126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

tongkat
post Mar 18 2008, 12:13 PM

[/quote]
another thing, i'm not sure if it's common, but i find that bright STs' (smaller black patches) shells are not as 'round' or 'high' as the darker ones. but that's my observation lah, i don't know if it's true.

[/quote]

just for comparision, i attached a photo from other member in this forum (forgot his name, hope he/she does not mind).

within this photo, we can see there are different types of yellow stripes/lines among the ST. just wonder why? rclxub.gif

inexsis
post Mar 18 2008, 12:20 PM

646 posts

soooo many star..... cry.gif
demn jealous vmad.gif
livingmonolith
post Mar 18 2008, 12:56 PM

821 posts

well, differences in shapes and lines are bound to happen, you don't expect every ST to look exactly the same right? hahahaha...wink.gif

but wow, that's some collection you have there. 13 in the picture, any more hidden ones? i really wanted to add to mine, but with nowadays' law it'll be hard to find STs anymore... besides, i'm short of place to keep them as well. where do you keep all your STs? all in the same tank? if yes you must've a really large one...smile.gif
blazin_fir3
post Mar 18 2008, 01:36 PM

108 posts

Thats not tongkat's collection..lolz..its from another forumer like he mentioned..well, i guess the stripes of every ST is and will be different like how all tiger stripes are different to enable them to differentiate one from another..I guess the same principle applies..
TSuzairi
post Mar 18 2008, 02:41 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 11:50 AM)
hi, I bought this ST since jan2008. and i onli notice there is a good forum lowyat.net in malaysia discussing about this yesterday.

here i attached a photo of my ST. it seems a bit different from other ST. mine is like many yellow/orange (dunno what it call officially) line on the shell. And it makes me think if it's a real ST? or sri langka or Burma (less likely)?
IINM its an Indian Star Tortoise. smile.gif

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 18 2008, 12:08 PM)
well, the colour trait's definitely different, but no doubt they're all ST the same. when i bought mine last time, i picked one with more prominent bright lines, while the other with bigger black patches to differentiate the two. they have different preference on food though, one likes lady's fingers and the other eats mustard green.

another thing, i'm not sure if it's common, but i find that bright STs' (smaller black patches) shells are not as 'round' or 'high' as the darker ones. but that's my observation lah, i don't know if it's true.
Those are individual characteristics so the patches wont influence the way they eat tongue.gif

QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 12:13 PM)

just for comparision, i attached a photo from other member in this forum (forgot his name, hope he/she does not mind).

within this photo, we can see there are different types of yellow stripes/lines among the ST. just wonder why? rclxub.gif
Its just like human bro, you have black hair but the hair type is diff. tongue.gif
tongkat
post Mar 18 2008, 03:21 PM

thank you all for your opinion.

i'm really happen and excited that there are so many ppl interested in the tortoise here. within 3 hours , i hve like more than 5 replies.

ive a very simple way of keeping this ST. just keep in the carton box (top open, of course) about 90x90cm2. At bottom, i just put some newspaper. after she/he pee or poo. just remove the newspaper. Feed the bean and tortoise food (as shown in page #27) twice a day.

when i'm free, i will give her some bath or sunlight (in the morning). hmm.. dunno if this is ok or not. i plan to buy some vitamin& mineral , calcium . do you guys think it's very important to keep my ST healthy?

icon_question.gif
dzi921
post Mar 18 2008, 03:48 PM

I'm broke and poor
1,997 posts

Someone selling leopard here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/653421

Kesian the tortoises... Tank so small
tongkat
post Mar 18 2008, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 18 2008, 03:48 PM)
Someone selling leopard here
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/653421

Kesian the tortoises... Tank so small
expensive ler. do you guys agree?
livingmonolith
post Mar 18 2008, 04:11 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 03:59 PM)
expensive ler. do you guys agree?
well, for that size i think the price is quite ok, but i'm not a leopard tortoise fan, so i'll never be interested, hahaha...

of course it's important to keep your ST healthy, they're especially prone to runny nose syndrome, which can be very fatal. you may not see the effect during the first couple of years, but over the long term you won't know what will happen.
slko
post Mar 18 2008, 04:29 PM

836 posts

it looks like a real turtles 2 me..
correct me if i'm wrong..
livingmonolith
post Mar 18 2008, 04:52 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(slko @ Mar 18 2008, 04:29 PM)
it looks like a real turtles 2 me..
correct me if i'm wrong..
u meant real 'tortoises'?

hahaha...smile.gif
edjo84
post Mar 18 2008, 05:03 PM

90 posts

anyone know where can i get labi labi for pet
tongkat
post Mar 18 2008, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(edjo84 @ Mar 18 2008, 05:03 PM)
sorry...
what is labi labi? tortoise?
slko
post Mar 18 2008, 06:33 PM

836 posts

is it spider???
i think pet shop got..
liette`
post Mar 18 2008, 06:47 PM

367 posts

labi-labi is 'sui yu'.. those soft shell terrapins we eat. -.-
inexsis
post Mar 18 2008, 06:57 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(edjo84 @ Mar 18 2008, 05:03 PM)
in natural aquatic ss19 got...last time i've visit.....

Uzairi....do we need to feed TTT mealworms sumtimes ?
slko
post Mar 18 2008, 07:00 PM

836 posts

wow..
TTT feed wit mealworm..

blazin_fir3
post Mar 18 2008, 07:30 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(tongkat @ Mar 18 2008, 03:21 PM)
thank you all for your opinion.

i'm really happen and excited that there are so many ppl interested in the tortoise here. within 3 hours , i hve like more than 5 replies.
ive a very simple way of keeping this ST. just keep in the carton box (top open, of course) about 90x90cm2. At bottom, i just put some newspaper. after she/he pee or poo. just remove the newspaper. Feed the bean and tortoise food (as shown in page #27) twice a day.

when i'm free, i will give her some bath or sunlight (in the morning). hmm.. dunno if this is ok or not. i plan to buy some vitamin& mineral , calcium . do you guys think it's very important to keep my ST healthy?

icon_question.gif
Feed the bean? I hope u dun follow my mistake of feeding french and long beans as their staple food. Its not the best choice of food for STs. Pls read 1st post for the appropriate vegetables.. ie mustard greens / sawi. And yes, very impt to keep them healthy. Lost 3 of them to sickness..haihz~
Jamien
post Mar 18 2008, 08:08 PM

2,647 posts

Can someone explain a lil more on runny nose syndrome? Wanna look out in case it ever happens.
beycont
post Mar 18 2008, 09:59 PM

205 posts

Hey guys,

Interested in getting a new tort, (I have a RES now), but seeing as legislation has been pushed thru the ST is hard to find on the market, scouted a few places today but to no avail.

Went to ikano pets wonderland and saw the leapord torts that they have, cost RM600 for one.

Just some questions, whats the difference in setup for the ST and the leapord? And is the price of RM600 worth it? Where else can i see a wider selection of torts to choose from? Thanks!

126 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:16 AM