |
Apr 22 2008, 12:21 AM
46 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: HK/Penang |
hehe XD (okay, still in the hyperactive/overjoyed mode)
(oh and to Destroyer: yes, i just did STPM last year, going into undergraduate studies i went to the UKM interview last Sat (2 days, er, *glances at the time*, no, 3 days ago) and the interview this Sun is from UTM~~ ^^ but i didn't get the interview from USM though (which falls on this coming Thursday, my friend got the phone call). but then USM is my third choice so...guess i sort of saw it coming >< neeeway, too happy now. not sure whether i can sleep tonight oh ya, opinions opinions: in the surat tawaran we were only asked to 'membawa alat tulis seperti pencil 2B, getah pemadam untuk ujian melukis'. but a senior of mine (currently 1st year in UTM Arch ^^) told me when her batch was invited for the interview last year they were specifically asked to bring one coloured drawing and one sketch. so...any particular reason for the change in this year's interview? do you think i should bring some drawings? not that i have any right now...but if i Have to...i mean, if there are advantages... |
Apr 22 2008, 01:39 AM
QUOTE(yuexia @ Apr 21 2008, 04:21 PM) hehe XD (okay, still in the hyperactive/overjoyed mode) i'm not sure if it's an actual change, but previously they've only mentioned for the students to bring any sample drawings that they've done previously. they were never specific about it, just general work would do. if they havent informed u to bring anything, it doesnt hurt for u to prepare it. there will be aptitude test during the interview where u'd be asked to draw or sketch, but we all know u could produce better product WITHOUT pressure, right? believe me, i've seen lotsa crappy stuff during aptitude test, but in actual fact, they are really good in producing meticulous artwork in their own time.(oh and to Destroyer: yes, i just did STPM last year, going into undergraduate studies i went to the UKM interview last Sat (2 days, er, *glances at the time*, no, 3 days ago) and the interview this Sun is from UTM~~ ^^ but i didn't get the interview from USM though (which falls on this coming Thursday, my friend got the phone call). but then USM is my third choice so...guess i sort of saw it coming >< neeeway, too happy now. not sure whether i can sleep tonight oh ya, opinions opinions: in the surat tawaran we were only asked to 'membawa alat tulis seperti pencil 2B, getah pemadam untuk ujian melukis'. but a senior of mine (currently 1st year in UTM Arch ^^) told me when her batch was invited for the interview last year they were specifically asked to bring one coloured drawing and one sketch. so...any particular reason for the change in this year's interview? do you think i should bring some drawings? not that i have any right now...but if i Have to...i mean, if there are advantages... anyways, details of what to do or what goes on during UTM's interview can be found here: tanggam.com. u might need to register first if u cant view the topic. |
Apr 22 2008, 12:25 PM
777 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
I have a question that I would like to ask out of pure curiosity;
Does UTM Kuala Lumpur accept non-SPM students into their diploma programs; students who graduated from private and international high schools? (EG. The Garden International School and such...) This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Apr 22 2008, 12:31 PM |
Apr 22 2008, 12:27 PM
9 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hi, azarimy
thanx for ur response. well, i'm not so sure whether UiTM accepts students from IIUM foundation center, but recently i've heard that some students from here are accepted to UTM in architecture. (or is it UiTM? i can't really remember if it's UTM or UiTM. hehe..) and i suppose, other unis might as well do the same don't they? do correct me if i'm wrong, though. u mentioned in your response that i can still apply for UiTM's diploma program. so, i'm wondering whether i should apply online or by post? because unlike any other last year's SPM candidates, i took SPM in 2006. so, can i still apply for their diploma program then? will the process be the same as applying for the UPU just like i did last 2 years? and, can i still apply for UiTM's 2nd intake when i didn't apply for the 1st one? do u know what's the requirement for UiTM's ID diploma or degree program? p/s : i'm sorry for asking too many questions.. |
