Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

Chinchillas
post Feb 14 2008, 12:45 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 13 2008, 10:20 PM)
Wow.... rclxms.gif Never thought of that! Happy CNY! rclxm9.gif
Chinchillas
post Mar 13 2008, 09:28 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 11 2008, 05:38 PM)
when they became aggresif..that's mean, its too hot for them...sumtimes they will poo a lot n pee too when too hot n try too find shelter...
u can go to natuaral aquatic ss19, pets lover center sunway pyramid.....they both got repti glo.....i recommend natural aquatic...bit cheaper then other pet shop(not all items)....

Added on March 11, 2008, 6:02 pmtomatoes is good for tortoise rite ?
i want to introduced them tomatoes for dinner tonite~~~~ bon appetite~~~~ brows.gif
I think it is MORE GOOD for you! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif Try some Alfalfa hay, that may stir he appetite... blush.gif

Added on March 13, 2008, 9:28 pm
QUOTE(lessilly @ Mar 13 2008, 03:06 PM)
hu huh uhu ...... 7 leopard with me...LOL
Ow... Definately need to show us photos! drool.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Mar 13 2008, 09:28 PM
Chinchillas
post Mar 15 2008, 04:34 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 14 2008, 06:14 AM)

Not really my friend !!!

Depends on what you want out of them for your animals
- one has a higher protein , calcium content when compared to the other ie. Alfafa Hay

- the other has a higher fiber content but lower of the other 2 when compared ie Timothy Hay
Refer to above pic for more details

Added on March 14, 2008, 6:21 am
Timothy can be kept short to be laid as lawn in people's house !!!

While Alfafa will grow very tall and deep rooted and only good to be harvested as fresh fodder for grazing animals or dried to become hay

But both are good source of fiber no doubt !!!!
Yes, it is depend on what you use on the particular hay. If your tortoise like to eat more lefty then stem, then 2nd cut is a best choise to go. blush.gif

On the nutrition value, it also depend on how the store keep them. Some pet shop stock doesnt flow, the hay been sitting still there for long long time, and even is alfalfa hay with high value of protein, will drop to eatting NOTHING...
Choose from the pet shop those stock is flowing, you should see it green and smell good.

Chinchillas
post Mar 16 2008, 12:04 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 15 2008, 04:58 PM)
From different make? Does that mean different brands? or contents?
It depend. Most of the brand for example alfalfa hay, protein level will fall between 18-20%. Secondly depend on the soil that begin growth from will also effect the content of the miroc-nutrition in the hay. You can easily notice good alfalfa by the smell and the colour of it. Good alfalfa hay when you smell it, you feel like eating it as well smile.gif, that's a sign of very good quality alfalfa hay beside it is green. Baling of hay will also effect the result/content of the hay.
Chinchillas
post Mar 17 2008, 02:01 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(snowhite @ Mar 17 2008, 03:51 AM)
hi! this is my star turtle!
but i only have one, anyone know where got sell star turtle?
my star turtle very lonely!
pls help!
thx^^
rclxms.gif Exactly look like what my sister have in Singapore. Is look really round, cute and solid like a rock!
Chinchillas
post Mar 18 2008, 10:38 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

[quote=tongkat,Mar 18 2008, 12:13 PM]
[/quote]
another thing, i'm not sure if it's common, but i find that bright STs' (smaller black patches) shells are not as 'round' or 'high' as the darker ones. but that's my observation lah, i don't know if it's true.

[/quote]
just for comparision, i attached a photo from other member in this forum (forgot his name, hope he/she does not mind).

within this photo, we can see there are different types of yellow stripes/lines among the ST. just wonder why? rclxub.gif

[/quote]

WOw...... I love photos that have many ST in group shot! The owner must have enjoying it very much.
Chinchillas
post Mar 19 2008, 01:40 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 19 2008, 12:48 AM)
BURMESE STAR TORTOISE

Added on March 19, 2008, 12:53 amLEFT - Sri Lankan Star Tortoise, MIDDLE - Indian Star Tortoise & RIGHT - Sri Lankan Star Tortoise

WOW! Adorable!!!!! Feel like graping them and 'knock knock'! Since you got 10+ st ,you must be get use to their pee & poo smell thumbup.gif thumbup.gif If me, I will faint.... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Mar 19 2008, 01:40 PM
Chinchillas
post Mar 21 2008, 02:24 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 20 2008, 02:04 AM)
Got MALE size around 6 inches?

Added on March 20, 2008, 2:07 am

I think so.... Becoz now they are hiding. The only show for serius buyer & clear all the old stock.

Added on March 20, 2008, 2:49 am

Matamata:drool: ? How about their size? Last time i saw Irine sell common snapper 5 inches size for RM500... Wondering how much they selling their Matamata now... I saw 1 in Muar, size 4 inches. selling RM2988  shocking.gif

The 2 more ST 3-4 inches at Irine are male or female?

