--

jerk
post Jul 13 2008, 09:39 PM

1,039 posts

just want to ask a Q.

when are you all flying back to aus in feb after the cny next year?

mwkh_hope
post Jul 13 2008, 10:59 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(jerk @ Jul 13 2008, 09:39 PM)
just want to ask a Q.
when are you all flying back to aus in feb after the cny next year?
I would say that is still depends on different person. Some ppl prefer to go back 1 week b4 uni starts, some prefer go back late, some prefer to go back on the day b4 the class starts.. tongue.gif

But purchasing air ticket is still the problem...
onelove89
post Jul 13 2008, 11:09 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

definitely after cny xD I MISSED THIS YEARS CNY! =__= anyway, hello guys, long time din come in liao =/
jerk
post Jul 13 2008, 11:09 PM

1,039 posts

ya..having trouble doing a passport asap.

thus, kind of scared that air tickets is running out
n20nine
post Jul 13 2008, 11:42 PM

909 posts

hey guys, goin to la trobe uni...leaving tomorrow (tues) early morning flight outta penang to KL..and KL to melbourne...arriving at 7.35pm...heard its real cold there...got some winter stuff...hope its sufficient...

prob is, i still cant get a room...looking at somewhere nearby uni and has to be max 160 per week? if u guys know of any, pls. let me know..still looking around as well..oh ya, am at the bundoora campus..commerce student.
ark890
post Jul 14 2008, 12:58 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(lulstastic @ Jul 13 2008, 05:17 PM)
for melbourne, rm130k per year is enough right? 90k for the course and 40k for living expenses?
Cost also increases as you approach the final year.

130k-150k is ok if you only have 2 meals on most days and be very thrifty with spending.
How much can you get away with your daily spending for transport and food?
Air fare to return to Malaysia say once a year?

Need to do some odd jobs if you want extra pocket money that is even if your parents can afford a near half a million education for your future.Enough to buy your daily meals.

Possible but barely just to make things easier.

Not easy with many uncertainties.If something comes up like if you fail 1-2 subjects, it's enough to drag you another semester which will prolong your study years.I don't want to instill fear but failing in Australian courses is not something impossible from experience.When they say your duration of study is 2-3 years that is if you manage to get through without failing any subjects.
onelove89
post Jul 14 2008, 07:28 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

i'm pretty sure aus now is pretty cold =/ esp nite time even in perth. West aus is normally not tat cold compared to the east side like melb.=/
haya
post Jul 14 2008, 08:41 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Facts of life people. You can't say you weren't warned. Education is a comodity. Which is why I keep saying: "Don't base on where you go on the university". Take into account other factors such as cost of living, whether you can get concession fares etc.

But I still bump into too many people from NSW who complain why they don't get concession fares despite them paying 2.3 times more than domestic students, and thay they "contribute" to the Australian economy. *sigh*

The question I would like to ask: why Melbourne (and/or Sydney)? Sure, I would love to study in one of Australia's most prestegious and oldest university, but few of us here are "millionaires". And frankly, I don't think I'm disadvantaged in any way compared to the "sandstone universities".

You still can get a damn good education in places like Adelaide and Hobart, with significantly lover cost of living.

And on another note, if anyone is planning to fly back at the end of this year, you might like to book now.
TSKVReninem
post Jul 14 2008, 08:52 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ark890 @ Jul 13 2008, 05:28 PM)
Life for professional degree courses like Architecture,Engineering, Medical in Australia is tough!
Unless your parents are millionaires funding your 3-4 years is near impossible.

This is not forgetting their super tough examinations and course works.

Read this news article: http://www.theage.com.au/news/education-ne...0765186626.html

It says foreign students have to survive on beans, weet-bix in plain water, free university bread hand-outs because of the surge in room rentals in Melbourne.Those greedy landlords cram up to 14 people into a single home with each person paying like AUD$150 per week while you only get to earn like AUD$100 per week doing odd jobs.