Apr 22 2008, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(myesarah @ Apr 22 2008, 12:27 PM) hi, azarimy as far as i know, UiTM don't have diploma program for architecture. they only have straight to degree. no diploma.thanx for ur response. well, i'm not so sure whether UiTM accepts students from IIUM foundation center, but recently i've heard that some students from here are accepted to UTM in architecture. (or is it UiTM? i can't really remember if it's UTM or UiTM. hehe..) and i suppose, other unis might as well do the same don't they? do correct me if i'm wrong, though. u mentioned in your response that i can still apply for UiTM's diploma program. so, i'm wondering whether i should apply online or by post? because unlike any other last year's SPM candidates, i took SPM in 2006. so, can i still apply for their diploma program then? will the process be the same as applying for the UPU just like i did last 2 years? and, can i still apply for UiTM's 2nd intake when i didn't apply for the 1st one? do u know what's the requirement for UiTM's ID diploma or degree program? p/s : i'm sorry for asking too many questions.. meaning, that you'll be entering their Part 1 degree program instead of diploma. mybe Sir Azarimy can give better explaination. This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 22 2008, 12:32 PM |
Apr 22 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 22 2008, 12:31 PM) as far as i know, UiTM don't have diploma program for architecture. they only have straight to degree. no diploma. hi destroyer,meaning, that you'll be entering their Part 1 degree program instead of diploma. mybe Sir Azarimy can give better explaination. UiTM may not have diploma in archi. but then, i'm applying for ID, not archi. thanx for responding though anyway, what course are u taking n in which uni? This post has been edited by myesarah: Apr 22 2008, 04:11 PM |
Apr 22 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Apr 22 2008, 04:25 AM) I have a question that I would like to ask out of pure curiosity; UTM do accept O-levels, but only under two circumstances:Does UTM Kuala Lumpur accept non-SPM students into their diploma programs; students who graduated from private and international high schools? (EG. The Garden International School and such...) i. u're not a malaysian citizen; or ii. u're a citizen, but SPM was not available to u (bcoz of living abroad with parents etc). those who chose to study non-SPM certificates despite being available to them are highly unlikely to be entertained. but u can try though. QUOTE(myesarah @ Apr 22 2008, 04:27 AM) hi, azarimy + other unis might accept IIUM's foundation, but i'm pretty sure it's not UTM, or else i would have heard it. or maybe they just didnt bother to tell me LOL. but do remember that it is not the policy of IPTAs to accept each other's foundation students. foundation is a programme that feeds directly to a degree course of a particular university. it is never meant to serve as a feeder programme to other universities like matriculations.thanx for ur response. well, i'm not so sure whether UiTM accepts students from IIUM foundation center, but recently i've heard that some students from here are accepted to UTM in architecture. (or is it UiTM? i can't really remember if it's UTM or UiTM. hehe..) and i suppose, other unis might as well do the same don't they? do correct me if i'm wrong, though. u mentioned in your response that i can still apply for UiTM's diploma program. so, i'm wondering whether i should apply online or by post? because unlike any other last year's SPM candidates, i took SPM in 2006. so, can i still apply for their diploma program then? will the process be the same as applying for the UPU just like i did last 2 years? and, can i still apply for UiTM's 2nd intake when i didn't apply for the 1st one? do u know what's the requirement for UiTM's ID diploma or degree program? p/s : i'm sorry for asking too many questions.. + u can do it online, or by post, or by going there urself. + yes, u would have to apply just like anybody else regardless of when u took ur SPM. + it's not called 2nd intake. 2nd intake is for those who didnt make the first cut, but were called eventually to fill in the empty slots left by the 1st intake. in UiTM, there's two intakes: july and january. so it's a totally fresh process entirely. if u've applied for july but didnt get it, it doesnt mean u'll automatically be put into january intake. + no, i dont know ID programme's requirement. but u can find it out as easy as googling UiTM's diploma programme or checking out their website |
Apr 22 2008, 08:21 PM
QUOTE D08 - DIPLOMA SENI BINA Program ini bertujuan membentuk kebolehan pelajar sebagai pereka bentuk dalam bidang seni bina. Pelajar-pelajar juga dilatih menyediakan kerja-kerja reka bentuk dan lukisan persembahan seni bina secara konvensional dan terbantu komputer. Di antara mata pelajarannya ialah Lukisan Seni Bina, Reka Bentuk Seni Bina, Bahan dan Binaan, Perkhidmatan Bangunan, Struktur Seni Bina, CADD, Sejarah Seni Bina, Sains Persekitaran dan Amalan Seni Bina. Lulusan diploma mempunyai peluang pekerjaan yang meluas di firma-firma arkitek atau pembinaan sebagai Pembantu Arkitek atau pereka manakala di sektor awam mereka boleh bekerja di jabatan-jabatan kerajaan sebagai Pembantu Teknik Seni Bina atau melanjutkan pelajaran mereka ke peringkat yang lebih tinggi. this is the synopsis i get from politeknik website about their Diploma Seni Bina program. what do you think about the exmple of the syllabus in it sir azarimy? is it a standard syllabus for architecture? i know that every school have different syllabus. what do you think about poli syllabus? This post has been edited by destroyer: Apr 22 2008, 09:11 PM |
