--

HyeoshinX
post Jun 27 2008, 02:36 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 27 2008, 02:30 PM)
hmmm... apparently you can do jobs like call centre telemarketing they pay a lot and easy to get... as so many jobs available... and not many people want to do... as you will get scolding a lot... the rate is around... 25 per hour i guess... for the tax rates... www.ato.gov.au can help you...

well... yes the food is... 10bucks PER MEAL... and it's the suckiest meal you can get... if you want to get like a PROPER meal... that will cost you around 20bucks... or you can have your MCDs all the time... 5bucks per meal... for me a girl... for a guy... still around 8bucks i think... so... food is expensive... UNLESS... you cook at home... maybe you can survive with 10bucks for 3 meals...
Or got relatives in here in Australia (ehehe like me) no need to worry so much about dinner..lunch still have to buy though cry.gif cry.gif
wongb03
post Jun 27 2008, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 27 2008, 02:30 PM)
hmmm... apparently you can do jobs like call centre telemarketing they pay a lot and easy to get... as so many jobs available... and not many people want to do... as you will get scolding a lot... the rate is around... 25 per hour i guess... for the tax rates... www.ato.gov.au can help you...

well... yes the food is... 10bucks PER MEAL... and it's the suckiest meal you can get... if you want to get like a PROPER meal... that will cost you around 20bucks... or you can have your MCDs all the time... 5bucks per meal... for me a girl... for a guy... still around 8bucks i think... so... food is expensive... UNLESS... you cook at home... maybe you can survive with 10bucks for 3 meals...
The tax rate in Australia
0-6000 no tax
6000-30,000 portion 15% tax

thats probably all u need to know for tax, for work im thinking $25p/h is quite a generous estimate, I would say more 15-22 depending on what you do, for example the bigger supermarkets such as coles and woolworths for anyone older than 20 pay almost $20, however it is hard for overseas students to get these jobs. Also telemarketting, everyone hates telemarketers I really dont think its a job u want to do.

Meals, I would def recommend learning to cook, the food is pretty shit on the cheap end, and even the expensive stuff sometimes - but u have to remember other stuff like toiletries, etc tissues it really adds up. i think 2 minute noodles is going to be a steady diet. yup i would say $10 a meal easy for very average food.

chris_c28
post Jun 27 2008, 03:25 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jun 27 2008, 01:44 PM)
I am really sorry abt my post if its hard for u guys to read

as u guys said students can earn 15k per yr or for 9 months but the point is how by doing which jobs can i earn 15 k AUD in 9 months? can u give some examples and working only 20 hrs a week mind u and also How much percentage of your income do u have to give as tax.
I heard its 33% is it true? if thats true then i have to give 5k aud as tax and  will have 10 k left provided if i earn 15 k per yr and then again i will be 5 k short so how are you guys managing this plz tell me are your parents financing your living costs as well?
How much % percentage Tax do u guys pay and do u get any tax refunds?
About the accomodation if i live further away from uni suburbs the cost will be low but the cost in transport will increase right?  so will it save any money suppose i live near uni give $200/week and if i live further renting 180/week but the cost of transport is $20 to $30/week then its a loss right

Are guys really serious about the Food?? I Mean $10/meaL Cmon??
we eat three meals a day so it will $30 /day and $900/month only on meals ? DamN or is it $10/day in three meals??
You're not expected to work to pay your uni fees. You work to partially offset your expenses. If you intend to study here, you should really calculate the cost first because chances are, you won't be able to work to pay for your fees as you are only limited to 20 hours/week during session and full time during holidays.
babiix
post Jun 27 2008, 03:26 PM

81 posts

No offense.. I heard that it was really hard to get a telemarketing job or whatever as an overseas student. They ain't really diggin' the accent.
eRiCCa
post Jun 27 2008, 03:35 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(babiix @ Jun 27 2008, 03:26 PM)
No offense.. I heard that it was really hard to get a telemarketing job or whatever as an overseas student.  They ain't really diggin' the accent.
really? but how come so many indians doing that?

