5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

slackerz
post Mar 10 2008, 04:43 PM

107 posts

can someone help me,my ST really didnt like sunbath.when i expose them to sunlight,they will run even early in the morning..
slackerz
post Mar 11 2008, 10:33 AM

107 posts

@slackers: They will choose when they wanna bask. Maybe its just too hot or they wanna explore. I think its normal but should get them sum UVB from time to time. Plus can share size and all?

[/quote]

my ST size average dlm 3 inch la.still kanak2 lg.i hav 4 of them..setiap kali hujan they must got RNS,even i let basking light ON.but when i force them to have sunbath,hingus kat hidung diorg will dissapear quickly.. rclxub.gif
slackerz
post Mar 11 2008, 04:10 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 11 2008, 02:14 AM)
You didnt put your ST in a container or Square Tray? I put mine inside a square tray, so they didnt run away. Best time for sunbath is from 9m -11am.

Added on March 11, 2008, 2:27 am

I think its not too late for me to say condolance to you too. Sound like your ST having internal problem. Have you deworms your ST before? May i know how big is your ST? You can try salad, dont put any calsium or vitamins on it, let your ST have a original smell of it. I know, some of ST dont really like mustard green, even mine too. But they crazy with salad. Pumkin is good for natural dewormer.
i already put them in container.but they become more aggresif when expose to sunlight.like want to climb up the container..

Added on March 11, 2008, 4:29 pmanyone know where can i get uvb bulb (not the long pendaflour one)within kl and selangor area? i have been to almost all petsafari n pet wonderland outlet in both area but i still cant find one. preferably reptiglo 2.0 n 5.0 compact.help me please..

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 11 2008, 04:29 PM
slackerz
post Mar 17 2008, 06:12 PM

107 posts

one of my ST eat the wood bedding.what should i do?i already use da XXL one.but he/she just simply telan that kayu bedding.ade bad effect ke?i dont know kow he will 'buang' later..

Added on March 17, 2008, 6:23 pmhe already telan 4 pieces of that kayu..waa!!!

Added on March 17, 2008, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(snowhite @ Mar 17 2008, 03:51 AM)
hi! this is my star turtle!
but i only have one, anyone know where got sell star turtle?
my star turtle very lonely!
pls help!
thx^^
sihat x 2?what size?in da picture it seems 3 inch.

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 17 2008, 06:30 PM
slackerz
post Mar 17 2008, 08:28 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 17 2008, 07:02 PM)
@slackerz,

how big is your ST? if it continues you better remove the wood bedding before it starts believing that wood is its staple food...tongue.gif

might wanna bring to the vet and see, especially since you said it ate those XXL sizes wood beddings.

@liette`,

the last time i checked irene's aquarium in seapark is still selling snapping turtles. you can check out that place. ikano's pet safari has an alligator snapping turtle, but i don't remember seeing a pricetag for that one.
3 inch only..hu3

Added on March 17, 2008, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 17 2008, 07:53 PM)
I suggest you change your ST bedding from kayu to Recyle Paper. If your ST termakan this recycle paper also, its will be no problem for them. Some more, this type of bedding can help you to low down your Humidity which needs for ST.

We actually had discuss about this Topic in Malaysia Fauna forum ( MF ) You can check it out through this link : http://www.malaysiafauna.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=119

Good Luck !
thanx bro..

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 17 2008, 08:29 PM
slackerz
post Mar 19 2008, 09:16 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Mar 19 2008, 08:43 PM)
I'm curious also... U try and let us know. I think will bleed

Also remember to record down the incident
ha3.dat video really interesting 4 me.i had experience that my ST bite my finger when i feed him.but no bleed or wound,or even scratches.but a little bit pain,hu3. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 19 2008, 09:31 PM
slackerz
post Mar 19 2008, 09:38 PM