Apr 23 2008, 01:50 AM
QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 22 2008, 12:21 PM) this is the synopsis i get from politeknik website about their Diploma Seni Bina program. lets compare in english. what do you think about the exmple of the syllabus in it sir azarimy? is it a standard syllabus for architecture? i know that every school have different syllabus. what do you think about poli syllabus? polytechnic: architectural drawings, architectural design, material and constructions, building services, structure, CADD, architectural history, environmental science and architectural practice. UTM diploma: design, architectural theory and history (from early civilizations to modern history), structure (short to long span), building services, environmental physics, architectural practice, architectural computing, material and constructions (steel, bricks, concrete and timber) and measured drawing. there are also elective subjects that u could take (optional) to enhance certain aspects of urself - architectural presentation (both verbal and presentation), advanced computings, management, detailed history, behaviours, socio-cultures and so on. generally it's about the same. but the content might be different. emphasis are different too. for example, design subjects in UTM accumulates about 50% of the entire education. so u can imagine how design is being given extra emphasis. |
Apr 23 2008, 09:30 AM
56 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
to benjamin911
are u currently in taylors for their architecture programme? diploma or degree? may i know how is it there? i'm checking out on ucsi, limkokwing and taylors for their architecture programme. thanks |
Apr 23 2008, 04:11 PM
sir azarimy,
let's say if i do apply for UiTM's ID diploma later, and if i'm accepted, will they put me in the 1st year of the diploma program or straight to the 2nd/3rd year program since i've taken a foundation in IIUM? oh,ok, i'll google the requirements right away. *giggle* and by the way, out of my curiosity, what courses are u studying in PhD of archi? and from which uni did u get ur diploma and degree from? and my last words for now, pls pray for me that i'll be accepted for IIUM ID's degree. it'll be much easier that way. |
Apr 23 2008, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(myesarah @ Apr 23 2008, 08:11 AM) sir azarimy, + i'm not sure. i guess they may let u skip 1 semester the most, assuming they'd accept the subjects in ur foundation for a credit transfer. it all depends on how much UiTM's ID would recognize the subjects u've taken. but just assume u'd start from scratch, so that u dont get any hopes up.let's say if i do apply for UiTM's ID diploma later, and if i'm accepted, will they put me in the 1st year of the diploma program or straight to the 2nd/3rd year program since i've taken a foundation in IIUM? oh,ok, i'll google the requirements right away. *giggle* and by the way, out of my curiosity, what courses are u studying in PhD of archi? and from which uni did u get ur diploma and degree from? and my last words for now, pls pray for me that i'll be accepted for IIUM ID's degree. it'll be much easier that way. + i'm studying architecture education and the virtual environment at phd level in university of sheffield. i graduated my diploma and degree in architecture from UTM (skudai), and my masters (in virtual environment) from the bartlett school of architecture, university college london. + well good luck and all the best to ya! (that's me prayin'...) |
Apr 23 2008, 06:17 PM
it's me again
i'm preparing for the interview and am trying to read up on famous architects. i found one website the other day Famous architects. there are 33 architects listed So here are the names and i was wondering can anyone who knows these famous people give me some pointers as to which one i should know by heart? thanks~~ heheh. Adolf Loos -- Albert Kahn -- Aldo Rossi -- Alvar Aalto -- Alvaro Siza -- Antonio Gaudi -- Carlo Scarpa -- Eliel Saarinen -- Frank Lloyd Wright -- Frank Owen Gehry -- Fumihiko Maki -- Gottfried Boehm -- Kevin Roche -- Marcel Breuer -- Charles Ormond Eames -- Christopher Wren -- Ieoh Ming Pei -- James Stirling -- Kenzo Tange -- Henry Hobson Richardson -- Le Corbusier -- Louis Henry Sullivan -- Louis Isadore Kahn -- Luis Barragan -- Ludwig Mies van der Rohe -- Mario Botta -- Michael Graves -- Oscar Niemeyer -- Paolo Soleri -- Renzo Piano -- Richard Meier -- Robert Venturi -- Tadao Ando So far I only know(...okay, sort of know) Frank Lloyd Wright, Frank Gehry and Le Corbusier. and also Dr Ken Yeang, Tengku Robert Hamzah, Cesar Pelli. i went to the public library and found a biography of John Nash, but turned out he wasn't on this list thanks veryvery much~~~ |
Apr 23 2008, 06:30 PM
just concentrate on FLW, gehry and le corb for the international architects. i doubt u're gonna spend more than 10 minutes talking about them in the interviews. knowing what they've built, just 1 or 2 prominent buildings is fine.
