Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

beycont
post Mar 18 2008, 09:59 PM

205 posts

Hey guys,

Interested in getting a new tort, (I have a RES now), but seeing as legislation has been pushed thru the ST is hard to find on the market, scouted a few places today but to no avail.

Went to ikano pets wonderland and saw the leapord torts that they have, cost RM600 for one.

Just some questions, whats the difference in setup for the ST and the leapord? And is the price of RM600 worth it? Where else can i see a wider selection of torts to choose from? Thanks!
beycont
post Mar 18 2008, 10:44 PM

205 posts

How big can leapords grow to be? i read somewhere it can reach about 2 feet in length?
beycont
post Mar 19 2008, 12:31 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 19 2008, 12:15 AM)
Juz google it and you would know how big the leopard tortoise can grow. Wikipedia states : "An adult's maximum shell length can reach a 24" diameter. Leopard tortoises are the fourth largest species of tortoise, after the Sulcata tortoise, the Galapagos tortoise, and Seychelles Island tortoise."

Google can be your best friend =)
Yeah, that is what i read, 24" in diameter that means about 2 feet. But this happens in rare cases tho. ST's would be the best bet i think for domestic rearing, as they reach a max length of 18". But then with the new legislation, where can one find them???
beycont
post Mar 19 2008, 01:11 AM

205 posts

Great looking torts...but still...where to get stars at this time??
beycont
post Mar 20 2008, 01:32 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
yup, 2 more is about 3-4 inch, one got damaged shell, not just pyramiding but also cacat one.the shell doesnt grow well, maybe lack of calcium...very pity one that tort  sad.gif ...... also there is a pair of MATA-MATA turtle  drool.gif  there, the aquarium sign said for display but i dun believe it, surely they will let it go if sumone want to buy it....maybe other seller also use the same tactics ~ who knows... hmm.gif
I think that is the standard operating procedure now? Went to a few pet stores today but not star torts or any other torts for that matter. So I guess will have to ask and see...

beycont
post Mar 25 2008, 11:01 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(nickdf9818 @ Mar 25 2008, 10:16 PM)
this is my st setup  blush.gif ............kindly post ur comment...... tongue.gif
Nice setup...mind me asking where you got your stars??
beycont
post Apr 1 2008, 01:57 AM

205 posts

Hey guys,

Just wondering if anyone knows how much a russian tort would cost?
beycont
post Apr 1 2008, 08:29 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 1 2008, 07:01 AM)
[attachmentid=431270]

Russian Tortoise - Testudo horsfieldii
Like above ?? ( not mine , a friend's )

I think depending on where you buying anywhere from RM 300 to 600 a pc
Yup, that's them.

Any idea where they are available? I think i saw one at 88 pet shop...dunno if they still have it...
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 12:34 AM

205 posts

Hey guys, got some qs about lowering humidity, the humidity for my stars enclosure is about 76%, and according to most care sheets, it needs to be about 40%.

Any ideas on how to lower the humidity?
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 12:40 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Apr 3 2008, 12:38 AM)
Use recycled paper pellets, cover your tank and get a basking lamp. That should do the trick.
Yep, i am using recycled paper pellets with basking lamp, will a dehumidifier work i wonder?
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 12:49 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Apr 3 2008, 12:46 AM)
dehumidifier would only work for a short period of time, so its not a good option i suppose.

did you use a cover for the st tank ?
Well, its sort an enclosure that is covered at the sides except the top has something like a metal mesh, its actually one of the those rabbit enclosures that has been converted, no stars in there now, as i am trying to get the optimum parameters before i put them in.

Added on April 3, 2008, 12:50 am
QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Apr 3 2008, 12:48 AM)
Last time, i also use the recycled paper pallets as bedding & put basking lamp at nite. Some more i put the tank cover, but when the night time, the humidity enclosure are more than 70% especially when rainy days. So, i decide to use Heat Wave Lamp at night for the best. becoz Heat Wave Lamp dont have light compare than Heat Glow which might stress your tortoise.
So during the day time you use the normal sunglo basking lamp and at nite you switch to the heat wave lamp? What is your humidity reading?

This post has been edited by beycont: Apr 3 2008, 12:50 AM
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 12:54 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Apr 3 2008, 12:52 AM)
Beycont :

What are the humidity enclosures of yours in day & night time?
The humidity now is at 74%. I have the basking light on too.
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 01:00 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Apr 3 2008, 12:58 AM)
Wow... with basking light 74% its kinda high... im sure its will up until 80% or more without it.
You have picture of your tank ?
Hold on, i'll upload one...
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 01:05 AM

205 posts

beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 01:11 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Apr 3 2008, 01:08 AM)
Bro, dont block the basking lamp. That would restrict the heat coming from the bulb.
Its not blocked, its just sitting on a pyramid of planks, the temp at the basking area is at 35-36 degrees.
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 10:08 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 3 2008, 03:41 AM)
The temp is good already so a few more cm nearer , lower may " cook " your tortoise !! Is there a water dish inside ? ( If so thats your cause for your higher humidity)
Nope, no water dish inside...this is really doing my head in... rclxub.gif

Just wondering if a higher watt basking light will be able to lower the humidity, somewhere along the lines of 100-150?
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 11:38 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 3 2008, 11:07 AM)
Where and how did you take the humidity reading ?? the other side of enclosure or directly under basking light ??

A higher watt light will not only lower humidity but will also increase the temp greatly ie pass the 40 oC mark !!!
I took it somewhere in the middle of the basking light and the cool end of the enclosure.

As for the higher watt, that is one of my concerns of raising the temp too high, but i read somewhere that if the condition in the enclosure is warm and humid it will be ok for stars? As opposed to it being cold and humid.
beycont
post Apr 3 2008, 10:43 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Apr 3 2008, 06:56 PM)
What kind of hygrometer you are using currently ? Analog or Digital ?
It doesnt mean her friend is a breeder even if there is some baby turtles/tortoises coming out. tongue.gif
Took it with a digital one.
beycont
post Apr 4 2008, 12:58 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Apr 4 2008, 12:47 AM)
Beycont : Any improvement regarding your humidity level ?
I bot a heat glo lamp which has lowered the humidity somewhat...

Anyway, read somewhere that as long as the its warm and humid, the stars shld be fine.

But will still switch on the heat glo lamp at nite to lower the humidity, thats all i can do really, still have no idea as to what causes such high humidity... rclxub.gif
beycont
post Apr 4 2008, 02:27 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 4 2008, 01:30 PM)
Warm n humid is also a good place to " grow" bacteria !!! Where is the whole enclosure placed ?
I have moved it to another plc, its more of an open environment, still checking the humidity reading, its about 64% right now, and its about 230pm.

0.0437sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:51 AM