12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

--

Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2008, 10:43 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tam_ironcup @ Jan 30 2008, 09:47 PM)
one more thing i would like to know, do i have to take the ielts test before i apply? cos the lady whom i talked to at idp was not very helpful, seemed pretty lax with the details XD
Yeah,you'll need it unless you take SAM.If not,you have to take the test.

I find IDP is quite useless.They didnt help me to find accommodation at all.

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 30 2008, 10:33 PM)
list down lyn member in studying in aus; maybe just which states they are in will be better sweat.gif
I think city would be better like:

Cheesenium,UNSW,Sydney

It's because most people dont know states in aus very well.Group them up according to cities.

Just my 2 cents.
Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2008, 10:57 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jan 30 2008, 10:49 PM)
I don't profess to be an expert in this area, but I'm willing to volunteer in providing information/guides on the following:
Sydney, NSW
Renting in Sydney
Living in Sydney (all the essentials like getting around, shopping for essentials, banking, telecommunication, internet connection, etc.)
Working in Sydney

University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Engineering @ UNSW
Australian School of Business @ UNSW
Medicine @ UNSW
UNSW Foundation Year

We'll need some other volunteers from Sydney University, Macquarie, UTS and some regional institutions like UWS and Wollongong.

Off the top of my head, I think the following active LYNs here could contribute towards this (if I miss out anyone, just let me know):
blaxez, pangping1510, jae, nyprinz83

Added on January 30, 2008, 10:50 pm
How about both city AND state? Saves the confusion.
Yeah,city and state could work too.

Anyway,I think i need some help in renting in Sydney.I still have no permenant accommodation yet.The colleges didnt reply me at all.Is there anything i can do while im in malaysia,other than sending the temporary accommodation form to ISS?

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jan 30 2008, 10:52 PM)
IDP was pretty helpful in the start. But after helping me to apply for UniSA and receiving my CoE, they totally ignored my emails after that. =/
Yeah,thats the problem.Like that,i also can do it myself lah.Applying isnt the hardest part.
Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2008, 11:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Jan 30 2008, 11:29 PM)
You might want to consider ringing the colleges personally to check on your application status, but afaik, if you don't get it by now, chances of you securing a place there is pretty slim.

If private accomodation is in your list, then try looking around these 2 websites: gumtree & domain.au
You'd be able to find whole heaps of adverts there on rooms or units for rent, I reckon this is the best you can do while you're in Malaysia.

p/s: 1 suggestion while browsing through those websites, get a map with you, it helps a lot especially when one is not familiar with the names of the suburbs.
I have send an email to them and they just say applicants will be notified if they are accepted.I guess i have no chance to stay there.

I have a rough idea where to stay.Kingsford or something is the best since it's the closest with my faculty.Randwrick is ok too.
Cheesenium
post Jan 30 2008, 11:56 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Can i actually walk from Randwrick to the uni?how long does it take to walk?

I think it's better to walk since i could save some money on transportation.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 12:11 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

UNSW is a pretty good choice for engineering.They have the largest engineering faculty in Aus and that means they have better facilities and teaching resource for engineering compare to other uni.

It's just my 2 cents.Do correct me if im wrong.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 10:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(bhypp @ Jan 31 2008, 05:55 AM)
hmm....well isnt monash the best engineering school??? it was voted so a couple of years ago..... tongue.gif  tongue.gif

im a monash student btw....

n yea....bout internet....TPG boradband offeres the best value.....ADSL2+ (bout 12mbps if im not mistaken) with 140Gb download limit (if im not mistaken) at $80.....share with a couple of friends....very the worth it.....

whoops...im looking forward to be part o the thread too....i did contributed a minute bit on the prev thread..... notworthy.gif
Not very sure but UNSW was the best in engineering for past few years till Melbourne Uni come and trash it last year.

It's second best now. cry.gif

Still,rankings still doesnt matters much.What matters is you yourself,not the university.From what i heard,going to a good uni is just to have a little bit of head start in your career.No point going to MIT to slack and get kick out.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 11:29 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ET_10 @ Jan 31 2008, 11:08 AM)
Melb Uni's new engineering program structure ('The Melbourne Model') which they're implementing from this year onwards has caused quite a few raised eyebrows. I doubt they'll be voted top engineering school for the next few years.
The Melbourne Model was one of the reasons that put me off,other than cost which is 20% more than UNSW.I dont want to study biology or economics in uni.

Added on January 31, 2008, 11:35 amI think i need some tips in arranging timetable.I still cant get it right till now.

Arrgh!!!

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 31 2008, 11:35 AM
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 12:27 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The auto timetable doesnt work at all for me.

Anyway,managed to arrange a time table without any clash and wasted 3 pieces of paper.It's really a daunting task.
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 01:12 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Jan 31 2008, 12:55 PM)
Oh, poor you. It does work for me but. Hope your timetable isn't so tiresome.
The timetable for Period 1 is ok,im just worry about the Period 2 one.It's gonna be even daunting to arrange it.