then u go and pick up one or two local architects (ken yeang and tr hamzah is from the same office, so counts as one |
Apr 23 2008, 06:37 PM
Thanks azarimy!! will go search for them now~~
and also one more thing. i've been trying to search for forum or sites that give comments on buildings, i.e. its practicality, influences towards the surroundings, etc but to no avail. are there sites like those? or maybe discussion forums? i read about the design of the umno penang building (by TR Hamzah & Yeang) and have some questions on it... This post has been edited by yuexia: Apr 23 2008, 07:00 PM |
Apr 23 2008, 07:04 PM
gosh...
based on my reading. all architect are marvelous people. they not only an architect, some are even well known engineer, musician, writer and famous artist. @azarimy. since you're an architect, how do actually architect become master in more than one profession? for example. there are many architects that is also a great engineers. do their learning during architecture studies enhance or give them special abilities of solving problem or create a new thing? how do architect build the skills that is not directly involved in their profession such as engineering skills? you've mention once that an architecture consists of 3 parts art, 4 parts science, 3 parts social skills. do this part help build up their engineering skills? or is it because they are awesome thinker. who always want to make world a better place to live? |
Apr 23 2008, 08:08 PM
QUOTE(yuexia @ Apr 23 2008, 10:37 AM) Thanks azarimy!! will go search for them now~~ i'm not sure. for malaysian buildings, u could try tanggam.com.and also one more thing. i've been trying to search for forum or sites that give comments on buildings, i.e. its practicality, influences towards the surroundings, etc but to no avail. are there sites like those? or maybe discussion forums? i read about the design of the umno penang building (by TR Hamzah & Yeang) and have some questions on it... QUOTE(destroyer @ Apr 23 2008, 11:04 AM) gosh... for dual professions like architect+engineer, they need to be qualified in both. literally meaning they would need to get a degree in both architecture and engineering. experience alone is not enough. but there are architecture-engineering joint degrees available, like the one in sheffield. taking those courses will accredit u both as an architect and an engineer. the course takes slightly longer than normal architecture degree.based on my reading. all architect are marvelous people. they not only an architect, some are even well known engineer, musician, writer and famous artist. @azarimy. since you're an architect, how do actually architect become master in more than one profession? for example. there are many architects that is also a great engineers. do their learning during architecture studies enhance or give them special abilities of solving problem or create a new thing? how do architect build the skills that is not directly involved in their profession such as engineering skills? architecture education is very different from normal education. we're more constructivist and highly depends on cognition rather than passive absorption of memory. most of the time, the way u learn in architecture is through output rather than input. strange isnt it? and architects always try to solve problem. it's part of their cognitive process. even edward de bono who wrote the manual about cognition and the whole problem solving deal derived a lot of his material from how architects think. aside from that, architecture isnt called the mother of all arts for nothing. u master architecture, u could master in any branch of arts u want. in malaysia, notable figures who used to do architecture or at least study it are: afdlin shauki (actor, singer), halim othman (radio DJ) and azhar sulaiman (actor). internationally, u might know bands like suede or the tears, who're alumni of the bartlett. QUOTE you've mention once that an architecture consists of 3 parts art, 4 parts science, 3 parts social skills. do this part help build up their engineering skills? or is it because they are awesome thinker. who always want to make world a better place to live? well, no. those doesnt help engineering skills directly. and both would wanna make the world a better place, but architects do have a bigger role to play in it. |
| Change to: | 0.0343sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:31 PM |