OH YEA, if you want to be a TAXI DRIVER too!! so many indians doing... and they actually making quite a bit...

but then again, dont plan to earn your tuition fees OR even daily expenses here... pretty hard though... unless you are really good and lucky and hard working and PRETTY!! HAHHAHAHAHA... my friend could work like a super girl, and she is pretty and hardworking... she used to work everyday... and in those restaurants where they pay 20bucks per hour + 100bucks tips a day... so... it depends AGAIN... normal people CANT do that!!

chris_c28
post Jun 27 2008, 04:21 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 27 2008, 03:35 PM)
really? but how come so many indians doing that?

OH YEA, if you want to be a TAXI DRIVER too!! so many indians doing... and they actually making quite a bit...

but then again, dont plan to earn your tuition fees OR even daily expenses here... pretty hard though... unless you are really good and lucky and hard working and PRETTY!! HAHHAHAHAHA... my friend could work like a super girl, and she is pretty and hardworking... she used to work everyday... and in those restaurants where they pay 20bucks per hour + 100bucks tips a day... so... it depends AGAIN... normal people CANT do that!!
How does your friend perform academically?

The issue is you come here primarily to obtain a good education, not to work, but I guess some people have different goals.
jae
post Jun 27 2008, 05:29 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jun 27 2008, 01:44 PM)

as u guys said students can earn 15k per yr or for 9 months but the point is how by doing which jobs can i earn 15 k AUD in 9 months? can u give some examples and working only 20 hrs a week mind u and also How much percentage of your income do u have to give as tax.
I heard its 33% is it true? if thats true then i have to give 5k aud as tax and  will have 10 k left provided if i earn 15 k per yr and then again i will be 5 k short so how are you guys managing this plz tell me are your parents financing your living costs as well?
About the accomodation if i live further away from uni suburbs the cost will be low but the cost in transport will increase right?  so will it save any money suppose i live near uni give $200/week and if i live further renting 180/week but the cost of transport is $20 to $30/week then its a loss right

we eat three meals a day so it will $30 /day and $900/month only on meals ? DamN or is it $10/day in three meals??
Jobs in those big supermarket chains such as coles and woolies pay approx $20/hr, and you are allowed to work full time during semester breaks. However, having that said, your primary reason here is to study, if you need to work really hard to cover your tuition fees and expenses, you should seriously reconsider your decision about coming over.

Someone has just mentioned the tax rate, for the first $6k you make will not be taxed. For more info, just look at the ATO website here.

Meals wise, I'd say $8 to $9 a meal on average should be decent enough, it'd be a lot cheaper if you cook yourself.
Cheesenium
post Jun 27 2008, 05:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jun 27 2008, 05:29 PM)
Meals wise, I'd say $8 to $9 a meal on average should be decent enough, it'd be a lot cheaper if you cook yourself.
I think $5-10 is sufficient for me.
TSKVReninem
post Jun 27 2008, 06:49 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 27 2008, 12:51 PM)
come let's have a MELB gathering at desserts house... muahahahahahaha~
dun wan ler..desserts house eatery tat in swaston street? ..better nasi lemak house tongue.gif or...err sambal kampung thumbup.gif or err. sumwhr worth Malaysian tongue.gif

Added on June 27, 2008, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jun 27 2008, 02:44 PM)

dude, im no joking here. this is free economy in Australia, as long the purchase power increase, fuel price increase..everything goes up and up..nth come down unless fuel price come down.
your food in shops also increase their price.this is just daily observation as jobless person. If you earn in AUD then it is different story.

QUOTE(HyeoshinX @ Jun 27 2008, 03:36 PM)
Or got relatives in here in Australia (ehehe like me) no need to worry so much about dinner..lunch still have to buy though  cry.gif  cry.gif
just lunch for you arldy cry, atleast it is still better where you can look for your lunch and hav time with friends. some dont even hav such lucky as you.

QUOTE(wongb03 @ Jun 27 2008, 03:49 PM)
The tax rate in Australia
0-6000 no tax
6000-30,000 portion 15% tax

thats probably all u need to know for tax, for work im thinking $25p/h is quite a generous estimate, I would say more 15-22 depending on what you do, for example the bigger supermarkets such as coles and woolworths for anyone older than 20 pay almost $20, however it is hard for overseas students to get these jobs. Also telemarketting, everyone hates telemarketers I really dont think its a job u want to do.