Actually i dont mind to buy cacat ST as long not cracked shell. Last time i bought a male ST from Ipoh which have very2 serious piramiding & lack of calsium. The owner just feed that ST with Long Beans + Calsium Powder everyday... How sad sad.gif ... No basking lamp sad.gif ... but lucky that ST didnt kena RNS  tongue.gif . I bought from that guy RM888... kinda expensive hor... but i bought it becoz i wanna give that ST a good & better life even i know that St cant live for so long. After 6 months he with me, that ST died. But i feel happy becoz i took him out from the cruel owner & he had a better life ( even just for 6 months ) before he died. Let you all see how cruel the previous owner, I took these pictures once i reached back from Ipoh :

OWlllll..... sad.gif Sad la, MALAYSIAN PET OWNER need a awakeness of HOW TO TAKE CARE YOUR PET CONFFERENCE!
Chinchillas
post Mar 25 2008, 01:55 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 24 2008, 09:22 PM)
UVB already comes wif UVA  sweat.gif ....

Aldabra Tortoise = Geochelone Gigantea
photo from and courtesy of http://www.life.uiuc.edu
for general info - wikipedia : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aldabra_Giant_Tortoise  smile.gif
Wow... big tortoise.... can sit on top man.... sweat.gif
Chinchillas
post Mar 25 2008, 10:58 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(nickdf9818 @ Mar 25 2008, 10:16 PM)
this is my st setup  blush.gif ............kindly post ur comment...... tongue.gif
COOL! Using Ikea Stuff! drool.gif
Chinchillas
post Mar 27 2008, 12:39 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(hong123 @ Mar 27 2008, 08:58 AM)
Hie Guys and Gals,

Wow! This forum has been really active with posts there few days ya. Here's a few pics of mine. Have a question, since calcium supplement is so important for tortoise, is it the same for ally snapper? If yes I really have no idea how to feed ally snapper with calcium supplement, haha. Any suggestion?

Thanks ya.

[attachmentid=427301] [attachmentid=427302]
[attachmentid=427303]
Cute! Adorable! laugh.gif I am tempted to keep ONE!!!! cry.gif

This post has been edited by Chinchillas: Mar 27 2008, 12:40 PM
Chinchillas
post Mar 27 2008, 12:45 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(Fat^Cat @ Mar 27 2008, 12:42 PM)
The best... Feed your ST with Mustard Green ( Sawi ), Watercress, Exo-Terra tortoise pallets & GEX tortoise pallets.
2 weeks once can feed them with Hibiscus flower & leaves.
Once a month, feed them with Pumkin as a dewormer.

WATERCRESS - Can find it at TESCO or wet market. If im not mistaken Chinese call is Sak Yang Choy

GEX Tortoise Pallets ( Right Bottle )

Exo-Terra Tortoise Pallets
How much need to spend to feed 2 ST per month? RM5? Included all the bedding, or any other supplement.
Chinchillas
post Mar 28 2008, 10:59 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Is ST price range about RM800-+?
Chinchillas
post Mar 29 2008, 10:21 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Mar 28 2008, 11:02 PM)
no lah..depend on how big u wan.. normally small one.. around 5 month to 1 year is bout +/- 100 lo... interested to join us in TTT? hmm.gif  rclxm9.gif
I hope i can! But i can't stand the stinky poo n pee.... and no more time to commit cry.gif
Chinchillas
post Apr 1 2008, 12:09 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(nickdf9818 @ Apr 1 2008, 10:00 AM)
:'( R.I.P.........siu keong 31/03/2008
wah.... adorable...
Chinchillas
post Apr 28 2008, 11:42 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

Can I know which specis is illegal at this moment?
Chinchillas
post May 18 2008, 12:27 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(kenn91 @ May 17 2008, 09:31 PM)
Anyone selling baby star tortoise??
You can't post here to ask for buying or selling pet, go garage sale, or else your post will be delete by them.
Chinchillas
post May 21 2008, 12:27 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ May 21 2008, 12:23 PM)
What they are really worried about is the number of heads remaining in the wild and not in captivity. Overharvesting results in indefinite extinction in any given species. Sensible?
Ya, I believe this is what gov trying to protect, not captivity breeding.
Chinchillas
post Jun 25 2008, 10:51 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 17 2008, 10:23 PM)
mY another turtle!!!!
absolute 100% living in water!!!!!
but im not sure of what its real name called....
tell me if you know

[attachmentid=500919]
Is this type is for us to boil soup want? drool.gif Must be very nutritious! laugh.gif rclxm9.gif
Chinchillas
post Jun 25 2008, 08:15 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(yscagro @ Jun 25 2008, 12:01 PM)
hahaha.....NO!
Hahaha biggrin.gif How big is the place he stay? You create a Kolam? smile.gif

0.0451sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled