126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

d100200
post Feb 25 2008, 12:45 PM

232 posts

Question:

I have 2 siblings of RC...they are living happily 2gether for last 3 months. Never fight.

few days ago I brought back another RC on separate cage.

Yesterday I decide to intro them, so I use both hand to pick up 2 rc and let them smell smell.

The old suddenly became garang after smell at the new RC.

Well, so it didnt work out well so I keep them separate.

When I put back the old RC into her cage, when she smell her sister, she want to bite her.

From that on, both sisters will fight when meet nose to nose.

sigh.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 25 2008, 02:29 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Feb 25 2008, 12:38 PM)
sugar glider maybe have some emotional behaviour..
Sugar gliders are different. They are colony animals, they survive in groups.... with no group, they would need constant companionship.... is not love, it's just companionship. Like parrots and certain animals.

QUOTE(d100200 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:45 PM)
Question:

I have 2 siblings of RC...they are living happily 2gether for last 3 months. Never fight.

few days ago I brought back another RC on separate cage.

Yesterday I decide to intro them, so I use both hand to pick up 2 rc and let them smell smell.

The old suddenly became garang after smell at the new RC.

Well, so it didnt work out well so I keep them separate.

When I put back the old RC into her cage, when she smell her sister, she want to bite her.

From that on, both sisters will fight when meet nose to nose.

sigh.
You should not have done that. Why did you wanna intro a new hamster to them? When you intro any new hamster to an existing pair or colony, it could stress your older hamsters, causing them to be defensive. Also, female RCs do not do well with new members and they could kill each other..... hamsters are territorial and would fight till death to protect their space.

wadever
post Feb 25 2008, 02:38 PM

148 posts

Finally bought a hamster last week...
She's a Winter White! =)

----
why isn't the picture and youtube showing... o.o

This post has been edited by wadever: Feb 25 2008, 02:39 PM
NewbieBetta
post Feb 25 2008, 02:40 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(wadever @ Feb 25 2008, 02:38 PM)
Finally bought a hamster last week...
She's a Winter White! =)

----
why isn't the picture and youtube showing... o.o
fixed youtube

jayniel
post Feb 25 2008, 03:00 PM

802 posts

lol she likes de toilet roll so much.. go in dy dun wan come out tongue.gif
d100200
post Feb 25 2008, 06:18 PM

232 posts

They are on separate cage.

When I said intro, I dont mean to put them in the same cage, I just let them smell smell 1st on my hand.

Why after meeting the new RC, she no longer frenly with her sister ?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 25 2008, 06:24 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Feb 25 2008, 06:18 PM)
They are on separate cage.

When I said intro, I dont mean to put them in the same cage, I just let them smell smell 1st on my hand.

Why after meeting the new RC, she no longer frenly with her sister ?
You mean you put 1 hamster in 1 hand and another in the other hand? Or you put the new hamster in your hand and you stuck your hand into your older hamster's cage?

As said before, hamsters are territorial.... even a new hamster's smell can cause upset and stress.... when she has smelt the presence of another hamster, her instinct to protect her area kicks in. The drive to chase off other hamsters erased the memory of her sister. This can happen with hamsters.... sometimes it doesn't, so it depends lah.....
jayniel
post Feb 25 2008, 07:41 PM

802 posts

i think d100200 meant he/she put both hamsters on separate hands.. i do tat with my ww too to determine how their reaction will be, whether or not it is very necessary to put them in separate cage etc.. sometimes i even got my hand bitten in the process.. RC shud be worse i guess?
NewbieBetta
post Feb 25 2008, 07:48 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

how about doing the gerbils way of intro?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Feb 25 2008, 07:50 PM

12,047 posts

A split cage is also good.... but the problem with hamsters is that not all like to live in groups. Robos yes, RC can lah but it depends... WW only with siblings can they get along till old age....

Sometimes we have to be cautious lah, better not intro new hamsters to existing groups or pairs.... Also, age difference plays..... if you intro young hamsters together, it won't cause bad fights, maybe some squabbling. But to intro new members to adults, it is risky.
abang brother
post Feb 25 2008, 08:58 PM

4,967 posts

Guys, how to make my hamster not feel scared when i try to pick them up? sad.gif
d100200
post Feb 25 2008, 10:15 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Feb 25 2008, 07:41 PM)
i think d100200 meant he/she put both hamsters on separate hands.. i do tat with my ww too to determine how their reaction will be, whether or not it is very necessary to put them in separate cage etc.. sometimes i even got my hand bitten in the process.. RC shud be worse i guess?
ya jayniel, you're right. one hamster on each hand.

My left hand to hold the old RCs, right hand to hold new RC so the smell never mix on my hand.

I know and I try to pick up the old RC with right hands, she so fierce and bite me.

Apparently one of the old RC is ok with the new RC, the other one make hishing sounds when put face to face.

The old and new RC not touching each other at all, I just let them sniff sniff with their nose.

I took turn to pick up the old RC on my left hand and left them sniff sniff on the new RC only.

The problem is when I put them back to their cage, the 2 old RC not frenly anymore.

Not sleeping together either. the one fierce like to bully and pick fight with the other one.

seems like jealous.

This post has been edited by d100200: Feb 25 2008, 10:16 PM
jayniel
post Feb 25 2008, 10:24 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Feb 25 2008, 07:48 PM)
how about doing the gerbils way of intro?
can explain more?

Added on February 25, 2008, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(abang brother @ Feb 25 2008, 08:58 PM)
Guys, how to make my hamster not feel scared when i try to pick them up? sad.gif
by picking them up more often, i guess.. let them be used to being picked up by u.. but if it bites, it's more difficult to tame esp if it's an adult..

This post has been edited by jayniel: Feb 25 2008, 10:25 PM
Jamien
post Feb 25 2008, 11:59 PM

2,647 posts

^^ Yay! I'm glad to say my robos are ok again. They're doing stuff together again. I was suprised and relief to find them sleeping in a corner together this morning. Fat Fat was sleeping like a ball and Yuu was sleeping on top of her, flat like a blanket. XD Cute!
xinanxxx
post Feb 26 2008, 12:32 AM

200 posts

hand feed them every day..or let them snif yr hand or finger but dont touch them yet. repeat this 1 or 2 weeks..then try to pick them. works well with my syrian.
abang brother
post Feb 26 2008, 06:33 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Feb 25 2008, 10:24 PM)
can explain more?

Added on February 25, 2008, 10:25 pm

by picking them up more often, i guess.. let them be used to being picked up by u.. but if it bites, it's more difficult to tame esp if it's an adult..

QUOTE(xinanxxx @ Feb 26 2008, 12:32 AM)
hand feed them every day..or let them snif yr hand or finger but dont touch them yet. repeat this 1 or 2 weeks..then try to pick them. works well with my syrian.
Thanks for the advice. But my Campbell bit me until skin 'tanggal' sweat.gif
sqwerk2
post Feb 26 2008, 08:36 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

one my hamsters, makes me feel like he's a rambo. everyday he's biting the cage hoping to runaway. he will survey the whole cage and try to climb areas finding for a perfect spot to get away and hes like running the wheel all the time. build stamina tongue.gif
nicoty_yne
post Feb 26 2008, 09:32 AM

482 posts

try to use a glove or clothes while pick it up. Then try to put on ur palm.. let them smell and get use to ur hand.. be patient.. they'll be tame soon.. gud lark!
anbusan
post Feb 26 2008, 10:31 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Feb 26 2008, 08:36 AM)
one my hamsters, makes me feel like he's a rambo. everyday he's biting the cage hoping to runaway. he will survey the whole cage and try to climb areas finding for a perfect spot to get away and hes like running the wheel all the time. build stamina tongue.gif
same with me la hehe every night and morning both of them will biting the cage try to escape from cage. But it was really fun to get to see all of them like that.

sqwerk2
post Feb 26 2008, 10:47 AM

The Big One
1,799 posts

QUOTE(anbusan @ Feb 26 2008, 10:31 AM)
same with me la hehe every night and morning both of them will biting the cage try to escape from cage. But it was really fun to get to see all of them like that.
mine other one is totally opposite, more like a sloth. so slow in doing everything, except eating. when its time for me to put fresh new food in the bowl, the fella can run to the bowl even faster than a car kena chase by police.

126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:41 PM