Meals, I would def recommend learning to cook, the food is pretty shit on the cheap end, and even the expensive stuff sometimes - but u have to remember other stuff like toiletries, etc tissues it really adds up. i think 2 minute noodles is going to be a steady diet. yup i would say $10 a meal easy for very average food.
get the food freshly is easy and you know how to cook good, far better. thats where heaps of money is saved.toiletries those..get it bulky ...sure it reduce price alot. wink.gif
i usually go ard..i wonder why female buy so many tissue lolx whistling.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Jun 27 2008, 07:08 PM
jtsl9
post Jun 27 2008, 07:18 PM

276 posts

I totally agree that eating out is very expensive in Aussie. I usually cook for all my meals and this save a lot since i only spent like AUssie30 on average a week for grocery. Plus, studying in smaller town like Wollongong have slightly cheaper cost of living and tuition fees when you compared with the larger cities such as Sydney and Melbourne but transport here in Wollongong is quite bad cos buses come every hours

haya
post Jun 27 2008, 07:34 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Riddhy, would it kill you to learn how to use punctuation? You know its hard for us to read, so if you want an answer give us a reason to answer.

Yes, ONE (Satu, Yi, 一,いち) meal will set you back $8 on average. So it is VERY possible, if not inevitable, to spend $25/day if you eat out everyday. Whether the food sucks or not, depends on where you eat.

I personally cook, and bring my lunch to uni everyday.

This post has been edited by haya: Jun 28 2008, 10:38 AM
Riddhy
post Jun 28 2008, 12:00 AM

1,956 posts

Well u guys forgot one thing the tax for non residents in 29% see hereas u gave me the link http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content....ntent/12333.htm
so u most of u ppl are non residents right so u have to 29% and does international students get tax refund or returns? did u guys get any refunds and how much tax did u pay?

As for the expanses all i am asking is that i know most of ur parents pay for the tuition fees but what about the living costs? Does Parents Pay 15K AUD per yr as well or do u manage or most of u guys manage your own living costs for the whole yr by doing part time jobs?

plz tell me how u guys do that.
And as for transport if i suppose live in place in Sydney where a single room costs #$150/week how much further will it be from UNSW in KM?
And how will i get to UNSW what will be the cost of transport per day, any Idea?
mwkh_hope
post Jun 28 2008, 08:16 AM

406 posts

Few days didnt visit this thread N realize tat is kinda be a "kopitiam"... (i don mean to criticize u guys, but is just my opinion) biggrin.gif

If you want to talk all unappropriate stuff. - just spam at here
AUSie MaMak Kopitiam

RBR
post Jun 28 2008, 08:19 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Jun 28 2008, 12:00 AM)
Well u guys forgot one thing the tax for non residents in 29% see hereas u gave me the link http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content....ntent/12333.htm
so u most of u ppl are non residents right so u have to 29% and does international students get tax refund or returns? did u guys get any refunds and how much tax did u pay?
International students are Australian residents for tax purposes.
eRiCCa
post Jun 28 2008, 05:28 PM

441 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jun 27 2008, 04:21 PM)
How does your friend perform academically?

The issue is you come here primarily to obtain a good education, not to work, but I guess some people have different goals.
fuwah... your this question, sounds like you SUSPECT that she is not a good performer? i am so sorry, she was the TOP performer instead, she did that just because she HAD to, as she was having financial difficulties, not that lucky to have support from family, she was supporting herself for her living costs... and so she satisfied the primary goal GOOD EDUCATION at the same time making money...

As for the expanses all i am asking is that i know most of ur parents pay for the tuition fees but what about the living costs? Does Parents Pay 15K AUD per yr as well or do u manage or most of u guys manage your own living costs for the whole yr by doing part time jobs? 

And as for transport if i suppose live in place in Sydney where a single room costs #$150/week how much further will it be from UNSW in KM?
And how will i get to UNSW what will be the cost of transport per day, any Idea?
like what RBR said, we are all residents... well, i dont think normal people can work that much to earn your living costs, and i used to work part time, but just to earn EXTRA money for clubbing and shopping... so yes, the daily expenses were sponsored by parents...

