126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

TSuzairi
post Mar 19 2008, 08:25 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 19 2008, 07:05 PM)
have any of u guys here have been bitten by ur TTT ? especially Star Tortoise ??
i already bonded with my 2 biggest ST.....they're not afraid of me anymore.....but....whenever they walk near my hand...they try to bite me....
is this ok ? they're not hungry because they juz ate.....are they trying to taste their master hands ? or they juz want to know if its a food or not ?
doh.gif
i sempat record a video when they tried to bite me....mayb later i post the video laa..... laugh.gif
That is normal bro, dont worry.

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 07:09 PM)
Not sure whether you guys had read this... quite a good article

FEEDING TORTOISES AND TURTLES
http://www.provet.co.uk/Petfacts/healthtip...oisefeeding.htm

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:13 pmSeems like french beans and some other beans has been mistakenly marked as not good. The paper says it is Ok and seems good
It is ok, no doubt about it. Just that we are stressing that it is not good for staple. Alternating them with other vege is okay. smile.gif
inexsis
post Mar 19 2008, 08:33 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 19 2008, 08:25 PM)
That is normal bro, dont worry.
so we juz let them bite us once then they will never bite again ? how to hold them if they keep on bitting ? does it hurt ? unsure.gif
dzi921
post Mar 19 2008, 08:43 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 19 2008, 08:33 PM)
so we juz let them bite us once then they will never bite again ? how to hold them if they keep on bitting ? does it hurt ? unsure.gif
I'm curious also... U try and let us know. I think will bleed

Also remember to record down the incident
livingmonolith
post Mar 19 2008, 09:10 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 08:43 PM)

hahaha, i think it's pretty normal. one of my STs always try to take a bite on my finger whenever i feed by hand.

a little sharp pain, but nothing much really, usually they'll release their jaws when they find that it's not food... biggrin.gif
slackerz
post Mar 19 2008, 09:16 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 08:43 PM)

ha3.dat video really interesting 4 me.i had experience that my ST bite my finger when i feed him.but no bleed or wound,or even scratches.but a little bit pain,hu3. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 19 2008, 09:31 PM
blazin_fir3
post Mar 19 2008, 09:30 PM

108 posts

ooo..alrite..i tot it was cherries marh..

Got bitten few times liao..doesn't hurt le..maybe shock u oni..coz my torts din chomp down..juz like..bite 2 taste..my big toe..lolz..
slackerz
post Mar 19 2008, 09:38 PM

107 posts

i just coming back from irene.i go there with skatila.they still keep ST,but only show to anyone who really want to buy.and coincidently sumone want to buy it.so they take out the star.there are 3 of them.one of them female and quite big,about 7-8 inch i think.the price is 900..i dunno whether that guy already bought it or not..
Skatila
post Mar 19 2008, 09:49 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(slackerz @ Mar 19 2008, 09:38 PM)
i just coming back from irene.i go there with skatila.they still keep ST,but only show to anyone who really want to buy.and coincidently sumone want to buy it.so they take out the star.there are 3 of them.one of them female and quite big,about 7-8 inch i think.the price is 900..i dunno whether that guy already bought it or not..
yup, 2 more is about 3-4 inch, one got damaged shell, not just pyramiding but also cacat one.the shell doesnt grow well, maybe lack of calcium...very pity one that tort sad.gif ...... also there is a pair of MATA-MATA turtle drool.gif there, the aquarium sign said for display but i dun believe it, surely they will let it go if sumone want to buy it....maybe other seller also use the same tactics ~ who knows... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Skatila: Mar 19 2008, 10:14 PM
beycont
post Mar 20 2008, 01:32 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
yup, 2 more is about 3-4 inch, one got damaged shell, not just pyramiding but also cacat one.the shell doesnt grow well, maybe lack of calcium...very pity one that tort  sad.gif ...... also there is a pair of MATA-MATA turtle  drool.gif  there, the aquarium sign said for display but i dun believe it, surely they will let it go if sumone want to buy it....maybe other seller also use the same tactics ~ who knows... hmm.gif
I think that is the standard operating procedure now? Went to a few pet stores today but not star torts or any other torts for that matter. So I guess will have to ask and see...