107 posts

i just coming back from irene.i go there with skatila.they still keep ST,but only show to anyone who really want to buy.and coincidently sumone want to buy it.so they take out the star.there are 3 of them.one of them female and quite big,about 7-8 inch i think.the price is 900..i dunno whether that guy already bought it or not..
slackerz
post Mar 21 2008, 08:23 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 21 2008, 06:44 PM)
my juvenile star tort...shell and CpC still soft...should i fed them with calcium and vit supplement each time i give them food or just once per day?
i think u must give them calcium everyday,+with real sunlight..dont forget Coscinium Plus,hak3.just joking... thumbup.gif
slackerz
post Mar 21 2008, 10:54 PM

107 posts

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:30 pmheh...i create a new tag, a little big...hehe...draw n scan my self, just for fun !! icon_rolleyes.gif
heres the tag link :

[/quote]

xaci2,buat utk aku etek.. icon_question.gif

Added on March 21, 2008, 11:29 pm[quote=slackerz,Mar 21 2008, 10:54 PM]

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:30 pmheh...i create a new tag, a little big...hehe...draw n scan my self, just for fun !! icon_rolleyes.gif
heres the tag link :

[/quote]

xaci2,buat utk aku etek.. icon_question.gif

[/quote]

he3..may god bless our ST,and protect them.

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 21 2008, 11:29 PM
slackerz
post Mar 22 2008, 12:20 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 21 2008, 11:35 PM)
Hahaha.... his name is Adam. Damn heavy, need 2 people to carry him. I fell while doing so last time.

Adam used to have a mate, it was some Royalty's tortoise.... they produced 4 lil sulcatas.... or was it 6? I can't remember but it was an even number ahhaah.... I was working there from Dec 2006 to Jan 2007.
wow,u're so lucky.. shocking.gif can i work there?how to apply?ha3 biggrin.gif
slackerz
post Mar 22 2008, 12:27 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 22 2008, 12:23 AM)
If a tortoise has soft shell.... sunning and normal calcium intake would be slow.... I dunno what progress would happen coz I had 1 star that was like that before, it died within a year.... I was feeding it calcium powder and sunning him too.

The right way to treat would be lots of sun, high calcium foods and also calcium injections.... must do weekly or something. This is a faster way to get the calcium absorbed into the body to harden the shell... vet told me this 5 years ago..... coz my star died 5 years ago.

Now my current 6 year old star is healthy with a very hard shell.
but i think skatila's ST still kecik lg maa..maybe normal to have a little soft shell b4 it become hard2. hmm.gif
slackerz
post Mar 22 2008, 12:47 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 22 2008, 12:31 AM)
Mine was also small.... it was like 2 inches.... already you can know if it is having problem. Young stars have spongy shells, not soft shell.... soft shell is like.... erm... if you press the shell easily with slight force, it means soft.... spongy is not soft, is like still solid but like spring a bit....

Hard to explain, I can only show it LOL.
o i c..maybe skatila's ST have spongy shell,not soft shell.becoz they are too small.didnt reach 2 inch yet i think.when i press them,it hard,but quiet spongy at their bottom.hope their owner didn't angry with me coz i did not picit kuat,ha3.they seems healthy,like their owner,kwah3. icon_rolleyes.gif
slackerz
post Mar 22 2008, 01:25 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ Mar 22 2008, 01:06 AM)
more like the bigger ones are stronger and more dominant. eats faster too, gets the best sunning spot cuz can push small ones away from a good spot for themselves. This wan vet tell me wan o.
i got so many knowledge from dis forum.thanx everyone... rclxms.gif
slackerz
post Mar 23 2008, 12:45 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ Mar 23 2008, 12:44 AM)
Here you go.

