Canon EOS 450D - New Launch Jan-24, 2008, Wow...live view, new processor........
albnok
Apr 3 2008, 04:49 PM
Alpha Male
Don't worry, Canon dSLR prices drop quickly while Nikon and Sony won't. Whether that's a good thing or bad thing depends on whether you wanna buy or sell... and when, hehe.
zero_hour
Apr 3 2008, 04:53 PM
arghh,the price,..my heart broken ler...
lokgotz
Apr 3 2008, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 3 2008, 04:44 PM) yes i know ......... but you didn't inform me leh!  haiya....how i know worr.....i'll inform you next time whenever there is an event...... anyway, the event was crowded....too many people....even if it's only media, there were just too many medias there.... BTW, sony also launched their Alpha 300 and 350 yesterday, only 1 day apart (reports can be seen from ianho's posts)...i smell fire power......hehhe This post has been edited by lokgotz: Apr 3 2008, 05:02 PM
Xannava
Apr 3 2008, 05:15 PM
With the current price of the 450D over here, I'm now wishing that I need to make a trip to the US.... There convert one to one is less than 3k for kit...
bunvirus
Apr 3 2008, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 3 2008, 04:49 PM) Don't worry, Canon dSLR prices drop quickly while Nikon and Sony won't. Whether that's a good thing or bad thing depends on whether you wanna buy or sell... and when, hehe. really meh? sony price wont drop fast? i heard that sony price even worst what.. once newer model coming out.. the previous model price drop like hell.. so, A300 coming out.. price for A200 should be effected.. right? if im not mistaken.. this is what happen to A100 when A200 came out..
! Love Money
Apr 3 2008, 10:40 PM
check out canon website malaysia, its out oledi but so far no price announce
hao
Apr 3 2008, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 3 2008, 04:49 PM) Don't worry, Canon dSLR prices drop quickly while Nikon and Sony won't. Whether that's a good thing or bad thing depends on whether you wanna buy or sell... and when, hehe. Usually how quick is that?
~\G.O.D/~
Apr 4 2008, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(lokgotz @ Apr 3 2008, 04:22 PM) ok..i just came back from the Canon launch at ascott EOS 450D Body only - RM2,999 EOS 450D (18-55mm IS) - RM3,349 these are the retail prices.....i dont know what is the street price..... i am getting one for my cousin soon....  wah lao with that price rm2999 i can get sony A350 liao
albnok
Apr 4 2008, 01:48 AM
Alpha Male
bunvirus: No;
The A100 depreciated on average at RM100 a month. RM3499 retail July 2006 launch, RM2899 street December 2006, RM1999 street when it was 18 months old in January 2008.
When the A200 came out at RM1999 retail it directly obsoleted the 18-month-old A100. The standard product cycle of a dSLR is 18 months.
The A300 and A350 are not the same level as the A200. The Canon 450D replaces the 400D, but the A300 does not replace the A200, the same way the 1Ds MkIII does not replace the 1D MkIII.
The Canon 40D can be had for RM3800 street but it first launched at RM4899 retail. It's about 6 months old.
lokgotz
Apr 4 2008, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 4 2008, 01:48 AM) bunvirus: No; The A100 depreciated on average at RM100 a month. RM3499 retail July 2006 launch, RM2899 street December 2006, RM1999 street when it was 18 months old in January 2008. When the A200 came out at RM1999 retail it directly obsoleted the 18-month-old A100. The standard product cycle of a dSLR is 18 months. The A300 and A350 are not the same level as the A200. The Canon 450D replaces the 400D, but the A300 does not replace the A200, the same way the 1Ds MkIII does not replace the 1D MkIII. The Canon 40D can be had for RM3800 street but it first launched at RM4899 retail. It's about 6 months old. Canon's product manager (or some big shot) said clearly during his speech that the 450D is not a replacement to 400D. The reason is.....i cant remember....hahah..... but he made the statement clear....
bunvirus
Apr 4 2008, 02:22 AM
yeah... i heard that 450D is to replace 350D.. not 400D..
albnok
Apr 4 2008, 08:41 AM
Alpha Male
The 450D is "of the same class" as the 400D, namely entry level. However we know from specs that it's got some relevant additions.