Added on June 28, 2008, 5:34 pm
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jun 27 2008, 06:49 PM)
dun wan ler..desserts house eatery tat in swaston street? ..better nasi lemak house tongue.gif or...err sambal kampung  thumbup.gif or err. sumwhr worth Malaysian tongue.gif
hmmm... well malaysian food wise... laksa king at new market, malaymas at brunswick and the straits at doncaster... they serve pretty good malaysian food... i hate nasi lemak house... mainly because the BOSS that is so unfriendly...

havent been to sambal kampung though...

This post has been edited by eRiCCa: Jun 28 2008, 05:34 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 28 2008, 09:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 28 2008, 05:28 PM)
hmmm... well malaysian food wise... laksa king at new market, malaymas at brunswick and the straits at doncaster... they serve pretty good malaysian food... i hate nasi lemak house... mainly because the BOSS that is so unfriendly...

havent been to sambal kampung though...
Laksa King is probably the best Malaysian food in the whole of Melbourne, but still it's not as good as the authentic ones we get back home T_T

Nasi Lemak house is doh.gif... I guess everyone has a problem with the auntie boss there... Food-wise it's not exactly great either. Laksa King's nasi lemak is much better than the so-called Nasi Lemak house.

厨意at Franklin has pretty good Chinese cuisine, but the price is slightly steep... worth it though, esp if go with a bunch of people.
chris_c28
post Jun 29 2008, 12:41 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jun 28 2008, 05:28 PM)
fuwah... your this question, sounds like you SUSPECT that she is not a good performer? i am so sorry, she was the TOP performer instead, she did that just because she HAD to, as she was having financial difficulties, not that lucky to have support from family, she was supporting herself for her living costs... and so she satisfied the primary goal GOOD EDUCATION at the same time making money...
I wasn't necessarily implying that, but she deserves the respect for being able to balance both. I've known people who are like that as well.

Added on June 29, 2008, 12:53 am

Parents will definitely be paying off a portion of the living cost, but some students earn quite a bit to support their living costs as well. What is your question exactly? Everyone's situation is different and it depends on how much your parents expect to pay for your living costs and how willing you are to work to support your lifestyle.

As for your second question, the transportation cost varies depending on your mode of transport (bus, trains, etc.) and how many sections you have to travel. The further you live, the more expensive it gets.

Ticket types and prices:
http://www.sydneybuses.info/tickets/travelpass.php
http://www.sydneybuses.info/tickets/prices.php

This post has been edited by chris_c28: Jun 29 2008, 12:53 AM
TSKVReninem
post Jun 29 2008, 09:13 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 28 2008, 10:50 PM)
Laksa King is probably the best Malaysian food in the whole of Melbourne, but still it's not as good as the authentic ones we get back home T_T

Nasi Lemak house is doh.gif... I guess everyone has a problem with the auntie boss there... Food-wise it's not exactly great either. Laksa King's nasi lemak is much better than the so-called Nasi Lemak house.

厨意at Franklin has pretty good Chinese cuisine, but the price is slightly steep... worth it though, esp if go with a bunch of people.
you organise..we go the one in franklin street yea thumbup.gif
Cheesenium
post Jun 29 2008, 01:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(cis naan @ Jun 29 2008, 11:01 AM)
will be going to uni of melb around july 13-15th(tickets havent been confirmed, apparently for student price, they tend to delay confirming it... ), apartment starts on 16th, whats the first thing i should do when i get there? biggrin.gif

ouh, and anyboyd know if melbourne student house on vale street is a good place? just paid for it yesterday, hopefully idp contacts them immediately(went through idp for accom) cos the deadline is on tuesday XD

ouh and why do you guys say that idp isnt helpful when it comes to accommadation? cos i was sceptical at first after reading this thread but found them to be very...... accommodating tongue.gif
Maybe you are just lucky.

They didnt help me at all. doh.gif
HyeoshinX
post Jun 29 2008, 05:00 PM

491 posts

Hehe Finally back in Malaysia.. The first thing i noticed when i got off the plane was the heat...started feeling a little sweaty..fuh

what greeted me back home was a power cut mellow.gif due to a construction crane working close to my house 'drop'ed the load and broke loose the power line..

things you'll rarely see in Aussie

124 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0175sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:56 AM