Fat^Cat
post Mar 20 2008, 02:04 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(slackerz @ Mar 19 2008, 09:38 PM)
Got MALE size around 6 inches?

Added on March 20, 2008, 2:07 am
QUOTE(beycont @ Mar 20 2008, 01:32 AM)
I think that is the standard operating procedure now? Went to a few pet stores today but not star torts or any other torts for that matter. So I guess will have to ask and see...
I think so.... Becoz now they are hiding. The only show for serius buyer & clear all the old stock.

Added on March 20, 2008, 2:49 am
QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
yup, 2 more is about 3-4 inch, one got damaged shell, not just pyramiding but also cacat one.the shell doesnt grow well, maybe lack of calcium...very pity one that tort  sad.gif ...... also there is a pair of MATA-MATA turtle  drool.gif  there, the aquarium sign said for display but i dun believe it, surely they will let it go if sumone want to buy it....maybe other seller also use the same tactics ~ who knows... hmm.gif
Matamata:drool: ? How about their size? Last time i saw Irine sell common snapper 5 inches size for RM500... Wondering how much they selling their Matamata now... I saw 1 in Muar, size 4 inches. selling RM2988 shocking.gif

The 2 more ST 3-4 inches at Irine are male or female?

Actually i dont mind to buy cacat ST as long not cracked shell. Last time i bought a male ST from Ipoh which have very2 serious piramiding & lack of calsium. The owner just feed that ST with Long Beans + Calsium Powder everyday... How sad sad.gif ... No basking lamp sad.gif ... but lucky that ST didnt kena RNS tongue.gif . I bought from that guy RM888... kinda expensive hor... but i bought it becoz i wanna give that ST a good & better life even i know that St cant live for so long. After 6 months he with me, that ST died. But i feel happy becoz i took him out from the cruel owner & he had a better life ( even just for 6 months ) before he died. Let you all see how cruel the previous owner, I took these pictures once i reached back from Ipoh :

This post has been edited by Fat^Cat: Mar 22 2008, 12:23 AM
Skatila
post Mar 20 2008, 07:12 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 20 2008, 02:04 AM)

I think so.... Becoz now they are hiding. The only show for serius buyer & clear all the old stock.

Matamata:drool: ? How about their size? Last time i saw Irine sell common snapper 5 inches size for RM500... Wondering how much they selling their Matamata now... I saw 1 in Muar, size 4 inches. selling RM2988  shocking.gif

Actually i dont mind to buy cacat ST as long not cracked shell. Last time i bought a male ST from Ipoh which have very2 serious piramiding & lack of calsium. The owner just feed that ST with Long Beans + Calsium Powder everyday... How sad sad.gif ... No basking lamp sad.gif ... but lucky that ST didnt kena RNS  tongue.gif . I bought from that guy RM888... kinda expensive hor... but i bought it becoz i wanna give that ST a good & better life even i know that St cant live for so long. After 6 months he with me, that ST died. But i feel happy becoz i took him out from the cruel owner & he had a better life ( even just for 6 months ) before he died. Let you all see how cruel the previous owner, I took these pictures once i reached back from Ipoh :

erk!how terrible.. shocking.gif kesiannyee... sad.gif
i think yg dkt irene 2 lg ok,coz ia just mcm berkedut2 only at one part of his/her shell.cam kecacatan sejak kecil..
em,im think 3 of them all female.but maybe irene still keep many of them..the MATAMATA pair there was for 'display' - yeah rite, i think if sumone want to buy it then the tokey surely will sale it lah...

This post has been edited by Skatila: Mar 20 2008, 02:53 PM
lessilly
post Mar 20 2008, 10:09 AM

417 posts

gosh 1st time saw such a bad condition tortoise!
btw in mlk theres one fish shop displaying one Indian star bout 6-7inches most likely to be male.with quite a bumpy pyramid
Fat^Cat
post Mar 20 2008, 11:10 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(lessilly @ Mar 20 2008, 10:09 AM)
btw in mlk theres one fish shop displaying one Indian star bout 6-7inches most likely to be male.with quite a bumpy pyramid
Is it? rolleyes.gif Where is that? can you tell us the location & the shop name??? Would like to give them a visit tongue.gif
sirius.fighter
post Mar 21 2008, 07:31 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 20 2008, 11:10 PM)
Is it?  rolleyes.gif Where is that? can you tell us the location & the shop name??? Would like to give them a visit  tongue.gif
if the fish shop "lessilly" said is at malim one, then it was no longer display for more than 1 month d. biggrin.gif
tongkat
post Mar 21 2008, 10:47 AM

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 20 2008, 07:12 AM)
erk!how terrible.. shocking.gif kesiannyee... sad.gif
i think yg dkt irene 2 lg ok,coz ia just mcm berkedut2 only at one part of his/her shell.cam kecacatan sejak kecil..
em,im think 3 of them all female.but maybe irene still keep many of them..the MATAMATA pair there was for 'display' - yeah rite, i think if sumone want to buy it then the tokey surely will sale it lah...
hello all, pls share with me what's wrong with the ST on the 2 pictures shown by Skatila? sorry for noob questions.
ImAzim
post Mar 21 2008, 12:59 PM

17 posts

Guys,

Im looking for plastic removeable pond that can fit 3 tortoise at a mid size.

I've seen them back then on a magazine but still cant help me.

If so happen you have or know where i can get them do share them with me

Thanks!
Chinchillas
post Mar 21 2008, 02:24 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 20 2008, 02:04 AM)

Matamata:drool: ? How about their size? Last time i saw Irine sell common snapper 5 inches size for RM500... Wondering how much they selling their Matamata now... I saw 1 in Muar, size 4 inches. selling RM2988  shocking.gif

Actually i dont mind to buy cacat ST as long not cracked shell. Last time i bought a male ST from Ipoh which have very2 serious piramiding & lack of calsium. The owner just feed that ST with Long Beans + Calsium Powder everyday... How sad sad.gif ... No basking lamp sad.gif ... but lucky that ST didnt kena RNS  tongue.gif . I bought from that guy RM888... kinda expensive hor... but i bought it becoz i wanna give that ST a good & better life even i know that St cant live for so long. After 6 months he with me, that ST died. But i feel happy becoz i took him out from the cruel owner & he had a better life ( even just for 6 months ) before he died. Let you all see how cruel the previous owner, I took these pictures once i reached back from Ipoh :

OWlllll..... sad.gif Sad la, MALAYSIAN PET OWNER need a awakeness of HOW TO TAKE CARE YOUR PET CONFFERENCE!
tongkat
post Mar 21 2008, 03:34 PM

some1 pls explain in detail what's wrong with this ST?
livingmonolith
post Mar 21 2008, 03:40 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 21 2008, 10:47 AM)
hello all, pls share with me what's wrong with the ST on the 2 pictures shown by Skatila? sorry for noob questions.
the tortoise in the 2 pictures is suffering from what we call pyramiding.

this occurs when the tortoise's diet is having a high protein percentage, or lack of vitamin D3, too much phosphorus, not enough calcium or lack of natural sunlight. any of these can cause 'pyramids' to form, and can't be repaired or healed. the only consolation is if you spot it early you'll have time to rectify the diet and reduce the pyramiding levels.

usually tortoises with this problem usually have other health troubles, like metabolic bone disease, soft shell or renal problems, which explains why these STs can't live that long.

in short, it's bad for the tortoise.

hope that helps...smile.gif

This post has been edited by livingmonolith: Mar 21 2008, 03:49 PM
tongkat
post Mar 21 2008, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 21 2008, 03:40 PM)
the tortoise in the 2 pictures is suffering from what we call pyramiding.

this occurs when the tortoise's diet is having a high protein percentage, or lack of vitamin D3, too much phosphorus, not enough calcium or lack of natural sunlight. any of these can cause 'pyramids' to form, and can't be repaired or healed. the only consolation is if you spot it early you'll have time to rectify the diet and reduce the pyramiding levels.

usually tortoises with this problem usually have other health troubles, like metabolic bone disease, soft shell or renal problems, which explains why these STs can't live that long.
tks. to confirm i understand what u explain. i attached a photo. pyramids refers to the red arrows?

126 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:43 AM