Only tuesday gonna be a bit tiring.Classes are quite long on that day.Dunno why they put all the surveying classes together.Some more one lecture take 4 hours.In the end,lunch on 4 o'clock.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 31 2008, 01:14 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 31 2008, 02:17 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(ET_10 @ Jan 31 2008, 01:58 PM)
The course fees for the Melb Model is approx AUD28000. That's a crazy amount of money.
The fees increase a lot each year.3-4k if im not wrong while UNSW is about 2k each year.
Cheesenium
post Feb 1 2008, 12:36 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Hmmm... now only i realised that there are so many Malaysians LYN forumer in Sydney.I thought i was one of those few oddball who dont want to go to Melbourne.
Cheesenium
post Feb 1 2008, 07:39 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 1 2008, 07:26 PM)
Aw, missing home already?? I cant wait to fly to Sydney! Start making new friends, and explore the place. That's pretty much you can do for now.
Me too.Also to use their superior internet connection.

Anyway,still wanna go O-Week together?Is there anyone else going to UNSW's O-week?

I know im gonna miss home when im there.
Cheesenium
post Feb 1 2008, 08:21 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 1 2008, 08:03 PM)
Yeh, we'll go to O-week together. I have some other friends going too but as for LYN, chris_c28, you and me (that's pretty sad tongue.gif), plus chris isn't a first year.
Im one man show there.None of my friends are going to UNSW.So far,i only know you,chris and another friend of mine who is doing 2nd year engineering.
Cheesenium
post Feb 1 2008, 10:09 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 1 2008, 08:36 PM)
So, I'm pretty much the only girl from the forum huh? O-week will be heaps fun, with freebies, gigs and games! When is your faculty welcoming day?
Dunno.Couldnt find any information on that.

Still cant get my Unimail,the webpage keep on showing me 401 Unauthorised.Any idea whats wrong?
Cheesenium
post Feb 2 2008, 12:18 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jae @ Feb 1 2008, 10:31 PM)
Yes, you have to drop by IT Desk during o-week to get your unipass done. That would be the universal password for your myUNSW, unimail etc.
I see.No wonder i keep on getting the error and some UNSW website says i can get my Unimail after i enrol my course but didnt mention that i need to go to the IT Desk.

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Feb 1 2008, 10:36 PM)
before you fly, make sure you sumbat yourself with lots and lots and lots of authentic malaysian food..gaga..
Yeah,i ate like dunno how many roti canai this week.Went to mamak almost everyday.Still need to sumbat more naan.Moar!!! tongue.gif
Cheesenium
post Feb 2 2008, 10:47 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 2 2008, 10:16 PM)
hey snowcandy
here it is

http://www.daff.gov.au/aqis/travel/enterin...ralia/cant-take

http://www.daff.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_f...Single_page.pdf

i`m about to put tat on first page ..for coming to aus one..

but sked later they sue me for copyright  unsure.gif
Doubt so.It's useful for those who are going there for the first time.

QUOTE(OnePageMemory @ Feb 2 2008, 10:30 PM)
for unsw student
wonder if i'm the last one to know this
http://www.housing.unsw.edu.au
actually can find accomodation thru here 1 =.=
still hvnt settled my accommodation
goin on feb 23 here
I found it but it seems like the site is pretty useless while im in Malaysia.Cant do much here.

Are you going there for your first year?Wanna go O-Week together?
Cheesenium
post Feb 3 2008, 01:18 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Now,Im scared.Do i need to start to revise my stuff before i go?
Cheesenium
post Feb 5 2008, 10:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 4 2008, 09:03 PM)
UNSW students on LYN, we should do something together.
Yeah,but what do you have in mind?

Added on February 5, 2008, 11:08 am
QUOTE(soontheam @ Feb 5 2008, 01:27 AM)
seriously kuowei.... selling a car in 1.5 weeks would definitely be a feat to be seen tongue.gif

just in addition to the guide kuo wei posted up earlier, Malaysian Driving Licences are no longer eligible for direct conversion, most states if not all require that you take a theory and practical exam to get the conversion done.

By convention, tourists are allowed usage of their own countries' licences for up to 3 months, but since we are students, we are considered temporary residents and are allowed up to 12 months ( can't remember where the link was, but this fact was told to me by kuo wei), thus the only reason you might want to convert is to simplify car purchasing procedures or to use it as identification (i.e. you wanna enter a pub but you look below 18 or the casino). Remember that identification doesn't mean your MyKad or Malaysian Driving Licence... overseas, those are just pieces of useless card, (again, note the previous sentence for driving licence) . Only passports are accepted as valid forms of ID if you do not possess an Australian Driving Licence. Although after a night of pub-crawling you might wake up to the fact that you lost your passport at a bar somwhere.. something you do not want to happen. If that happens, best case scenario is that you get issued a new one by the Malaysian consulate, worst case is that you get deported back home. 

Do note that licences are issued by the state or territory and not the commonwealth as a whole ... quite unlike Malaysia.
Do i really need to carry my passport 24/7?

It's kinda troublesome to carry it around.

QUOTE(superlfc @ Feb 5 2008, 10:33 AM)
alternatively, u can apply 18+ card from Queensland Transport office at the city... u dun need to carry ur passport around... cheers!
Do they have something similar in Sydney?

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Feb 5 2008, 11:08 AM
Cheesenium
post Feb 5 2008, 04:26 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 5 2008, 03:36 PM)
Am not exactly sure, lol. Any suggestions?
No,other than go O-week together.

Maybe we could do a gathering in Sydney for all the LYN forumers.
Cheesenium
post Feb 6 2008, 10:15 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Happy Chinese New Year to everyone!!! rclxm9.gif

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0472sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:52 PM