Quote from the news article above
KVReninem, can i ask how to you manage to beat the rising cost there?Seriously, just on rents, AUD$600-800 per month is insane.As I said, only millionaires can do professional degrees there. laugh.gif
who are you?
it is the australia & failed to meet increasing demand. plenty room for growth but the govt failed to move quick and meet the demand.so it impacted everyone from aussie to intl student.it is the regulation slow and take too much coffee break in doing a single piece of work.

like saying; too casual till nothing is done. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jul 14 2008, 08:56 AM
lawl
post Jul 14 2008, 09:38 AM

574 posts

How about living cost in Brisbane?
chris_c28
post Jul 14 2008, 10:37 AM

882 posts

It's not just students who are being affected. The entire country is experiencing severe economic pressures because prices are increasing significantly while wages remain pretty much stagnant.
eRiCCa
post Jul 14 2008, 05:06 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(lulstastic @ Jul 13 2008, 11:44 PM)
btw, im going to melb this tuesday and will jyust wear a tshirt + hoodie at the airport

enough? i mean, how cold is it in melb now.. tongue.gif
NO!!! very cold!!! at least i am!! grrrrr... unless your hoodie is super thick!! at night i sleep with my pyjamas + 1 hoodie + 3 blankets... HAHAHHAHAHAHA... no kidding...

QUOTE(ark890 @ Jul 14 2008, 12:58 AM)
Cost also increases as you approach the final year.

130k-150k is ok if you only have 2 meals on most days and be very thrifty with spending.
How much can you get away with your daily spending for transport and food?
Air fare to return to Malaysia say once a year?

Need to do some odd jobs if you want extra pocket money that is even if your parents can afford a near half a million education for your future.Enough to buy your daily meals.

Possible but barely just to make things easier.

Not easy with many uncertainties.If something comes up like if you fail 1-2 subjects, it's enough to drag you another semester which will prolong your study years.I don't want to instill fear but failing in Australian courses is not something impossible from experience.When they say your duration of study is 2-3 years that is if you manage to get through without failing any subjects.
i am not gonna comment on tuition fees, as it varies depending on unis and also courses and also they are fixed, so you cant really adjust them... so let's talk about the living costs...

i guess not everyone is so particular on 3 meals a day, and also 3 meals eating out? i think most of the people or at least most of the people that i know, only having 2 meals a day... and i dont think everyone eats out every meal though... and then rental, i still know people who live far from the city and paying only 300bucks per month per room... as well as i know people who never go back to malaysia for once during their 3 years stay...

it really comes down to how you wanna live... obviously knowing your own financial ability, and be rational about your spending... dont overly luxurize yourself...

hmmm... ok i was graduated 2 years ago after 4 years studying of my 3 years course... *yes lar i failed lar duh* but so what, as long as you know what you doing, and in the end i graduated also what...
haya
post Jul 14 2008, 05:13 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jul 14 2008, 10:37 AM)
It's not just students who are being affected. The entire country is experiencing severe economic pressures because prices are increasing significantly while wages remain pretty much stagnant.
It seems like a global trend. Not only Malaysians are affected by soaring costs of living. Across the ditch things are not much better either. Rent going up, and when the minimum wage goes up, the trade unions come out and the RBA threatens to rise interest rates again.

I think I can see a global recession coming up.

BTW, in Brisbane I can survive on $12k/year. And that includes rent, food etc, but excludes fees. It isn't the most active life, but it get's me through, even if I have to console myself "one day at a time, one day at a time" every morning.

This post has been edited by haya: Jul 14 2008, 05:14 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jul 14 2008, 10:08 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(ark890 @ Jul 13 2008, 04:28 PM)
Life for professional degree courses like Architecture,Engineering, Medical in Australia is tough!
Unless your parents are millionaires funding your 3-4 years is near impossible.

This is not forgetting their super tough examinations and course works.

Read this news article: http://www.theage.com.au/news/education-ne...0765186626.html

It says foreign students have to survive on beans, weet-bix in plain water, free university bread hand-outs because of the surge in room rentals in Melbourne.Those greedy landlords cram up to 14 people into a single home with each person paying like AUD$150 per week while you only get to earn like AUD$100 per week doing odd jobs.

Quote from the news article above
KVReninem, can i ask how to you manage to beat the rising cost there?Seriously, just on rents, AUD$600-800 per month is insane.As I said, only millionaires can do professional degrees there. laugh.gif
Jimat cermat a bit loh my friend... no one forced you to come to Australia anyway tongue.gif

Still, if you're already here and the cost of living is a big burden... try to save as much as you can I guess... entertainment costs are the easiest to cut down. Screw cinemas... why bother paying 13-16 bucks when renting a DVD is available for 1 buck? Or just use BT whistling.gif Pubs... nah... why burn money there? Entrance fee is already a killer (unless you're a lass going during ladies' night)... don't drink so much loh... alcohol is bad for the liver.

The dire state of students cramping like sardines are not commonly seen I guess. Internationals students esp Malaysians are still pretty ok over here, but of course don't compare to wealthy Indonesian Chinese sweat.gif

Went to Mornington Peninsula today... very shiok ah, although spent most of the time driving around looking at Melway tongue.gif
Hot spring... WAHHHHHHHHHHHH.... shioknya...
pangping1510
post Jul 14 2008, 11:09 PM

1,007 posts

hmm anyone in UQ/brisbane/gold coast?

where should i fly to? brisbane or gold coast for my september holiday? help me....><
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Jul 15 2008, 12:06 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

when to start applying for Uni?

Coz i applied for RMIT Foundation, and it hasn't even started yet (starting in 2 weeks) and my dad is already pressuring me to apply for Uni...

But i dont even noe what i wana do yet! I am hoping the foundation course will be my guide to help me decide... but like i said, the course hasnt started, and I'm not even in Australia yet!
haya
post Jul 15 2008, 01:35 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Jul 14 2008, 11:09 PM)
hmm anyone in UQ/brisbane/gold coast?

where should i fly to? brisbane or gold coast for my september holiday? help me....><
This is more for people flying from Malaysia, but I'll get to pangping1510's query further down.

One thing I can tell you is that Gold Coast Airport is not much better than the airports in regional Malaysia. While there is public transport connectivity (in the form of wait 1 hr for a normal bus, take it, go on the most long winded route ever, arrive at Robina train station, 1.5 hrs to Brisbane Central), you might be better off just taking a taxi to Robina at least, then taking the train.

Do keep in mind if you fly on a Sunday D7 lands at OOL at some funky times of 10.30pm and 4am. With the former the airport may be dead, and the latter getting a taxi will be near impossible at the hour. Flying on Mon/Wed/Fri sees you land at 7.30am, but if you do take the train from Robina prepare to be squashed.

As for pangping1510, it all depends on where you want to go. If you're happy coasting at Gold Coast, and maybe rent a car to get around(highly recommended, as public transport at the Coast leaves a bit to be desired), OOL isn't that bad, and it is quite convinent. Public transportation wise, BNE is better served than OOL to the major settelments. (BNE has the Airtrain, never mind the last train is at 7pm, plus buses and catching a taxi at BNE is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay easier than getting a taxi from Central/Roma St.)

It all depends on what you want really.
eRiCCa
post Jul 15 2008, 04:11 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jul 14 2008, 10:08 PM)
Jimat cermat a bit loh my friend... no one forced you to come to Australia anyway tongue.gif

Still, if you're already here and the cost of living is a big burden... try to save as much as you can I guess... entertainment costs are the easiest to cut down. Screw cinemas... why bother paying 13-16 bucks when renting a DVD is available for 1 buck? Or just use BT whistling.gif Pubs... nah... why burn money there? Entrance fee is already a killer (unless you're a lass going during ladies' night)... don't drink so much loh... alcohol is bad for the liver.

The dire state of students cramping like sardines are not commonly seen I guess. Internationals students esp Malaysians are still pretty ok over here, but of course don't compare to wealthy Indonesian Chinese sweat.gif

Went to Mornington Peninsula today... very shiok ah, although spent most of the time driving around looking at Melway tongue.gif
Hot spring... WAHHHHHHHHHHHH.... shioknya...
yea man, there is always ways to cut down on your expenses, but if you are not that well doing and wanna have the life of richie rich... then you memang got mental/attitude problem...

BUT... NO WAY, how can you have a student life without those DRUNKING DAYS... sounds so wrong... once in a lifetime wei... =P *okokok bad influence here*

hey the peninsula hot spring is great isn't it, especially during winter!! did you go to the private one? where you can go in naked... brows.gif
jackanory
post Jul 15 2008, 08:23 PM

349 posts

any info abt studying in perth ? thx
onelove89
post Jul 15 2008, 08:25 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

hehe, luckily i don drink =) or go clubbing. =P anyway, wanna ask, how is a lawyer's life in aus, anyone knows? Wanna gather up info bout law cos I have no background knowledge bout it =/

124 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:09 AM