I am guessing that the reason he said it does not replace, is so that the previous entry-level model can drop its price and become a budget model. They kept the 350D when the 400D came out for the same reason.
Meanwhile for the A200, it was released AS a budget model; the A300 being a Live View-for budget and the A350 as Live View, entry-level. The A200/300/350/700 were all meant to be sold at the same time to different budgets and requirements... like a 1.3cc, 1.6cc and 1.8cc car model y'know. They're not spaced 18 months apart.
bunvirus
Apr 4 2008, 11:21 AM
albnok.. just wandering.. so ur saying the A200 wont be like what happen to A100? but still.. no matter what i say or do.. i know u still say sony power.. me myself also say.. sony memang cheap n power..
albnok
Apr 4 2008, 11:33 AM
Alpha Male
I'm not saying whether Sony power or not... I'm saying, the A300 does not kill and replace the A200 hehe.
The A200, A300 and A350 will probably be killed in 18 months from its release date. By then 3" 640x480 screens and CMOS sensors will be so cheap, and they might have a VIDEO recording function. In 2 years, if you could have an A200 for cheap, you wouldn't want it, right?
Also, the A100 was killed easily because of the weak ISO performance and slow and hunting auto-focus. The current generation of Alphas have all fixed the ISO and AF problems of the A100.
Canon meanwhile let the 350D live while the 400D was out... and let the 400D live when the 450D was out.
bunvirus
Apr 4 2008, 12:00 PM
wat ever it is.. im really dissapointed with the 450D price.. damn its pricy!!!!
soulfly
Apr 4 2008, 12:03 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
Another reason why A100 was killed is that it's more like a Minolta 5D rebadged into Sony (with some tweaks here and there). The other Alphas are more like Sony design. QUOTE(bunvirus @ Apr 4 2008, 12:00 PM) wat ever it is.. im really dissapointed with the 450D price.. damn its pricy!!!! I don't think that it's that much expensive. It's essentially the same 'class' as A350 (roughly similar MP, live view)... so pricing should be similar. This post has been edited by soulfly: Apr 4 2008, 12:04 PM
SUSgogo2
Apr 4 2008, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(bunvirus @ Apr 4 2008, 12:00 PM) wat ever it is.. im really dissapointed with the 450D price.. damn its pricy!!!! then get Sony A200. With money saved, you can buy a lens or flash. Or jump straight to 40D
gracelsf
Apr 4 2008, 02:06 PM
any idea on the street price? RM3k ++ ultimately means i've to wait till it drops below that, or give up on the idea of 450D. dangggg, it's so pricy.
ronniefai
Apr 4 2008, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 4 2008, 01:48 AM) bunvirus: No; The A100 depreciated on average at RM100 a month. RM3499 retail July 2006 launch, RM2899 street December 2006, RM1999 street when it was 18 months old in January 2008. When the A200 came out at RM1999 retail it directly obsoleted the 18-month-old A100. The standard product cycle of a dSLR is 18 months. The A300 and A350 are not the same level as the A200. The Canon 450D replaces the 400D, but the A300 does not replace the A200, the same way the 1Ds MkIII does not replace the 1D MkIII. The Canon 40D can be had for RM3800 street but it first launched at RM4899 retail. It's about 6 months old. Lesson of the day? Never buy a new product on it first launch? On second thought, if you keep wait and wait expect the price to drop or remains at a point where it will never drop again = new product going to launch soon. Start over the entire cycle again??
toughnut
Apr 4 2008, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(gracelsf @ Apr 4 2008, 02:06 PM) any idea on the street price? RM3k ++ ultimately means i've to wait till it drops below that, or give up on the idea of 450D. dangggg, it's so pricy. if rm3k for body+kit is expensive, then u shouldnt jump into DSLR since the lens can cost few times more than that currently thinking of getting 450D too but the cost putting me off