Source: TLady
really nice bro.. thumbup.gif
slackerz
post Mar 23 2008, 07:36 PM

107 posts

i have 4 ST,i had mention before that all of my star got flu/RNS.2 week passed,they still have RNS.i try to treat them many ways,give them sunbath,multivitamin and so forth,but still have hingus at hidung diorg especially when they wake up from sleep.what should i do now?should i take them to the vet?dah berkira2 nak pi taman megah..but they really have appetite to eat,very gud eater except one..hope sifu2 will help me.. icon_question.gif

Added on March 23, 2008, 7:43 pmthe one of my ST that show in my avatar is the one that plg kurang makan n be the first yg dpt RNS.i really love him/her.i can say the most beautiful among my ST.his shell has no bumper2 at all,slightly rounded and have bright colour,bersinar2,ha3.is there tendency to dead by RNS?(i mean for ST that have size 3 inch and above?) sad.gif

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 23 2008, 07:43 PM
slackerz
post Mar 23 2008, 09:04 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 23 2008, 08:30 PM)
Well, maybe u should try to separate all of them. Coz virus actually transfers to another medium when the host gets better/higher immunity. so when they get better one by one den oni put them back together..plus should quarantine a while be4 mix them again..

If go taman megah..wish that u see Dr. Yeoh senior..he gives a better feeling/caring..unlike junior..quite rough.. >.<
oic..but actually i have no more space in my room(i live at hostel)..maybe i can think da way to separate them.is there any possiblity they get RNS becoz of dust?my room quite dusty,eveyday i must clean it.maybe dust come from the traffic at sprint(kerinchi link)highway that just a few meter from my room.. hmm.gif
slackerz
post Mar 23 2008, 10:58 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 23 2008, 09:19 PM)
well,u could try to put a lid or sumthink 2 cover be4 u clean ur room..i think dust might affect it but not until RNS till non stop de..if ur STs are small, you can try partition wif a board or sumthink coz its only temporary.. of coz better if can separate nicely le.. should wait till the real pros to come in and gif u advise..these are my suggestions oni ya.. gd luck with ur ST lo..very sad if they not healthy >.<

Edit: Btw, bout the eating less kan..have u tried feeding separately also? coz usually the stronger/dominants ones will eat more and push the weaker ones away..so it could help if u feed separately..

Out-of Topic: passed through istana negara today, left side so many hibiscus plants with flowers..so tempted to stop car and pluck  tongue.gif
thanx bro..about eating less,actually i always feed that sick one first,when the others sleep..the others never bullied him,but it seems he feel inferior and quite shy to eat together.is there any record that ST have RNS at a long period?i heard a case that ST have RNS for a six months and then become ok after that,is it true?

Out-of Topic also: my collegue near with botanical garden,can pluck hibiscus anytime,ha3. biggrin.gif but just pick da old flower,give chance to young flower to be pollinated,kui3.planning to plant it. brows.gif
slackerz
post Mar 23 2008, 11:00 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 23 2008, 10:48 PM)
well... talking about hibiscus flower... anyone knows the nutrition or khasiat of this flower? also is it good to be given daily as staple food to the tort? my tort rilly love them  smile.gif, always pluck-pluck it from the tree around my campus , especially at night laugh.gif
kantoi... doh.gif
slackerz
post Mar 24 2008, 07:01 PM

107 posts

@Fat^Cat: for this case also i have a problem.only da smallest one of my ST like to stay under basking light.the others will run away and digging the bedding to hide themselve even in cold night. i think that the main point why they got RNS so easy la..for sunbath,i force them to have it,but just moreless 1 hour per day..coz the really want to run..i heard someone in dis forum said my ST is vampire ST,aha3. blush.gif

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 24 2008, 07:08 PM
slackerz
post Mar 25 2008, 10:01 AM

107 posts

Actually i heard the same case before but i think its should be ok if your tank tempreture & humidity levels at what its suppose to be. Its also will help to prevent from RNS. What i suggest you do, change your basking lamp possition at the centre of your tank. Let them use with it for awhile.... then you can put back the basking lamp at one side like what your are doing now. The previous owner of your ST might didnt provide any basking lamp to them before, so that why they didnt use with it. Just try like i suggested you 1st then see how....

[/quote]

ok,thanx... icon_rolleyes.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2243sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:27 PM